أقرب رسالة من مسيحي

خطاب من عام 230 يعطي نظرة ثاقبة لحياة المسيحيين الأوائل في مصر الرومانية

يحتوي السطر الأخير من ورق البردي هذا منذ حوالي عام 230 ميلادي على تحية مسيحية. هذا يجعل هذا النص أقدم رسالة مسيحية في جميع أنحاء العالم. © جامعة بازل
قراءة بصوت عال

ندرة فريدة من نوعها: قام الباحثون بتتبع أقدم رسالة معروفة للمسيحي - يعود تاريخها إلى حوالي عام 230 ميلادية ، كما تؤكد التواريخ. تحتوي الرسالة المكتوبة على ورق البردي على صور للأحداث اليومية والمسائل العائلية التي تقدم رؤى مثيرة في حياة المسيحيين الأوائل في مصر الرومانية. كاتب ومرسلي الرسالة هما شقيقان جاءا من منزل مسيحي.

عاش المسيحيون الأوائل في عالم من الاضطرابات. في الإمبراطورية الرومانية ومقاطعاتها ، كأقلية مع وجهات نظر جديدة تمامًا وممارسات دينية ، كانوا في البداية غرباء غريبين. في وقت لاحق ، تعرضوا للاضطهاد بشكل منهجي ، بما في ذلك من قبل الإمبراطور الروماني نيرو. ولكن لا يُعرف الكثير عن الحياة اليومية للمسيحيين الرومانيين الأوائل ، لا سيما المسيحيين الذين عاشوا بعيداً عن المدن الكبيرة.

صلصة السمك وصيغة نهائية غادرة

يتم توفير رؤى جديدة في الحياة اليومية لهؤلاء الناس من قبل أقدم رسالة معروفة للمسيحي في وقت مبكر. تم اكتشاف المخطوط المكتوب على ورق البردي في الأصل في قرية ثيودلفي في مصر الوسطى - ثم جزء من المقاطعة الرومانية. في ذلك ، رجل يدعى أريانوس يبلغ شقيقه بول عن آخر شؤون الأسرة والأحداث اليومية. تشير التواريخ إلى أن هذه الرسالة تعود إلى حوالي عام 230 ميلادي.

لكن النقطة الحاسمة: بعد أن يكتب الكاتب عن الأحداث العائلية اليومية ويسأل عن أفضل صلصة سمك كتذكار ، يتمنى لأخيه في السطر الأخير أن يكون "في الرب". يستخدم المؤلف التهجئة المختصرة للصيغة المسيحية "أدعو الله أن تكون بخير يا رب".

كان الأخوان مسيحيين

يقول المؤرخ سابين هوبنر من جامعة بازل: "إن استخدام هذا الاختصار - نحن نتحدث عن ما يسمى بالذبيحة الاسمية - لا يترك أي شك حول المشاعر المسيحية للكاتب الحرفي". "هذه صيغة مسيحية حصرية ، تم تسليمها إلينا من نصوص العهد الجديد." هذا يثبت أن الرجل أريانوس الذي يعيش في مصر الرومانية يجب أن يكون مسيحيًا بالفعل. عرض

وبالتالي ، فإن ورق البردي هذا يمثل أقدم وثيقة مسيحية معروفة من مصر الرومانية وفي جميع أنحاء العالم ، وهو أقدم من 40 إلى 50 عامًا على الأقل من جميع الرسائل الوثائقية المسيحية المعروفة سابقًا في جميع أنحاء العالم. ويوضح هوبنر أن اسم الأخ ينير أيضًا ، يقول بول: "بول هو اسم نادر جدًا في ذلك الوقت". "يمكننا أن نستنتج من ذلك أن الآباء الذين وردت أسماؤهم في الرسالة كانوا بالفعل مسيحيين وأسموا ابنهم بعد الرسول في وقت مبكر من عام 200 ميلادي."

النخبة على الرغم من الدين الجديد

الشيء المثير في الأمر: يصف الخطاب المسائل العائلية اليومية ولكنه فريد من نوعه لأنه يقدم رؤى قيّمة لعالم المسيحيين الأوائل في الإمبراطورية الرومانية ، والتي لا يُعرف عنها أي مصدر تاريخي آخر. وهكذا ، يثبت النص أنه في أوائل القرن الثالث كان هناك مسيحيون في المناطق النائية المصرية بعيدا عن المدن ، كما يوضح هوبنر.

يقدم البردي أيضًا تفاصيل مثيرة للاهتمام حول الأصول الاجتماعية لهذه العائلة المسيحية المبكرة: وفقًا لذلك ، كان أريانوس وأخوه بول من أبناء الشباب المتعلمين من النخبة المحلية ومالك الأرض وحامل الأشغال العامة. نتيجةً لذلك ، تولى المسيحيون الأوائل في مصر الرومانية القيادة السياسية ولم يختلفوا عن بيئتهم الوثنية في حياتهم اليومية.

تُنشر الرسالة وأوراق البردي الأخرى من مجموعة بازل رقميًا على منصة Papyri.info.

المصدر: جامعة بازل

- ناديا بودبريجار

Earliest letter from a Christian

Letter from the year 230 gives insights into the life of the early Christians in the Roman gypten

The last line of this papyrus from around 230 AD contains a Christian salutation. This makes this text the oldest Christian letter worldwide. © University of Basel
Read out

Unique rarity: Researchers have tracked down the oldest known letter of a Christian - it dates from the time around 230 AD, as confirmed by dates. The letter written on papyrus contains portrayals of everyday events and family matters that provide exciting insights into the lives of early Christians in Roman Egypt. The scribe and addressee of the letter are two brothers who came from a Christian home.

The early Christians lived in a world of upheaval. For in the Roman Empire and its provinces, as a minority with completely new views and religious practices, they were initially exotic outsiders. Later, they were even systematically persecuted, including by the Roman Emperor Nero. But little is known about the daily lives of early Roman Christians, especially not the Christians who lived away from the big cities.

Fish sauce and a treacherous final formula

New insights into the everyday life of these people are provided by the oldest known letter of an early Christian. The manuscript written on papyrus was originally discovered in the village of Theodelphia in Middle Egypt - then part of the Roman province. In it, a man named Arrianus informs his brother Paul about the latest family affairs and everyday events. Dates indicate that this letter dates from around 230 AD.

But the decisive point: After the letter writer reports on everyday family events and asks for the best fish sauce as a souvenir, he wishes his brother in the last line that he will be well "in the Lord". The author uses the abbreviated spelling of the Christian formula "I pray that you are well, in the Lord".

Both brothers were Christians

"The use of this abbreviation - we are talking about a so-called nomen sacrum - leaves no doubt about the Christian sentiment of the letter writer, " says historian Sabine Huebner of the University of Basel. "This is an exclusively Christian formula, which has been handed down to us from New Testament transcripts." This proves that the man Arrianus living in the Roman Egypt must have already been a Christian. display

Thus, this papyrus represents the oldest known Christian document from Roman Egypt and worldwide. It is at least 40 to 50 years older than all previously known Christian-documentary letters worldwide. The name of the brother is also enlightening, explains Huebner: "Paul is a very rare name at the time, " says the historian. "We can deduce from this that the parents named in the letter were already Christians and had named their son after the apostle as early as 200 AD."

Elite despite new religion

The exciting thing about it: The letter describes everyday family matters and yet is unique in its kind. Because it offers valuable insights into the world of the first Christians in the Roman Empire, which are known from no other historical source. Thus, the text proves that in the early third century there were Christians in the Egyptian hinterland away from the cities, as Huebner explains.

The papyrus also provides interesting details about the social origins of this early Christian family: According to this, Arrianus and his brother Paul were young educated sons of the local elite, landowner and bearer of public works. As a result, early Christians in Roman Egypt did take on political leadership and otherwise did not differ from their pagan environment in their daily lives.

The letter and other papyri from the Basel collection are digitally published on the platform Papyri.info.

Source: University of Basel

- Nadja Podbregar