المعالم العلمية البارزة لعام 2018

التطور الجنيني ، أقدم حيوان وطفل من سلالة ما قبل التاريخ

تتبع الخلية الجنينية بواسطة خلية - هذا هو التقدم لعام 2018 © AAAS
قراءة بصوت عال

كيف تصبح خلية واحدة كائنًا كاملًا؟ تم اختيار الإجابة على هذا السؤال من قبل مجلة التجارة "العلوم" باعتبارها انطلاقة من عام 2018. بفضل الأساليب الجديدة ، يمكن للباحثين متابعة خلية تطوير الجنين كل خلية للمرة الأولى. من بين المعالم العلمية البارزة لهذا العام أيضًا سترة بليزر نيوترينو ، أقدم حيوان في العالم وطفل منغلي بدائي.

كل عام ، قبيل عيد الميلاد ، يصوت الصحفيون العلميون لأعلى عشرة أعوام: البحث والاكتشافات التي يعتبرونها الأكثر أهمية. واحد منهم هو اختراق العام. في عام 2017 ، كان هذا أول دليل على تصادم نجم نيوتروني ، وفي عام 2016 ، كانت أول موجات الجاذبية هي أفضل إنجاز ، وفي عام 2015 ، كانت مقص الجينات كريسبر / كاس 9.

من الخلية إلى الكائن الحي

في هذا العام ، هناك علامة فارقة في مجال البحوث الجنينية على رأس القائمة - ولغز احتل بالفعل العلماء القدماء: كيف تنتج خلايا البويضة المخصبة الجسم الكامل المعقد لشيء حي؟ وما الذي يتحكم في هذا التطور؟ لفترة طويلة ، استعصى هذا اللغز على المستوى الخلوي أي ملاحظة ، لكن مع تطور تقنيات التحليل الحديثة ، تغير هذا.

أهم أحداث العام 2018. © Science Magazine

باستخدام طرق التحليل الجديدة ، يمكن للباحثين الآن تتبع الجينات التي يتم تشغيلها أو إيقافها في الخلايا في أي وقت. من خلال الجمع بين هذه الطريقة ، التي تسمى "RNA-seq أحادية الخلية" ، مع التقنيات التي تسمح بتسمية الخلايا الفردية وتتبعها في الجنين ، يمكن للعلماء مراقبة كيف تتجمع الخلايا في الأنسجة. في عام 2018 ، تم بالفعل فك تشفير التطور الجنيني للديدان المسطحة والأسماك والضفدع والحيوانات الأخرى بهذه الطريقة. عرض

لأول مرة ، كشفت النيوترينو التي استولت عليها مرصد IceCube في القطب الجنوبي من مصدر الأشعة الكونية ذات الطاقة العالية. IceCube Collaboration / NSF

أصل النيوترينو وتأثير العصر الجليدي

تشمل أبرز الأحداث الأخرى لهذا العام حدثين "سماويين": الأول يرتبط ارتباطًا وثيقًا بكاشف النيوترينو آيس كيوب في القطب الجنوبي. بمساعدته ومع التلسكوبات في جميع أنحاء العالم ، تمكن العلماء من تتبع النيوتريونات الكونية الغنية بالطاقة إلى مصدرها لأول مرة. ووفقًا لهذه ، فإن جسيمات أولية بدون كتلة تقريبًا تكونت في قشرة بليزار ثقبًا أسود نشطًا في قلب مجرة ​​تبعد حوالي 4 مليارات سنة ضوئية.

الحدث السماوي الثاني هو اكتشاف فوهة صدمية بطول 31 كم تحت الجليد في جرينلاند. يجب أن يكون قد تم إنشاء هذه الحفرة عن طريق كتلة كبيرة الحجم ، ربما فقط خلال العصر الجليدي الأخير. ولكن هذا يعني أن أسلافنا ربما عانوا من عواقب كارثة الصدمة هذه.

ديكنسونيا - أقدم حيوان معروف - كان من الممكن أن تبدو قبل 558 مليون سنة. الجامعة الوطنية الأسترالية

لأول مرة طفل مختلط العرق و testlestes الحيوان

العودة إلى الوراء في تاريخ البشرية هي آخر تسليط الضوء على عام 2018: تحولت فتاة توفيت قبل 50000 سنة إلى طفل مختلط البدائي. وكشف تحليل الحمض النووي أن الطفل الذي عثر عليه في سيبيريا هو ابنة امرأة إنسان نياندرتال ورجل دينيسوفا. هذا يؤكد مرة أخرى حقيقة أن الأنواع البشرية المختلفة من جنس هومو تتقاطع مرارا وتكرارا وتنتج أشكالا مختلطة.

مرة أخرى إلى أصل الحياة البرية الأرضية هو طفرة في علم الحفريات. في خريف عام 2018 ، استخدم الباحثون أساليب تحليلية متقدمة لتحديد أقدم حيوان متعدد الخلايا في العالم. في الحفرية التي يعود تاريخها إلى 558 مليون عام من روسيا ، كشفوا عن آثار جزيئات الدهون الحيوانية النموذجية. عندها فقط نجحوا في الكشف عن الطبيعة الحقيقية لهذا اللغز.

الباحثين وعلماء الجريمة

من ناحية أخرى ، قدمت تحليلات الحمض النووي فوائد عملية تمامًا في حل قضية جنائية قديمة: بفضل قاعدة بيانات الحمض النووي الواسعة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، تمكن الباحثون من إدانة مغتصب تسلسلي في السبعينيات والثمانينيات. وقارنوا ملامح الحمض النووي للعديد من أقارب الجاني مع آثار الحمض النووي على الضحايا.

تقريب النقاط البارزة هو الموافقة على دواء يعالج مرض وراثي من خلال حصار الحمض النووي الريبي ، وطريقة جديدة لفك تشفير الهياكل البلورية ، واكتشاف أن البروتينات في الخلايا تشكل نوعًا من القطرة. أخيرًا وليس آخرًا ، صنّف محرّرو "العلوم" أيضًا حملة #MeToo باعتبارها واحدة من أهم الأحداث في العام. لأنه أحدث الكثير من التغييرات في عالم العلوم.

المصدر: العلوم

- ناديا بودبريجار

The scientific highlights of 2018

Embryonic development, the oldest animal and a prehistoric half-breed child

Tracing Embryo Cell by Cell - That's the Breakthrough of 2018 © AAAS
Read out

How does a single cell become a whole organism? The answer to this question has been chosen by the trade journal "Science" as the breakthrough of the year 2018. Thanks to new methods, researchers can follow embryo development cell by cell for the first time. Among the scientific highlights of the year are also a neutrino-spitting blazar, the oldest animal in the world and a primeval mongrel child.

Every year, just before Christmas, the science journalists vote for their top ten of the year: the research and discoveries they consider the most significant. One of them is the breakthrough of the year. In 2017, this was the first evidence of a neutron star collision. In 2016, the first gravitational waves were the top achievement, and in 2015, the gene scissors CRISPR / Cas9.

From the cell to the organism

This year, a milestone in embryonic research is at the top of the list - and a mystery that has already occupied ancient scholars: How does the fertilized egg cell produce the whole complex body of a living thing? And what controls this development? For a long time, this mystery at the cellular level has eluded any observation, but with the development of modern analysis technologies this has changed.

The highlights of the year 2018. © Science Magazine

With new analysis methods, researchers can now track which genes are turned on or off in cells at what time. By combining this method, called "single-cell RNA-seq", with technologies that allow individual cells to be labeled and traced in the embryo, scientists can observe live how the cells assemble into tissues. In 2018, the embryonic development of flatworms, a fish, a frog and other animals was already deciphered in this way. display

For the first time, a neutrino captured by the IceCube observatory at the South Pole has revealed where the high-energy cosmic rays come from. IceCube Collaboration / NSF

Neutrino origin and an ice age impact

Other highlights of the year include two "heavenly" events: the first is closely linked to the neutrino detector IceCube at the South Pole. With his help and with telescopes worldwide, scientists were able to trace energy-rich cosmic neutrinos back to their source for the first time. According to these, almost massless elementary particles were formed in a blazar rund an active black hole in the heart of a galaxy some 4 billion light-years away.

The second heavenly event is the discovery of a 31-kilometer impact crater under the ice of Greenland. This crater must have been created by a kilometer-large lump, possibly only during the last ice age. But this means that our ancestors probably experienced the consequences of this impact disaster.

Dickinsonia - the oldest known animal - could have looked like 558 million years ago. Australian National University

First-time mixed-race child and testlestes animal

Going far back in human history is another highlight of 2018: A girl who died 50, 000 years ago turned out to be a primeval mixed-race child. DNA analysis revealed that the child found in Siberia was the daughter of a Neanderthal woman and a Denisova man. This again confirmed the fact that the different human species of the genus Homo intersected again and again and produced hybrid forms.

Even further back to the origin of terrestrial wildlife is a breakthrough in palaeontology. In the fall of 2018, researchers used advanced analytical methods to identify the world's oldest multi-cellular animal. In the 558-million-year-old fossil from Russia, they revealed relics of typical animal fat molecules. Only then did they succeed in revealing the true nature of this mystery.

Researchers as criminologists

On the other hand, DNA analyzes provided quite practical benefits in the solution of an old criminal case: thanks to an extensive DNA database in the USA, researchers were able to convict a serial rapist of the 1970s and 1980s. They compared DNA profiles of several relatives of the offender with DNA traces on the victims.

Rounding out the highlights is the approval of a drug that treats a hereditary disease through RNA blockade, a new way to decode crystal structures, and the discovery that proteins in cells form a kind of drop. Last but not least, the "Science" editors also rated the #MeToo campaign as one of the most important events of the year. Because it has also made a lot of changes in the world of science.

Source: Science

- Nadja Podbregar