الأشجار تعاني من موجة الحر

الجفاف يهدد أنواع الأشجار الأصلية

العديد من الأشجار تعاني أيضًا من موجة الحر الحالية. © Ugurhan / iStock
قراءة بصوت عال

الأشجار تحت الضغط: فترة الحرارة تجعل من الصعب على العديد من الأشجار الأصلية في ألمانيا. ويواجه الباحثون أن الأنواع الكبيرة ذات الأوراق الكبيرة والأشجار الحضرية الشديدة الحساسية معرضة حاليًا لخطر شديد. يطلبون: نظرًا لأن درجات الحرارة المرتفعة ونقص المياه أصبح أكثر شيوعًا مع تغير المناخ في المستقبل ، يجب إنتاج بدائل أكثر مقاومة للحرارة - على سبيل المثال ، الجنكة الصينية.

الأوراق الصفراء ، والأغصان العارية ، والأوراق المتساقطة: إذا كنت تنظر حاليًا إلى رؤوس الأشجار ، فقد تعتقد أنها بالفعل الخريف. فترة الحرارة الحالية تزعج الأشجار في الغابة والمدينة بشكل متزايد. وهم يعانون من إجهاد الجفاف وأشعة الشمس الشديدة ومستويات الأوزون العالية - مع عواقب واضحة.

النباتات الصغيرة وخاصة المهددة بالانقراض

ظل العلماء بقيادة أندرياس رولوف من جامعة دريسدن للتكنولوجيا يبحثون منذ بعض الوقت عن كيفية تعامل الأشجار مع هذه الظروف الجوية القاسية. في مواسم الحرارة في عامي 2003 و 2015 ، تبيّن أن الأشجار الكبيرة الأوراق مثل قيقب القيقب واللحاء الصيفي وكذلك النباتات الأصغر سنا قد جفت. لأنه على عكس الأشجار القديمة ، لم يتمكنوا من الوصول إلى المياه الجوفية المتدهورة بجذورها غير المطورة بالكامل.

أوراق الشجر تغير لونها بالفعل في الأماكن: إجهاد الجفاف في الأشجار © Andreas Roloff

الوضع بالنسبة إلى الأشجار الحضرية الصغيرة ، لذلك فإن الوضع حرج في فترات الجفاف الطويلة. تشير رولوف إلى أن المياه الجوفية تنخفض غالبًا في المناطق العمرانية وعادة ما يكون عمقها أقل من 2 إلى 3 أمتار. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، غالبًا ما يتم إغلاق المناطق في المدينة وضغطها. كل هذا يجعل من الصعب على الأشجار الصغيرة الوصول إلى التربة الرطبة الثمينة والوصول إليها.

المدقع موقع وسط المدينة

ما يمكن ملاحظته حاليًا في العديد من الأماكن يمكن أن يصبح مشهداً شائعًا في المستقبل. مع تغير المناخ ، سيستمر الوضع في التدهور بالنسبة للعديد من الأنواع المحلية - قد تصبح درجات الحرارة القصوى والجفاف هو القاعدة. لهذا السبب ، يبحث الباحثون الآن عن الأشجار التي يمكنها التعامل مع مثل هذه الظروف بشكل أفضل. عرض

يقول رولوف: "لقد أوضحنا منذ عشر سنوات أنه بالإضافة إلى الأكواخ الشتوية ، يجب أن تحتل الأخطار الناجمة عن الحرارة والجفاف المرتبة الأولى والثانية في اختيار الزراعة". ويتوقع أنه إذا كانت المدن لا ترغب في أن تصبح خالية من الأشجار ، فإن أنواع الأشجار الأصلية ستلعب دوراً صغيراً على نحو متزايد في المائة عام القادمة في المواقع المتطرفة ، على سبيل المثال في المناطق الداخلية بالمدينة.

الجنكة كبديل؟

لكن ما البدائل الموجودة؟ بحثًا عن أنواع الأشجار المقاومة للحرارة ، ظل رولوف وزملاؤه يركزون على الأنواع الصينية لأكثر من عشر سنوات. في مدن مثل بكين ، هناك بالفعل مناخ متوقع لألمانيا مع بداية ربيعية سريعة وصيف طويل حار.

وفقا للباحثين ، في ظل هذه الظروف ، على سبيل المثال ، الجنكة ينمو بشكل جيد على الطرق الحضرية. تبعا لذلك ، يمكن أن يقاوم بشكل أفضل تغير المناخ في خطوط العرض لدينا وفي المستقبل يحل محل الأنواع المحلية في مدننا.

(الجامعة التقنية درسدن ، 07.08.2018 - دال)

Trees suffer from the heatwave

Drought threatens native tree species

Many trees are also suffering from the current heat wave. © Ugurhan / iStock
Read out

Trees under stress: The heat period makes it difficult for many trees native to Germany. Especially sensitive large-leaved species and young urban trees are currently in acute danger, as researchers report. They demand: Because high temperatures and water shortages become more common with climate change in the future, more heat-resistant alternatives must be produced - for example, the Chinese ginkgo.

Yellow leaves, bare branches, falling leaves: If you are currently looking into the treetops, you might think it is already autumn. The current heat period is increasingly troubling the trees in the forest and in the city. They suffer from drought stress, intense sunlight and high ozone levels - with visible consequences.

Young plants especially endangered

Scientists led by Andreas Roloff from the Dresden University of Technology have been researching for some time how trees handle such extreme weather conditions. In the heat seasons 2003 and 2015, it was shown that mainly large-leaved trees such as sycamore maple and summer bark as well as younger plants dried up. Because unlike older trees, they could not reach the declining groundwater with their not fully developed roots.

The foliage already discolored in places: Drought stress in trees © Andreas Roloff

Especially for young urban trees, the situation is therefore critical in long periods of drought. Roloff reports that groundwater is often lowered in built-up areas and is usually below 2 to 3 meters in depth. In addition, areas in the city are often sealed and compacted. All of this makes it even harder for young trees to root and access the precious wet soil.

Extreme location downtown

What is currently observed in many places could become a common sight in the future. With climate change, the situation will continue to worsen for many native species - extreme temperatures and drought may become the norm. For this reason, researchers are now looking for trees that can handle such conditions better. display

"We have been pointing out for ten years that, in addition to winter cottages, heat and dry hazards must rank first and second in the choice of planting, " says Roloff. He predicts that if the cities do not want to become treeless, indigenous tree species will play an increasingly minor role in the next 100 years in extreme locations, for example in inner-city areas.

Ginkgo as an alternative?

But what alternatives are there? Looking for heat-resistant tree species, Roloff and his colleagues have been focusing on Chinese species for more than ten years. For in cities like Beijing, there is already an expected climate for Germany with a fast spring start and long, hot summers.

According to the researchers, under these conditions, for example, the ginkgo is growing well on urban roads. Accordingly, it could better withstand climate change in our latitudes and in the future replace native species in our cities.

(Technical University Dresden, 07.08.2018 - DAL)