الآثار الأثرية المكتشفة في الأصداف

منذ عامين إلى ثلاثة ملايين عام ، كان من الممكن أن يضرب نيزك فلوريدا

اكتشفت هذه الخرزات الصغيرة من الزجاج الصخري باحثًا داخل الأصداف. يشهدون أن ما بين مليونين وثلاثة ملايين يمكن أن يصلوا إلى نيزك في فلوريدا. © كريستين جريس / متحف فلوريدا
قراءة بصوت عال

اكتشاف غير عادي: اكتشف الباحثون داخل الأصداف الأحفورية أدلة على وجود نيزك غير معروف سابقًا في فلوريدا. كانت الأصداف تحتوي على حبات صغيرة من الزجاج الصخري - شهادات نموذجية للتأثير. التركيب الكيميائي يشير أيضا إلى أصل خارج كوكب الأرض. وهكذا ، منذ ما بين مليوني وثلاثة ملايين عام ، كان بإمكان نيزك واحد أو أكثر الهبوط في شبه جزيرة فلوريدا أو بالقرب منها.

على الرغم من أن العلامات الموجودة على سطح القمر تظل مرئية بوضوح على مدار ملايين السنين ، إلا أن هذا يختلف على الأرض. تآكل الرياح والماء ، ولكن أيضا الغطاء النباتي بسرعة تجعل الحفر وغيرها من آثار الأثر تختفي. غالبًا ما تكشف الآثار الخفية فقط ، مثل الكرات الصغيرة من الزجاج الصخري ، التي تسمى microtectites ، أنه كان هناك تأثير ذات مرة.

صورة مجهرية لواحدة من microtectites المكتشفة في بلح البحر. © مايك ماير / الأرصاد الجوية وعلوم الكواكب

كريات صغيرة في الأصداف القديمة

في مكان غير عادي إلى حد ما ، اكتشف مايك ماير من جامعة هاريسبورغ في ولاية بنسلفانيا مثل هذه المجهرية. وبينما كان لا يزال طالبًا ، فقد درس بنوك الأصداف الأحفورية بالتعاون مع زملائه في فلوريدا - في الواقع يبحث عن أحافير دقيقة في المناطق الداخلية. لكن عندما فتح بعض القذائف وخلل الرواسب المتراكمة فيها ، اكتشف كرات صغيرة فيها.

"لقد وقفوا حقا. يقول ماير: "لأن حبيبات الرمل عادة ما تكون غير منتظمة ، على شكل بطاطس". "لكنني وجدت دائمًا هذه الرصاصات الصغيرة المثالية." لقد عثر ماير على أكثر من 80 من هذه القنابل الصغيرة البالغة مساحتها 200 ميكرون في النهاية. لكن في البداية لم يكن أحد يعرف ما كان عليه. لقد احتفظ بها لأكثر من عشر سنوات حتى وجدها وقام بتحليلها مؤخرًا.

شهود التأثير

النتيجة المدهشة: كانت kolles من أصل خارج كوكب الأرض. تشير خصائصها الفيزيائية وإثرائها بالمعادن الغريبة إلى أنها مجهرية - دليل صغير على تأثير النيزك. تشكلت الأقطاب عندما ذابت الطاقة الهائلة للأثر الصخور وتبخرت وألقوا بهم في ارتفاعات كبيرة. هناك ، تجمدت قطرات الحجر على الكرات الصغيرة قبل أن تعود إلى الأرض. عرض

المجاهر الدقيقة التي تم تحديدها الآن هي الأولى التي تم العثور عليها في فلوريدا والأول التي تم اكتشافها في القذائف الأحفورية. يقول ماير: "لقد فجرني ذلك حقًا". وفقا ل datings ، أودعت البراميل منذ حوالي 2-3 ملايين سنة. ويشتبه الباحثون في أنه في ذلك الوقت يجب أخذ نيزك واحد أو أكثر على هضبة فلوريدا أو بالقرب منها.

تأثير في قبة الملح؟

ومع ذلك ، لا يزال من المحير سبب احتواء المجاهر الدقيقة على مستويات عالية بشكل غير عادي من الصوديوم. ومع ذلك ، عادةً ما يتبخر هذا العنصر المتطاير ، في حين يتم تدمير النيازك بواسطة الغلاف الجوي للأرض. لذلك من غير المحتمل أن يكون الصوديوم قد تم إحضاره من المصادم ، ماير وزملاؤه. إنهم يشتبهون في أنه يأتي من موقع التأثير.

"إن المحتوى العالي من الصوديوم من microtectites مثير لأنه يشير إلى موقع تأثير قريب نسبيا" ، يشرح ماير. "عندما ضرب النيزك ، ربما أصاب رواسب ملح صخري أو المحيط." كلاهما يتحدث عن موقع للإضراب في فلوريدا أو بالقرب منها. "لكننا ما زلنا بحاجة إلى المزيد من المواد والمواقع لتأكيد مصدر هذه المجاهر" ، يؤكد الباحثون. إنهم يشتبهون في أن المزيد من هؤلاء البهلوانات الصغيرة من الزجاج الصخري يمكنهم الاختباء في الخلجان الصدفية في المنطقة. (علوم الأرصاد الجوية والكواكب ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1111 / maps.13299)

المصدر: متحف فلوريدا للتاريخ الطبيعي

- ناديا بودبريجار

Impact relics discovered in shells

Two to three million years ago, a meteorite could have hit Florida

These tiny beads of rock-glass discovered a researcher inside shells. They testify that two to three million could have hit a Florida meteorite. © Kristen Grace / Florida Museum
Read out

Unusual find: Inside the fossil shells researchers have discovered evidence for a previously unknown meteorite impact in Florida. The shells contained tiny beads of rock glass - typical testimonials of an impact. Their chemical composition also indicates an extraterrestrial origin. Thus, two to three million years ago, one or more meteorites could have landed on or near the Florida Peninsula.

While marks on the moon remain clearly visible over millions of years, this is different on Earth. The erosion by wind and water, but also the vegetation quickly make craters and other impact traces disappear. Often only subtle traces, such as tiny spheres of rock glass, so-called microtectites, reveal that once upon a time there was an impact.

Micrograph of one of the microtectites discovered in the mussels. © Mike Meyer / Meteoritics and Planetary Science

Mini globules in ancient shells

In a rather unusual place, Mike Meyer from Harrisburg University in Pennsylvania discovered such microtectites. While still a student, he had studied banks of fossil shells in collaboration with colleagues in Florida - actually looking for microfossils in their interior. But when he opened some of the shells and sifted through the accumulated sediment in them, he discovered tiny globules in them.

"They really stood out. Because grains of sand are typically rather irregular, potato-shaped, "says Meyer. "But I always found these tiny, perfect bullets." Meyer had found more than 80 of these small 200-micron rounds in the end. But at first nobody knew what it was. He kept it for more than ten years until he recently found and analyzed it.

Witnesses of an impact

The surprising result: The kolles were of extraterrestrial origin. Their physical characteristics and their enrichment with exotic metals suggest that they are microtectites - tiny evidence of a meteorite impact. The koles were formed when the tremendous energy of the impact melted and vaporized rocks and threw them into great heights. There, the drops of stone froze to the little balls before they fell back to earth. display

The microtectites now identified are the first ever found in Florida and the first discovered in fossil shells. "That really blew me away, " says Meyer. According to datings, the kegs were deposited about two to three million years ago. The researchers suspect that at that time one or more meteorites on or near the Florida Plateau must be taken.

Impact in the salt dome?

However, it is still puzzling why the microtectites contain unusually high levels of sodium. Normally, however, this rather volatile element evaporates, while a meteorite is destroyed by the earth's atmosphere. It is therefore unlikely that the sodium was brought from the impactor, Meyer and his colleagues. They rather suspect that it comes from the impact site.

"The high sodium content of microtectites is exciting because it suggests a relatively close impact location, " Meyer explains. "When the meteorite struck, he probably hit a rock salt deposit or the ocean." Both speak for a strike site in or near Florida. "But we still need more material and sites to confirm the source of these microtectites, " the researchers emphasize. They suspect that even more of these small tumblers of rock glass could hide in the shell bays of the region. (Meteoritics & Planetary Science, 2019; doi: 10.1111 / maps.13299)

Source: Florida Museum of Natural History

- Nadja Podbregar