مقابلة حول تقرير الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ: "أسرع!"

عالم المناخ استريد كيندلر-شار حول هدف 1.5 درجة والتقرير الحالي

في مقابلة: أستريد كيندلر-شار ، رئيس معهد أبحاث الطاقة والمناخ في فورشونغسزينتروم يوليش © FZ Jülich
قراءة بصوت عال

اليوم ، نشر الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ تقريره الخاص عن هدف المناخ بدرجة 1.5. فحوى التقرير: عجل! للحفاظ على ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري أقل بكثير من درجتين مئويتين ، يلزم اتخاذ تدابير سريعة وجذرية ، وهي خاتمة العلم. عمل أستريد كيندلر-شار ، رئيس معهد أبحاث الطاقة والمناخ في مركز البحوث يوليش ، كخبير في التقرير. إنها تعطي تقييمها في المقابلة.

ما هو دوافعك للمشاركة في التقرير الخاص للفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ حول هدف 1.5 درجة كمثمن؟

كيندلر-شار: ما يحفزني هو الاقتناع بأن لدينا تحديًا كبيرًا لحل مشكلة المناخ. يجب ألا نفكر دائمًا في المنشورات الفردية ونأمل أن تجد النتائج طريقًا معًا بطريقة ما. لذلك ، فإن تقارير الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ مهمة للغاية لأنها تجمع بين معرفة مجتمع البحوث العالمي بشأن تغير المناخ. بهذه الطريقة ، يتم توفير الحقائق العلمية للسياسيين حتى يتمكنوا من اتخاذ القرارات المناسبة.

في اتفاق باريس للمناخ ، وافق المجتمع الدولي على الحد من الاحترار العالمي إلى أقل من درجتين ، ويفضل أن يكون 1.5 درجة. هل ما زال ذلك ممكنًا؟

كيندلر-شار: من أجل تحقيق هذا الهدف الطموح ، نحتاج إلى تحول كبير في تكنولوجيا الطاقة نحو مصادر الطاقة المتجددة. إن الفحم وغيره من أنواع الوقود الأحفوري لا يفضي إلى المناخ أمر لا جدال فيه - على الأقل في ألمانيا وغالبية الدول الأخرى. ومع ذلك ، فإن الإلحاحية التي ينبغي أن تتخذ بها تدابير تغير المناخ ليست واضحة بعد للسياسيين وعامة الناس ، أو لم تتخذ الخطوات اللازمة بعد. عرض

هل السؤال الذي يبلغ 1.5 درجة هو السؤال الصحيح لتحقيق حماية أكثر فعالية للمناخ؟

Kiendler-Scharr: تحديد هدف لدرجة الحرارة في أي حال هو تحول نموذجي تم الاتفاق عليه في اتفاقية باريس للمناخ. في السابق ، نوقشت قضية المناخ من جانب الانبعاثات: ما هي التركيزات التي يمكن أن ينبعث منها أحد غازات الدفيئة حتى يتم تجاوز حد معين؟ من الواضح أن هذه الأهداف المناخية وتنفيذها لم تكن قصة نجاح.

بحلول عام 2020 ، على سبيل المثال ، من المقرر أن تنخفض انبعاثات ألمانيا بنسبة 40 في المائة مقارنة بمستويات عام 1990. والآن ، في عام 2018 ، سيكون من الصعب تحقيق ذلك. يبقى أن نرى ما إذا كان هدف درجة الحرارة سيكون أكثر قوة لاتخاذ إجراء فعلي - أو ما إذا كان سيتم النظر إليه على أنه وسيلة سياسية للخروج من أهداف المناخ أو الانبعاثات جانباً ،

عالم المناخ استريد كيندلر-شار يشرح ويعلق على تقرير الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ حول هدف 1.5 درجة FZ J lich

وكيف يؤثر تحول النموذج على البحث؟

كيندلر-شار: من الواضح أن هناك زيادة في توقع العلم. عليها الآن أن تدلي ببيانات واضحة بشأن التركيب الجوي ، وتركيزات غازات الدفيئة وملوثات الهواء المرتبطة بزيادة درجة الحرارة. ونتيجة لذلك ، تحظى التفاصيل بمزيد من الاهتمام ، مثل تأثيرات غازات الدفيئة طويلة العمر وأجهزة تنقية الهواء قصيرة العمر. على سبيل المثال ، توضح جميع الحسابات الحالية أننا نحتاج إلى إزالة ثاني أكسيد الكربون بفعالية من الغلاف الجوي لتجنب زيادة درجة الحرارة فوق 1.5 درجة مئوية.

لماذا هذا؟

Kiendler-Scharr: ثاني أكسيد الكربون هو أحد غازات الدفيئة الطويلة الأمد. مرة واحدة في الغلاف الجوي ، فإنه يبقى في حالة جيدة إلى الأبد. حتى لو تم تخفيض انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى الصفر اليوم ، فإن الأحواض الطبيعية ، مثل الغابات والمحيطات ، لن تكون كافية لتقليل انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون بشكل كبير في غضون بضعة عقود. يختلف الوضع عن الغازات النزرة قصيرة الأجل والملوثات الهوائية.

ما هو الدور الذي تلعبه هذه المواد القصيرة العمر في تغير المناخ؟

Kiendler-Scharr: إن العوامل المناخية قصيرة العمر ، مثل الأوزون في الغلاف الجوي أو الهباء الجوي ، أي الجسيمات العالقة ، لها وقت إقامة محدد بوضوح في الغلاف الجوي. إذا كنت ترغب في الوصول إلى الهدف 1.5 أو 2 درجة ، يجب عليك قضاء الكثير من الوقت على هذه المواد قصيرة العمر. يتكون الأوزون من مستوى سطح الأرض عن طريق ملوثات الهواء البشرية المنشأ. ليس فقط أنه ضار للإنسان والبيئة ، ولكنه أيضًا غازات دفيئة قوية. تدابير تحسين نوعية الهواء لها تأثير مباشر على المناخ هنا.

لا تعتبر الهباء الجوي بارد للمناخ؟

كيندلر شار: نعم ولا. بالنسبة للهباء الجوي ، فإن الوضع معقد. يؤدي إجمالي كل الهباء إلى تبريد صافٍ ، لكن يمكن أن يكون لبعض أنواع الهباء الجوي ، مثل Ru ، تأثير الاحترار. في الوقت نفسه أنها بمثابة الجراثيم السحابية. السحب ، بدورها ، لها تأثير التبريد أو الاحترار حسب التركيب والوقت من اليوم والارتفاع. إذا فهمنا هذه العلاقات المعقدة بشكل أفضل ، فهناك فرصة في المستقبل القريب لتحقيق النجاح في تغير المناخ. هذه المعرفة ، بدورها ، يمكن أن تستخدم كمرحلة انتقالية حتى تقدم تخفيض ثاني أكسيد الكربون.

ما يجب أن يحدث في وقت قصير؟

Kiendler-Scharr: يجب التقليل إلى أدنى حد ممكن من جميع العمليات التي تزيد من غازات الدفيئة. ويشمل ذلك ، على سبيل المثال ، الإنتاج الصناعي أو الزراعة أو تربية المواشي. وخاصة في البلدان المتقدمة ، من الضروري إجراء تغيير أساسي في أسلوب حياتنا. علينا أن نشعر بالراحة إذا تصرفنا بشكل مستدام في جميع المجالات. هذا يتطلب وعيًا جديدًا بأسلوب حياتنا استنادًا إلى المعرفة والضمير. من الناحية السياسية ، عادة ما يؤدي المسار السليم إلى الدعم أو التنازلات الضريبية: ممرات الدراجات ، والنقل العام ، وتخزين الطاقة المتجددة - هذه مشاريع تنشط فيها السياسة وتتحرك فيها. حماية المناخ يمكن أن تجعلها أكثر جاذبية للجميع.

هل سيزيد التقرير الخاص البالغ 1.5 درجة المتاح الآن من الضغط على السياسة؟

كيندلر-شار: أولاً وقبل كل شيء ، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن التقرير طلب من السياسيين. هذا يعطي العلم فرصة للدخول في حوار مباشر للغاية مع السياسة. في رأيي ، يعكس التقرير الخاص بشكل جيد الوضع الحالي للمعرفة العلمية حول الاحتباس الحراري والآثار المناخية الناتجة. بشكل عام ، إنه مثال مثير للإعجاب على التعاون العالمي لمجتمع العلوم.

ومع ذلك ، فليس من مهمة البحث القيام بالسياسة. وهذا شيء جيد. لقد قدم العلم الحقائق وأشار إلى العواقب - يجب أن تقرر السياسة الآن كيف يمكن إيجاد الحلول المناسبة - سواء من خلال الترويج لمصادر الطاقة المتجددة وتخزينها أو التقليل النشط لثاني أكسيد الكربون من الجو. على أي حال ، لا يكفي زرع شجرة مرة واحدة في العمر.

أجرى المقابلة بريجيت ستال بوسه من منطقة حرة يوليش.

(Forschungszentrum Jülich ، 08.10.2018 - NPO)

Interview on the IPCC report: "Hurry!"

Climatologist Astrid Kiendler-Scharr on the 1.5 degree target and the current report

In an interview: Astrid Kiendler-Scharr, Head of the Institute for Energy and Climate Research at Forschungszentrum Jülich © FZ Jülich
Read out

Today, the IPCC has published its special report on the 1.5 degree climate target. The tenor of the report: Hurry! To keep global warming well below two degrees Celsius, rapid and drastic measures are required, the conclusion of the science. Astrid Kiendler-Scharr, Head of the Institute for Energy and Climate Research at the Research Center Jülich, has worked as an expert on the report. She gives her assessment in the interview.

What was your motivation to participate in the IPCC special report on the 1.5-degree goal as an appraiser?

Kiendler-Scharr: What motivates me is the conviction that we have a huge challenge to solve with the climate issue. We must not always think in individual publications and hope that the results will somehow find their way together. Therefore, the IPCC reports are so important because they combine the knowledge of the global research community on climate change. In this way, the scientific facts are made available to the politicians so that they can make the appropriate decisions.

In the Paris Climate Agreement, the international community has agreed to limit global warming to well below two degrees, preferably to 1.5 degrees. Is that still possible?

Kiendler-Scharr: In order to achieve this ambitious goal, we need a major shift in energy technology towards renewable energy sources. That coal and other fossil fuels are not conducive to the climate is completely undisputed - at least in Germany and the majority of other nations. Nevertheless, the urgency with which climate change measures should be taken is not yet clear to politicians and the general public, or the necessary steps have not yet been taken. display

Is the 1.5-degree question the right one to achieve more effective climate protection?

Kiendler-Scharr: Setting a temperature target in any case is a paradigm shift agreed in the Paris Climate Agreement. Previously, the climate issue was discussed from the emissions side: what concentrations of which greenhouse gases can one still emit until a certain limit has been exceeded? These climate goals and their implementation were obviously not a success story.

By 2020, for example, Germany's emissions are set to fall by 40 percent compared to 1990 levels. Now, in 2018, this will be difficult to achieve. It remains to be seen whether the temperature target will be a more powerful one to actually take action or whether it will be seen as a political way out of pushing climate or emissions targets aside,

Climatologist Astrid Kiendler-Scharr explains and comments on the IPCC report on the 1.5 degree target FZ J lich

And how does the paradigm shift affect research?

Kiendler-Scharr: There is clearly an increased expectation of science. It now has to make clear statements as to which atmospheric composition, which greenhouse gas and air pollutant concentrations are associated with which temperature increase. As a result, details receive more attention, such as the effects of long-lived greenhouse gases and short-lived air purifiers. For example, all current calculations show that we need to actively remove CO2 from the atmosphere to avoid a temperature increase above 1.5 degrees Celsius.

How come?

Kiendler-Scharr: CO2 is one of the long-lived greenhouse gases. Once in the atmosphere, it stays as good as forever. Even if CO2 emissions were reduced to zero today, the natural sinks, such as forests and oceans, would be far from sufficient to reduce CO2 emissions significantly in just a few decades. The situation is different with the short-lived trace gases and air pollutants.

What role do these short-lived substances play in climate change?

Kiendler-Scharr: Short-lived climate drivers, such as atmospheric ozone or aerosols, ie suspended particles, have a clearly defined residence time in the atmosphere. If you want to reach the 1.5 or 2 degree target, you have to spend a lot of time on these short-lived materials. Ground-level ozone is formed by anthropogenic air pollutants. Not only is it harmful to humans and the environment, it is also a powerful greenhouse gas. Measures to improve air quality have a direct effect on the climate here.

Are aerosols not considered cool for the climate?

Kiendler-Scharr: Yes and no. For aerosols, the situation is complicated. The totality of all aerosols results in a net cooling, but some types of aerosols, such as Ru, can also have a warming effect. At the same time they act as cloud germs. Clouds, in turn, have a cooling or warming effect depending on composition, time of day and altitude. If we understand these complex relationships better, there is a chance in the near future to achieve success in climate change. This knowledge, in turn, could be used as a transitional phase until the reduction of CO2 has progressed further.

What has to happen at short notice?

Kiendler-Scharr: All processes that increase greenhouse gases should be minimized as far as possible. This includes, for example, industrial production, agriculture or livestock farming. Especially in the developed countries, a fundamental change in our way of life is necessary. We have to feel good if we act sustainably in all areas. This requires a new awareness of our lifestyle based on knowledge and conscience. Politically, a viable path usually leads to subsidies or tax concessions: bike lanes, public transport, storage for renewable energy these are projects where politics becomes active and Climate protection can make it more attractive for everyone.

Will the 1.5-degree special report now available increase the pressure on politics?

Kiendler-Scharr: First of all, it should be noted that the report was requested by politicians. This gives science the chance to enter into a very direct dialogue with politics. In my opinion, the special report reflects very well the current state of scientific knowledge on global warming and the resulting climate effects. Overall, it is an impressive example of the worldwide collaboration of the science community.

However, it is not the job of research to do politics. And that's just as well. Science has presented the facts and pointed out the consequences - the policy must now decide how appropriate solutions can be brought about - whether through the promotion of renewable energy sources and their storage or the active reduction of CO2 from the atmosphere. At any rate, it is not enough to plant a tree once in a lifetime.

The interview was conducted by Brigitte Stahl-Busse of FZ Jülich.

(Forschungszentrum Jülich, 08.10.2018 - NPO)