التجربة تعيد بناء مهد الحياة

قد تكون نشأت الحياة الأولى في المخارج الحرارية المائية القلوية في البحار القديمة

ينفث هذا المنفذ الحراري المائي في حقل مدينة المحيط الهادئ المفقود الهيدروجين والميثان بالإضافة إلى المياه الغنية بالمعادن - فقد تكون المنافس المشابهة مهدًا للحياة على الأرض المبكرة. © NOAA Ocean Explorer / URI-ILO، UW، IFE
قراءة بصوت عال

إذا نظرنا إلى الوراء في الحساء البدائي: يمكن أن تنشأ لبنات بناء هامة للحياة الأولى على الأرض في المخارج الحرارية المائية للمحيطات. هذا يُظهر تجربة قام فيها الباحثون بإعادة تكوين هذه المخارج البدائية في المختبر. في وجود بعض معادن الحديد ، تشكلت الأحماض الأمينية والجزيئات الحيوية اللاكتات للحياة الأولى في الماء الدافئ لهذا الحساء البدائي المصغر.

كيف وأين نشأت الحياة الأولى على الأرض؟ هذا السؤال لا يزال غير واضح. وهكذا ، يشك الباحثون في مهد الحياة في حفر الطين أو في برك المياه الساخنة أو في فتحات التهوية الحرارية المائية أو في مسام الحمم البركانية المجمدة من براكين البحر. حتى الجزيئات الحيوية التي كانت اللبنات الأساسية الأولى في الحياة لا تزال محل خلاف. وفقًا لأحد النظريات ، كان الحمض النووي الريبي لا يزال الحمض النووي للخلايا الأولى قبل الحمض النووي ، والذي كان يمكن تشكيل كتل بنائه مع الأحماض الأمينية في البراكين الفرعية ، كما تشير التجارب.

تنفيس الحرارية المائية في شكل مصغرة

قام الباحثون بقيادة لوري بارج من مختبر الدفع النفاث التابع لناسا بإجراء تجربة جديدة للحياة. أرادوا معرفة ما إذا كانت الفتحات الحرارية المائية القلوية مناسبة كمواقع بناء لبنات البناء مثل الأحماض الأمينية. "فهم مقدار الجزيئات الحيوية التي لا يمكن أن تتشكل إلا من المعادن والسلائف العضوية أمر مهم لمعرفة أي نوع من البيئة يمكن أن تكون الحياة" ، ويوضح بارج.

تنفيس أعماق البحر في صورة مصغرة: في التجربة ، يتم إطلاق المعادن المحتوية على الحديد وتشكيل حمض اللبنيك والأحماض الأمينية. ناسا / JPL-Caltech / فلوريس

لتجربتهم ، أعاد الباحثون تهيئة البيئة الكيميائية والكيميائية لأحد هؤلاء المدخنين السود على نطاق مصغر. لهذا السبب ، استخدموا معدن أكسيد الحديد (FeO (OH)) ، والذي يوجد غالبًا على الأرض المبكرة ، في مياه البحر القلوية قليلاً التي يتم تسخينها إلى حوالي 70 درجة مئوية. وأضافوا إلى ذلك المركبات العضوية البيروفات والأمونيا ، والتي يمكن أن تتشكل في ظل هذه الظروف في المخارج الحرارية المائية.

التكوين التلقائي للحمض الأميني واللاكتات

النتيجة: في ظل ظروف نقص الأكسجين في اليورانيوم المحاكي ، تفاعل معدن الحديد المؤكسد جزئيًا مع البيروفات والأمونيا. تلقى البيروفات مجموعة أمين تحتوي على النيتروجين وتم تحويلها إلى ألانين الحمض الأميني. في الوقت نفسه ، تم إنتاج اللاكتات ، ملح حامض اللبنيك أيضًا. كلاهما جزيئات حيوية مهمة للكائنات الحية ، كما أن الأحماض الهيدروكربوكسيلية مثل حمض اللبنيك تعتبر أيضًا سلائفًا لمكونات الحياة المعقدة الأخرى. عرض

"هذا يدل على أن النظم المعدنية للحديد المائي ، والتي تقلل جزئيًا ، مثل تلك التي كانت شائعة في الأرض المبكرة ، قد فضلت تخليق وإثراء الجزيئات العضوية قبل التكوين الحيوي. يمكن "، بارج والدولة فريقها. هناك عامل إيجابي آخر يمكن أن يكون التدرجات الجيوكيميائية في المداخن: الاختلافات الكبيرة في الكيمياء ودرجة الحرارة في مساحة صغيرة توفر الطاقة للتفاعلات الكيميائية وربما تكون قد غذت تكوين جزيئات معقدة بشكل متزايد ،

مساعدة للبحث عن حياة غريبة

وفقًا للباحثين ، توفر تجربتهم مؤشراً آخر على أن الفتحات الحرارية المائية القلوية يمكن أن تكون مهدًا مناسبًا للحياة على الأرض البدائية. في الوقت نفسه ، يمكن أن يكشف هذا أيضًا عن الظروف التي يمكن أن تنشأ فيها الحياة على الأجرام السماوية الأخرى. "لا يزال لدينا أي دليل على وجود حياة غريبة ، ولكن إذا فهمنا الظروف الضرورية لإنشاء الحياة ، فيمكننا حينها تضييق الأماكن ، يقول بارج "أين نبحث عنه".

يمكن أن يكون لمكانين على الأقل في النظام الشمسي بالفعل فتحات تهوية مائية وبالتالي مهدات الحياة المحتملة: يوجد في قمر زحل إنسيلادوس تحت قاعته الجليدية محيط شبه جليدي من المحتمل أن ترتفع فيه المياه القلوية الدافئة من سطح الصخور الساخنة. يمكن أن يحدث شيء مشابه على سطح كوكب المشتري أوروبا - هنا أيضًا يوجد محيط سائل تحت القشرة الجليدية. (وقائع الأكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1073 / pnas.1812098116)

المصدر: ناسا / مختبر الدفع النفاث

- ناديا بودبريجار

Experiment reconstructs cradle of life

The first life could have originated in alkaline hydrothermal vents of the ancient seas

This hydrothermal vent in the Pacific Lost City field spills hydrogen and methane in addition to mineral-rich water - similar vents could have been a cradle of life on the early Earth. © NOAA Ocean Explorer / URI-ILO, UW, IFE
Read out

Looking back at the primordial soup: Important building blocks for the first life on earth could have arisen at the hydrothermal vents of the oceans. This shows an experiment in which researchers have recreated such primeval vents in the laboratory. In the presence of certain iron minerals, amino acids and lactate biomolecules for first life were formed in the warm water of this miniature primordial soup.

How and where did the first life on earth originate? This question is still unclear. Thus, researchers suspect the cradle of life in clay pits, in hot pools, in hydrothermal vents or in the pores of frozen lava from sea volcanoes. Even which biomolecules were the first building blocks of life is still in dispute. According to one theory, the RNA was still the DNA of the first cells before the DNA, whose building blocks could have been formed together with amino acids on sub-volcanoes, as experiments suggest.

Hydrothermal vent in miniature format

Researchers led by Laurie Barge of NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory have now carried out a new life-giving experiment. They wanted to know if alkaline hydrothermal vents are suitable as building sites for building blocks such as amino acids. "Understanding how much such biomolecules can only be formed from minerals and organic precursors is important to find out what kind of environment life can be in, " explains Barge.

Deep-sea vent in miniature: In the experiment, iron-containing minerals are released and lactic acid and amino acids are formed. NASA / JPL-Caltech / Flores

For their experiment, the researchers recreated the chemical-physical environment of one of these black smokers on a miniature scale. For this reason, they used iron-oxide mineral (FeO (OH)), which is often found on early earth, in slightly alkaline sea water heated to around 70 ° C. To this they added the organic compounds pyruvate and ammonia, which can be formed under such conditions at hydrothermal vents.

Spontaneous formation of amino acid and lactate

The result: Under the oxygen-poor conditions of the simulated uranium, the partially oxidized iron mineral reacted with the pyruvate and ammonia. The pyruvate received a nitrogen-containing amine group and was converted into the amino acid alanine. At the same time, lactate, the salt of lactic acid, was also produced. Both are important biomolecules for organisms, and hydrocarboxylic acids such as lactic acid are also regarded as precursors of other, complex components of life. display

"This shows that aqueous, partially reducing iron mineral systems, such as were common on early Earth, favored the synthesis and enrichment of prebiotic organic molecules could ", Barge and her team state. Another positive factor could be the geochemical gradients in the chimneys: the large differences in chemistry and temperature in a small space provide energy for chemical reactions and may have fueled the formation of increasingly complex molecules,

Help for searching for alien life

According to the researchers, their experiment provides another indication that alkaline hydrothermal vents could have been a suitable cradle of life on the primordial earth. At the same time, this could also reveal the conditions under which life could have originated on other celestial bodies. "We still have no evidence of alien life, but if we understand the conditions that are necessary for the creation of life, then we can narrow down the places, where we look for it, "says Barge.

At least two places in the solar system could actually have hydrothermal vents and thus potential cradles of life: The Saturn moon Enceladus has under its ice crust a subglacial ocean in which warm, alkaline water is likely to rise from the hot rock surface. Something similar could happen on Jupiter's moon Europa here too there is a liquid ocean under the ice crust. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 2019; doi: 10.1073 / pnas.1812098116)

Source: NASA / JPL

- Nadja Podbregar