أول نصب تذكاري لنهر جليدي اختفى

تحتفل "رسالة إلى المستقبل" بأول نهر جليدي رسمي "ميت" في أيسلندا

هذا ما بدا عليه: لم يكن نهر أوكجوكول الجليدي في أيسلندا رسميًا منذ عام 2014. لقد ذاب كثيرا لدرجة أنه لم يتبق سوى جليد ميت. © دومينيك بوير / سيمين هاو
قراءة بصوت عال

النصب التذكاري للأجيال القادمة: سيتم الكشف عن أول لوحة تذكارية لنهر جليدي في أيسلندا قريبًا. إنه يذكرنا بأوكجوكول الجليدي ، الذي كان أول تيار جليدي في أيسلندا يفقد مكانته رسميًا كأنه جليدي - لقد تسبب الاحترار في تذويب الجليد بعيدًا جدًا. تحمل اللوحة التذكارية "رسالة إلى المستقبل" تفيد "نحن نعرف ما يحدث وما يجب القيام به. فقط ستعرف إذا فعلنا ذلك ".

يتسبب تغير المناخ في ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية في جميع أنحاء العالم - ليس فقط في جبال الألب وجبال الهيمالايا وغيرها من المناطق الجبلية ، ولكن أيضًا في المناطق القطبية ، غرينلاند وأيسلندا. تقلصت معظم تدفقات الجليد حتى الآن ، لكن الباحثين يتوقعون أن العديد من الأنهار الجليدية قد تختفي قريبًا.

فقط بقية الجليد الميت

في أيسلندا ، لقد حان الوقت بالفعل: في عام 2014 ، تم تهدئة نهر أوكجوكول الجليدي ، الذي لم يكن كبيراً على أي حال ، حتى الآن حتى أن العلماء قد ألغوه رسميًا على أنه جليدي. في النهاية ، اختفى مجرى الجليد ، المسمى أيضًا "موافق" ، وفقد. من الأنهار الجليدية في قمة Ok Mountain لا يوجد سوى بقايا صغيرة من الجليد اليسار - وهو ما يسميه علماء الجليد الجليدي الميت.

اللوحة التذكارية لأوكجوكول ونقوشها. © جامعة رايس

يقول دومينيك بوير من جامعة رايس: "حسناً ، إنه أول نهر جليدي اسمه آيسلندا وقد ذاب لأننا نحن البشر غيرنا جو كوكبنا". "سيتم تقاسم مصيره من قبل جميع الأنهار الجليدية في أيسلندا ، إذا لم نتصرف الآن وخفضنا بشكل كبير من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة." لا يزال هناك حوالي 400 من الأنهار الجليدية في أيسلندا ، ولكن وفقا لتقديرات علماء المناخ يمكن بالفعل 2100 H لقد اختفى نصفهم ، حتى عام 2200 ، حتى إذا لم تعمل حماية المناخ.

"رسالة إلى المستقبل"

سيتم تذكير مصير Okj kull المختفين قريبًا بواسطة لوحة تذكارية في 18 أغسطس سيتم الكشف عنها في Ok Mountain. يقول زميل بوير ، سيمين هاو: "سيكون هذا أول نصب تذكاري في العالم يذكّرنا بالأنهار الجليدية المفقودة بسبب تغير المناخ". "من خلال إحياء ذكرى نهايتها ، نأمل أن نلفت الانتباه إلى ما ضاع بسبب اختفاء الأنهار الجليدية في أرضنا."

على متنها قراءة: "رسالة إلى المستقبل. حسناً ، أول نهر جليدي في أيسلندا يفقد مكانته كأنه جليدي. على مدى 200 عام ، كانت كل الأنهار الجليدية تتبعه. يهدف هذا النصب التذكاري إلى الشهادة بأننا نعرف ما يحدث وما يجب القيام به. أنت تعرف فقط إذا فعلنا ذلك. "هذه الكلمات كتبها الكاتب الأندلسي أندري سناير ماجنسون.

النصب التذكاري للأشخاص الذين يعيشون اليوم

ولكن حتى لو كان النقش على اللوحة التذكارية موجهًا للأجيال القادمة - كتذكير ، فإن الكلمات يجب أن تخدم قبل كل شيء أولئك الذين يعيشون اليوم: "أحد زملائنا الآيسلنديين قال ذات مرة أنه من الحكمة:" دينكمو " يقول هاو إنهم ليسوا من أجل الموتى ، إنهم من أجل الأحياء. "مع هذا النصب التذكاري ، نريد التأكيد على أن الأمر متروك لنا ، نحن الأحياء ، للاستجابة للخسارة السريعة للأنهار الجليدية وآثار تغير المناخ."

قام هاو وبوير بتصوير الفيلم الوثائقي "لا بأس" في نهاية أوكجكول ، حيث روى قصة هذا الجبل الجليدي واختفته.

المصدر: جامعة رايس

- ناديا بودبريجار

First monument to a vanished glacier

"Letter to the Future" commemorates Iceland's first officially "dead" glacier

That's what he looked like: the Okjökull glacier on Iceland has officially not been a glacier since 2014. He has melted down so much that only a dead ice remains. © Dominic Boyer / Cymene Howe
Read out

Memorial to posterity: The first commemorative plaque for a vanished glacier will soon be unveiled on Iceland. It is reminiscent of the Okjökull glacier, which was the first ice stream in Iceland to officially lose its status as a glacier - the warming caused it to defrost too far. The commemorative plaque carries a "letter to the future" stating, "We know what is happening and what needs to be done. Only you will know if we did it. "

Climate change causes glaciers to thaw worldwide - not only in the Alps, the Himalayas and other mountain regions, but also in the polar regions, Greenland and Iceland. Most of the ice flows have shrunk so far, but researchers predict that many glaciers may soon be completely gone.

Only a dead ice rest

In Iceland, the time has already come: In 2014, the Okjökull glacier, which was not that large anyway, had defused so far that scientists had officially revoked it as a glacier. The ice stream, also called "Ok", has finally disappeared and lost. From the glacier on the summit of Ok Mountain there is only a small remnant of ice left - something that glaciologists call dead ice.

The commemorative plaque for Okjökull and its inscriptions. © Rice University

"Ok is the first named icelandic glacier that has melted because we humans have changed the atmosphere of our planet, " says Dominic Boyer of Rice University. "Its fate will be shared by all the glaciers of Iceland, if we do not act now and radically reduce greenhouse gas emissions." There are still around 400 glaciers in Iceland, but according to estimates of climatologists could already 2100 the H Half of them have disappeared, to 2200 even all if the climate protection does not work.

"Letter to the future"

The fate of the disappeared Okj kull will soon be remembered by a commemorative plaque on the 18th of August it will be revealed on Ok Mountain. "This will be the world's first monument reminiscent of a glacier lost to climate change, " says Boyer's colleague Cymene Howe. "By commemorating its end, we hope to draw attention to what is lost by the disappearance of the glaciers of our earth." Ad

On the board read: "Letter to the future. Ok is the first glacier on Iceland that loses its status as a glacier. For the next 200 years, all of our glaciers could follow him. This memorial is meant to testify that we know what is happening and what needs to be done. Only you know if we did it. "These words were written by the Andalusian writer Andri Snaer Magnason.

Memorial for the people living today

But even if the inscription on the memorial plaque is addressed to the coming generations as a reminder, the words should above all serve those living today: "One of our Icelandic colleagues once said very wise: 'Denkm They are not for the dead, they are for the living, "says Howe. "With this memorial, we want to underline that it is up to us, the living, to respond to the rapid loss of glaciers and the effects of climate change."

Howe and Boyer shot the documentary "Not Ok" at the end of Okj kull, telling the story of this glacier and its disappearance.

Source: Rice University

- Nadja Podbregar