أستراليا: اكتشاف منطقة بركانية ضخمة

تختبئ منطقة وسط أستراليا أكثر من 100 براك قديم

منذ 160 إلى 180 مليون سنة ، حولت أكثر من 100 براكين مركز أستراليا إلى بحر من الحمم البركانية والنار. © Vershinin M / iStock
قراءة بصوت عال

أكبر من ضعف مساحة مايوركا: في وسط أستراليا ، اكتشف الباحثون منطقة بركانية هائلة - تغطي أكثر من 7500 كيلومتر مربع. مخبأة تحت طبقات سميكة من الرواسب يوجد أكثر من 100 براك من العصر الجوراسي منذ 160 إلى 180 مليون سنة. الشيء غير المعتاد في الأمر: هذه البراكين تطورت في منتصف صفيحة من الأرض بدلاً من أطرافها ، كما كان الحال عادة.

يشتهر حوض Cooper Eromanga في وسط أستراليا بثروته من النفط والغاز الطبيعي. تم استكشاف واستغلال هذه الرواسب الواقعة على ارتفاع 1.250 متر تحت سطح الأرض منذ أوائل الستينيات. لكن هذا الاكتئاب لديه ما هو أكثر من ذلك: في عام 2010 ، اكتشف الجيولوجيون الحفرة التي بلغت حوالي 80 كيلومترًا والتي كان لها تأثير منذ حوالي 300 مليون عام. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن الجرانيت الموجود تحت سطح هذا الاكتئاب حار جدًا لدرجة أنه توجد اختبارات لمشروع الطاقة الحرارية الأرضية.

البازلت الغامض يجد

لكن هذه الظاهرة أعطت علماء الألغاز الألغاز: مرارًا وتكرارًا جاءوا بالإضافة إلى الصخور الرسوبية والجرانيت على البازلت المعزول - وبالتالي على صخور من أصل بركاني. بعض هذه البازلت يبدو أنها من العصر الترياسي ، والبعض الآخر من العصر الجوراسي. ولكن نظرًا لعدم توقع أي نشاط بركاني في منتصف اللوحة القارية الأسترالية ، تم تجاهل هذه النتائج في البداية.

يوضح جوناثون هاردمان من جامعة أبردين وزملاؤه: "هناك كمية هائلة من البيانات من تحت الأرض في هذه المنطقة". "لكن عمر وطبيعة هذه الصخور البازلتية لم يكن معروفًا إلى حد كبير."

منطقة بركانية ضعف مساحة مايوركا

النتيجة المدهشة: تحت حوض كوبر إرومانجا هي منطقة بركانية ضخمة مخبأة. أكثر من 100 براكين ، تدفقات واسعة من الحمم البركانية وغيرها من الرواسب البركانية تشهد على أنه كان هناك نشاط بركاني عنيف هنا. في بعض الأماكن ، تشير التركيبات الجيولوجية أيضًا إلى وجود نشاط حراري مائي possibly وبالتالي ربما السخانات والينابيع الساخنة. عرض

"تمتد هذه المقاطعة البركانية على مساحة 7500 كيلومتر مربع" ، وفقًا لتقرير هاردمان وفريقه. هذا يتوافق تقريبا مع حجم تيرول أو المنطقة المزدوجة في جزيرة مايوركا. كانت هذه البراكين نشطة آخر 160 حتي 180 مليون سنة في عصر جورا ، كما أظهرت التواريخ. اليوم ، يتم إخفاء المنطقة التي عمدها الباحثون مقاطعة وارني البركانية تحت مئات الأمتار من الصخور الرسوبية السميكة.

تقع المقاطعة البركانية في وسط اللوحة الهندية الأسترالية. atar Alataristarion / CC-by-sa 4.0

في منتصف القارة

غير المألوف: على الرغم من أن غالبية البراكين الأرضية تحدث عند حدود الصفائح التكتونية تحت المحيطات ، فإن هذا العالم البركاني الجوراسي القديم يكمن في عمق القارة الأسترالية "، كما يقول سيمون هلفورد مؤلف مشارك في جامعة أديلايد. "هذا يغير فكرتنا عن كيفية خروج مثل هذه العمليات في الماضي من الأرض."

ويشير الباحثون إلى أن هذه البراكين تشكلت عندما دفعت الصهارة الساخنة المحروقة من صفيحة المحيط الهادئ إلى عمق القارة تحت صفيحة القارة فوقها. وقال هاردمان وزملاؤه "نفسر مقاطعة وارني البركانية على أنها نتاج سلالة صخرية مخروطية صخرية فوق صفيحة المحيط الهادئ".

الماضي الناري

ومع ذلك ، فإن المنطقة البركانية المكتشفة حديثًا ليست الأولى أو الوحيدة في أستراليا. في الشمال الغربي من القارة تقع مقاطعة بركان كالكنينجي التي تبلغ مساحتها مليوني كيلومتر مربع ، والتي ربما تكون قد شاركت في أول انقراض جماعي كبير في تاريخ الأرض. وفي الجنوب الشرقي ، اكتشف الجيولوجيون مؤخراً أطول سلسلة بركانية قارية على الأرض. أحرقت نقطة ساخنة مسارًا بركانيًا طوله 2000 كيلومتر عبر القشرة. (Gondwana Research، 2019؛ doi: 10.1016 / j.gr.2019.06.012)

المصدر: جامعة أديليد

- ناديا بودبريجار

Australia: Huge volcanic area discovered

The subsoil of Central Australia hides more than 100 ancient volcanoes

160 to 180 million years ago, more than 100 volcanoes transformed the center of Australia into a lava and fire sea. © Vershinin M / iStock
Read out

Twice as big as Mallorca: In the center of Australia, researchers have discovered an enormous volcanic area - covering over 7, 500 square kilometers. Hidden under thick layers of sediment there are more than 100 volcanoes from the Jurassic period 160 to 180 million years ago. The unusual thing about it: These volcanoes developed in the middle of a plate of earth instead of at their edges, as was usually the case.

The Cooper Eromanga Basin in central Australia is best known for its wealth of oil and natural gas. The deposits located 1, 250 meters below the surface have been explored and exploited since the early 1960s. But this depression has even more to offer: In 2010, geologists discovered there the approximately 80-kilometer crater of an impact about 300 million years ago. In addition, the granite in the subsurface of this depression is so hot that there are tests for a geothermal project.

Enigmatic basalt finds

But a phenomenon gave the geologists puzzles: Again and again they came in addition to sedimentary rocks and granite on isolated basalts - and thus on rocks of volcanic origin. Some of these basalts appeared to be from the Triassic, others from the Jurassic. But because no volcanic activity was expected in the middle of the Australian continental plate, these findings were initially ignored.

"There is a tremendous amount of data from the underground of this region, " explain Jonathon Hardman of the University of Aberdeen and his colleagues. "But the age and nature of these basalt rocks were largely unknown." They have now re-evaluated the extensive data from past explorations, and also "screened" the area with seismic measurements to learn more about these volcanic rocks and their origins.

A volcanic area twice as big as Mallorca

The surprising result: Under the Cooper Eromanga Basin is a huge volcanic area hidden. More than 100 volcanoes, extensive lava flows and other volcanic deposits testify that there was once a violent volcanic activity here. In some places, the geological structures also indicate that there was also hydrothermal activity and thus possibly geysers and hot springs. display

"This volcanic province stretches over some 7, 500 square kilometers, " report Hardman and his team. This corresponds approximately to the size of Tyrol or the double area of ​​the island of Mallorca. These volcanoes were last active 160 to 180 million years ago in the age of the Jura, as dates showed. Today, the area baptized by the researchers Warnie volcanic province is hidden under hundreds of meters of thick sedimentary rocks.

The volcanic province is located in the middle of the Indo-Australian plate. Alataristarion / CC-by-sa 4.0

In the middle of the continent

The Unusual, however: "While the majority of terrestrial volcanism takes place at the boundaries of the tectonic plates under the oceans, this ancient Jurassic volcanic world lies deep within the Australian continent, " says co-author Simon Holford of the University of Adelaide. "That changes our idea of ​​how such processes in the past ran off the Earth."

The researchers suggest that these volcanoes were formed when hot magma burned from the Pacific plate pushed deep beneath the continent through the continent plate above it. "We interpret the Warnie volcanic province as a product of strain and intra-plate convective upwelling of rock over the subducted Pacific plate, " said Hardman and his colleagues.

Fiery past

However, the newly discovered volcanic area is not the first or only one in Australia. In the northwest of the continent lies the two million square kilometer Kalkarindji volcanic province, which may even have been involved in the first major mass extinction of Earth's history. And in the southeast, geologists recently discovered the longest continental volcanic chain on earth. A hotspot burned a 2, 000 kilometer long volcanic track through the crust. (Gondwana Research, 2019; doi: 10.1016 / j.gr.2019.06.012)

Source: University of Adelaide

- Nadja Podbregar