غرينلاند: تعقب البحيرات "الضائعة"

اكتشاف 56 بحيرة تحت الجليدي يوضح التناقض بين الملاحظات والطراز

تحت الغطاء الجليدي لجرينلاند مخبأة العديد من البحيرات تحت الجليدية - حتى الآن كانت مخبأة. © NASA / GSFC ، Reto Stockli / Blue Marble
قراءة بصوت عال

لكنهم موجودون: حتى الآن ، كان الباحثون يحيرون لماذا لا تكاد توجد أي بحيرات تحت الجليدية تحت جليد غرينلاند - والكثير في القطب الجنوبي. الآن اكتشاف ما يصل إلى 56 بحيرة من هذه البحيرات تحت غرينلاند الجليدية يوفر الإجابة: ببساطة لم يتم التعرف عليها. تقدم الاكتشافات الجديدة الآن رؤى قيّمة لسلوك ذوبان الجليد في غرينلاند ، كما أورد الباحثون في مجلة "Nature Communications".

تبدو الصفائح الجليدية في أنتاركتيكا وغرينلاند قوية وكبيرة الحجم. ولكن تحت الجليد توجد أحواض وبحيرات وحتى شبكات كاملة من الماء السائل. باستخدام خرائط الرادار والقياسات السيزمية ، قام العلماء في القطب الجنوبي بتعقب أكثر من 400 بحيرة كهربية تحتية. يمتد النطاق من بحيرة فوستوك الضخمة والقديمة إلى المياه الصغيرة التي تملأ وتفريغها بشكل حيوي.

أين هي البحيرات تحت الجليدية؟

غريب ، مع ذلك: في غرينلاند أيضًا ، يتم إذابة قاعدة الجليد في العديد من الأماكن ، ولهذا السبب يجب أن توجد العديد من البحيرات تحت الجليدية. ولكن حتى الآن اكتشف الباحثون عدد لا يحصى من برك المياه الذائبة على جليد جرينلاند ووادي عميق تحت الغطاء الجليدي ، ولكن فقط أربع بحيرات صغيرة تحت الجليدية. لكن أين الباقي؟

من أجل تعقب البحيرات المفقودة ، أجرى Jade Bowling من جامعة Lancaster وزملاؤه أول "بحث" شامل عن البحيرات تحت الجليدية في جرينلاند. قاموا بتقييم بيانات الرادار من عملية IceBridge التابعة لناسا ، وكذلك بيانات الأقمار الصناعية والنماذج الطبوغرافية للتغيرات السطحية على الطبقة الجليدية.

موقع وحجم البحيرات الجليدية المكتشفة حديثًا. Bowling et al. Nature Communications، CC-by-sa 4.0

البحيرات المفقودة رصدت

وقد حققوا ثمارًا: كشفت تقييماتهم عن وجود 56 بحيرة غير معترف بها حتى الآن تحت الجليد في جرينلاند. تتراوح أحجامها من 200 متر في الطول إلى ستة كيلومترات تقريبًا ، مما يجعلها في المتوسط ​​أصغر بثمانية أضعاف من نظرائها في القطب الجنوبي ، وفقًا لتقرير بولينج وفريقه. ثلاثة أرباع هذه البحيرات تحت الجليدية هي أيضًا تحت الجليد البطيء نسبيًا. عرض

ومع ذلك ، لا يتم توزيع البحيرات المكتشفة حديثًا بالتساوي ، ولكنها تتركز بشكل أساسي في ثلاث مناطق: الشمال الغربي والشمال وقبل كل شيء شرق المركز. تظهر أكبر البحيرات على طول سلسلة الجبال تحت الجليدية في شرق جرينلاند ، بينما يمكن العثور على بحيرات أصغر وربما أقصر عمراً عند حافة جرينلاند. ،

تضاريس يحدد التوزيع

يعزو العلماء هذا التوزيع إلى الظروف المحددة في الجزء السفلي من الغطاء الجليدي: "في شرق جرينلاند ، تكون الأرض قاسية للغاية ويمكن لمياه الذوبان أن تجمع وتُخزّن جيدًا" ، كما أوضح مؤلف مشارك ستيفن ليفينغستون من جامعة شيفيلد. وبالتالي فإن هذا الارتداد الحاد يشجع على تكوين البحيرات تحت الجليدية الأكبر. في الشمال ، من ناحية أخرى ، يسمح خليط من الجليد المذاب والمثلج السفلي بحيرات أصغر.

يقول بولينج: "لقد مكنتنا هذه الدراسة لأول مرة من الحصول على فكرة عن الأماكن التي تتشكل فيها البحيرات تحت الغطاء الجليدي في جرينلاند". "هذا مهم لتقييم تأثيرها على النظام الهيدرولوجي شبه الجليدي وتدفق الجليد". يمكن أن تساعد النتائج المستخلصة من البحيرات المكتشفة حديثًا أيضًا في تحسين السلوك المستقبلي لجليد جرينلاند. التنبؤ بها.

أسرار فارغة في الجنوب والغرب

ومع ذلك ، لا يزال من غير الواضح لماذا وجد الباحثون بالكاد أي بحيرات من بين أسرع الأنهار الجليدية ذوبان الجليد وتدفقها في جرينلاند. "في القطاعات الجنوبية والغربية من الغطاء الجليدي في جرينلاند ، توجد كميات كبيرة من المياه الذائبة كل صيف ،" يوضح بولينج وفريقه. هذا يخترق أيضًا قاعدة الجليد ، كما تؤكد قياسات الرادار.

ومع ذلك ، فإن العلماء يشتبهون في أن كمية المياه الذائبة على وجه الخصوص تجعل الماء يشق طريقه ويتدفق أكثر فعالية. نتيجة لذلك ، يمكن تشكيل البحيرات مؤقتًا فقط. ومع ذلك ، فمن المحتمل أيضًا أن يتم تجاهل البحيرات الموجودة في هذه المناطق نظرًا لأن المياه الذائبة السطحية الكثيرة تزعج القياسات ، كما يقول الباحثون. تماما لم يتم حل لغز البحيرات المفقودة بعد ، ولكن الخطوة الأولى قد تمت. (Nature Communications، 2019؛ doi: 10.1038 / s41467-019-10821-w)

المصدر: جامعة لانكستر

- ناديا بودبريجار

Greenland: Tracking down "lost" lakes

Discovery of 56 subglacial lakes clarifies discrepancy between observations and model

Under the ice sheet of Greenland are hidden many subglacial lakes - so far they were hidden. © NASA / GSFC, Reto Stockli / Blue Marble
Read out

But they do exist: So far researchers have been puzzling why there are hardly any subglacial lakes under the ice of Greenland - and so many in the Antarctic. Now the discovery of as many as 56 such lakes under the Greenland Ice Sheet provides the answer: they have simply not been recognized. The new discoveries now provide valuable insights into the behavior of the thawing Greenland Ice, as the researchers report in the journal "Nature Communications".

The ice sheets of Antarctica and Greenland appear powerful and massive. But under the ice there are ponds, lakes and even whole networks of liquid water. Using radar mappings and seismic measurements, scientists in the Antarctic have tracked down more than 400 such subglacial lakes. The range spans from huge and ancient Lake Vostok to smaller, dynamically filling and emptying waters.

Where are the subglacial lakes?

Strange, however: Also in Greenland, the ice base is thawed in many places, which is why there numerous subglacial lakes would have to exist. But so far researchers have discovered countless meltwater pools on the Greenland ice and a deep ravine under the ice sheet, but only four rather small subglacial lakes. But where is the rest?

In order to track down the missing lakes, Jade Bowling from Lancaster University and his colleagues have carried out the first comprehensive "search" of subglacial lakes in Greenland. They evaluated radar data from the NASA operation IceBridge, as well as satellite data and topographic models of surface changes to the ice sheet.

Location and size of the newly discovered subglacial lakes. Bowling et al. Nature Communications, CC-by-sa 4.0

Missing lakes spotted

And they came to fruition: their evaluations revealed the presence of 56 hitherto unrecognized lakes under the Greenland ice. Their sizes vary from 200 meters in length to almost six kilometers in length making them on average eight times smaller than their counterparts in the Antarctic, as Bowling and his team report. Three quarters of these subglacial lakes are also under relatively slow-moving ice. display

However, the newly discovered lakes are not evenly distributed, but concentrate mainly in three areas: the northwest, north and, above all, east of the center. The largest lakes appear along the subglacial mountain range in eastern Greenland, while at the edge of the Greenlandic eiche, smaller and possibly shorter-lived lakes can be found,

Topography determines distribution

The scientists attribute this distribution to the specific conditions at the bottom of the ice sheet: "In the east of Greenland, the ground is very rough and the meltwater can collect and be stored there well", explains Co-author Stephen Livingstone of the University of Sheffield. This steeper relief therefore promotes the formation of larger subglacial lakes. In the north, on the other hand, a patchwork of thawed and frozen ice underside only allows smaller lakes.

"This study has for the first time enabled us to get an idea of ​​where lakes are forming under the Greenland ice sheet, " says Bowling. "This is important to assess their influence on the sub-glacial hydrological system and ice flow." The findings from the newly discovered lakes could also help improve the future behavior of the greenland ice predict.

Mysteries Empty in the south and west

However, it is still unclear why the researchers have found hardly any lakes among the fastest thawing and flowing glaciers in Greenland. "In the southern and western sectors of the Greenland ice sheet, there are large amounts of meltwater every summer, " explain Bowling and his team. This also penetrates to the ice base, as confirmed by radar measurements.

However, the scientists suspect that the amount of melt water in particular causes the water to make its way and flow off more effectively. As a result, lakes could be formed only temporarily. However, it is also possible that the lakes in these areas are overlooked because the many superficial meltwater disturb the measurements, the researchers say. Quite the riddle of the missing lakes is not yet solved, but the first step is done. (Nature Communications, 2019; doi: 10.1038 / s41467-019-10821-w)

Source: Lancaster University

- Nadja Podbregar