أوروبا: تلوث الهواء بالفعل في العصور القديمة

زاد تعدين الرومان من تلوث الهواء بعشرة أضعاف

يثبت قلبان جليديان من قمة مون بلان أن الهواء فوق يوروبا ملوث بالرصاص والأنتيمون حتى في العصر الروماني. © Björn S. / CC-by-sa 2.0
قراءة بصوت عال

التعدين مع العواقب: حتى في العصر الروماني ، كان الهواء فوق أوروبا ملوثاً بالرصاص والمعادن الثقيلة الأخرى. أدى التعدين المكثف للرصاص والفضة والمعادن الأخرى في الإمبراطورية الرومانية إلى زيادة التعرض للرصاص بعشرة أضعاف ، كما يتضح من قلوب الجليد من مونت بلانك. كانت النقاط العالية لتلوث الهواء القديم في القرن الثاني قبل المسيح وبعده.

عصر تلوث الهواء من صنع الإنسان لم يبدأ حتى عصر التصنيع. حتى قبل ذلك ، أدى التعدين على وجه الخصوص إلى تلوث ملموس للهواء ، وخاصة بالمعادن الثقيلة ، من بين أمور أخرى في ثقافات جبال الأنديز ، في زمن الغزاة الإسبان ، ولكن أيضًا في أوروبا القديمة والعصور الوسطى. يمكن إظهار آثار تلوث الهواء المبكر ، في جملة أمور ، في قلوب الجليد من الأنهار الجليدية الجبلية.

سبائك الرصاص الرومانية من مناجم قرطاجنة في إسبانيا. © Nanosanchez / المجال العام

بأثر رجعي على الهواء من العصور القديمة

ولكن كيف كان الهواء في العصور الأوروبية جيدًا أو سيئًا ، لم يكن هناك سوى بيانات غير دقيقة - بما في ذلك قلب جليدي من جرينلاند. لهذا السبب قامت سوزان بريونكيرت من جامعة غرينوبل وفريقها بتحليل اثنين من النوى الجليدية التي اقتربت أكثر بكثير من مكان الحادث: إنهم يأتون من جليد مونت بلانك ، أعلى جبل في جبال الألب. ،

يعود جليد النوى إلى حوالي 5000 عام. يقول الباحثون "إنه يوفر لنا سجلاً شاملاً لتلوث الهواء من أنشطة التعدين والهندسة الأوروبية من العصر البرونزي إلى العصور القديمة حتى العصور الوسطى المبكرة". لدراستهم ، قاموا بتحليل مستويات الرصاص والأنتيمون والمعادن الثقيلة الأخرى المودعة في الجليد والتي يتم إطلاقها عادةً أثناء استخراج المعادن ومعالجتها.

عشرة أضعاف الرصاص في الهواء

النتيجة: بالفعل في زمن الرومان ، لم يعد الهواء فوق أوروبا نظيفًا ، لكنه أظهر علامات واضحة على تلوث الهواء. منذ حوالي عام 350 قبل الميلاد ، سجل الباحثون مستويات مرتفعة بشكل ملحوظ من الرصاص والأنتيمون في جليد نوىهم لمدة 500 عام. يقول مايكل ليجراند ، زميل بريونكيرت: "يُظهر جليد جبال الألب أن تلوث الرصاص في العصور القديمة زاد من قيمة الخلفية الطبيعية للرصاص بنسبة تصل إلى عشر مرات". زادت قيمة الأنتيمون ستة أضعاف خلال هذا الوقت. عرض

كان سبب تلوث الهواء هو تعدين المعادن في Rums ، والتي كانت تقريبًا على نطاق صناعي. لقد استخرجوا كميات كبيرة من الرصاص والفضة ، خاصة من مناجم إسبانيا والجزر البريطانية. تم استخدام المعدن للعملات الفضية وكذلك لإنتاج كميات كبيرة من أنابيب المياه الرصاص.

ارتفاعين وانخفاض واحد

يظهر تعرض الرصاص للهواء القديم ارتفاعين متميزين ، يتزامنان مع مراحل التوسع الروماني والقوة الاقتصادية ، كما لاحظ Preunkert وفريقها. الذروة الأولى حوالي 250 قبل الميلاد ، وهو الوقت الذي انتشرت فيه الإمبراطورية الرومانية في جميع أنحاء شبه الجزيرة الإيطالية. تبلغ القمة الثانية من التعرض للرصاص حوالي 120 ميلادية ، متزامنة مع المرحلة التي توسعت فيها الإمبراطورية الرومانية في معظم أنحاء أوروبا.

بين هاتين المرحلتين من التوسع الروماني واستخراج المعادن المكثفة ، كانت هناك فترة من الاضطراب ، وهو ما ينعكس أيضًا في البيانات الجليدية الأساسية: بين ذرتي التلوث ، هناك مرحلة طويلة من 100 عام ، يكون فيها تلوث الرصاص واضحًا كان أقل. يقول الباحثون: "هذا يعكس الوقت الذي كانت فيه الإمبراطورية الرومانية مرتع بالحرب والانتقال من الجمهورية الرومانية إلى الإمبراطورية".

المهم أيضا لقياسات اليوم

تُظهر البيانات الجديدة أن التعدين القديم ترك آثارًا في الهواء في أوروبا أكثر بكثير مما كان يُعتقد سابقًا. يقول الباحثون إن الافتراض القديم بأنه لم يكن هناك أي تلوث كبير للهواء في قارتنا قبل الثورة الصناعية. يجب أيضًا أخذ ذلك في الاعتبار عند تحديد حجم الخلفية "الطبيعي" كمرجع لقياسات جودة الهواء.

"إن تلوث الهواء من قبل R istmer هو بالفعل خمس إلى عشر مرات أقل من البنزين المحتوي على الرصاص في العصر الحديث ، لكنه استمر لفترة أطول - عدة قرون بدلاً من حوالي 30 عامًا" يقول ليجراند. (رسائل الأبحاث الجيوفيزيائية ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1029 / 2019GL082641)

المصدر: الاتحاد الجيوفيزيائي الأمريكي

- ناديا بودبريجار

Europe: air pollution already in antiquity

Mining of the Romans increased lead pollution of the air tenfold

Two ice cores from the summit of Mont Blanc prove that the air over Eurropa was contaminated with lead and antimony even in Roman times. © Björn S. / CC-by-sa 2.0
Read out

Mining with consequences: Even back in Roman times the air over Europe was polluted with lead and other heavy metals. The intensive mining of lead, silver and other metals in the Roman Empire increased the lead exposure of the air tenfold, as evidenced by ice cores from Mont Blanc. The high points of ancient air pollution were therefore in the second century before and after Christ.

The era of manmade air pollution did not begin until the age of industrialization. Even before that, mining in particular led to measurable pollution of the air, especially with heavy metals, among others in the cultures of the Andes, at the time of the Spanish conquerors, but also in ancient and medieval Europe. These traces of early air pollution can be demonstrated, inter alia, in ice cores from mountain glaciers.

Roman lead ingots from the mines of Cartagena in Spain. © Nanosanchez / Public domain

Retrospect on the air of antiquity

But just how good or bad the air was in European antiquity, there was only inaccurate data including an ice core from Greenland. That's why Susanne Preunkert from the University of Grenoble and her team have analyzed two ice cores that were taken much closer to the scene: they come from the ice of Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in the Alps,

The ice of the two cores goes back about 5, 000 years. "It provides us with a comprehensive record of air pollution from European mining and engineering activities from the Bronze Age to antiquity to the early Middle Ages, " the researchers say. For their study, they analyzed the levels of lead, antimony, and other heavy metals deposited in the ice that are typically released during metal extraction and processing.

Ten times more lead in the air

The result: Already at the time of the Romans, the air over Europe was no longer clean, but showed clear signs of air pollution. From about 350 BC, researchers recorded significantly elevated levels of lead and antimony in the ice of their cores for about 500 years. "The alpine ice shows that lead contamination in ancient times increased the natural background value of lead by up to ten times, " says Preunkert's colleague Michael Legrand. The antimony value increased sixfold during this time. display

The cause of this air pollution was the metal mining of the Rums, which was almost on an industrial scale. They extracted large quantities of lead and silver, mainly from mines in Spain and the British Isles. The metal was used for silver coins as well as for the mass production of lead water pipes.

Two highs and one low

The lead exposure of the ancient air shows two distinct highs, which coincide with phases of Roman expansion and economic strength, as Preunkert and her team noted. The first peak is around 250 BC, marking a time when the Roman Empire spread throughout the Italian peninsula. The second peak of lead exposure is around 120 AD, coinciding with the phase when the Roman Empire expanded into much of the rest of Europe.

Between these two phases of Roman expansion and intensive metal extraction, however, there was a period of upheaval, which is also reflected in the ice core data: Between the two pollution highs, there is a 100-year long phase, in which the lead contamination significantly was lower. "This reflects the time when the Roman empire was awed by wars and the transition from the Roman Republic to the Empire, " the researchers say.

Important also for today's measurements

The new data shows that ancient mining left significantly more traces in the air over Europe than previously thought. The old assumption that there was hardly any significant air pollution on our continent before the industrial revolution is refuted, the researchers say. This should also be taken into account for the determination of the "natural" background load as a reference for air quality measurements.

"The air pollution by the R istmer is indeed five to ten times lower than by the leaded petrol of the modern era, but it held much longer several centuries instead of only about 30 years" says Legrand. (Geophysical Research Letters, 2019; doi: 10.1029 / 2019GL082641)

Source: American Geophysical Union

- Nadja Podbregar