الألوان المالحة أوروبا الصفراء

المحيط تحت الجليدي لقمر كوكب المشتري يمكن أن يكون أشبه بحارنا أكثر من التفكير

تدرج الألوان الصفراء لبعض مناطق كوكب المشتري "يوروبا" بسبب الملوحة ، كما يتضح من البيانات الطيفية من تلسكوب هابل. © وكالة ناسا / مختبر الدفع النفاث / جامعة أريزونا
قراءة بصوت عال

اكتشاف مفاجئ: على كوكب المشتري يوروبا ، من الواضح أنه لا يوجد أملاح الكبريت فقط ، ولكن أيضًا الكثير من ملح الطعام. يشار إلى ذلك من خلال القياسات الطيفية لتلسكوب هابل الفضائي. كلوريد الصوديوم لا يصبغ قشرة صفراء فحسب ، بل يجعل محيط قمر كوكب المشتري أشبه بحارنا مما كان يعتقد سابقًا - ويزيد من فرصة الحياة خارج كوكب الأرض.

يعتبر كوكب المشتري يوروبا هو المرشح الواعد للحياة خارج كوكب الأرض في نظامنا الشمسي. تحت القشرة الجليدية التي يبلغ سمكها كيلومتر واحد ، تقع المحيطات المالحة ، التي تُحافظ على السوائل وتحركها المجال المغناطيسي وقوى المد والجزر لكوكب المشتري القريب ، ولكن أيضًا بسبب حرارة القلب الصخري. كما يمكن لنوافير البخار والتكتونية للقشرة الجليدية أن توفر انتقالًا جماعيًا بين المحيط والسطح.

البحث عن الملح

ومع ذلك ، كان من غير الواضح ما الذي يجعل المياه في المحيط تحت الجليدي في أوروبا مالحة. أشارت البيانات المستقاة من مطياف الأشعة تحت الحمراء للمركبة الفضائية جاليليو إلى أن أملاح الأملاح على وجه الخصوص يمكن أن تشكل الجليد والمحيط. ومع ذلك ، أثارت الملاحظات الحديثة مع التلسكوبات الأرضية شكوكاً. لهذا السبب وضعت سامانثا ترومبو من معهد كاليفورنيا للتكنولوجيا وزملاؤها أنظارهم على قمر كوكب المشتري يوروبا باستخدام تلسكوب هابل الفضائي.

يقول مؤلف مشارك كيفن هاند من مختبر الدفع النفاث التابع لوكالة ناسا "حتى الآن ، لم يكتشف أحد مثل هذه البيانات الطيفية عالية الدقة من أوروبا في نطاق الضوء المرئي". على الرغم من أن هذا كان ممكنًا لمدة 20 عامًا ، إلا أنه لم يفعل ذلك. "تقليديا ، كان من المفترض أن تكون بيانات مقياس الطيف المثيرة للاهتمام من أسطح الكواكب كلها تحت الأشعة تحت الحمراء لأن معظم الجزيئات ذات الصلة تظهر خصائصها الأساسية."

توقيع الملح المشع

ولكن فقط جزيء مثير لا يزال مخفيا في أطياف الأشعة تحت الحمراء: كلوريد الصوديوم. ويوضح الباحثون: "كلوريد القلويات غير واضح بشكل طفيف في الأشعة تحت الحمراء ، لكن عندما يكونون تحت قصف الجسيمات ، فإنهم يطورون خطوطًا واضحة للعيان في مدى الطول الموجي المرئي". "كلوريد الصوديوم يشبه الحبر السري إلى حد ما: لا تشاهده قبل الإشعاع ، لكن بعد ذلك لا يمكنك تفويت اللون".

نظرًا لأن الجليد السطحي لأوروبا يتعرض باستمرار للإشعاع والجسيمات ، فيجب أن تكون هذه التوقيعات قابلة للكشف - في حالة وجود ملح شائع. وبالفعل ، عندما قامت ترومبو وفريقها بتقييم أطياف هابل ، تم الكشف عن التوقيع المميز لكلوريد الصوديوم. وقال العلماء: "نلاحظ امتصاصًا واسعًا بالقرب من 450 نانومتر ، وهو ما يتفق جيدًا مع امتصاص كلوريد الصوديوم المشع". وفقا لهذا ، يجب أن يكون هناك ملح الطعام على القمر كوكب المشتري أوروبا.

البقع الصفراء والينابيع الحرارية المائية

مثير للاهتمام أيضًا: لا يتم توزيع توقيع المياه المالحة بالتساوي على قمر المشتري ، لكنه يركز حيثما كانت قشرة الجليد صغيرة جدًا. ووفقًا للباحثين ، فإن كلوريد الصوديوم وفير بشكل خاص في منطقة تارا في نصف الكرة الرائدة في أوروبا. في هذه المنطقة ، يبدو سطح الجليد مصفرًا بشكل لافت للنظر - وهو تلوين يمكن أن يأتي من الملح الذي تم تغييره عن طريق الإشعاع.

وفقًا لترامبو وفريقها ، يشير هذا التوزيع إلى أن كلوريد الصوديوم موجود أيضًا في المحيط الجليدي وقد ارتفع إلى السطح مع ارتفاع بخار الماء والجليد الصغير. يقول ترومبو: "قد يكون وجود كلوريد الصوديوم مؤشراً على أن سبب المحيط الأوروبي نشط من الناحية المائية". "هذا من شأنه أن يجعل أوروبا هيئة سماوية أكثر إثارة من الناحية الجيولوجية مما هو مقبول بالفعل."

الحياة تحت الجليد؟

ومع ذلك ، فإن الأفكار الجديدة حول الحياة الغريبة المحتملة في أوروبا مثيرة بشكل خاص. لأنه مع البحر المملح من كلوريد الصوديوم والفتحات الحرارية المائية في قاع المحيط ، يشبه المحيط الجليدي لقمر كوكب المشتري البحار البدائية على الأرض. على كوكبنا ، يمكن أن تأتي الحياة الأولى من هذه المصادر الساخنة تحت سطح البحر.

وبالتالي ، فإن أوجه التشابه تثير الأمل في أنه حتى تحت القشرة الجليدية لأوروبا ، يمكن أن تعيش الكائنات البسيطة. يمكن أن تحقق مجسات الفضاء المستقبلية على سطح كوكب المشتري الإجابة على هذا السؤال. (العلوم المتقدمة ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1126 / sciadv.aaw7123)

المصدر: معهد كاليفورنيا للتكنولوجيا

- ناديا بودبريجار

Saline colors Europe yellow

Subglacial ocean of Jupiter's moon could be more similar to our seas than thought

The yellowish hue of some areas of Jupiter's moon Europa is due to saline, as evidenced by spectral data from the Hubble telescope. © NASA / JPL / University of Arizona
Read out

Surprising discovery: On Jupiter's moon Europa, there are obviously not only sulfur salts, but also plenty of table salt. This is indicated by spectral measurements of the Hubble Space Telescope. The sodium chloride not only dyes the crust yellowish, it also makes the ocean of Jupiter's moon more similar to our seas than previously thought - and increases the chance of extraterrestrial life.

Jupiter's moon Europa is considered the most promising candidate for extraterrestrial life in our solar system. For under its kilometer-thick ice crust lies salty ocean, which is kept fluid and in motion by the magnetic field and tidal forces of nearby Jupiter, but also by the heat of the rocky core. Steam fountains and the tectonics of the ice crust could also provide mass transfer between the ocean and the surface.

Manhunt for the salt

However, it was unclear what makes the water in Europe's subglacial ocean salty. Data from the infrared spectrometer of the Galileo spacecraft indicated that especially salts of salts could shape the ice and the ocean. However, recent observations with earth-based telescopes have raised doubts. That's why Samantha Trumbo of the California Institute of Technology and her colleagues have set their sights on Jupiter's moon Europa with the Hubble Space Telescope.

"So far, no one has detected such high-resolution spectral data from Europe in the visible range of light, " says co-author Kevin Hand of NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL). Although this has been possible for 20 years, but it just did not do it. "Traditionally, it was assumed that the interesting spectrometer data from planetary surfaces are all in the infrared because most of the relevant molecules show their fundamental features."

Signature of irradiated salt

But just an exciting molecule remains hidden in the infrared spectra: sodium chloride. "Alkali chlorides are spectrally inconspicuous in the infrared, but when they are under particle bombardment, they develop clearly visible lines in the visible wavelength range, " explain the researchers. "Sodium chloride is a bit like secret ink: you do not see it before the radiation, but after that you can not miss the color." Display

Because the surface ice of Europe is constantly struck by radiation and particles, these signatures should be detectable - if common salt is present. And indeed, when Trumbo and her team evaluated the Hubble spectra, the characteristic signature of sodium chloride was revealed. "We observe a broad absorption near 450 nanometers, which agrees well with the absorption of irradiated sodium chloride, " the scientists report. According to this, there must be cooking salt on Jupiter's moon Europa.

Yellow spots and hydrothermal springs

Interesting too: The saline signature is not evenly distributed on the Jupiter's moon, but focuses wherever the ice crust is particularly young. Sodium chloride is particularly abundant in the Tara region of Europe's leading hemisphere, according to the researchers. In this area, the ice surface appears strikingly yellowish - a coloration that could have come from the salt that has been changed by irradiation.

According to Trumbo and her team, this distribution suggests that sodium chloride is also present in the subglacial ocean and has risen to the surface with rising water vapor and young ice. "The presence of sodium chloride could be an indication that the cause of Europe's ocean is hydrothermally active, " says Trumbo. "That would make Europe a geologically even more exciting celestial body than already accepted."

Life under the ice?

However, the new insights into possible alien life in Europe are particularly exciting. For with the sea salted by sodium chloride and the hydrothermal vents on the ocean floor, the subglacial ocean of Jupiter's moon is similar to the primordial seas on earth. On our planet, the first life could have come from such hot, undersea sources.

The parallels therefore raise the hope that perhaps even under the ice crust of Europe simple organisms could live. Future space probes to land on Jupiter's moon could answer that question. (Science Advances, 2019; doi: 10.1126 / sciadv.aaw7123)

Source: California Institute of Technology

- Nadja Podbregar