الفحم: وقف التشغيل يفيد الصحة

ما يصل إلى 25 في المئة من الولادات المبكرة في الحي بعد الإغلاق

إذا تم إغلاق محطات الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم ، فإن عدد الولادات المبكرة في بيئتها ينخفض. © Danicek / thinkstock
قراءة بصوت عال

التأثير الإيجابي: لا يستفيد المناخ فقط عند إغلاق محطات الطاقة القديمة التي تعمل بالفحم. أيضًا ، تتحسن صحة وخصوبة السكان المحليين بشكل ملموس ، كما اقترحت دراستان من كاليفورنيا. انخفض عدد الولادات المبكرة في محيط ثماني محطات للطاقة هناك بنسبة 20 إلى 25 في المئة ، بعد أن تم إغلاقها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، وُلد المزيد من الأطفال أحياء ، كما أفاد الباحثون.

إن إيقاف تشغيل محطات الطاقة القديمة التي تعمل بالفحم هو موضوع نقاش حاد ، خاصة في ألمانيا. لأنه على وجه التحديد ، تنبعث محطات الطاقة هذه ثاني أكسيد الكربون الإضافي من حيث إنتاجها للكهرباء ، وبالتالي تستمر في تسخين تغير المناخ. لذلك يعزى جزء كبير من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في العالم إلى استخدام الفحم اليوم. لقد أظهرت بريطانيا في السنوات الأخيرة أن تسرب الكربون والتحول إلى تقنيات أقل كثافة لثاني أكسيد الكربون يمكن أن يعزز حماية المناخ.

ماذا يحدث إذا اختفى تلوث الهواء؟

لكن استخراج الفحم لا يفيد المناخ فقط. أرادت جوان كيسي من جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي وزملاؤها معرفة تأثير إغلاق محطات الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم على صحة السكان المحليين. وقال كيسي "معظم الناس يدرسون تلوث الهواء والتأثير السلبي لمحطات الطاقة." "لكننا أردنا إلقاء الضوء على الجانب الآخر: ماذا يحدث إذا ذهب تلوث الهواء هذا؟"

قام الباحثون ، من أجل دراستهم ، بتحليل البيانات المتعلقة بالولادات المبكرة والولادات بين الأشخاص الذين يعيشون بالقرب من ثماني محطات طاقة تعمل بالفحم في كاليفورنيا. نظرًا لأن جميع محطات توليد الطاقة هذه قد توقفت عن العمل بين عامي 2010 و 2011 ، فقد تمكن العلماء من مقارنة البيانات الصحية مباشرة من العامين السابقين على الإغلاق مع بيانات العام التالي.

ما يصل إلى 25 في المئة أقل من الولادات المبكرة

النتيجة: أقل عددًا كبيرًا من الأطفال الذين وُلدوا قبل الأوان على مقربة من محطات توليد الطاقة الثمانية بعد توقفهم عن العمل. انخفض عدد الولادات المبكرة في دائرة نصف قطرها خمسة كيلومترات من سبعة إلى 5.1 في المئة فقط ، كما ذكر الباحثون. هذا انخفاض بنسبة 20 إلى 25 في المائة ، أكثر مما توقع العلماء. كما فقدت النساء اللائي عشن على بعد ما بين خمسة وعشرة كيلومترات من محطات الطاقة معدل ولادةهن قبل الأوان ، وإن كان ذلك أقل وضوحًا. عرض

لا يتم تطوير الأعراض المبكرة عند الولادة - أدمغتها أيضًا غير ناضجة. od Photodisc-rbma / thinkstock

ظل انخفاض عدد المواليد المبتسرين بعد التخلي عن محطة توليد الكهرباء على حاله حتى بعد أن حقق الباحثون في عوامل أخرى مثل عمر الأم أو الحالة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية أو التحصيل العلمي أو الإثنية الآباء المشاركين. للمقارنة ، نظروا أيضًا في بيانات المواليد خلال نفس الفترة في ثماني محطات توليد كهرباء أخرى لم يتم إغلاقها.

تأثير إيجابي على الفور

يقول كيسي: "لقد سُرنا أخيرًا بنشر أخبار جيدة عن البيئة والصحة". من وجهة نظرهم ، توضح هذه النتائج أن إيقاف تشغيل محطات الطاقة القديمة التي تعمل بالفحم يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تحسينات فورية في صحة السكان المحليين. من الدراسات السابقة ، من المعروف أن زيادة تلوث الهواء يمكن أن يزيد من خطر مضاعفات الحمل والولادات المبكرة.

علقت بولين مندولا من المعهد الوطني الأمريكي لصحة الطفل والتنمية البشرية في مقالة مرفقة: "لقد أظهرت كاسي وزملاؤها أن إيقاف تشغيل محطات الطاقة القديمة التي تعمل بالفحم يمكن أن يقلل بشكل كبير من الولادات المبكرة". "ربما حان الوقت الآن لنأخذ صحة أطفالنا كحافز للحد من المصادر الرئيسية لتلوث الهواء. حياتهم تعتمد عليه ".

المزيد من الولادات بعد الإغلاق

وجد الباحثون آثارًا إيجابية مماثلة في دراسة ثانية. في هذه الدراسة ، فحصوا الخصوبة - عدد الأطفال المولودين أحياء - بالقرب من محطات توليد الطاقة من الفحم والنفط قبل وبعد توقفهم عن العمل. هنا ، أيضًا ، كانت هناك تغييرات: زاد عدد المواليد الأحياء بشكل ملموس بعد إغلاق النباتات ، كما ذكر العلماء.

أي من محطات الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم بالتفصيل ملوثات الهواء المنبعثة هي المسؤولة عن هذه الآثار ، ومع ذلك ، فإن العلماء من كلا الدراستين ، ومع ذلك ، لم التحقيق. ولكن من المعروف أن محطات توليد الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم يمكن أن تنبعث منها مجموعة كاملة من المواد الضارة ، بما في ذلك الجسيمات وأكاسيد النيتروجين وثاني أكسيد الكبريت والرصاص والمركبات العضوية مثل البنزين. (المجلة الأمريكية لعلم الأوبئة ، الصحة البيئية ، 2018)

(جامعة كاليفورنيا - بيركلي ، 23.05.2018 - NPO)

Coal: Decommissioning benefits the health

Up to 25 percent fewer premature births in the neighborhood after closure

If coal-fired power plants are shut down, the number of premature births in their environment drops. © Danicek / thinkstock
Read out

Positive effect: Not only does the climate benefit when old coal-fired power stations are shut down. Also, the health and fertility of local residents improves measurably, as suggested by two studies from California. The number of premature births in the vicinity of eight power plants fell there by 20 to 25 percent, after they were shut down. In addition, more children were born alive, as the researchers report.

The decommissioning of old coal-fired power plants is the subject of intense debate, especially in Germany. For it is precisely these power plants emit extra carbon dioxide in terms of their electricity production and thus continue to heat climate change. A large part of the world's CO2 emissions is therefore attributable to the use of coal today. Britain has demonstrated in recent years that a carbon leakage and switching to less CO2-intensive technologies can advance climate protection.

What happens if the air pollution disappears?

But a coal extract not only benefits the climate. Joan Casey of the University of California at Berkeley and her colleagues wanted to know what impact the closure of coal-fired power plants has on the health of local residents. "Most people are investigating air pollution and the negative impact of power plants, " said Casey. "But we wanted to shed light on the other side: what happens if this air pollution goes away?"

For their study, the researchers analyzed data on premature births and births among people living in the vicinity of eight coal-fired power plants in California. Because these power plants were all decommissioned between 2010 and 2011, the scientists were able to directly compare the health data from the two years prior to closure with those of the following year.

Up to 25 percent fewer premature births

The result: significantly fewer children were born prematurely in the vicinity of the eight power plants after decommissioning. The number of premature births dropped in the five-kilometer radius of seven to only 5.1 percent, as the researchers report. That's a decrease of 20 to 25 percent, more than the scientists expected, they report. Women who lived between five and ten kilometers away from the power plants also lost their premature birth rate, albeit less clearly. display

Prematures are not fully developed at birth - their brains, too, are immature. Photodisc-rbma / thinkstock

The decrease in premature births after power plant abandonment remained intact even as researchers investigated other factors such as maternal age, socioeconomic status, educational attainment or ethnicity Parents involved. For comparison, they also looked at birth data over the same period at eight other power plants that had not been shut down.

Immediately positive effect

"We were pleased to finally have good news about the environment and health, " says Casey. In their view, these results demonstrate that the decommissioning of old coal-fired power plants can lead to immediate improvements in the health of local residents. From previous studies it is known that increased air pollution can increase the risk of pregnancy complications and premature births.

"Casey and her colleagues have shown that decommissioning older coal-fired power plants can significantly reduce premature births, " commented Pauline Mendola of the US National Institute of Child Health and Human Development in an accompanying article. "It may now be time to take our children's health as an incentive to finally reduce the main sources of air pollution. Their lives depend on it. "

More births after closure

The researchers found similar positive effects in a second study. In this study, they examined fertility - the number of children born alive - in the vicinity of coal and oil power stations before and after their decommissioning. Here, too, there were changes: The number of live births increased measurably after closure of the plants, as the scientists report.

Which of the coal-fired power plants in detail emitted air pollutants are responsible for these effects, the scientists of both studies, however, have not investigated. But it is well known that coal-fired power stations can emit a whole range of harmful substances, including particulate matter, nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, lead and organic compounds such as benzene. (American Journal of Epidemiology, Environmental Health, 2018)

(University of California - Berkeley, 23.05.2018 - NPO)