الجزر الاصطناعية المكتشفة من العصر الحجري

"Crannogs" في the Hebrides الاسكتلندية أقدم من Stonehenge

تم بناء هذه الجزيرة الصغيرة في بحيرة لوخ بورغيل في جزيرة لويس الهيبرينية منذ حوالي 5500 عام من كتل حجرية وعوارض خشبية. © F. Sturt / Antiquity ، CC-by-sa 4.0
قراءة بصوت عال

أقدم من ستونهنج: في هيبريدس الاسكتلندية ، بنى أجدادنا جزرًا صناعية في البحيرات وفي البحر منذ أكثر من 5500 عام ، كما اكتشف علماء الآثار. تقع المنصة التي يصل طولها إلى 26 متراً في المنطقة الساحلية الضحلة وتم ربطها جزئيًا بالسدود إلى الشاطئ. الغرض من هذه الجزر من الحزم والعوارض الخشبية محير. ومع ذلك ، يشتبه الباحثون في استخدام الطقوس.

للجزر الاصطناعية تقليد طويل: فالمنازل الطينية خلقت مساحة معيشية جديدة بالفعل في العصر الحديدي ، في هولندا كانت تستخدم لاستصلاح الأراضي. حتى يومنا هذا ، فإن العديد من المناطق الساحلية لديها القدرة على التوسع إلى البحر - سواء بالنسبة لمطار مثل أوساكا ، أو المنازل الفخمة للأثرياء في دبي ، أو من الناحية النظرية مثل منصات البترول للنفط أو الغاز الطبيعي.

جزر الحجر والخشب

لكن متى تم بناء أول جزر اصطناعية؟ حتى الآن ، ما يسمى Crannogs في اسكتلندا وايرلندا كانت أول الأمثلة على ذلك. في وقت مبكر من عام 800 قبل الميلاد ، بدأ الناس في بناء مئات الجزر الخشبية والحجرية في المناطق البحرية الضحلة والخلجان. حتى العصور الوسطى ، كانت هذه الجزر التي يصل عرضها إلى 30 مترًا تستخدم كمسكن أو ورشة أو ملاذ محصن.

في قاع البحيرة بالقرب من Crannogs اكتشف Keramikgef من العصر الحجري الحديث. C. Murray / Antiquity ، CC-by-sa 4.0

في الثمانينيات من القرن العشرين ، صادف علماء الآثار في جزيرة نورث أويست الهيبرينية صخرة كرانيوج تبدو أكبر سناً بشكل جذري من تواريخ الكربون المشع. ومع ذلك ، نظرًا لأنه لم يتم اكتشاف أي جزر أخرى مماثلة من هذا النوع ، ظل عصر هذا الدومينويل إيلين الذي يدعى كرانوج مثيرًا للجدل.

ما يقرب من 3000 سنة أقدم من Crannogs المعروفة سابقا

الآن ، ومع ذلك ، اكتشف دنكان غارو من جامعة ريدينغ وفريزر ستورت من جامعة ساوثهامبتون في جزيرة لويس الهيبريديان ثلاثة Crannogs التي هي أقدم بكثير من جميع المعروفة سابقا. "اكتشف اكتشاف العديد من الأوعية الخزفية من قاع البحيرة المحيطة أول دليل على أصلها الحجري الحديث" ، وفقًا لعلماء الآثار. خلال الحفريات على الجزر ، جاءوا إلى آثار أكثر من العصر الحجري الحديث. عرض

أظهرت التواريخ أن هذه الاكتشافات تعود إلى حوالي 3640 إلى 3360 قبل الميلاد. وبالتالي ، فإن هذه الجزر الاصطناعية أقدم بآلاف السنين من جميع Crannogs المعروفة. "هذه المواقع تثبت أن Crannogs كان واسع الانتشار بالفعل في العصر الحجري الحديث ،" الدولة Garrow و Sturt. إنهم يشكون في أن الجزر الاصطناعية الأخرى في اسكتلندا وإيرلندا قد تكون قد جاءت من هذه الفترة. لأنه ليس جميعها مؤرخة حتى الآن أو فحصها عن كثب.

"عبء العمل الهائل"

ويوضح علماء الآثار أن "هذه الجزر من صنع الإنسان بشكل واضح ، حيث يتم إلقاء كتل من الحجر في قاع البحيرة لإنشاء جزر اصطناعية". "من المحتمل أن تكون هذه الجزر محاطة من ثلاثة جوانب بالمياه الضحلة والرابعة بجزر أعمق." وتم تعزيز إحدى هذه الجزر بعوارض خشبية تحمي البناء على جانب البحر من الانزلاق.

"لبناء هذه الجزر ، كان هناك حاجة إلى قدر هائل من العمل" ، أوضح الباحثون. Crannogs العصر الحجري الحديث مستديرة ، ما يقرب من 20 و 26 مترا ولها سطح مسطح تقريبا. ترتبط إحدى هذه الجزر بشاطئ البحيرة عبر جسر حجري. يمكن الوصول إلى الآخرين مرة واحدة بواسطة ممر خشبي ، أو يقودهم قارب ، وفقًا لتقرير Garrow و Sturt.

طقوس العصر الحجري؟

ولكن لماذا هذه الجزر الاصطناعية تخدم؟ حتى الآن ، فإن الغرض من Crannogs العصر الحجري الحديث محير ، كما يجادل علماء الآثار. حول الجزر ، اكتشفوا العديد من الأوعية الخزفية في قاع البحيرة ، والتي يبدو أنها ألقيت في الماء في حالة سليمة. يُظهر Ru spuren أن هذه الأواني قد تعرضت سابقًا للنيران وبالتالي استخدمت ، ما هو غير واضح.

ويتوقع علماء الآثار أن تكون مثل هذه الجزر أماكن خاصة كانت تستخدم للتجمعات الاجتماعية أو احتفالات الطقوس أو غيرها من المناسبات الاجتماعية. "البيئة المائية ترمز إلى الانفصال عن الحياة اليومية وعملية عبور أو عبور هذه الجزر قد أكدت هذا الفصل." لذلك ، يبدو من المرجح أن الأحداث التي وقعت في هذه الجزر ، أيضا تم رفعها من الحياة اليومية.

بالتوازي مع العصابات

يقول الباحثون: "ربما كانت الأنشطة في هذه الجزر مماثلة لتلك التي حدثت في أماكن أخرى من هيبريدس على القبور". لأنه مع الجسور الضيقة أو الجسور ، يشبه الانتقال إلى هذه الجزيرة المرور عبر نفق النورس الحجري. وقال جارو وستورت "من الممكن إذن أن تكون هذه الجزر مرتبطة بطقوس الجنازة".

على الرغم من أن الغرض من هذه الجزر الاصطناعية لا يزال في الظلام في الوقت الحالي ، إلا أن الاكتشافات الجديدة تثبت أن أسلافنا أنشأوا مثل هذه الهياكل في وقت أبكر بكثير مما كان يعتقد سابقًا. يقول علماء الآثار: "إننا نتوقع بفارغ الصبر أن تسفر التحقيقات والكشف عن الحفريات الأخرى في الهيبريدس الخارجية وما وراءها عن الضوء". "نظرًا لأن الممارسات والميزات المكتشفة على Crannogs لـ Lewis 'تُجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في أفكارنا الخاصة بالمستوطنات الحجري الحديث والتماثيل والمباني." (العصور القديمة ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.15184 / aqy.2019.41)

المصدر: العصور القديمة

- ناديا بودبريجار

Artificial islands discovered from the Stone Age

"Crannogs" in the Scottish Hebrides are older than Stonehenge

This islet in Loch Bhorgastail on the Hebridean island of Lewis was built around 5, 500 years ago from stone blocks and wooden beams. © F. Sturt / Antiquity, CC-by-sa 4.0
Read out

Older than Stonehenge: In the Scottish Hebrides, our ancestors constructed artificial islands in lakes and in the sea more than 5, 500 years ago, as archaeologists have discovered. The round, up to 26-meter platforms lie in the shallow coastal area and were partially connected by dams to the shore. The purpose of these islands of stone and wooden beams is puzzling. However, researchers suspect a ritual use.

Artificial islands have a long tradition: as stilt houses they created new living space already in the Iron Age, in the Netherlands they were used for land reclamation. To this day, many coastal regions have the potential to expand out to the sea - whether for an airport like in Osaka, luxury homes for the rich in Dubai, or quite prosaically as oil rigs for oil or natural gas.

Islands of stone and wood

But when were the first artificial islands built? So far, the so-called Crannogs in Scotland and Ireland were the earliest examples of this. As early as 800 BC, people began to build hundreds of wooden and stone islands in shallow sea areas and bays. Until the Middle Ages, these up to 30-meter-wide islets were used as a fortified dwelling, workshop or retreat.

At the lake bottom near a Crannogs discovered Keramikgef from the Neolithic period. C. Murray / Antiquity, CC-by-sa 4.0

In the 1980s, archaeologists on the Hebridean island of North Uist came across a Crannog that seemed radically older than the radiocarbon dates. However, because no other similar ancient islands of this species were discovered, the age of this Eilean Domhnuill called Crannogs remained controversial.

Almost 3, 000 years older than previously known Crannogs

Now, however, Duncan Garrow of the University of Reading and Fraser Sturt of the University of Southampton on the Hebridean island of Lewis have discovered three more Crannogs that are significantly older than all previously known. "The discovery of numerous ceramic vessels from the surrounding lake bottom provided the first evidence of their Neolithic origin, " report the archaeologists. During excavations on the islands they came to more Neolithic relics. display

Dates showed that these finds date from around 3640 to 3360 BC. Thus, these artificial islands are thousands of years older than all known Crannogs. "These sites demonstrate that Crannogs were apparently already widespread in the Neolithic period, " state Garrow and Sturt. They suspect that other artificial islands in Scotland and Ireland could have come from this period. Because not all are so far dated or examined more closely.

"Enormous workload"

"These islands are clearly man-made, with blocks of stone thrown up on the bottom of the lake to create artificial islands, " explain the archaeologists. "These islands were probably surrounded on three sides by shallower water and on the fourth by deeper ones." One of the islands is additionally reinforced with wooden beams, which protect the construction on the sea side from slipping.

"To build these islands, an enormous amount of work was necessary, " explain the researchers. The Neolithic Crannogs are round, between almost 20 and 26 meters tall and have a flat, almost flat top. One of these islands is connected to the lake shore via a stone causeway. The others might once have been accessible by a boardwalk, or driven by boat, as Garrow and Sturt report.

Stone Age ritual places?

But why did these artificial islands serve? So far, the purpose of the Neolithic Crannogs is puzzling, as the archaeologists argue. Around the islands, they have discovered numerous ceramic vessels on the lake bottom, which had apparently been thrown into the water in intact condition. Ru spuren show that these pots were previously exposed to the fire and were therefore used what, is unclear.

"Such islands could have been special places that were used for social gatherings, ritual celebrations or other social events, " the archaeologists speculate. "The water environment symbolized a separation from everyday life and the process of crossing or crossing these islands might have emphasized this separation." Therefore, it seems likely that the events that took place on these islands, too were lifted out of everyday life.

Parallels with gangbers

"The activities on these islands may have been similar to those that took place elsewhere in the Hebrides on Graves, " the researchers say. Because with their narrow bridges or causeways, the transition to such an island resembled the passage through the tunnel of a Neolithic gull. "It is therefore even possible that these islands were associated with funeral rites, " said Garrow and Sturt.

Although the purpose of these artificial islands remains in the dark for the time being, the new finds prove that our ancestors created such structures much earlier than previously thought. "We are eagerly anticipating what the investigations and excavations of other Crannogs in the Outer Hebrides and beyond will bring to light, " the archaeologists say. "Because the practices and features discovered on Lewis' Crannogs force us to rethink our notions of Neolithic settlements, monumentality, and buildings." (Antiquity, 2019; doi: 10.15184 / aqy.2019.41)

Source: Antiquity

- Nadja Podbregar