البازلت كارو الفيضانات لها جذور عميقة

ألقى عمود عباءة ثوران بركاني ضخم قبل 180 مليون عام

انفجرت كارو قبل 180 مليون سنة خلفت طبقة سميكة من البازلت في جنوب إفريقيا والقطب الجنوبي ، هنا في دراكنزبرج في جنوب إفريقيا. © JMK / CC-by-sa 3.0
قراءة بصوت عال

لكن نقطة ساخنة: تعد البازلتين التي تساقطها مياه كارو في جنوب إفريقيا والقارة القطبية الجنوبية واحدة من أكبر المناطق البركانية على الأرض - ولها جذور أعمق مما كان يعتقد سابقًا. لأن الكثير من الحمم البركانية التي خرجت من هذه المقاطعة البركانية قبل 180 مليون سنة ، تأتي من الوشاح السفلي ، كما تكشف التحليلات الآن. وبالتالي ، فإن بركان Karoo هو نتيجة لعقد Mantelplumes ولم ينجم عن كسر Urkontinents Pangäa فقط.

البازلت المد والجزر شهود على أقوى الكوارث البركانية في عصور ما قبل التاريخ. عدة مرات في تاريخ الأرض ، اندلعت المحافظات البركانية بأكملها. اخترقت الحمم والرماد والغازات البركانية من مئات المداخن ، تاركة طبقات من الحمم البركانية بسماكة مئات الأمتار. ربما تكون بعض حالات التفشي الضخمة هذه ، بما في ذلك ثوران دكان تراب في الهند وسيبيريا تراب ، قد ساهمت في الانقراض الجماعي.

في نهر لوينها في موزمبيق ، وجد الباحثون أدلة على وجود عباءة عباءة كمورد سحري لمقاطعة كارو. © جامعة هلسنكي

اندلاع كما اندلعت Pang a

واحدة من هذه المقاطعات البركانية الضخمة البدائية اليوم في جنوب إفريقيا. تأتي طبقات الحمم البازلتية لفيضانات كارو من ثوران وقع في شبه جزيرة بانجوا قبل 180 مليون عام. وفقًا للتقديرات ، قامت المخارج بتدفق ما بين خمسة وعشرة ملايين كيلومتر مكعب من الحمم البركانية حتى يومنا هذا ، ويمكن العثور على بقايا هذه الحمم في جنوب إفريقيا والقارة القطبية الجنوبية.

ولكن ما الذي تسبب في هذه الكارثة البركانية البدائية؟ ل Dekkan Trapp ومن المعروف أن الصهارة التي تطعمها اثنين من النقاط الساخنة. نقلت أعمدة الوشاح هذه الصخور المتوهجة من الوشاح السفلي إلى السطح. وكذلك حصلت على البازلت كولومبيا الفيضانات في أمريكا الشمالية إمدادات الصهارة من هذا العمود عباءة.

R tsel حول المصدر الثالث

في البازلاء كارو الفيضانات ، ومع ذلك ، كان السبب غير واضح. على الرغم من الحجم الهائل لتدفقات الحمم البركانية ، يبدو أن التحليلات الجيوكيميائية تشير إلى منشأ المادة جزئيًا في القشرة وجزئيًا في الوشاح العلوي. "لكن هذين المصدرين وحدهما لا يمكن أن يفسرا الأنواع المختلفة من مقاطعة كارمو الصخرية" ، كما أوضح ساني تورونين من جامعة هلسنكي وزملاؤه. "يجب أن يأتي أكثر من نصف حجم البازلت الفيزيائي من مصدر ثالث." العرض

لكن من أي؟ للإجابة على هذا السؤال ، درس تورونين وزملاؤه الحمم البركانية بالقرب من نهر لوينها في موزمبيق ، الذي ينتمي إلى بازلت كارو. "هذه البازلت الفيضانات واسعة النطاق ، ولكن حتى الآن القليل من الدراسة ،" يقول الباحثون. لدراستهم ، أخذوا عينات من أجزاء مختلفة من المنطقة وتحليلها لتكوينها عنصري وهيكل معدني.

التوقيع الجيوكيميائي لأعمدة الوشاح

النتيجة: إن صخرة الحمم البركانية من هذا الجزء الشمالي من البازلت في فيضان كارو لها تركيبة مشابهة لتكوين الأخرى ، من الصخور البركانية العميقة الناشئة. أنه يحتوي على القليل نسبيا من ثاني أكسيد التيتانيوم والكثير من المغنيسيوم ، كما ذكر الباحثون. يشير هيكل هذه الصخور أيضًا إلى أن هذه الصهارة قد ذابت ذات مرة في درجات حرارة حوالي 1530 درجة.

كل هذا معًا ، وفقًا للباحثين ، يشير إلى أن هذه الصهارة قد تم نقلها إلى السطح بواسطة عمود الوشاح من الوشاح العميق. يلاحظ تورونين وزملاؤه "بذلك ، يزودنا لوينها بيكريت بأخذ العينات الجيوكيميائية المباشرة الأولى لمصدر كبير من بلوم الوشاح لمقاطعة كارو البركانية".

من المحتمل أن يكون خزان الوشاح العميق هذا المصدر الثالث لبازلت كارو. يقدر العلماء أن أكثر من نصف الحمم البركانية في هذه المقاطعة البركانية يمكن أن تأتي من هذه النقطة الساخنة. (ليثوس ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1016 / j.lithos.2019.105152)

المصدر: جامعة هلسنكي

- ناديا بودبريجار

Karoo flood basalts have deep roots

A mantle plume fed the volcanic mega-eruption 180 million years ago

The Karoo eruptions 180 million years ago left a thick layer of basalt in southern Africa and the Antarctic, here in the Drakensberg in South Africa. © JMK / CC-by-sa 3.0
Read out

But a hotspot: The Karoo flood basalts in South Africa and the Antarctic are one of the largest volcanic areas on earth - and they have deeper roots than previously thought. Because much of the lava that spewed out of this volcanic province 180 million years ago, comes from the lower mantle, as now reveal analyzes. The Karoo volcanism is thus the result of a Mantelplumes and was caused not only by the breaking of the Urkontinents Pangäa.

Tidal basalt are witnesses of the most powerful volcanic catastrophes of the prehistoric times. Several times in the history of the earth it came to the eruption of entire volcanic provinces. Lava, ash and volcanic gases penetrated from hundreds of chimneys, leaving hundreds of meters thick lava strata. Some of these mega-outbreaks, including the eruption of Dekkan-Trapp in India and the Siberian Trapp, may have contributed to mass extinctions.

At the Luenha River in Mozambique, the researchers found evidence for a mantle plume as magical supplier of the Karoo province. © University of Helsinki

Eruption as Pang a broke

One of these huge primeval volcanic provinces is today in the south of Africa. The lava strata of the Karoo flood basalts come from an eruption that occurred on the supercontinent Pang a 180 million years ago. According to estimates, the vents spewed five to ten million cubic kilometers of lava to this day the remains of this lava can be found in the south of Africa and the Antarctic.

But what triggered this primeval volcanic disaster? For the Dekkan Trapp is known that his magma was fed by two hotspots. These mantle plumes transported the glowing rock from the lower mantle to the surface. And also the Columbia flood basalts in North America got their magma supply from such a mantle plume.

R tsel around the third source

In the Karoo flood basalts, however, the cause was unclear. In spite of the enormous volume of the lava flows, geochemical analyzes seemed to indicate an origin of the material partly in the crust and partly in the upper mantle. "But these two sources alone can not explain the various types of magmatic Karoo province, " explain Sanni Turunen of the University of Helsinki and his colleagues. "More than half the volume of this flood basalt must come from a third source." Display

But from which? To answer this question, Turunen and his colleagues studied lava from the vicinity of the Luenha River in Mozambique, which belongs to the karoo basalts. "These flood basalts are extensive, but so far little studied, " say the researchers. For their study, they took samples from different parts of the area and analyzed them for their elemental composition and mineral structure.

Geochemical signature of a mantle plume

The result: The lava rock from this northern part of the Karoo flood basalts has a composition similar to that of other, from the deep mantle originating volcanic rock. It contains relatively little titanium dioxide, much magnesium, as the researchers report. The structure of these rocks also indicates that this magma once melted at temperatures of around 1, 530 degrees.

All this together, according to the researchers, suggests that this magma has been transported to the surface by a mantle plume from the deep mantle. "The Luenha Pikrite thus provide us with the first direct geochemical test of a significant mantle plume source for the volcanic Karoo province, " Turunen and his colleagues note.

This deep mantle reservoir is likely to be the long-sought third source of karoo flood basalts. Scientists estimate that more than half of the lava in this volcanic province could come from this hotspot. (Lithos, 2019; doi: 10.1016 / j.lithos.2019.105152)

Source: University of Helsinki

- Nadja Podbregar