أنتاركتيكا: زاد فقدان الجليد ستة أضعاف

يُفترض أن شرق أنتاركتيكا المستقر يسهم في ذوبان الجليد أكثر مما هو مفترض

تواصل الأنهار الجليدية في أنتاركتيكا زيادة سرعتها ، وهنا منظر لجبل بالدفور وجبل فليميونج الجليدي في شبه جزيرة أنتاركتيكا © NASA / Joe MacGregor
قراءة بصوت عال

رابيد شميلز: في السنوات الأربعين الماضية ، ازداد فقدان الجليد في القطب الجنوبي زيادة هائلة. في عام 1979 ، كانت خسارة الكتلة السنوية لا تزال 40 مليار طن ، في عام 2017 كانت بالفعل 252 مليار طن سنويًا ، كما يتضح من ميزان الكتلة الشامل الأكثر شمولية في القارة الجنوبية حتى الآن. ومما يدعو إلى القلق ، أن أجزاء من ذوبان الجليد هذه هي أيضًا جزء من شرق القطب الجنوبي - وهي منطقة كانت تعتبر من قبل مستقرة ، كما ذكر الباحثون.

يغطي القطب الجنوبي أبرد الأماكن على وجه الأرض ، ومع ذلك يذوب الجليد في أكبر خزان جليدي على كوكبنا. يقوم الكثير من الأرفف الجليدية بتكسير الألواح الجليدية الضخمة ، وآخرها على Larsen C Ice Shelf. تخترق المياه العميقة الدافئة هناك من خلال الشقوق في باطن الأرض أسفل الألسنة الجليدية. ويخشى الباحثون أن ذوبان الجليد في أجزاء من غرب أنتاركتيكا قد يكون لا رجعة فيه.

من 40 إلى 252 جيجا في السنة

سجل الآن إريك ريجنو من جامعة كاليفورنيا في إيرفين وفريقه رقما قياسيا جديدا لفقدان الجليد في القطب الجنوبي ومعدل تذويب الجليد. لدراستهم ، قاموا بتقييم بيانات وبيانات الأقمار الصناعية من طائرة اختبار على تساقط الثلوج ، وحركة الأنهار الجليدية وانكماش الجليد من الفترة من 1979 إلى 2917. كما حددوا فقدان الجليد في 18 منطقة و 176 حوضًا جليديًا للغطاء الجليدي في أنتاركتيكا.

مقارنة فقدان الجليد في العقد من 1979-1989 و 2009-2017. رينو وآخرون ، PNAS / CC-by-sa 3.0

النتيجة: في الأربعين سنة الماضية ، زاد فقدان الجليد في القطب الجنوبي ستة أضعاف ، كما أفاد الباحثون. بين عامي 1979 و 1990 ، فقدت القارة الجنوبية حوالي 40 مليار طن من الجليد في السنة. في المقابل ، في الفترة من 2009 إلى 2017 ، كان بالفعل 252 مليار طن سنويا. يقول رينو وزملاؤه: "كل عقد ، أصبح فقدان الجليد الآن 280 في المائة من مستويات ما قبل 2001".

غير متوازن

تشير البيانات إلى أنه حتى تساقط الثلوج الوفير جزئيًا ، خاصةً في شرق القارة ، لا يمكن أن يعوض عن فقد الجليد: "لقد وجدنا أن الغطاء الجليدي في أنتاركتيكا خلال فترة دراستنا بأكملها لم يعد في حالة توازن مع تراكم تساقط الثلوج. تقرير الباحثين. "" هذا ينطبق أيضًا على شرق أنتاركتيكا. "العرض

بسبب ذوبان الجليد ، ساهمت أنتاركتيكا بنحو 14 ملم في الارتفاع العالمي لمستوى سطح البحر منذ عام 1979 ، وفقًا لحساب رينو وفريقه. "خلال هذا الوقت ، تركز فقدان الكتلة في المناطق التي كانت الأكثر تعرضًا للمياه العميقة الدافئة تحت الجليدية" ، أوضح الباحثون.

شرق أنتاركتيكا أكثر حساسية مما كان متوقعا

تمثل منطقة غرب أنتاركتيكا الحصة الأكبر من انكماش الجليد ، حيث تساهم بنسبة 63 في المائة من إجمالي فقد الجليد ، وفقًا للتحليل. وشكلت شبه جزيرة أنتاركتيكا 17 في المائة من إجمالي الانخفاض. ومع ذلك ، فإن منطقة شرق أنتاركتيكا ، التي طالما اعتبرت مستقرة ، لديها أيضًا حصة عالية بشكل مدهش: فقد ساهمت بحوالي 20 في المائة في فقد الجليد ، كما قرر ريجنوت وفريقه. حدث جزء كبير من ذوبان شرق أنتاركتيكا هنا في ويلكس لاند على الساحل الشرقي للقارة.

"يبدو أن منطقة ويلكس-أرض شرق أنتاركتيكا أكثر حساسية لتغير المناخ مما كان يفترض تقليديا. وهكذا ، فإن ملاحظاتنا تتناقض مع فكرة أن الطبقة الجليدية في شرق أنتاركتيكا مستقرة ومحصنة على التغيير "، كما يقول رينو. "من المهم معرفة ذلك لأن هذه المنطقة تحتوي على جليد أكثر من غرب القطب الجنوبي وشبه جزيرة أنتاركتيكا مجتمعة." (وقائع الأكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1073 / pnas.1812883116)

المصدر: جامعة كاليفورنيا ايرفين

- ناديا بودبريجار

Antarctic: Ice loss has increased sixfold

Presumably stable East Antarctic contributes more to the melting of ice than assumed

Antarctic glaciers continue to pick up speed, here is a view of Mount Baldfour and the Flemiong Glacier on the Antarctic Peninsula © NASA / Joe MacGregor
Read out

Rapide Schmelze: In the last 40 years, ice loss in the Antarctic has increased dramatically. In 1979, the annual mass loss was still 40 billion tons, in 2017 it is already 252 billion tons per year, as revealed by the most comprehensive mass balance of the southern continent so far. Worryingly, parts of this ice melt are also part of the East Antarctic - a previously considered stable area, as the researchers report.

The Antarctic covers the coldest places on earth, yet the ice is melting in the largest ice reservoir on our planet. More and more of the ice shelves break off enormous ice sheets, most recently on the Larsen C Ice Shelf. Warm deep water penetrates there by notches in the underground far below the glacier tongues. In parts of the West Antarctic, the melting of ice could therefore even be irreversible, researchers fear.

From 40 to 252 gigatons per year

A new record of the Antarctic ice loss and defrost rate has now been set up by Eric Rignot of the University of California at Irvine and his team. For their study, they evaluated satellite data and data from test aircraft on snowfall, glacier movement and ice shrinkage from the period from 1979 to 2917. They also determined the loss of ice in 18 regions and 176 ice basins of the Antarctic ice cap.

Comparison of ice loss per decade from 1979-1989 and 2009-2017. Rignot et al., PNAS / CC-by-sa 3.0

The result: In the last 40 years, the loss of ice in the Antarctic has increased six-fold, as the researchers report. Between 1979 and 1990, the South Continent lost around 40 billion tons of ice a year. By contrast, in the period from 2009 to 2017, it was already 252 billion tons per year. "Every decade, ice loss is now 280 percent of pre-2001 levels, " says Rignot and his colleagues.

Out of balance

The data shows that even the partially abundant snowfall, especially in the east of the continent can not compensate for the loss of ice: "We find that the Antarctic ice sheet during our entire study period was no longer in equilibrium with the snowfall accumulation ", The researchers report. "" This also applies to the East Antarctic. "Display

Due to the melting of the ice, the Antarctic has contributed about 14 millimeters to the global sea level rise since 1979, as Rignot and his team calculated. "During this time, the loss of mass concentrated in the areas that were the most exposed to the warm, subglacial deep water, " the researchers explain.

East Antarctica is more sensitive than expected

The West Antarctic accounts for the largest share of ice shrinkage, contributing 63 percent of total ice loss, according to the analysis. The Antarctic Peninsula accounted for 17 percent of the total decline. However, the East Antarctic, which has long been considered stable, also has a surprisingly high share: it contributed around 20 percent to ice loss, as Rignot and his team determined. A large part of this East Antarctic melt took place here in the Wilkes Land on the east coast of the continent.

"The Wilkes-land area of ​​the eastern Antarctic is apparently more sensitive to climate change than has been traditionally assumed. Thus, our observations contradict the notion that the East Antarctic ice sheet is stable and immune to change, "says Rignot. "This is important to know because this area contains more ice than the West Antarctic and the Antarctic Peninsula combined." (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 2019; doi: 10.1073 / pnas.1812883116)

Source: University of California Irvine

- Nadja Podbregar