كان هناك حادث نووي في ماياك

سحابة الروثينيوم المشعة في خريف عام 2017 جاءت من محطة نووية روسية

محطة إعادة المعالجة الروسية ماياك قد أدت بالفعل مرارا وتكرارا إلى إطلاق النشاط الإشعاعي. في خريف عام 2017 ، كان يمكن أن يكون مصدر سحابة من الروثينيوم المشعة التي اجتاحت أوروبا. © Ecodefense / Heinrich Boell Foundation روسيا / سلابوفسكايا / نيكولينا
قراءة بصوت عال

مصدر محدود: في خريف عام 2017 ، اجتاحت سحابة من الروثينيوم -106 المشع في جميع أنحاء أوروبا. الآن حدد الباحثون مصدر هذا التلوث. من المحتمل أن يكون الروثينيوم من مصنع ماياك لإعادة المعالجة الروسي - وهو ما نفته روسيا حتى الآن. تؤكد التحليلات الجديدة الآن الشك. لذلك يجب إطلاق الروثينيوم في معالجة قضبان الوقود الطازج نسبيًا.

في نهاية سبتمبر 2017 ، أثارت محطات القياس في العديد من الدول الأوروبية ناقوس الخطر: لقد سجلت الروثينيوم المشع 106 في الهواء. لا يحدث هذا النويدات المشعة ذات عمر النصفي البالغ 372 يومًا بشكل طبيعي في الجو ، ولكن يمكن إطلاقه في حالة وقوع حادث نووي أو انفجار قنبلة نووية. في خريف عام 2017 ، زادت تركيزات الروثينيوم -106 في بعض نقاط القياس لفترة وجيزة إلى قيم تصل إلى 176 ملل لكل متر مكعب من الهواء - ليست قيمة ضارة ، ولكن منذ تشيرنوبيل هي الأعلى التي تم قياسها على الإطلاق في أوروبا.

تركيزات الروثينيوم في نقاط القياس الأوروبية المختلفة. © ماسون وآخرون. / PNAS

لا أحد يريد أن يكون

ولكن ما هو مصدر هذه السحابة الروثينيوم المشعة؟ وقال جورج شتاينهاوزر من جامعة هانوفر وزملاؤه "لم يبلغ أحد في ذلك الوقت عن حادث نووي ولم تعترف أي دولة عضو في الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية بمعرفة أي شيء عن مصدر محتمل." حتى ذلك الحين ، شك العلماء في أن مصدر الروثينيوم قد يكون في مكان ما في جبال الأورال الجنوبية بسبب توزيع القراءات ، ربما في مصنع إعادة معالجة الماياك الروسي.

وقال شتاينهاوسر وفريقه "قال المسؤولون الروس في ذلك الوقت إن ماياك لا يمكن أن يكون المصدر لأنهم لم يعثروا على أي آثار للراوثينيوم في الأرض المحيطة بالمصنع". "بدلاً من ذلك ، أشار المسؤولون إلى أنه حتى بطارية النويدات المشعة لقمر صناعي أثناء دخوله إلى الغلاف الجوي يمكن أن تكون المصدر".

للوصول إلى جذر سحابة الروثينيوم ، حلل الباحثون منذ ذلك الحين أكثر من 1300 قراءة من 179 محطة مراقبة في جميع أنحاء أوروبا. عرض

وكان مفاعل الأقمار الصناعية لا

النتيجة: خلافًا للإعلانات الروسية ، لا يأتي الروثينيوم المشع من قمر صناعي. "لو انهار قمر صناعي عند الدخول مرة أخرى ، فإن ذلك كان سيؤدي إلى توزيع عمودي للروثينيوم -106 في الهواء: كلما زاد الارتفاع ، زاد كلما زاد التركيز "، أوضح شتاينهاوسر وفريقه. ومع ذلك ، سجلت محطات القياس في المناطق المرتفعة ، مثل Zugspitze ، قيمًا منخفضة فقط.

وفقًا للباحثين ، فإن احتراق مصدر طبي أو تقني من النويدات المشعة ليس هو السبب أيضًا ، بالنظر إلى الكمية المنبعثة. وفقًا لحساباتهم ، يجب أن يتم إصدار حوالي 250 تيرابريل في المصدر دفعة واحدة. هذا هو أكثر من أمرين من حجم أكبر من ذلك ممكن من هذه المصادر. أفاد الباحثون أنه حتى الأعطال في مصانع إعادة تدوير الزجاج في المملكة المتحدة ولاهاي في فرنسا ، أصدرت فقط حوالي 0.37 تيرابيكريل أو 0.05 تيراكيلريل من الروثينيوم -106.

لا مفاعل نووي ، ولكن محطة إعادة المعالجة

للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول المصدر المحتمل ، بحث العلماء أيضًا عن النويدات المشعة الأخرى في عينات الهواء المشع. إذا كان السبب في وقوع حادث في محطة للطاقة النووية ، سيتعين اكتشاف آثار منتجات الانشطار الأخرى مثل الأمريسيوم والسيوم أو السترونتيوم في الهواء بالإضافة إلى الروثينيوم 106. لكن لم يكن الأمر كذلك ، كما يقول العلماء.

"هذا يستبعد الإطلاق العرضي من مفاعل نووي كمصدر ، لأن هذا كان سيؤدي إلى انبعاث عدد كبير من الإنتاج المقسم" ، شتاينهاوسر وفريقه. بدلاً من ذلك ، تشير القياسات إلى أن الروثينيوم تم إطلاقه أثناء إعادة معالجة الوقود النووي.

من جبال الاورال الجنوبية

لكن أين؟ تؤكد إعادة التقييم أن سحابة الروثينيوم المشعة قد انفجرت من منطقة جنوب الأورال فوق أوروبا. وأحد المؤشرات على ذلك هو حقيقة أن محطات المراقبة في رومانيا اكتشفت أعلى وأقدم الملوثات ، حسبما ذكر الباحثون. من الأحوال الجوية في نهاية سبتمبر 2017 ، خلصوا إلى أن الكتل الهوائية الملوثة قد عبرت سابقًا منطقة مصنع إعادة المعالجة الروسي ماياك.

"الكشف عن سحابة الروثينيوم في زيمنيك ، رومانيا ، في 30 سبتمبر 2017 ، يشير إلى إطلاق ماياك في الفترة ما بين 25 سبتمبر في الساعة 6:00 مساءً و 26 سبتمبر ظهراً" ، حسبما قال شتاينهاوسر وتقرير فريقه. تشير عينات ماياك للتربة التي أخذها فريق فرنسي في ديسمبر 2017 ، على عكس ما قالت السلطات الروسية ، إلى زيادة تلوث الروثينيوم غرب المصنع.

الروثينيوم من قضبان الوقود الشباب

وهناك إشارة أخرى: من حصة نظير الروثينيوم الثاني ، وهو الروثينيوم -103 ، في الهواء الملوث ، تمكن الباحثون من استخلاص استنتاجات حول كم عمر قضبان الوقود في وقت وقوع الحادث. يجب أن يكون. وفقا لذلك ، فإن النويدات المشعة تأتي من Brennst ben الفتية نسبيا ، والتي يجب أن تكون نشطة في قلب المفاعل قبل عامين. في نفس الوقت ، تم إطلاق الروثينيوم في نهاية عملية إعادة المعالجة.

ولكن هذا يعني: تم معالجة قضبان الوقود بعد تباطؤ قصير بشكل غير عادي. وقال شتاينهاوزر وتقرير فريقه: "لن تبدأ مصانع إعادة المعالجة الغربية مثل لاهاي معالجة أربع أو عشر سنوات على الأقل". يمكن أن يشير هذا الانتظار القصير إلى أن أعلى إنتاج محتمل لـ Cerium-144 كان متاحًا. ومع ذلك ، فإن السيريوم -144 هو النويدات المشعة التي تم توريدها بواسطة Mayak إلى جهاز Borexino Neutrino Detector في مختبر Gran Sasso.

صدر في إنتاج السيريوم 144؟

ملحوظة أيضًا: "لقد تم إلغاء طلب تسليم السيريوم - 144 من قبل المصنع في ماياك ، بعد فترة وجيزة من لفت انتباه الروثينيوم" ، وفقًا لتقرير الباحثين. على الرغم من أن تحليلاتها لا يمكن أن توضح بوضوح العلاقة بين إطلاق الروثينيوم وإنتاج السيريوم - 144 في ماياك. ومع ذلك ، يرى Steinhauser وفريقه أنه من المحتمل جدًا أن يكون هناك حادث في هذه العملية قد أدى إلى إطلاق السحابة المشعة من Mayak.

على الرغم من أن التلوث لم يكن ضارًا بصحة السكان الأوروبيين ، إلا أنه كان مهمًا: "تشير القياسات إلى أن هذا كان أكبر إطلاق منفرد لقياس النشاط الإشعاعي من منشأة مدنية" ، كما يقول شتاينهاوزر. "وحتى إذا لم يكن هناك بيان رسمي ، لدينا فكرة جيدة عما قد يحدث." (وقائع الأكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1073 / pnas.1907571116)
https://www.pnas.org/cgi/doi/10.1073/pnas.1907571116

المصدر: PNAS ، جامعة فيينا للتكنولوجيا

- ناديا بودبريجار

There was a nuclear accident in Mayak

Cloud radioactive ruthenium in autumn 2017 came from Russian nuclear plant

The Russian reprocessing plant Mayak has already repeatedly led to the release of radioactivity. In the fall of 2017, it could have been the source of a cloud of radioactive ruthenium that swept across Europe. © Ecodefense / Heinrich Boell Foundation Russia / Slapovskaya / Nikulina
Read out

Source limited: In the fall of 2017, a cloud of radioactive ruthenium-106 swept across Europe. Now researchers have specified the source of this contamination. The Ruthenium probably comes from the Russian reprocessing plant Mayak - which Russia has denied so far. New analyzes now confirm the suspicion. The ruthenium must therefore have been released in the processing of relatively fresh fuel rods.

At the end of September 2017, measuring stations in many European countries raised the alarm: they registered radioactive ruthenium-106 in the air. This radionuclide with a half-life of 372 days does not occur naturally in the atmosphere, but it can be released in the event of a nuclear accident or a nuclear bomb blast. In autumn 2017, the concentrations of ruthenium-106 at some measuring points briefly increased to values ​​of up to 176 millibecquerels per cubic meter of air - not a harmful value, but since Chernobyl the highest ever measured over Europe.

Ruthenium concentrations at various European measuring points. © Masson et al. / PNAS

Nobody wanted to be

But what was the source of this radioactive ruthenium cloud? "Nobody reported back then about a nuclear accident and no member state of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) admitted to know anything about a possible source, " report Georg Steinhauser from the University of Hannover and his colleagues. Even then, scientists suspected that the source of ruthenium might be somewhere in the southern Urals due to the distribution of readings, possibly in the Russian Mayak reprocessing plant.

"Russian officials said at the time that Mayak could not be the source because they did not find any radio-ruthenium traces in the ground around the plant, " Steinhauser and his team said. "Instead, the officials pointed out that even the radionuclide battery of a satellite as it enters the atmosphere could be the source."

To get to the root of the ruthenium cloud, researchers have since analyzed more than 1, 300 readings from 179 monitoring stations across Europe. display

A satellite reactor was not

The result: contrary to Russian declarations, the radioactive ruthenium does not come from a satellite. "If a satellite were to collapse on reentry, this would have resulted in a vertical distribution of ruthenium-106 in the air: the greater the altitude, the greater the higher the concentration ", explain Steinhauser and his team. However, measuring stations in higher altitudes, such as on the Zugspitze, registered only low values.

According to the researchers, the combustion of a medical or technical source of radionuclides is also not the cause, given the amount released. According to their calculations, around 250 terabecquerels must have been released at the source at one go. This is more than two orders of magnitude above that possible from such sources. Even breakdowns at windscale recycling plants in the UK and La Hague in France released only about 0.37 terabecquerel or 0.05 terabquerel of ruthenium-106, the researchers report.

No nuclear reactor, but a reprocessing plant

To gain more information about the possible source, the scientists also looked for other radionuclides in the radioactive air samples. If an accident in a nuclear power plant were the cause, traces of other fission products such as americium, ciumium or strontium in the air would have to be detected in addition to ruthenium-106. But that was not the case, as the scientists report.

"This excludes the accidental release from a nuclear reactor as a source, because this would have led to the emission of a large number of split production, " Steinhauser and his team state. Instead, the measurements suggest that ruthenium was released during the reprocessing of nuclear fuel.

From the southern Urals

But where? The reassessment confirms that the radioactive ruthenium cloud was blown from the area of ​​the southern Ural over Europe. One indication of this is the fact that monitoring stations in Romania detected the highest and earliest contaminations, the researchers report. From the weather conditions at the end of September 2017, they conclude that the contaminated air masses had previously crossed the area of ​​the Russian reprocessing plant of Mayak.

"Detection of the ruthenium cloud in Zimnicea, Romania, on September 30, 2017, indicates a Mayak release between September 25 at 6:00 pm and September 26 at noon, " Steinhauser and his team report. Mayak soil samples taken by a French team in December 2017, contrary to what the Russian authorities said, indicate increased ruthenium contamination west of the plant.

Ruthenium from young fuel rods

And there is one more indication: from the share of a second ruthenium isotope, the ruthenium-103, in the contaminated air, the researchers were able to draw conclusions about how old the fuel rods were at the time of the accident have to be. Accordingly, the radionuclide comes from relatively young Brennst ben, which must have been active in a reactor core two years earlier. At the same time, however, ruthenium was released at the end of the reprocessing process.

But that means: The fuel rods were processed after an unusually short cooldown. "Western reprocessing plants like La Hague will not start processing for at least four or even ten years, " Steinhauser and his team report. Such a short wait could indicate that the highest possible yield of Cerium-144 was available. Cerium-144, however, is a radionuclide known to have been supplied by Mayak to the Borexino Neutrino Detector in the Gran Sasso Laboratory.

Released in the production of Cerium-144?

Remarkable also: "The order for the delivery of Cerium-144 was canceled by the plant in Mayak, shortly after the release of ruthenium had attracted attention, " the researchers report. Although their analyzes can not clearly demonstrate the relationship between ruthenium release and Cerium-144 production in Mayak. However, Steinhauser and his team consider it quite likely that an accident in this process has led to the release of the radioactive cloud from Mayak.

Although the contamination was not harmful to the health of the European population, it was significant: "The measurements suggest that this was the largest single measured release of radioactivity from a civilian facility, " says Steinhauser. "And even if there is no official statement, we have a pretty good idea of ​​what might have happened." (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 2019; doi: 10.1073 / pnas.1907571116)
https://www.pnas.org/cgi/doi/10.1073/pnas.1907571116

Source: PNAS, Vienna University of Technology

- Nadja Podbregar