جوهر الأرض هو "تسرب

لمدة 2.5 مليار سنة ، والمواد النووية تدخل باستمرار عباءة الأرض

لمدة 2.5 مليار سنة ، مرت المواد النووية في عباءة الأرض ، كما تشير دراسة النظائر. © يوهانس جيرهاردس سوانبويل / ثينك ستوك
قراءة بصوت عال

الانتشار الزاحف: يبدو أن جوهر الأرض يتسرب منذ حوالي 2.5 مليار عام - ومنذ ذلك الحين ، تتسرب المواد النووية باستمرار إلى عباءة الأرض. وقد تتبع الباحثون الآن هذا "التسرب" باستخدام مستويات متغيرة من نظائر التنغستن في صخور الوشاح. تثبت التحليلات أيضًا أن جوهر الأرض كان لا يزال كثيفًا في الأيام الأولى من الكوكب. وفقا للعلماء ، يجب أن يكون سبب التسرب عملية لاحقة.

جوهر الأرض هو جزء واضح وغامض من كوكبنا. فقط من خلال مزيج من الحديد الصلب والسائل ، تحصل الأرض على مجالها المغناطيسي ، لأن التيارات الموجودة في القلب الخارجي السائل تدفع الجيودينامو. في الوقت نفسه ، توفر حرارة قلب الأرض الطاقة التي تمكن ظواهر مثل الصفائح التكتونية وأعمدة الوشاح والبركانية. من ناحية أخرى ، فإن أحد أسرار قلب الأرض هو عندما تجمد اللب الداخلي الصلب.

كيف "كثيفة" هي جوهر الأرض؟

ولكن هناك سؤال آخر مفتوح: هل هناك أيضًا تبادل مادي بين عباءة الأرض وجوهر الأرض؟ يبدو واضحًا أن حدود الوشاح الأساسي تتميز بارتفاع كبير في درجة الحرارة ومنطقة انتقالية يمكن اكتشافها في منطقة زلزالية يتراوح سمكها بين 200 و 300 كيلومتر. ومع ذلك ، فإن طبيعة هذا الانتقال ، ومدى اختراق المواد من قلب الأرض إلى الوشاح السفلي ، لا تزال محل خلاف.

"نحن نعلم أن جوهر الأرض به كيمياء خاصة يهيمن عليها الحديد والنيكل ، بالإضافة إلى عناصر مذابة مثل التنجستن والبلاتين والذهب" ، كما توضح هانيكا ريزو من جامعة كارلتون في أوتاوا وزملاؤها. "لذلك ، فإن هذه العناصر المكوّنة للمعادن هي مؤشرات جيدة على آثار المواد الأساسية في الوشاح." ومع ذلك ، يجب أن يكون المرء قادرًا على التمييز بين ما إذا كانت هذه العناصر تأتي حقًا من النواة أو على الأقل من طبقات الأرض العليا.

نظائر التنجستن كمؤشر

يمكن أن يكون ذلك قد نجح Rizo وفريقها الآن. لدراستهم ، قاموا بدراسة الصخور التي جاءت من الوشاح السفلي والتي تسربت في أوقات مختلفة على البراكين الساخنة مثل الحمم البركانية. ركز الباحثون اهتمامهم بشكل خاص على نسبة نظيري التنجستين: 182W و 184W. "يمكن لهذه النظائر التنغستن أن تكون أكثر المقتطفات إفادة عن المواد الأساسية لأن الكسوة يجب أن يكون لها نسبة 182W / 184W أعلى بكثير" ، كما يفسرون. عرض

السبب: يتركز 90٪ من تنجستين الأرض في قلب الأرض ، لأن هذا المعدن في طبقة الطبقة الداخلية للأرض مع عناصر ثقيلة أخرى في القلب. من ناحية أخرى ، احتوى عباءة الأرض في البداية على الكثير من Haffnium-182 ، وهو نظير تلاشى بالكامل إلى التنغستن 182 مع مرور الوقت. "ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن الوشاح لديه الآن فائض من التنغستن 182 مقارنةً بنواة الأرض" ، كما أوضح الباحثون. ومع ذلك ، مع وجود حوالي 200 جزء في المليون (جزء في المليون) ، فإنه يصعب اكتشافه.

ولكن إذا كان هذا الفائض مفقودًا أو أضعف في صخر الوشاح ، فقد يشير ذلك إلى "تلوث" بالمواد النووية. بالضبط بعد ذلك بحثت ريزو وفريقها في عيناتهم.

التسرب لمدة 2.5 مليار سنة

في الحقيقة ، لقد انشغل الباحثون. في جزء من عينات الصخور من الوشاح السفلي ، سجلوا مستويات منخفضة بشكل ملحوظ من التنغستن 182. "هذا يشير إلى أن المواد من قلب الأرض قد تسربت إلى قاعدة أعمدة الوشاح" ، هذا ما قاله ريزو وتقرير فريقها. وبالتالي ، فإن الحدود الكسوة الأساسية ، على الأقل بالنسبة لعنصر التنغستن ، ليست حاجزًا مطلقًا.

ولكن من المثير للدهشة أن هذا "التسرب" في قلب الأرض لم يكن دائمًا موجودًا ، كما أوضح التحليل. لأنه مع صخور الوشاح البركاني من وقت 2.7 إلى 4.3 مليار سنة ، لم يجد العلماء أي نسبة منخفضة من التنغستن 182. يقول ريزو وزملاؤها: "هذا يشير إلى أنه لم يتم نقل أي مواد نووية أو القليل منها إلى الوشاح خلال هذا الوقت". لذلك ، كان جوهر الأرض "يتسرب" فقط منذ 2.5 مليار سنة.

العمليات الممكنة التي يمكن أن تعزز تسرب المواد النووية. iz ريزو وآخرون. / رسائل الجيوكيميائية المنظورة ، CC بواسطة الثانية 4.0

تكتونية الصفائح أم التبلور النووي كمحفز؟

ولكن ما الذي يسبب هذا "التسرب" منذ ذلك الحين؟ وفقا للباحثين ، يمكن أن تلعب تكتونيات الصفائح دورا حاسما في هذا. إنه لا يضمن حركة الألواح الأرضية فحسب ، بل ينقل أيضًا الصخور السطحية الغنية بالأكسجين إلى الوشاح العميق من خلال الاندثار. "توضح التجارب أن زيادة مستويات الأكسجين في الحدود العقلية الأساسية يمكن أن يعزز انتقال التنغستن إلى الوشاح" ، كما أوضح ريزو وفريقها.

بدلاً من ذلك ، يمكن أن يؤدي تبلور اللب الداخلي الذي بدأ في ذلك الوقت إلى زيادة مستويات الأكسجين عند الحدود الأساسية. وقال الباحثون "في هذه الحالة ، ستكشف نتائجنا أيضًا عن تطور جوهر الأرض". لأنه بعد ذلك يمكن أن يكون قلب الأرض الصلب أكبر من المتوقع. (رسائل المنظور الجيوكيميائي ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.7185 / geochemlet.1917)

المصدر: المحادثة ، وجهات نظر الجيوكيميائية

- ناديا بودبريجار

The earth's core is "leaking

For 2.5 billion years, nuclear material is constantly entering the earth's mantle

For 2.5 billion years, nuclear material has passed into the Earth's mantle, as an isotope study suggests. © Johannes Gerhardus Swanepoel / thinkstock
Read out

Creeping diffusion: The Earth's core appears to have been leaking for around 2.5 billion years - since then, nuclear material has been constantly leaking into the Earth's mantle. Researchers have now tracked this "leakage" using altered levels of tungsten isotopes in mantle rock. The analyzes also prove that the Earth's core was still dense in the early days of the planet. According to the scientists, the leak must have been caused by a subsequent process.

The Earth's core is a defining and enigmatic part of our planet. Only through its combination of solid and liquid iron, the earth gets its magnetic field, because the currents in the liquid outer core drive the geodynamo. At the same time, the heat of the Earth's core provides the energy that enables phenomena such as plate tectonics, mantle plumes and volcanism. On the other hand, one of the mysteries of the earth's core is when the solid inner core froze.

How "dense" is the Earth's core?

But there is another question open: Is there also a material exchange between the Earth's mantle and the Earth's core? It seems clear that the core-mantle boundary is characterized by a large temperature jump and a seismic zone detectable transition zone of 200 to 300 kilometers in thickness. However, the nature of this transition, and the extent to which material from the earth's core penetrates into the lower mantle, is still in dispute.

"We know that the Earth's core has a special chemistry dominated by iron and nickel, as well as dissolved elements such as tungsten, platinum and gold, " explain Hanika Rizo of Carlton University in Ottawa and her colleagues. "Therefore, such metal-affine elements are good indicators of traces of core material in the mantle." However, one must be able to distinguish whether these elements really come from the core or at least from higher layers of the earth.

Tungsten isotopes as an indicator

That could have succeeded Rizo and her team now. For their study, they had studied rocks that came from the lower mantle and leaked at different times on hotspot volcanoes as lava. The researchers focused their attention specifically on the ratio of two tungsten isotopes: 182W and 184W. "These tungsten isotopes could be the most informative tracers for core material because the cladding should have a much higher 182W / 184W ratio, " they explain. display

The reason: 90 percent of the earth's tungsten is concentrated in the earth's core, because this metal in the layer formation of the Earth's interior with other heavy elements in the core dropped down. The Earth's mantle, on the other hand, initially contained much Haffnium-182, an isotope that has completely decayed to tungsten-182 over time. "As a result, the mantle now has an excess of tungsten-182 compared to the Earth's core, " explain the researchers. However, with around 200 parts per million (ppm) it is tiny and difficult to detect.

But if this excess is missing or weaker in mantle rock, this could indicate a "contamination" with nuclear material. Exactly afterwards Rizo and her team searched in their samples.

Leaking for 2.5 billion years

In fact, the researchers got busy. In part of the rock samples from the lower mantle, they registered remarkably reduced levels of tungsten-182. "This suggests that material from the Earth's core has leaked to the base of these mantle plumes, " Rizo and her team report. Thus, the core-cladding boundary, at least for the element tungsten, is not an absolute barrier.

Surprisingly, however, this "leak" in the Earth's core was apparently not always there, as the analysis showed. Because with volcanic mantle rock from the time 2.7 to 4.3 billion years ago, the scientists found no reduced proportion of tungsten-182. "This suggests that no or very little nuclear material was transported into the mantle during this time, " say Rizo and her colleagues. The earth's core has therefore been "leaking" only since the last 2.5 billion years.

Possible processes that could promote the leakage of nuclear material. Rizo et al. / Geochemical Perspective Letters, CC-by-nd 4.0

Plate tectonics or nuclear crystallization as a trigger?

But what causes this "leak" since then? According to the researchers, plate tectonics could play a crucial role in this. Not only does it ensure the movement of the earth plates, it also transports oxygen-rich surface rocks into the deep mantle via subduction. "Experiments show that increasing the oxygen levels at the core-mental boundary can promote the transition of tungsten into the mantle, " explain Rizo and her team.

Alternatively, however, a crystallization of the inner core that began at that time could have increased the oxygen levels at the core boundary. "In that case, our findings would also reveal something about the evolution of the Earth's core, " the researchers said. Because then the solid earth core could be older than expected. (Geochemical Perspective Letters, 2019; doi: 10.7185 / geochemlet.1917)

Source: The Conversation, Geochemical Perspectives

- Nadja Podbregar