هل القمر أقدم من المتوقع؟

تشير التحليلات الجديدة لعينات أبولو إلى أنها تشكلت قبل 4.51 مليار سنة

ربما يكون القمر قد نشأ في وقت سابق عما كان يعتقد سابقًا - قبل 4.51 مليار سنة. © ناسا
قراءة بصوت عال

الأصل المبكر: أعاد الباحثون تأريخ تكوين القمر. وهكذا ، وقع التصادم الكارثي الذي ظهر من قبر الأرض قبل 4.51 مليار سنة - بعد حوالي 50 مليون سنة فقط من ولادة النظام الشمسي. قدمت الأدلة على هذا التأريخ ، في جملة أمور ، نسب النظائر في عينات الصخور القمرية التي أعادها رواد الفضاء أبولو إلى الأرض قبل 50 عامًا.

قمر الأرض هو نتيجة لكارثة فلكية - تصادم الأرض الفتية مع كواكب أولية بحجم المريخ. ترك هذا الأرض متوهجة متضررة ودائرة من الحطام من حولها ، والتي تشكل منها القمر. وفقًا للاعتقاد السائد ، تمت تغطية قمر الأرض في البداية بمحيط صهارة ، تم تبريده تدريجياً.

لكن متى حدثت هذه الكارثة الكبيرة؟ حتى الآن ، فإن الباحثين على خلاف: بعض التاريخ أصل القمر إلى 4.5 مليار سنة جيدة ، ولكن الدراسات الأصغر سنا ، ومع ذلك ، يقدم دليلا على عمر أقل بقليل من 4.4 مليار سنة. في كلتا الحالتين ، تستند المواعدة إلى التركيب الكيميائي والنظري لعينات صخور القمر التي أعادها رواد فضاء أبولو منذ حوالي 50 عامًا.

سليكات الألمنيوم: هذه العينة عبارة عن بازلتين ألمينيت تم جمعهما خلال مهمة أبولو 12. 12 ماكسويل ثيمنز 2019

R tsel إلى التنغستن الزائد

الآن قام ماكسويل ثيمنز من جامعة كيلن وفريقه بإعادة فحص بعض عينات أبولو. يعتمد تاريخ المواعدة على نسبة نظير الهيدروجين المشع إلى 182 التنغستن. من المعروف منذ فترة طويلة أن بعض البازلتات القمرية لديها نسبة أعلى من التنغستن مقارنة بالأرض.

في دراسات سابقة ، أوضح بعض الباحثين هذا الفائض بقولهم أن الأرض الصغيرة كانت في كثير من الأحيان تتعرض للنيازك أكثر من القمر بسبب مساحتها الكبيرة. كانت هذه فقراء التنغستن ، وبالتالي تغيرت نسبة العنصر أقوى من القمر. وفقا لنظرية أخرى ، فإن زيادة محتوى التنغستن من الصخور القمرية يمكن أن يكون كذلك
إشارة إلى أن هذه الصخور تشكلت في وقت كان لا يزال يوجد فيه الكثير من الهافنيوم -182 يمكن أن يتحلل إلى التنغستن. عرض

اختبار مع تحليل النظائر والمحاكاة النموذجية

أي من هذه النظريات قد تكون صحيحة تم فحصها الآن بواسطة ثيمنس وفريقه. قاموا بتحليل عينات صخرية مختلفة من القمر إلى نسبة الهفنيوم إلى التنغستن ومن اليورانيوم إلى التنغستن. النتيجة: تؤكد نظائر النظير مجتمعة أن البازلت القمري على وجه الخصوص لديه نسبة أعلى بكثير من التنغستن من صخور الوشاح الأرضي.

باستخدام نموذج ، حدد الباحثون بعد ذلك ما إذا كانت نسب النظائر هذه يمكن تفسيرها بتأثيرات النيزك أو سن مبكرة من القمر. لهذا السبب ، قاموا بمحاكاة سيناريو بتكوين متأخر للقمر وقصف قوي للشهب ونوعين مختلفين من تكوين القمر المبكر.

لماذا يمكن أن يكون القمر أكبر من الفكر. to الجامعة إلى كولن

50 مليون سنة بعد تكوين النظام الشمسي

بعد تقييم جميع النتائج ، توصل الباحثون إلى نتيجة: "يجب أن يكون التمايز القمري قد حدث بعد 40 إلى 60 مليون سنة من تكوين النظام الشمسي" ، كما قال ثيمنس وفريقه. ويعتقد أن النظام الشمسي ولد قبل 4.56 مليار سنة. وفقًا لهذا ، يجب أن يكون عمر القمر حوالي 4.51 مليار عام. لذلك يمكن أن يكون أقدم بكثير من 4.36 سنوات أو 4.4 مليار سنة المفترضة سابقًا.

"قد يبدو هذا مشابهاً للغاية بالنسبة لشخص غريب ، لكن الأمر مثير للدهشة بالنسبة لنا علماء الجيولوجيا" ، كما أوضح كبير المؤلفين كارستن مينكر من جامعة كولن ، "لأن هذا يغير أيضًا النماذج ، على سبيل المثال ، إلى متى نشأت الأرض." (Nature Geoscience، 2019؛ doi: 10.1038 / s41561-019-0398-3)

المصدر: جامعة كولونيا

- ناديا بودبريجار

Is the moon older than expected?

New analyzes of Apollo samples suggest that they were formed 4.51 billion years ago

The moon may have originated earlier than previously thought - 4.51 billion years ago. © NASA
Read out

Early Origin: Researchers have re-dated the formation of the moon. Thus, the catastrophic collision that emerged from the Earth's Grave occurred 4.51 billion years ago - only about 50 million years after the solar system was born. The evidence for this dating provided, inter alia, isotope ratios in lunar rock samples that were returned 50 years ago by the Apollo astronauts to Earth.

The earth's moon is the result of a cosmic catastrophe - the collision of the young earth with a protoplanets of the size of Mars. This left a glowing, damaged earth and a circle of debris around it, from which the moon formed. According to popular belief, the earth's moon was initially covered by a magma ocean, which then gradually cooled.

But when did this big catastrophe happen? So far, researchers are at odds: Some date the lunar origin to a good 4.5 billion years, younger studies, however, report evidence for an age of just under 4.4 billion years. In both cases, the dating is based on the chemical and isotopic composition of moon rock samples returned by the Apollo astronauts some 50 years ago.

Moonstone: This sample is an ilmenite basalt collected during the Apollo 12 mission. Maxwell Thiemens 2019

R tsel to tungsten excess

Now Maxwell Thiemens from the University of K ln and his team have re-examined some of the Apollo samples. Their dating is based on the ratio of the radioactive isotope hafnium-182 to tungsten-182. It has long been known that some lunar basalts have a higher proportion of tungsten compared to the earth.

In previous studies, some researchers had explained this excess by saying that the young earth was more frequently hit by meteorites than the moon because of its larger surface area. These were rather tungsten-poor and thus changed the element ratio stronger than the moon. According to another theory, the increased tungsten content of the lunar rock could also be one
Indica- tion that these rocks were formed at a time when there was still a lot of hafnium-182 that could decay to tungsten. display

Test with isotope analyzes and model simulations

Which of these theories might be correct has now been checked by Thiemens and his team. They analyzed different rock samples from the Moon to the ratio of hafnium to tungsten and from uranium to tungsten. The result: The combined isotope shares confirm that especially the lunar basalts have a significantly higher proportion of tungsten than the terrestrial mantle rocks.

Using a model, the researchers then determined whether these isotope ratios can be explained by meteorite impacts or by a young age of the moon. For this they simulated a scenario with a late formation of the moon and a strong meteor bombardment and two different variants of an early moon formation.

Why the moon could be older than thought. Universit t to K ln

50 million years after the formation of the solar system

After evaluating all the results, the researchers come to the conclusion: "The lunar differentiation must have occurred 40 to 60 million years after the formation of the solar system, " said Thiemens and his team. It is believed that the solar system was born 4.56 billion years ago. According to this, the moon must be around 4.51 billion years old. It could therefore be significantly older than the previously assumed 4.36 or 4.4 billion years.

"That may sound very similar for an outsider, but it is striking for us geoscientists, " explains senior author Carsten M nker from the University of K ln, "Because that also changes models, for example, as to when the earth originated." (Nature Geoscience, 2019; doi: 10.1038 / s41561-019-0398-3)

Source: University of Cologne

- Nadja Podbregar