سلتيك الكاهن يحصل على الوجه

الباحثون يعيدون بناء مظهر امرأة سلتيك من هبريدس

وجها لوجه مع الكاهن سلتيك: عالم الطب الشرعي كارين فليمنج مع وجهها أعيد بناؤها من الكاهن "هيلدا" © جامعة دندي
قراءة بصوت عال

Weise Alte: لا يُعرف سوى القليل عن الكهنة الإناث من الكلت حتى اليوم. الآن أعاد الباحث بناء وجه إحدى هؤلاء النساء الحكيمات. عاش الكاهن على الاسكتلندية هبريدس منذ حوالي ألفي عام وكان قديمًا بشكل غير عادي في ذلك الوقت: إعادة الإعمار تكشف عن الوجه المتجعد بلا أسنان لامرأة تبلغ من العمر 60 عامًا تقريبًا.

تم نشر الكلت في جميع أنحاء أوروبا خلال العصر الحديدي - من الأناضول إلى أيرلندا والدول الاسكندنافية. ولكن نظرًا لأن هذه المجموعات المترجمة "المجموعات الشجاعة" المعروفة لم يكن لديها كتابة ، فإن معرفة طريقة حياتهم لا تزال غير مكتملة. الاكتشافات الأثرية ، ومع ذلك ، تشير إلى أن الكلت قطعت رأس وتحنيط أعدائهم الذين هزموا في الحرب. علاوة على ذلك ، لم تكن المرأة متساوية في مجتمعها.

هذا ما توفي به الدكتورة هيلدا منذ ألفي عام. © كارين فليمينغ / جامعة دندي

حياة طويلة بشكل غير عادي

ومع ذلك ، كان هناك أيضًا نساء سلتيك يتمتعن بمكانة عالية. مثل الرجال ذوي الرتب العالية ، كان هؤلاء الكرامون متميزون ويتغذون بشكل أفضل من معظم معاصريهم. نتيجة لذلك ، كانوا يعيشون في كثير من الأحيان لفترة أطول من ذلك بكثير - كما الكهنة "هيلدا". ربما عاش هذا كيلتين في هيبريدس الاسكتلندية في وقت ما بين سن 40 و 400 م. كانت بالفعل أكثر من 60 سنة عندما توفيت.

"كان متوسط ​​العمر المتوقع للمرأة خلال هذه الفترة حوالي 31 عامًا" ، توضح كارين فليمنج من جامعة دندي. "حقيقة أن هيلدا عاشت لفترة أطول خلال العصر الحديدي تتحدث لصالح موقع متميز". تم اكتشاف جمجمة هذه المرأة السلتية لأول مرة في هبريدس في عام 1833 ومنذ ذلك الحين في المتحف التشريحي بجامعة إدنبرة أبقى.

الوجه النموذجي لامرأة كبيرة

كما بدا الدرويد "هيلدا" مرة واحدة ، والآن يظهر إعادة بناء الوجه ، والتي نفذت فليمنغ على أساس هذه Sch dels. على غرار إعادة البناء الجنائي ، استخدمت بيانات عن الموقع الطبيعي وسمك عضلات الوجه لإعادة بناء وجه السلتيك من العظام إلى الخارج تقريبًا. عرض

إعادة البناء النهائي يظهر وجه امرأة عجوز ذات وجه ممدود وذقن مميزة. تقول فليمنغ: "لقد كانت بلا أسنان عندما توفيت ، وهو أمر لا يثير الدهشة بالنظر إلى النظام الغذائي للناس في ذلك الوقت". "إنها أكثر إثارة للإعجاب كم من الوقت عاشت. أعتقد أنها تشبه العديد من النساء الأكبر سناً الذين قابلتهم خلال حياتي. "

الرقم الشمع في مقعد الراكب

غريب الاطوار: لأن فليمينغ قامت بعملها جزئيًا في أدنبرة وجزئيًا في دندي ، فقد اضطرت إلى تحريك نموذج الشمع الكاذب إلى الأمام والخلف. خلال موجة الحر في صيف عام 2018 ، كانت تستطيع فقط منع الشمع من الذوبان عن طريق نقل الكاهن جالسًا في مقعد الراكب في سيارتها المكيفة. يقول فليمنغ: "أنا متأكد من أن هذا كان مشهدًا لن ينسى كثير من المارة قريبًا".

المصدر: جامعة دندي

- ناديا بودبريجار

Celtic druid gets a face

Researchers are reconstructing the appearance of a Celtic woman from the Hebrides

Eye to eye with a Celtic druid: forensic scientist Karen Fleming with her reconstructed face of the druid "Hilda" © University of Dundee
Read out

Weise Alte: Little is known about the female druids of the Celts until today. Now a researcher has reconstructed the face of one of these wise women. The druid lived on the Scottish Hebrides some 2, 000 years ago and was unusually old for the time: the reconstruction reveals the toothless, wrinkled face of a woman of about 60 years.

The Celts were spread throughout Europe during the Iron Age - from Anatolia to Ireland and Scandinavia. But because these translated as "the brave" known ethnic groups did not have writing, the knowledge of their way of life is still patchy. Archaeological finds, however, suggest that the Celts beheaded and embalmed their enemies defeated in the war. Moreover, women were anything but equal in their society.

This is what the druid, Hilda, died about 2, 000 years ago. © Karen Fleming / University of Dundee

Unusually long life

Nevertheless, there were also Celtic women who enjoyed a high status. Like high-ranking men, these Druids were privileged and better nourished than most of their contemporaries. As a result, they often lived much longer - as the druid "Hilda". This Keltin probably lived in the Scottish Hebrides sometime between the ages of 40 and 400 AD. She was already more than 60 years old when she died.

"The typical life expectancy of women during this time was around 31 years, " explains Karen Fleming from the University of Dundee. "The fact that Hilda lived significantly longer during the Iron Age speaks in favor of a privileged position." The skull of this Celtic woman was first discovered in the Hebrides in 1833 and since then in the Anatomical Museum of the University of Edinburgh kept.

Typical face of a senior woman

As the Druid "Hilda" once looked, now shows a face reconstruction, which Fleming has carried out on the basis of this Sch dels. Similar to forensic reconstructions, she used data on the typical position and thickness of the facial muscles to rebuild the face of the celtin almost from the bone outwards. display

The finished reconstruction shows the face of an old woman with an elongated face and distinctive chin. "She was toothless when she died, which is hardly surprising given the people's diet back then, " says Fleming. "It's all the more impressive how long she lived. I think she looks like many older women I've met in the course of my life. "

Wax figure in the passenger seat

Whimsical: Because Fleming did her work partly in Edinburgh and partly in Dundee, she had to move the druid's wax model back and forth. During the heat wave of the summer of 2018, she could only prevent the wax from melting by transporting the druid sitting in the passenger seat of her air-conditioned car. "I am sure that this was a sight that many passers-by will not soon forget, " says Fleming.

Source: University of Dundee

- Nadja Podbregar