تغير المناخ: حار جدا للحج؟

الحرارة في مكة المكرمة وغيرها من الحج الإسلامية يمكن أن تصل إلى القيم المميتة

الحج إلى مكة أمر لا بد منه للمسلمين المخلصين ، لكن تغير المناخ قد يجعل الظروف خطيرة. © معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا
قراءة بصوت عال

الحج القاتل؟ يمكن أن تصبح الأماكن المقدسة في الإسلام حارة جدًا بالنسبة للعديد من الحجاج المسلمين. لأنه عندما يقع الحج في الصيف ، فإن مجموعات الحرارة والرطوبة التي تهدد الحياة ستنتصر أكثر فأكثر في مكة والمنطقة المحيطة بها ، كما اكتشف الباحثون. بحلول عام 2050 ، يمكن أن تتجاوز 20 في المائة من تواريخ الحج هذه العتبة ، وبحلول عام 2080 حتى 40 في المئة ، وفقا للتوقعات.

مرة واحدة في العمر ، والإسلام يملي على أتباعه الحج إلى الأماكن المقدسة. كجزء من هذا الحج الذي يستمر عدة أيام ، سيقوم الحجاج بزيارة الكعبة المشرفة في مكة ، وكذلك المواقع الأخرى في المنطقة. عندما يتم هذا الحج السنوي ، فإنه يعتمد على التقويم القمري ، وبالتالي فإن التاريخ يتحرك إلى الأمام ببضعة أيام من كل عام. في الوقت الحالي ، يكون الحج في فصل الصيف وأيضًا من عام 2047 إلى عام 2052 ومن عام 2079 إلى عام 2086 ، سيتم هذا الحج في أقسى وقت في السنة.

الحجاج على جبل عرفات. © عمر خاتريوالا / الجزيرة ، CC-by-sa 2.0

حرارة الجحيم الشرق الأوسط

المشكلة هي أن مكة المكرمة وشركاه تقعان في المملكة العربية السعودية ، وبالتالي في منطقة تعد بالفعل واحدة من أكثر المدن سخونة في العالم. يقول سوشول كانج من معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا (MIT) وزملاؤه: "ارتفعت درجات الحرارة بشكل كبير منذ سبعينيات القرن الماضي ، كما زاد تواتر درجات الحرارة القصوى". إذا كان الحج في فصل الصيف ، فغالبًا ما توجد بالفعل مشاكل صحية خاصة عند كبار السن.

لكن الأمور تزداد سوءًا: وفقًا للتنبؤات ، يمكن أن تصبح أجزاء من الشرق الأوسط وشبه الجزيرة العربية غير قابلة للسكن تقريبًا في ظل ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري التي تبلغ درجتين فقط. مع الاحترار غير المحدود ، يمكن أن تحدث ظروف مناخية أكثر تهديداً للحياة على نحو أكثر تواتراً بحلول نهاية القرن. في هذه ، يصل مزيج الحرارة والرطوبة إلى درجة حرارة الحد المسموح به للتبريد - وهي عتبة ميتة ، لأن الجسم لم يعد قادرًا على البرودة عن طريق تبخر العرق.

الحج في خطر؟

ولكن ماذا يعني هذا للحج الإسلامي؟ متى يتوقع المشاركون والمنظمون لديك خطرًا مناخيًا حادًا؟ درس كانغ وزملاؤه هذا باستخدام ثلاثة نماذج مناخية. للقيام بذلك ، قاموا بنمذجة الظروف في مكة المكرمة والمنطقة المحيطة بها في ظل سيناريو لتغير المناخ المعتدل وغير الخاضع للرقابة (RCP 4.5 و 8.5)

ثم حددوا عدد المرات التي سيتعرض فيها المشاركون للحج إلى حد التبريد البالغ 29.1 درجة ، المصنف على أنه "خطير للغاية". في ظل هذه الظروف ، تكون درجة الحرارة أعلى من 29 درجة والرطوبة لا تقل عن 45 في المائة. وقال كانج وتقرير فريقه "حتى الآن ، لم يتم تجاوز هذه العتبة في الحج الصيفي".

تجاوز العتبة

ولكن هذا سوف يتغير: إذا استمر تغير المناخ دون رادع ، يمكن تجاوز حد الخطر هذا بحلول عام 2020 - وإن كان هذا الاحتمال بنسبة ستة في المائة فقط. في الفترة من 2045 إلى 2052 ، ارتفع الخطر بالفعل إلى 20 في المائة ، في الفترة من 2079 إلى 2086 حتى 40 في المائة ، كما حدد الباحثون. لكن قبل ذلك بكثير ، سيصل المناخ الصيفي في مكة المكرمة والمنطقة المحيطة بها إلى قيم ، رغم أنها قد لا تكون مميتة ، إلا أنها قد تضر بالحياة لكبار السن والحجاج الضعفاء. يمكن.

يقول المؤلف المشارك الفاتح الطاهر من معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا: "يتم معظم النشاط أثناء الحج في الخارج". يقضي الحجاج ساعات يدور حول الكعبة المشرفة في مكة أو يصلي على جبل عرفات المقدس تحت أشعة الشمس الحارقة. بالاقتران مع الضغط القوي على هذه الأحداث ، يمكن أن يأتي في المستقبل بشكل متزايد لحالات الانهيار الدوري ، وكذلك الذعر الجماعي. بالفعل في عامي 1990 و 2015 ، كان هناك مئات الوفيات بسبب هذه الأحداث.

ماذا يمكنك ان تفعل؟

يقول الطاهر: "كلما كانت الأحوال الجوية أشد قسوة ، زاد احتمال عودة الحشود إلى مثل هذه الحوادث". لمنع هذا ، يجب على المرء بالفعل وضع الاستراتيجيات المناسبة. بالإضافة إلى أن الحماية من أشعة الشمس يمكن أن تنتمي إلى الأماكن المقدسة و Abkhhlungsm glichkeiten. قد تكون الإستراتيجية الأخرى هي أن المسلمين الأكبر سناً يخططون لحجهم في السنوات التي لا يكون فيها موعد الحج في منتصف الصيف.

ومع ذلك ، إذا اتبع جزء كبير من الحجاج الإسلاميين هذه الإستراتيجية ، فقد يكون لذلك أيضًا عواقب وخيمة: "بالفعل اليوم ، يشارك حوالي 2 إلى 3 ملايين حاج في الحج كل عام" ، كما يوضح الباحثون. إذا كانت هذه الأمور ستركز في غضون بضع سنوات فقط ، فستكون الحشود هائلة وستثقل كاهل البنية التحتية المحلية. يقول كانغ وزملاؤه "قد يكون من الضروري قصر الحج على الحجاج الذين ثبتت صحتهم".

يبدو واضحا: شروط الحج الإسلامي ستصبح أكثر صرامة. بالنسبة إلى 1.8 مليار مسلم في جميع أنحاء العالم ، قد يصبح من الصعب وغير المريح إكمال حجهم الإلزامي. (رسائل المراجعة الجيوفيزيائية ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1029 / 2019GL083686)

المصدر: معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا

- ناديا بودبريجار

Climate change: Too hot for the Hajj?

Heat in Mecca and other Islamic pilgrimages could reach deadly values

The pilgrimage to Mecca is a must for devout Muslims, but climate change could make the conditions dangerous. © MIT
Read out

Deadly pilgrimage? The holy places of Islam could soon become too hot for many pilgrim Muslims. Because when Hajj falls into the summer, life-threatening combinations of heat and humidity will prevail more and more in Mecca and the surrounding area, as researchers have discovered. By 2050, 20 percent of pilgrimage dates could exceed this threshold, and by 2080 even 40 percent, according to forecasts.

Once in a lifetime, Islam dictates to its followers a pilgrimage to the holy places. As part of this Hajj lasting several days, pilgrims will visit the Kaaba in Mecca, as well as other sites in the area. When this annual pilgrimage takes place, it depends on the lunar calendar, so the date moves forward by a few days each year. At present, the hajj is in summer and also from 2047 to 2052 and from 2079 to 2086 this pilgrimage will take place at the hottest time of the year.

Hajj pilgrims on Mount Arafat. © Omar Khatriwala / AL Jazeera, CC-by-sa 2.0

Heat hell Middle East

The problem is that Mecca and Co are located in Saudi Arabia and thus in a region that is already one of the world's hottest. "Temperatures have risen significantly since the 1970s, and the frequency of heat extremes has also increased, " reports Suchul Kang of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and his colleagues. If the hajj in the summer, there are already often health problems especially in older pilgrims.

But things get even worse: according to forecasts, parts of the Middle East and the Arabian Peninsula could become almost uninhabitable in a global warming of just two degrees. With unchecked warming, even more life-threatening climatic conditions could occur more frequently by the end of the century. In these, the combination of heat and humidity reaches the so-called cooling limit temperature - a dead threshold, because the body can no longer cool by evaporation of perspiration.

Pilgrimage in danger?

But what does this mean for the Islamic pilgrimage Hajj? When will your participants and organizers expect an acute climatic risk and how often? Kang and his colleagues studied this using three climate models. To do so, they modeled the conditions in Mecca and the surrounding area under a scenario of moderate and unchecked climate change (RCP 4.5 and 8.5)

Then they determined how often the Hajj participants would be exposed to the cooling limit of 29.1 degrees, classified as "extremely dangerous". Under these conditions, the temperature is above 29 degrees and the humidity is at least 45 percent. "Up to now, this threshold has never been exceeded in summer pilgrimages, " Kang and his team report.

Threshold exceeded

But this will change: if climate change continues unchecked, this danger threshold could be exceeded by 2020 albeit with only six percent probability. In the period from 2045 to 2052, however, the risk already rises to 20 percent, in the period from 2079 to 2086 even 40 percent, as the researchers determined. But much earlier, the summer climate in Mecca and the surrounding area will reach values ​​that, although not potentially deadly, may be harmful to life for elderly people and weak pilgrims can.

"Much of the activity during the pilgrimage takes place outside, " says co-author Elfatih Eltahir of MIT. The pilgrims spend hours circling the Kaaba in Mecca or praying on the sacred Mount Arafat in the scorching sun. Combined with the strong pressure on these events, it could in future increasingly come to cases of circulatory collapse, but also to mass panic. Already in the Hajj years 1990 and 2015, there were hundreds of deaths due to such events.

What can you do?

"The more severe the weather conditions are, the more likely it is that the crowds will revert to such incidents, " says Eltahir. To prevent this, one must already develop appropriate strategies. In addition a sun protection could belong to the holy places and Abkhhlungsm glichkeiten. Another strategy might be that older Muslims plan their pilgrimage in the years when the Hajj dates are not midsummer.

If, however, a large part of the Islamic pilgrims follow this strategy, this could also have fatal consequences: "Already today, around two to three million pilgrims take part in Hajj every year, " the researchers explain. If these were to concentrate in just a few years, the crowds would be enormous and would overload the local infrastructure. "It may be necessary to limit Hajj to pilgrims who are proven to be in good health, " say Kang and his colleagues.

It seems clear: the conditions for the Islamic pilgrimage will become tougher. For the 1.8 billion Muslims worldwide, it could become much more difficult and uncomfortable to complete their compulsory pilgrimage. (Geophysical Review Letters, 2019; doi: 10.1029 / 2019GL083686)

Source: Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

- Nadja Podbregar