الذكاء الاصطناعي مناسب لرصد البراكين

مركز هلمهولتز بوتسدام GFZ المركز الألماني للبحوث لعلوم الأرض

قراءة بصوت عال

لا يتم رصد أكثر من نصف البراكين النشطة للأرض. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تحدث الفاشيات التي يمكن أن تحذر الناس نظريًا على الأقل من دون إطلاق إنذار. أنشأ باحثون من الجامعة التقنية في برلين ومركز الأبحاث الألماني لعلوم الأرض GFZ في بوتسدام الآن منصة رصد بركان MOUNTS ، التي تجمع بين بيانات القياس المختلفة وتحلل صور الأقمار الصناعية بمساعدة "التعلم الآلي".

لا يتم رصد أكثر من نصف البراكين النشطة للأرض. على سبيل المثال ، قد تحدث حالات تفشي يمكن أن تحذر الناس نظريًا على الأقل من دون إطلاق إنذار. في خطوة أولى وما زالت مبكرة على طريق التحذير من البراكين ، تم تطوير منصة جديدة لمراقبة البراكين في مشروع بحثي بقيادة سيباستيان فاليد من الجامعة التقنية في برلين (TU Berlin) ومركز GFZ الألماني للبحوث الجيولوجية للعلوم في بوتسدام تحليلها باستخدام "الذكاء الاصطناعي". من خلال اختبار الأحداث الأخيرة ، أوضح Valade وزملاؤه أن منصة MONUNTS (مراقبة الاضطرابات من الفضاء) يمكن أن تجمع بين مجموعات بيانات متعددة مع أنواع مختلفة من البيانات للمراقبة البركانية الكاملة. تم نشر نتائج الفريق في مجلة Remote Sensing.

من بين 1500 براكين نشطة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ما يصل إلى 85 يندلع كل عام. نظرًا للتكلفة وعدم اليقين في الحفاظ على الأجهزة الحجمية ، تتم مراقبة أقل من نصف البراكين النشطة بواسطة أجهزة استشعار أرضية ، وحتى أقل من ذلك يتم التحكم فيه جيدًا. البراكين التي تعتبر نائمة أو منقرضة عادةً لا يتم ملاحظتها بشكل فعال. ولكن يمكن أن تندلع بشكل غير متوقع وبكثافة ، كما حدث في عام 2008 في بركان شيتين في تشيلي ، والذي استيقظ بعد 8000 عام من عدم النشاط.

وغالبًا ما تصاحب الثورات إشارات سلائف

يمكن أن توفر الأقمار الصناعية بيانات مهمة عندما تكون المراقبة الأرضية محدودة أو غائبة. تعد المراقبة المستمرة طويلة المدى من الفضاء هي مفتاح التعرف بشكل أفضل على علامات الاضطرابات الجيولوجية. غالبًا ما تصاحب الانفجارات - وإن لم تكن دائمًا - إشارات تمهيدية قد تستغرق عدة ساعات إلى بضع سنوات. قد تتضمن هذه الإشارات تغييرات في السلوك الزلزالي أو تشوهات التربة أو انبعاثات الغاز أو ارتفاع درجات الحرارة أو توليفة منها.

يقول سيباستيان فاليد ، رئيس مشروع MOUNTS: "باستثناء الزلازل ، يمكن رصد كل هذه الظواهر من الفضاء باستخدام أطوال موجية مختلفة في الطيف الكهرومغناطيسي". يتم تمويله من قبل GEO.X ، وهي شبكة بحثية لعلوم الأرض تأسست عام 2010 في برلين وبوتسدام ، وتم تنفيذها في TU Berlin و GFZ. "في نظام مراقبة MOUNTS ، نستخدم أجهزة استشعار الأقمار الصناعية المختلفة لاكتشاف وقياس التغيرات في البراكين" ، يضيف Valade. "وقمنا أيضًا بتضمين بيانات زلزالية من شبكة جيوفون العالمية التابعة لشركة جي إف زد وبيانات هيئة المسح الجيولوجي الأمريكية".

كان جزء من المشروع اختبار ما إذا كان يمكن دمج "الذكاء الاصطناعي" (AI) بنجاح في عملية تحليل البيانات. تم تطوير خوارزميات الذكاء الاصطناعي بشكل أساسي بواسطة Andreas Ley من TU Berlin. للكشف التلقائي عن أحداث التشوه الكبيرة استخدم ما يسمى الشبكات العصبية الاصطناعية. قام الباحثون بتدريبهم على الصور التي تم إنشاؤها بواسطة الكمبيوتر والتي تم تصميمها على صور الأقمار الصناعية الحقيقية. من هذا العدد الكبير من الأمثلة التركيبية ، تعلم البرنامج اكتشاف أحداث التشوه الأكبر في بيانات الأقمار الصناعية الحقيقية وغير المعروفة سابقًا. يشار إلى مجال علم البيانات هذا باسم "التعلم الآلي".

"لقد كان" بالون اختبار "مهم بالنسبة لنا لنرى كيف يمكننا دمج التعلم الآلي في النظام ،" يقول لي. "في الوقت الحالي ، يحل كاشف التشوه لدينا مهمة واحدة فقط. تتمثل رؤيتنا في دمج عدة أدوات لمنظمة العفو الدولية للقيام بمهام مختلفة. نظرًا لأن هذه الأدوات تستفيد عادة من تعلم كميات كبيرة من البيانات ، فنحن نريدها أن تتعلم باستمرار من جميع البيانات التي يجمعها النظام على مستوى العالم

مونيتس تراقب 17 براكا حول العالم

كانت التحديات الرئيسية التي تواجه S bastien Valade ومؤلفيها المشاركين هي معالجة كميات كبيرة من مشكلات تطوير البيانات والبرامج. "ولكن هذه المشاكل يمكن حلها" ، كما يقول فاليد. "أعتقد أن أنظمة المراقبة الآلية التي تستخدم الذكاء الاصطناعي والبيانات من مصادر متعددة ، مثل الاستشعار عن بعد وأجهزة الاستشعار الأرضية ، في المستقبل غير البعيد ستساعد على تحذير الناس في الوقت المناسب وأكثر موثوقية."

يسمح التحليل الذي توفره منصة مراقبة MOUNTS بالفعل بفهم شامل للعمليات المختلفة في البيئات المناخية والبركانية المختلفة في جميع أنحاء العالم: انتشار الصهارة تحت السطح من توزيع المواد البركانية خلال ثوران البركان إلى التغيرات المورفولوجية في المناطق المصابة وانبعاث الغازات في الغلاف الجوي. لقد نجح الباحثون في اختبار MOUNTS للأحداث الأخيرة ، مثل تفشي Krakatoa في إندونيسيا في عام 2018 ، أو تفشي المرض في هاواي وغواتيمالا.

يقوم النظام حاليًا بمراقبة 17 براكًا في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك Popocat petl في المكسيك و natna في إيطاليا. يمكن الوصول إلى موقع المنصة مجانًا على الإنترنت ومصمم بحيث يمكن دمج البيانات الجديدة بسهولة بفضل التغطية العالمية والوصول المجاني إلى البيانات. (الاستشعار عن بعد ؛ دوي: 10.3390 / rs11131528)

المصدر: مركز هلمهولتز بوتسدام GFZ مركز الأبحاث الألماني لعلوم الأرض

- كاي ساندرز

Artificial intelligence is suitable for monitoring volcanoes

Helmholtz Center Potsdam GFZ German Research Center for Geosciences

Read out

More than half of Earth's active volcanoes are not instrumentally monitored. For example, outbreaks can occur that could at least theoretically warn people without triggering an alarm. Researchers from the Technical University Berlin and the German Research Center for Geosciences GFZ in Potsdam have now created the MOUNTS volcano monitoring platform, which brings together various measurement data and analyzes satellite imagery using, among other things, 'machine learning'.

More than half of Earth's active volcanoes are not instrumentally monitored. For example, outbreaks may occur that could at least theoretically warn people without triggering an alarm. In a first and still early step on the way to a volcano warning system, a new volcano monitoring platform was developed in a research project led by Sébastien Valade from the Technical University of Berlin (TU Berlin) and the GFZ German Research Center for Geosciences in Potsdam analyzed using "artificial intelligence". By testing recent events, Valade and his colleagues demonstrated that their MONUNTS (Monitoring Unrest from Space) platform can combine multiple datasets with different types of data for full volcanic monitoring. The results of the team were published in the journal Remote Sensing.

Of the 1500 active volcanoes worldwide, up to 85 break out each year. Because of the cost and uncertainties of maintaining volumetric instrumentation, less than half of active volcanoes are monitored with ground-based sensors, and even fewer are considered well-controlled. Volcanoes that are considered dormant or extinct are usually not observed instrumentally. But they can erupt unexpectedly and massively, as happened in 2008 at the Chaitén volcano in Chile, which awoke after 8, 000 years of inactivity.

Eruptions are often accompanied by precursor signals

Satellites can provide crucial data when ground-based monitoring is limited or absent. Continuous long-term observations from space are the key to better recognize signs of geological unrest. Eruptions are often - though not always - accompanied by precursor signals that can take several hours to a few years. These signals may include changes in seismic behavior, soil deformations, gas emissions, rising temperatures, or a combination thereof.

"With the exception of seismicity, all of these phenomena can be monitored from space by using different wavelengths in the electromagnetic spectrum, " says Sébastien Valade, head of the MOUNTS project. It is funded by GEO.X, a research network for geosciences founded in 2010 in Berlin and Potsdam, and carried out at the TU Berlin and the GFZ. "In the MOUNTS monitoring system, we use different satellite sensors to detect and measure changes in volcanoes, " adds Valade. "And we also included seismic data from GFZ's global GEOFON network and United States Geological Survey USGS data." Display

Part of the project was to test whether "Artificial Intelligence" (AI) can be successfully integrated into the data analysis process. The AI ​​algorithms were mainly developed by Andreas Ley of the TU Berlin. For the automatic detection of large deformation events he used so-called artificial neural networks. The researchers trained them with computer-generated images that were modeled on real satellite imagery. From this large number of synthetic examples, the software learned to detect larger deformation events in real, previously unknown satellite data. This area of ​​data science is referred to as "machine learning."

"It was an important 'test balloon' for us to see how we can integrate machine learning into the system, " says Ley. "At the moment, our deformation detector solves only one task. Our vision is to integrate several AI tools for different tasks. Because these tools typically benefit from learning large amounts of data, we want them to continuously learn from all the data the system collects globally

MOUNTS monitors 17 volcanoes around the world

The main challenges facing S bastien Valade and his co-authors were the handling of large amounts of data and software development issues. "But these problems can be solved, " says Valade. I believe that automated monitoring systems using AI and data from multiple sources such as remote sensing and Earthbound sensors in the not-too-distant future will help to warn people more timely and more reliable.

The analysis currently provided by the MOUNTS monitoring platform already allows a comprehensive understanding of different processes in different climatic and volcanic environments around the world: the spread of magma below the surface From the distribution of volcanic material during the eruption to the morphological changes in the affected areas and the emission of gases into the atmosphere. The researchers successfully tested MOUNTS for recent events, such as the Krakatoa outbreak in Indonesia in 2018, or outbreaks in Hawaii and Guatemala.

The system is currently monitoring 17 volcanoes worldwide, including Popocat petl in Mexico and tna in Italy. The platform's website is freely accessible on the Internet and designed so that new data can be easily integrated thanks to global coverage and free access to data. (Remote Sensing; doi: 10.3390 / rs11131528)

Source: Helmholtz Center Potsdam GFZ German Research Center for Geosciences

- Kay Sanders