تاريخ المناخ في الجليد

معهد ألفريد فيجنر ، مركز هلمهولتز للبحوث القطبية والبحرية

قراءة بصوت عال

قام باحثون من 14 مؤسسة في عشر دول أوروبية بتفتيش جليد القطب الجنوبي لمدة ثلاث سنوات للحصول على مكان لدراسة تاريخ المناخ في آخر 1.5 مليون سنة. أبلغ الكونسورتيوم ما وراء EPICA - أقدم جليد (BE-OI) بقيادة أولاف إيسن من معهد ألفريد فيجنر ، ومركز هيلمهولتز للبحوث القطبية والبحرية (AWI) في بريمرهافن عن النتائج مؤخرًا قدمت في مؤتمر "الاتحاد الأوروبي لعلوم الأرض" في فيينا.

اختار الباحثون واحدة من أبرد الأماكن وأكثرها جفافاً والأكثر هشاشة على وجه الأرض: تقع "قبة صغيرة C" على بعد ثلاث ساعات من ركوب الثلج (30 كم) من محطة دوم كونكورديا في القطب الجنوبي ، والتي تشغل فرنسا وإيطاليا على الجليد في ويلكس لاند على ارتفاع 3233 متر فوق مستوى سطح البحر. بالكاد لاحظ الباحثون هطول الأمطار هناك ، ويبلغ متوسط ​​درجة الحرارة السنوي ناقص 54.5 درجة مئوية. أعلى من ناقص 25 درجة من النادر جدا هناك وفي فصل الشتاء تنخفض درجات الحرارة في بعض الأحيان إلى 80 درجة تحت الصفر.

الآيس كريم 900000 سنة

حيث تقف محطة كونكورديا اليوم ، قام الباحثون بحفر 3270 مترًا في الجليد في أنتاركتيكا بين عامي 1996 و ديسمبر 2004 كجزء من مشروع EPICA الأوروبي (المشروع الأوروبي لصقل الجليد في أنتاركتيكا). من خلال التحليلات الدقيقة للنوى التي تم الحصول عليها بهذه الطريقة ، تمكن الباحثون من إعادة بناء تاريخ المناخ على مدار 800000 عام بشكل موثوق. "خلال هذا الوقت ، فترات طويلة من البرد تناوبت مع فترات دافئة أقصر بمعدل حوالي مائة ألف سنة" ، أوضح باحث AWI ومنسق مشروع BE-OI أولاف إيسن.

نظرًا لأن هذا الجليد يحتوي أيضًا على فقاعات صغيرة لا تزال تحتوي على هواء من وقت تكوين الجليد ، فيمكن لباحثي المناخ قياس محتوى غازات الدفيئة المهمة ثاني أكسيد الكربون والميثان. ووجدوا روابط واضحة: إذا كان المناخ على الأرض باردًا ، فكان هناك أقل بكثير من ثاني أكسيد الكربون وأقل من الميثان في الهواء مقارنة بالعصر الأكثر دفئًا.

من القرون التي سبقت ذلك الوقت ، ومع ذلك ، فإن الباحثين ليس لديهم حتى الآن نوى جليدية في فقاعات الهواء التي يمكنهم قياس محتوى غازات الدفيئة في ذلك الوقت. لكن في هذه الحقبة ، تغير الإيقاع بشكل كبير ، بالتناوب بين الفترات الباردة والفترات الأكثر دفئًا: "منذ أكثر من 1.2 مليون عام ، استمرت هذه الدورة فقط حوالي 40،000 عام ، نتجت عن تغييرات منتظمة في ميل محور الأرض. وتبع ذلك فترة انتقالية مدتها 300000 عام ، قبل أن يبدأ إيقاع المائة ألف عام قبل حوالي 900000 عام ، "يوضح أولاف إيسن. عرض

نافذة زمنية في تاريخ المناخ

يعرف باحثو المناخ هذا التطور من خلال استكشاف الرواسب التي تراكمت في قاع المحيط خلال هذه الأوقات. توفر مثل هذه التحليلات أدلة على درجات الحرارة في الوقت الحاضر وعلى كتل الصفائح الجليدية التي كانت ترقد فوق القارة القطبية الجنوبية وغرينلاند وفي بعض الأحيان أمريكا الشمالية وشمال أوروبا. بيانات عن غازات الدفيئة ثاني أكسيد الكربون والميثان وارتباطهما بتطور المناخ ، ومع ذلك ، فإن الباحثين لا يتلقون إلا من فقاعات الهواء التي حوصروا في الجليد خلال هذا الوقت.

ويوضح أولاف إيسن: "لذلك ، هناك أسباب وجيهة للغاية للحفر بعد عينات إبيكا التي عمرها 800000 عام في ثلج لا يقل عمره عن 1.5 مليون عام". وهذا سيمكن الباحثين ليس فقط من دراسة السياق المناخي لـ "الفترة الانتقالية لمنتصف عصر البلاستوسين" ولكن أيضًا إيقاع 40،000 عام قبله. نظرًا لأن الجزيئات الموجودة في الجليد تنتشر ما يزيد قليلاً عن آلاف السنين ، مما يؤدي إلى تلطيخ التحليلات ، يبحث الباحثون عن الجليد بدقة أعلى ، حيث يتم تضمين عشرة آلاف عام من تاريخ المناخ في قلب الحفر بطول متر واحد على الأقل يلعب دور.

البحث عن أقدم الآيس كريم على الأرض

في السنوات الثلاث الماضية ، كان باحثون من عشر دول أوروبية ، بدعم من زملاء من الولايات المتحدة وأستراليا واليابان وروسيا ، في القطب الجنوبي في مشروع BE-OI ، يبحثون عن جليد يستوفي هذه المعايير. في الرحلات الجوية عبر القطب الجنوبي ، استخدموا حزم الرادار لتحليل طبقات الجليد تحت السطحية ، والتي قاموا بفحصها أيضًا مباشرةً باستخدام آبار اختبار بعمق يصل إلى 400 متر. من هذه النتائج ، خلص الباحثون إلى الظروف في طبقات أعمق وبالتالي كبار السن.

هنا ، برزت "القبة الصغيرة C" كأفضل مرشح على الجليد الذي يبلغ عمره 1.5 مليون عام على الأقل ، والذي لا يزال لديه دقة جيدة في أقدم المناطق وذلك تحت ضغط هائل من الجماهير المغطاة أيضًا لا تذوب في قاعدتها. إذا أعطى الاتحاد الأوروبي الضوء الأخضر للمرحلة الثانية من BE-OI ، كما هو مأمول ، فسيتم تنسيق الباحثين بواسطة كارلو باربانتي من جامعة فينيسيا حول "القبة الصغيرة C" بناء معسكر ميداني ستعيش فيه الحاويات في ظروف بسيطة إلى حد ما أثناء الحفر.

تتحمل من 2021

ربما في منتصف نوفمبر 2021 ثم يمكن أن تبدأ حفرة ، يتم الحصول عليها مع النوى الجليدية سميكة بسمك عشرة سنتيمترات. في ثلاثة صيف في القطب الجنوبي ، ستستمر هذه الحفرة من منتصف نوفمبر إلى أوائل فبراير ، حيث يصل عمقها إلى 2730 مترًا بحلول عام 2024 ، عندما يبلغ عمر الجليد 1.5 مليون عام على الأقل. بحلول عام 2025 ، يجب أن تكون البيانات الأولى المستقاة من تحليلات الحفر الأساسية متاحة ، والتي من خلالها سيحدد فريق البحث الدولي العلاقات بين غازات الدفيئة والمناخ في الفترة الانتقالية في منتصف عصر البلاستوسين ones والبيانات السابقة تريد أن تفحص العصور الماضية.

BE-OI هي المساهمة الأوروبية في البحث العالمي عن المكان المناسب لحفر الجليد. سيقوم الكونسورتيوم بإجراء الدراسات الأولية لاختيار الموقع حول Dome C و Dome Fuji ، وكلتا المنطقتين يحتمل أن تكونا مناسبة في شرق القارة القطبية الجنوبية. تستكشف اتحادات العلوم الأخرى مواقع أخرى ضمن IPICS (الشراكات الدولية في علوم الجليد الأساسية). يتم تمويل هذا المشروع من قبل الاتحاد الأوروبي في برنامج البحث والابتكار Horizon 2020 تحت الرقم 730258.

المصدر: معهد ألفريد فيجنر ، مركز هيلمهولتز للبحوث القطبية والبحرية

- ناديا بودبريجار

Climate history in the ice

Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research

Read out

Researchers from 14 institutions in ten European countries searched the Antarctic ice for three years for a place to study the climate history of the last 1.5 million years. The consortium Beyond EPICA Oldest Ice (BE-OI) under the leadership of Olaf Eisen from the Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research (AWI) in Bremerhaven recently reported the results presented at a conference of the "European Geosciences Union" in Vienna.

The researchers selected one of the coldest, driest and lifeless places on Earth: "Little Dome C" is located three hours of snowmobile ride (30 kilometers) from the Antarctic station Dome Concordia, which operates France and Italy on the ice of Wilkes-Land at an altitude of 3233 meters above sea level. The researchers hardly ever observe precipitation there, and the average annual temperature is minus 54.5 degrees Celsius. Higher than minus 25 degrees it is very rare there and in winter the temperatures sometimes fall below minus 80 degrees.

900, 000 year old ice cream

Where the Concordia Station stands today, researchers drilled 3270 meters into the Antarctic ice between 1996 and December 2004 as part of the European EPICA (European Project for Ice Coring in Antarctica) project. With precise analyzes of the cores obtained in this way, researchers were able to reliably reconstruct the climate history of the past 800, 000 years. "During this time, long periods of cold alternated with shorter warm periods at a rate of about a hundred thousand years, " explains AWI researcher and BE-OI project coordinator Olaf Eisen.

As this ice also contains tiny bubbles that still contain air from the time the ice formed, the climate researchers can measure the content of the important greenhouse gases carbon dioxide and methane. And they find clear connections: If the climate on Earth was cold, there was much less carbon dioxide and less methane in the air than in warmer epochs.

From the centuries before that time, however, the researchers have so far no ice cores in whose air bubbles they could measure the then content of greenhouse gases. Especially in this epoch, however, the rhythm has changed dramatically, alternating between cold periods and warmer periods: "More than 1.2 million years ago, such a cycle lasted only about 40, 000 years, triggered by regular changes in the inclination of the Earth's axis. This was followed by a 300, 000-year transitional period, before the hundred-thousand-year rhythm began around 900, 000 years ago, "explains Olaf Eisen. display

Time window into the climate history

Climate researchers know this development from investigations of the sediments that have accumulated on the ocean floor during these times. Such analyzes provide clues to the temperatures of the time and to the masses of ice sheets that were lying over Antarctica, Greenland and, at times, North America and northern Europe. Data on the greenhouse gases Carbon dioxide and methane and their correlations with the development of the climate, the researchers, however, receive only from the air bubbles that were trapped in the ice during this time.

"There are therefore very good reasons to drill after the 800, 000-year-old EPICA samples into ice at least 1.5 million years old, " explains Olaf Eisen. This would enable the researchers not only to study the climatic context of the "mid-Pleistocene transitional period" but also the 40, 000-year rhythm before it. As the molecules contained in the ice diffuse a little over millennia, smearing the analyzes, the researchers are looking for ice with a higher resolution, in which ten thousand years of climate history are embedded in a drill core at least one meter long Role play.

Search for the oldest ice cream on earth

In the past three years researchers from ten European countries, supported by colleagues from the US, Australia, Japan and Russia, in the Antarctic in the BE-OI project, therefore, were searching for ice that meets these criteria. On flights across the Antarctic, they used radar beams to analyze the subsurface layers of ice, which they also examined directly with up to 400-meter-deep test wells. From these results, the researchers concluded on the conditions in deeper and thus older layers.

Here, the "Little Dome C" emerged as the best candidate for at least 1.5 million years old ice out, which still has a good resolution in its oldest areas and that under the huge pressure of the overlying masses also does not melt at its base. If the European Union gives the green light for the second phase of BE-OI, as hoped, the researchers will be coordinated by Carlo Barbante of the University of Venice on the "Little Dome C" build a field camp in which containers will live in fairly simple conditions during drilling.

Bore from 2021

Probably in mid-November 2021 can then start a hole, are obtained with the ten-centimeter thick ice cores. In three Antarctic summer, this hole will then be continued from mid-November to early February, reaching a depth of 2730 meters by 2024, when the ice should be at least 1.5 million years old. By 2025, the first data from the drill core analyzes should be available, from which the international research team will then determine the relationships between greenhouse gases and the climate in the mid-Pleistocene transitional period and the previous ones want to examine the past epochs.

BE-OI is the European contribution to the worldwide search for the right place for an ice drilling. The consortium will undertake the preliminary studies for the site selection around Dome C and Dome Fuji, both potentially suitable regions in the eastern Antarctic. Other science consortia are exploring other locations within IPICS (International Partnerships in Ice Core Sciences). This project is funded by the European Union in the Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Program under the number 730258.

Source: Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research

- Nadja Podbregar