هيمالايا: فقد تساقط الجليد

فقد "سقف العالم" ربعًا جيدًا من الجليد الجليدي منذ عام 1975

لقد فقدت الأنهار الجليدية في جبال الهيمالايا بالفعل 28 في المائة من جليدها منذ عام 1975 ، فيما يلي منظر لجبال نوب بالقرب من جبل إفرست. © جوشوا مورير
قراءة بصوت عال

الهدر السريع: فقدت الأنهار الجليدية في جبال الهيمالايا ربعًا جيدًا من الجليد منذ عام 1975. تضاعفت الآن خسارة الجليد السنوية على "سقف العالم" ، كما كشفت دراسة. وفقًا للتقرير ، فإن حوالي ثمانية مليارات طن من ذوبان الجليد كل عام في جبال الهيمالايا - تملأ المياه الذائبة ثلاثة ملايين من حمامات السباحة الأولمبية لكل منها. سبب تساقط الجليد المتساقط هو ارتفاع درجة حرارة المناخ في المقام الأول ، كما أفاد الباحثون في مجلة "Science Advances".

لا تعد جبال الهيمالايا أعلى جبل في العالم فحسب ، ولكنها أيضًا خزان مياه جلي ومياه شرب مهم لكوكبنا. تمد الأنهار الجليدية في هذه الجبال والأنهار التي تغذيها بحوالي مليار شخص بالمياه. لكن حتى على "سطح العالم" ، فإن ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية. في الآونة الأخيرة فقط ، اكتشف باحثو المناخ أن جبال الهيمالايا يمكن أن تفقد ثلثي الجليد مع ارتفاع درجات الحرارة دون رادع.

تسجيل لمنطقة خومبو في جبال الهيمالايا ، التي أنشأها في عام 1976 من قبل الأقمار الصناعية التجسس مسدس. © جوش مورير / LDEO

مساعدة من أقمار التجسس

ولكن إلى أي مدى تقدم انكماش الجليد في جبال الهيمالايا؟ وما مدى سرعة ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية؟ حتى الآن ، لم تكن هناك سوى بيانات دقيقة لبعض المناطق الجبلية وفترات زمنية قصيرة نسبيًا - إنها ببساطة تفتقر إلى البيانات. لكن الآن تم فتح مصدر جديد للبيانات لعلماء المناخ: الصور التي رفعت عنها السرية الآن لأقمار التجسس الأمريكية من ديس في الحرب الباردة.

بناءً على بيانات القمر الصناعي هذه ، تمكن جوشوا مورير من جامعة كولومبيا في نيويورك وزملاؤه من تتبع تطور 650 من الأنهار الجليدية في جبال الهيمالايا بأكملها من عام 1975 وحتى اليوم. لدراستهم ، استخدموا صور القمر الصناعي لإنشاء نماذج رقمية ثلاثية الأبعاد ، والتي استخدموها لتحديد ومقارنة التغييرات في سمك الجليد ومدى الجليد حتى 2000 وما بعده.

لقد ذهب ربع الجليد بالفعل

والنتيجة هي أن "الأنهار الجليدية في جبال الهيمالايا فقدت جليدًا كبيرًا على مدار الأربعين عامًا الماضية". منذ ذلك الحين تضاعف معدل الانصهار في الفترة من 1975 إلى 2000. إذا كانت الخسارة السنوية للجليد لا تزال حوالي 25 مترًا سنويًا بين عامي 1975 و 2000 ، فإن سقف العالم يفقد بالفعل حوالي 50 مترًا من الجليد سنويًا ، كما أظهرت الحسابات. وهذا يترجم إلى ثمانية مليارات طن من الجليد الجليدي إلى المياه الذائبة - وهو ما يكفي لملء 3.2 مليون حوض سباحة أولمبي كل عام. عرض

الكل في الكل ، لقد فقدت جبال الهيمالايا بالفعل ربعًا جيدًا من إجمالي الجليد: "تشير الخسارة السنوية للكتلة التي لاحظناها إلى أن الكتلة الجليدية المتاحة في عام 1975 ، كانت 87 في المائة فقط في عام 2000 و 72 في المائة فقط في عام 2016 بريغ كانت "، تقرير مورير وزملاؤه. تتأثر جميع مناطق جبال الهيمالايا تقريبًا بفقدان الجليد ، ولكن أسرع ذوبان الجليد هو الأنهار الجليدية في المناطق الجبلية السفلية.

على الرغم من أن تساقط الجليد على سطح العالم يتقدم أبطأ إلى حد ما مما هو عليه في جبال الألب ، فإن الاتجاه هو نفسه ، كما يؤكد الباحثون.

المحرك الرئيسي هو الاحترار

توفر البيانات الجديدة أيضًا مؤشرات للقوى الدافعة لهذا الانكماش في الجليد. بالنسبة لبعض الدراسات ، اقترحت أنه في جبال الهيمالايا ، تلعب عوامل مثل الرياح الموسمية والترسبات على الأنهار الجليدية دورًا مهمًا بشكل خاص - ربما أقوى من ذلك تغير المناخ. سواء كان هذا صحيحًا ، فقد فحص Maurer وفريقه من خلال تحليل معدلات ذوبان الأنهار الجليدية الشهيرة وغير الملوثة ، وكذلك تأثير هطول الأمطار.

اتضح أن جميع أنواع الأنهار الجليدية - سواء كانت مغطاة أو نظيفة ، سواء تأثرت بالرياح الموسمية أم لا - تظهر نفس الاتجاه نحو تساقط الجليد المتسارع ، كما ذكر الباحثون. ويمكن ملاحظة هذا الاتجاه أيضًا في منطقة الدراسة التي يبلغ طولها حوالي 2000 كيلومتر. لكن العامل الوحيد الفعال في كل مكان هو ارتفاع درجة الحرارة بمعدل درجة واحدة مقارنة بالفترة من عام 1975 إلى عام 2000 ، حسب ما ذكر مورير وفريقه.

وفقا للباحثين ، هذه النتائج تشير إلى أن تغير المناخ هو أيضا القوة الدافعة لفقدان الجليد في جبال الهيمالايا. يقول مورير: "تبدو البيانات كما نتوقعها بالضبط فيما يتعلق بفقدان الجليد المتعلق بالمناخ". (العلوم المتقدمة ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1126 / sciadv.aav7266)

المصدر: معهد الأرض بجامعة كولومبيا

- ناديا بودبريجار

Himalaya: Ice loss has doubled

"Roof of the World" has lost a good quarter of its glacial ice since 1975

The glaciers of the Himalayas have already lost 28 percent of their ice since 1975, here is a view of the Nup glacier near Mount Everest. © Joshua Maurer
Read out

Rapid wastage: The glaciers of the Himalayas have lost a good quarter of their ice since 1975. The annual ice loss on the "roof of the world" has now doubled, as revealed by a study. According to the report, about eight billion tons of ice melt every year in the Himalayas - meltwater would fill three million Olympic swimming pools each. The reason for the accelerated ice loss is primarily climate warming, as the researchers report in the journal "Science Advances".

The Himalaya is not only the highest mountain in the world, but also an important ice and drinking water reservoir of our planet. The glaciers of these mountains and the rivers they feed supply almost a billion people with water. But even on the "roof of the world" the glaciers are thawing. Only recently, climate researchers discovered that the Himalayas could lose two-thirds of its ice with unchecked warming.

Recording of the Khumbu region in the Himalayas, created in 1976 by the spy satellite Hexagon. © Josh Maurer / LDEO

Help of spy satellites

But how far has the ice shrinkage in the Himalayas progressed? And how fast does the glacier melt? So far, there were only punctual data for certain mountain areas and relatively short periods of time it simply lacked data. But now a new data source has opened up for climatologists: the now declassified images of US spy satellites from the desra of the Cold War.

Based on this satellite data, Joshua Maurer from Columbia University in New York and his colleagues were able to trace the development of 650 glaciers in the entire Himalayas from 1975 until today. For their study, they used the satellite imagery to create 3D digital models, which they used to determine and compare changes in ice thickness and glacier extent up to and beyond 2000.

A quarter of the ice is already gone

The result: "The glaciers of the Himalayas have lost considerable ice over the last 40 years, " the researchers report. The melting rate has since doubled in the period from 1975 to 2000. If the annual ice loss was still around 25 meters per year between 1975 and 2000, the roof of the world is already losing around 50 meters of ice per year, as the calculations have shown. This translates into eight billion tonnes of glacier ice to meltwater enough to fill 3.2 million Olympic swimming pools each year. display

All in all, the Himalayas have already lost a good quarter of their total ice: "The annual mass loss observed by us indicates that of the ice mass available in 1975, only 87 percent in the year 2000 and only 72 percent in 2016 brig were ", Maurer and his colleagues report. Nearly all areas of the Himalayas are affected by this ice loss, but the fastest thaw is the glaciers in the lower mountain regions.

Although the ice loss on the roof of the world progresses somewhat slower than in the Alps, the trend is the same, as the researchers emphasize.

The main driver is the warming

The new data also provide indications of the driving forces of this ice shrinkage. For some studies have suggested that in the Himalayas, factors such as monsoon and sedimentation on the glaciers play a particularly important role - possibly even stronger than that climate change. Whether this is true, Maurer and his team have examined by analyzing the melting rates of famous and uncontaminated glaciers, as well as the influence of precipitation.

It turned out that all types of glaciers - whether ru covered or clean, whether influenced by the monsoon or not - show the same trend towards accelerated ice loss, as the researchers report. This trend can also be seen in the entire, approximately 2, 000 kilometers long study area. But the only factor that is effective everywhere is the temperature rise of an average of one degree compared to the time from 1975 to 2000, state Maurer and his team.

According to the researchers, these results suggest that climate change is also the driving force of ice loss in the Himalayas. "The data look exactly as we would expect for a climate-related ice loss, " says Maurer. (Science Advances, 2019; doi: 10.1126 / sciadv.aav7266)

Source: Earth Institute at Columbia University

- Nadja Podbregar