اسطنبول: تأكيد خطر الزلزال الحاد

التوتر تحت بحر مرمرة يكفي لزلزال بقوة 7.1 إلى 7.4

اسطنبول هي الزلزالية في مقعد طرد. كيف عالية التوتر على خطأ شمال الأناضول مباشرة أمام المدينة ، وقد حدد الباحثون الآن. © gece33 / iStock
قراءة بصوت عال

الجهد المتصاعد: نظام قياس جديد يؤكد خطر الزلزال الحاد في العاصمة اسطنبول - ويقيسها للمرة الأولى. تظهر القياسات أن صدع شمال الأناضول تحت بحر مرمرة محجوب بالكامل. ونتيجة لذلك ، تراكمت كمية كافية من التوتر لتسبب زلزالًا بلغت قوته 7.1 إلى 7.4 ، كما أفاد الباحثون في مجلة Nature Communications. بالنسبة لسكان اسطنبول ، سيكون هذا الزلزال قاتلاً.

اسطنبول تجلس على قنبلة موقوتة زلزالية. لأن جنوب العاصمة مباشرة تحت بحر مرمرة هو خطأ الأناضول الشمالي - حدود صفيحة نشطة. هنا ، لوحات الأرضية الأوراسية والأناضولية تمر ببطء بعضها البعض. ولأن الصخور أصبحت متشابكة مرارًا وتكرارًا ، فإن التوتر في الزلازل ، التي تجولت حتى الآن إلى الغرب ، يتم تصريفه إلى اسطنبول. لكن القسم الذي يبلغ طوله 150 كيلومتراً تحت بحر مرمرة لم ينكسر منذ عام 1766 - فهو يشكل فجوة زلزالية.

زحف أم حصار؟

ومع ذلك ، لم يتضح حتى الآن مدى ارتفاع التوتر تحت بحر مرمرة - وإذا لم يكن زحفه البطيء قد قلل من جزء منه. السبب في ذلك: يتم ابتلاع الإشارات الصادرة عن GPS والأقمار الصناعية الرادارية إلى حد كبير عن طريق مياه البحر التي تغطي. لذلك ، تمكن الباحثون حتى الآن من تقدير فقط على أساس قياسات GPS على البنوك ، وما إذا كان الخطأ يتحرك في هذه المرحلة وما هو حجمه.

بقي موقع المقاييس (المثلثات) والنشاط الزلزالي المسجل سابقًا (الأحمر) عند صدع بحر مرمرة في الوسط هادئًا لفترة طويلة ange لانج وآخرون / Nature Communications، CC-by-sa 4.0

الآن ، ومع ذلك ، استخدم ديتريش لانج من مركز جيومار هيلمهولتز لأبحاث المحيطات كيل وفريقه نظام قياس جديد يعتمد على الإشارات الصوتية لقياس الحركات تحت الأرض مباشرة في قاع بحر مرمرة. لمدة عامين ونصف ، أجرت عشرة أجهزة قياس على عمق 800 متر من عمق المياه أكثر من 650،000 قياسات للمسافة على جانبي الصدع.

فقط من خلال هذه البيانات ، يمكن للباحثين الآن تحديد ما إذا كان خطأ شمال الأناضول في هذه المرحلة متشابكًا تمامًا أو يتحرك زاحفًا دون نشاط زلزالي. عرض

تم حظر الخطأ بالكامل

النتيجة: "تشير قياساتنا إلى أن منطقة الصدع متشابكة في بحر مرمرة وبالتالي تتصاعد التوترات التكتونية" ، كما يقول لانج. كان معدل الإزاحة السطحية على طول شبكة القياس صفرًا تقريبًا ، كما أظهرت القياسات. وقال الباحثون إن هذا يتعارض مع إزاحة زاحفة وحصار كامل للخطأ في هذا القسم الذي يبلغ طوله 150 كيلومترًا.

وفقًا لما توصلوا إليه ، فإن صخرة حدود الصفيحة متشابكة تمامًا حتى عمق لا يقل عن ثلاثة كيلومترات ، وربما حتى إلى طبقات صخور أعمق. "على افتراض أن آخر تمزق لصدمة شمال الأناضول في بحر مرمرة قد حدث في عام 1766 ، فقد تراكمت منذ ذلك الحين عجزًا يبلغ أربعة أمتار" ، وفقًا لتقرير الباحثين.

احتمال وقوع زلزال بلغت قوته 7.1 إلى 7.4

يقول لانج: "هذا هو أول دليل مباشر على التوتر المتصاعد في قاع البحر جنوب إسطنبول". إذا خرج هذا الجهد فجأة في زلزال ، فإن هذا سيكون له عواقب وخيمة. وفقًا للباحثين ، قد يتسبب هذا في زلزال بقوة 7.1 إلى 7.4 ، وفقًا لطول الكسر. لمنطقة العاصمة القريبة من اسطنبول وسكانها 15 مليون والتي ستكون قاتلة.

وكان آخر زلزال قوي في بحر مرمرة في 22 مايو 1766 بلغت قوته 7.5 وتسبب في أضرار جسيمة. تم تدمير المنازل وتدمير مرافق الموانئ ومات الآلاف من الجفاف والأمواج المدية. (Nature Communications، 2019؛ doi: 10.1038 / s41467-019-11016-z)

المصدر: مركز جيومار هيلمهولتز لأبحاث المحيطات كيل

- ناديا بودبريجار

Istanbul: Acute earthquake hazard confirmed

Tension under the Sea of ​​Marmara suffices for a quake of magnitude 7.1 to 7.4

Istanbul is seismically in an ejection seat. How high the tension on the North Anatolian Fault right in front of the city, researchers have now determined. © gece33 / iStock
Read out

Pent-up voltage: A new measuring system confirms the acute earthquake danger for the metropolis Istanbul - and quantifies it for the first time. The measurements show that the North Anatolian Fault under the Marmara Sea is completely blocked. As a result, enough tension has accumulated to trigger an earthquake with a magnitude of 7.1 to 7.4, as the researchers report in the journal Nature Communications. For the residents of Istanbul, such an earthquake would be fatal.

Istanbul is sitting on a seismic time bomb. Because immediately south of the metropolis under the Sea of ​​Marmara is the North Anatolian Fault - an active plate boundary. Here, the Eurasian and the Anatolian terrestrial plates slowly pass each other. Because the rocks are becoming entangled again and again, the tension in earthquakes, which have hitherto wandered ever further to the west, is being discharged to Istanbul. But the 150-kilometer section under the Sea of ​​Marmara has not been broken since 1766 - it forms a seismic gap.

Creep or blockade?

So far, however, it was unclear how high the tension is under the Sea of ​​Marmara - and if not a slow creep has reduced some of it. The reason for this: the signals from GPS and radar satellites are largely swallowed up by the covering seawater. Therefore, researchers have so far been able to estimate only on the basis of the GPS measurements on the banks, whether and how much the fault moves at this point.

Location of the gauges (triangles) and previously registered seismic activity (red) at the Marmara Sea fault in the center remained calm for a long time Lange et al./ Nature Communications, CC-by-sa 4.0

Now, however, Dietrich Lange from the GEOMAR Helmholtz Center for Ocean Research Kiel and his team have used a novel measuring system based on acoustic signals to directly measure the underground movements at the bottom of the Sea of ​​Marmara. For two and a half years, ten measuring devices in 800 meters of water depth carried out more than 650, 000 distance measurements on both sides of the fault.

Only through these data, the researchers could now determine whether the North Anatolian Fault at this point is completely entangled or creeping moves without seismic activity. display

Fault is completely blocked

The result: "Our measurements show that the fault zone is entangled in the Sea of ​​Marmara and therefore tectonic tensions build up, " says Lange. The superficial offset rate along the measurement network was almost zero, as the measurements showed. This speaks against a creeping offset and a complete blockade of the fault in this 150-kilometer-long section, the researchers said.

According to their findings, the rock of the plate boundary is completely entangled up to a depth of at least three kilometers, probably even down to even deeper layers of rock. "Assuming that the last rupture of the North Anatolian Fault in the Marmara Sea took place in 1766, it has since accumulated a four-meter offset deficit, " the researchers report.

Potential for a quake of magnitude 7.1 to 7.4

"This is the first direct proof of the tension build up on the seafloor south of Istanbul, " says Lange. If this voltage discharges abruptly in an earthquake, this would have devastating consequences. According to researchers, this would cause an earthquake with a magnitude of 7.1 to 7.4, depending on the length of the fracture. For the nearby metropolitan area of ​​Istanbul and its 15 million inhabitants that would be fatal.

The last strong quake in the Marmara Sea on May 22, 1766 had a magnitude of 7.5 and caused severe damage. Houses were destroyed, port facilities were damaged and thousands of people died from drought and tidal waves. (Nature Communications, 2019; doi: 10.1038 / s41467-019-11016-z)

Source: GEOMAR Helmholtz Center for Ocean Research Kiel

- Nadja Podbregar