هو "ستيف" ليس الشفق؟

ظاهرة مضيئة رواية في السماء لا تزال مليئة

خطوط الضوء الأبيض المحمر لظاهرة ستيف فوق كندا ، إلى اليمين منه توهج بعيد عن ضوء قطبي عادي. © ريان سولت
قراءة بصوت عال

توهج غامض: من الواضح أن ظاهرة السماء "ستيف" المعمدة ليست بديلاً للضوء القطبي. لأن بيانات الأقمار الصناعية الجديدة تكشف أن إضاءة خطوط الضوء المحمر هذه لا تترافق مع تدفق الجسيمات المعتاد في الغلاف الجوي العلوي. ما الذي يسبب هذا التوهج الجوي ، ومع ذلك ، لا يزال مجهولا. يتكهن الباحثون الآن حول ما إذا كان يمكن أن يكون البديل لـ "Airglow" - أو شيء غير معروف تمامًا.

قبل بضع سنوات ، التقطت صور لمصورين أورورا ظاهرة سماء غير معتادة: شريط ضيق محمر ، ولكن آلاف الكيلومترات من الضوء المحمر امتد عبر السماء من الأفق ، يتحرك ببطء غربًا. غريب أيضًا: بينما تحدث الشفق القطبي عادةً فقط من خط العرض 65 ، تحدث هذه الأقواس خارج الشفق القطبي المعروف.

في بداية عام 2018 ، اعتقد الباحثون أنهم قد حلوا لغز ستيف على الأقل جزئيًا. كشفت بيانات من الأقمار الصناعية SWARM خلال حدث ستيف أن هذا يرتبط مع ارتفاع مفاجئ في درجة الحرارة وتدفق قوي من الأيونات السريعة في الغلاف الجوي العلوي. أظهر ستيف ملامح ظاهرة الشفق القطبي التي تسمى الانجراف الأيوني تحت الشريان.

لكن الآن ، قامت Bea Gallardo-Lacourt من جامعة Calgary وفريقها بتحليل المزيد من البيانات حول Steve - وتوصلوا إلى استنتاج مختلف تمامًا. وكان الدافع وراء هذا صدفة أخرى سعيدة من التحليق بالأقمار الصناعية وستيف القوس. في 28 مارس 2008 ، عبر القمر الصناعي للطقس NOAA-17 حدثًا نشطًا حاليًا لستيف يقيس كثافة البروتون والإلكترون في الغلاف الجوي العلوي.

لا تدفق الجسيمات للكشف

النتيجة المذهلة: على عكس التوقعات ، أظهرت بيانات الأقمار الصناعية عدم زيادة تدفق الجسيمات على ارتفاع حوالي 800 كيلومتر. لكن هذا يتناقض مع تفسير هذه الظاهرة على أنه متغير ضوء قطبي ، كما أوضح الباحثون. في الشفق القطبي ، البروتونات والإلكترونات من الرياح الشمسية والغلاف المغناطيسي للأرض "تمطر" في الأيونوسفير ، وفي حالة حدوث تصادم مع جزيئات الهواء ، تنتج التوهج. عرض

"ستيف" في العمل ، أطلق عليه الرصاص في كولومبيا البريطانية. أندي ويتمان -CNLastro

لكن ستيف كان يفتقد هذه الإلكترونات ذات الطاقة العالية والبروتونات. "على الرغم من أننا لاحظنا ارتفاعًا في إلكترونات الطاقة المنخفضة من 50 إلى 1000 فولت إلكترون ، فإن تدفق الطاقة المتراكم لهذه الجسيمات كان ضعيفًا جدًا بحيث لا ينتج عنه ظاهرة بصرية" ، كما أوضح غالاردو لاكور وزملاؤها. حتى مع وجود البروتونات ، كانت هناك زيادة طفيفة في نطاق الطاقة المنخفضة للغاية.

الحرارة والإشعاع بدلا من الجزيئات؟

يقول غالاردو لاكور: "استنتاجنا هو أن ستيف ليس أورورا". لأنه لا يوجد دليل على أن هذه الظاهرة مصحوبة بتساقط جسيم في الأيونوسفير. "في الوقت الحالي ، ما زلنا نعرف القليل عن ستيف ، وهو أمر مثير للاهتمام بالنظر إلى حقيقة أن المصورين عرفوا هذا النجم على مدى عقود".

لا يزال بإمكان العلماء التكهن فقط بكيفية إنشاء شعاع ستيف. أحد الاحتمالات هو أنه لا يزال غير معروف من "Airglow" ، والمعروف أيضًا باسم ضوء السماء الليلية بالألمانية. "هذا هو انبعاث الضوء الذي ينتج عن التفاعلات الكيميائية للأشعة فوق البنفسجية الشمسية مع ذرات وجزيئات الغلاف الجوي العلوي" ، كما أوضح الباحثون. قد يكون ستيف بديلاً لهذه الظاهرة ، حيث يؤدي التسخين الموضعي للأيونوسفير - بالإشعاع أو الجزيئات - إلى انبعاث الضوء.

يقول غالاردو لاكورت: "هناك احتمال ثان يتمثل في أن تكون هناك عملية غير معروفة حتى الآن يمكن أن تولد تدفق الإلكترونات التي يقل ارتفاعها عن 800 كيلومتر". ولكن ليس من الواضح ما إذا كان ستيف قد نشأ في الأيونوسفير أو الغلاف المغناطيسي للأرض. هذا يعني: لا يبدو أن الضوء القطبي ستيف. ولكن ما يخلق هذه المصابيح الوهمية بدلاً من ذلك لا يزال محيرًا. (رسائل الأبحاث الجيوفيزيائية ، 2018 ؛ دوي: 10.1029 / 2018GL078509)

(الاتحاد الجيوفيزيائي الأمريكي ، 21.08.2018 - NPO)

Is "Steve" not an aurora?

Novel luminous phenomenon in the sky remains riddled

Reddish-white light streaks of the Steve phenomenon over Canada, to the right of it the distant glow of a normal polar light. © Ryan Sault
Read out

Mysterious glow: The "Steve" baptized sky phenomenon is obviously not a polar light variant. Because new satellite data reveal that the illumination of these reddish light stripes is not accompanied by the usual particle flows in the upper atmosphere. What causes this atmospheric glow, however, remains unknown. Researchers are now speculating about whether it could be a variant of the "Airglow" - or something completely unknown.

} A few years ago, images of aurora photographers caught an unusual sky phenomenon: a narrow, but thousands of kilometers long strip of reddish light that stretched across the sky from the horizon, slowly moving westward. Strange also: While auroras usually occur only poleward of the 65th parallel, these arcs occur outside the known aurora oval.

At the beginning of 2018, researchers believed that they had solved the riddle of Steve at least partially. Data from the SWARM satellites during a Steve event revealed that this was associated with an abrupt rise in temperature and a strong flow of fast ions in the upper atmosphere. Steve showed features of an aurora phenomenon called subauroral ion drift.

But now, Bea Gallardo-Lacourt of the University of Calgary and her team have analyzed more data about Steve - and come to a very different conclusion. The impetus for this was another happy coincidence of satellite overflight and Steve arc. On March 28, 2008, the weather satellite NOAA-17 crossed a currently active Steve event, measuring proton and electron density in the upper atmosphere.

No particle flow detectable

The surprising result: Contrary to expectations, the satellite data showed no increased particle flows at around 800 kilometers altitude. But that contradicts an interpretation of this phenomenon as a polar light variant, as the researchers explain. For in an aurora, protons and electrons from the solar wind and the magnetosphere of the earth "rain" into the ionosphere and, in the event of a collision with the air particles, produce the glow. display

"Steve" in action, shot in British Columbia. Andy Witteman - @CNLastro

But Steve was missing these high-energy electrons and protons. "Although we observe a rise in low-energy electrons of 50 to 1, 000 electron volts, even the accumulated energy flux of these particles was too weak to produce an optical phenomenon, " explain Gallardo-Lacourt and her colleagues. Even with the protons there was only a slight increase in the very low-energy range.

Heat and radiation instead of particles?

"Our conclusion is that Steve is not an Aurora, " says Gallardo-Lacourt. For there is no evidence that this phenomenon is accompanied by a particle rainfall into the ionosphere. "At the moment, we still know little about Steve which is intriguing given the fact that photographers have known this luminary for decades."

The scientists can still only speculate about how Steve's lightbeams are created. One possibility would be that it is a still unknown variant of the "Airglow", also known as night sky light in German. "This is an emission of light that results from chemical reactions of solar UV radiation with the atoms and molecules of the upper atmosphere, " explain the researchers. Steve could be a variant of this phenomenon, where local heating of the ionosphere by radiation or particles leads to light emission.

"A second possibility would be an as yet unknown process that can generate an influx of electrons below 800 kilometers altitude, " says Gallardo-Lacourt. But it is not even clear whether Steve originated in the ionosphere or the magnetosphere of the earth. That means: A polar light does not seem to be Steve. But what creates these gleams instead is still puzzling. (Geophysical Research Letters, 2018; doi: 10.1029 / 2018GL078509)

(American Geophysical Union, 21.08.2018 - NPO)