اكتشفت بحيرة الحمم على جزيرة شبه القارة

الحمم المتوهجة في جزيرة سوندرز هي فقط بحيرة الحمم الثامنة في العالم

صورة الأقمار الصناعية الحرارية لبحيرة الحمم في فوهة جبل مايكل في جزيرة سوندرز ، وهي جزيرة بركانية نائية في المحيط الجنوبي. © ناسا / لاندسات
قراءة بصوت عال

الحمم الأزيز المحاطة بالجليد: اكتشف الباحثون بحيرة حمم متوهجة في جزيرة بركانية في القطب الجنوبي - وهي الثامنة في جميع أنحاء العالم. تقع البحيرة من 90 إلى 215 متر في فوهة جبل مايكل ، وهو بركان نشط في الجزيرة غير المأهولة. على الرغم من وجود شك طويل في أنه قد توجد بحيرة بركانية في هذا البركان ، إلا أنه الآن فقط يمكن للعلماء إثبات ذلك بمساعدة صور الأقمار الصناعية.

للوهلة الأولى ، يبدو أن جزر القطب الجنوبي وشبه القارة القطبية الجنوبية في المحيط الجنوبي هي أكثر من مجال من البرد والثلج من النار والحمم البركانية - ولكن هذا خادع. لأنه تحت السطح البارد هذه المنطقة نشطة البركانية. والدليل على ذلك هو سلسلة كاملة من البراكين تحت الجليد في القطب الجنوبي الغربي ، والتي قد يكون بعضها نشطًا. ومن المعالم البارزة أيضًا جبل إريبوس في بحر روس ، وهو البركان النشط في أقصى الجنوب على الأرض - وواحد من القلاع التي تحتوي على بحيرة حمم.

عرض جوي لجبل مايكل. © Pete Bucktrout / British Antarctic Survey

الشذوذ الحراري في فوهة البركان

اكتشفت الآن دانييل غراي من جامعة كوليدج في لندن وزملاؤها في إحدى بحيرات الحمم البركانية النادرة هذه. تقع البحيرة في جبل مايكل ، وهو بركان نشط في جزيرة سوندرز ، وهي جزيرة غير مأهولة تنتمي إلى جزر ساندويتش الجنوبية البريطانية في المحيط الجنوبي. "إن بركان جبل مايكل يقع في جزيرة نائية للغاية ويصعب الوصول إليها" ، يشرح جراي.

في وقت سابق ، ألمحت صور الأقمار الصناعية إلى شذوذ حراري في فوهة البركان. "إن دقة هذه الصور كانت على بعد كيلومتر واحد فقط ولم تكن هناك دراسات طويلة الأجل ، سواء كانت ظاهرة دائمة" ، أوضح الباحثون. لمعرفة ما إذا كانت مجرد نتوءات مؤقتة للحمم البركانية أو حتى بحيرة للحمم البركانية ، قامت غراي وفريقها الآن بتقييم بيانات جديدة من أقمار Landsat و Sentinel-2 و ASTER.

بحيرة الحمم مع ألف درجة الصخور الساخنة المنصهرة

وفي الحقيقة: "في جميع الأوقات الـ 15 التي توفرت فيها صورة للأقمار الصناعية ، تم اكتشاف شذوذ حراري في الحفرة في نطاق الأشعة تحت الحمراء على المدى القصير" ، وفقًا لما ذكره الباحثون. سجلت الأقمار الصناعية درجات حرارة سطح من 284 إلى 419 درجة في نطاق 90 إلى 215 متر في فوهة البركان. وقالت جراي وفريقها: "إنها مثل بحيرات الحمم البركانية الأخرى". عرض

"هذا هو أول دليل على بحيرة الحمم البركانية في جبل مايكل" ​​، كما يقول العلماء. "وهذا هو أول دليل على درجات حرارة الصخور. وفقًا لحساباتهم ، يجب أن تتراوح الصهارة في بحيرة الحمم البركانية أسفل السطح البارد بين 989 و 1.279 درجة. يقول جراي: "إن اكتشاف بحيرة الحمم البركانية يغرينا أكثر من النشاط البركاني لهذه الجزيرة النائية ، ولكن أيضًا بخصائص هذه الظاهرة النادرة".

واحدة من ثمانية فقط في جميع أنحاء العالم

بحيرة الحمم البركانية المكتشفة حديثًا في جبل مايكل هي واحدة من ثماني بحيرات بركانية معروفة حول العالم. تقع بحيرات الحمم البركانية الأخرى في القطب الجنوبي لجبل Erebus ، في Kilauea في هاواي ، في Nyiragongo في الكونغو ، في بركان Erta Ale الإثيوبي ، في بركان Masaya في نيكاراغوا وفي بركتين على جزيرة فانواتو الواقعة على البحر الجنوبي. (مجلة أبحاث البراكين والطاقة الحرارية الأرضية ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1016 / j.jvolgeores.2019.05.002)

المصدر: المسح البريطاني لأنتاركتيكا (BAS)

- ناديا بودبريجار

Lava lake discovered on subantarctic island

Glowing lava on Saunders Island is only the eighth lava lake in the world

Thermal satellite image of the lava lake in the crater of Mount Michael on Saunders Island, a remote volcanic island in the Southern Ocean. © NASA / Landsat
Read out

Sizzling lava surrounded by ice: researchers discovered a glowing lava lake on a volcanic island in the Southern Pole - only the eighth worldwide. The 90 to 215 meter lake is located in the crater of Mount Michael, an active volcano on the uninhabited island. Although there was a long time suspicion that there might be a lava lake in this volcano, only now could the scientists prove this with the help of satellite images.

At first glance, the Antarctic and sub-Antarctic islands in the Southern Ocean seem to be more of a domain of cold and ice than of fire and lava - but that is deceptive. Because under the cold surface this region is volcanically active. Evidence of this is a whole chain of volcanoes under the ice of the West Antarctic, some of which might even be active. Also prominent is the Mount Erebus in the Ross Sea, the southernmost active volcano on earth - and one of the few that have a lava lake.

Aerial view of Mount Michael. © Pete Bucktrout / British Antarctic Survey

Thermal anomaly in the volcano crater

Another of these rare lava lakes has now been discovered by Danielle Gray of University College London and her colleagues on a sub-Antarctic island. The lake is located in Mount Michael, an active volcano on Saunders Island, an uninhabited island that belongs to the British South Sandwich Islands in the Southern Ocean. "The volcano Mount Michael is located on a very remote island and is extremely difficult to reach, " explains Gray.

Earlier, satellite images had hinted at a thermal anomaly in the crater of this volcano. "The resolution of these images was only one kilometer and there was no long-term studies, whether it is a permanent phenomenon, " explain the researchers. To find out if they are just temporary lava outcrops or even a lava lake, Gray and her team have now evaluated new data from Landsat, Sentinel-2 and ASTER satellites.

Lava lake with a thousand degrees hot molten rock

And in fact: "At all 15 times, for which a satellite image was available, a thermal anomaly was detected in the crater in the short-wave infrared range, " the researchers report. The satellites registered surface temperatures of 284 to 419 degrees in a 90 to 215 meter range in the volcano crater. "It's like other lava lakes, " said Gray and her team. display

"This is the first evidence for a lava lake in Mount Michael, " say the scientists. "And it's the first proof of magmatic temperatures. According to their calculations, the magma in the lava lake below the cooler surface must be between 989 and 1.279 degrees. "Identifying the lava lake tempts us more with the volcanic activity of this remote island, but also with the characteristics of this rare phenomenon, " says Gray.

One of only eight worldwide

The newly discovered lava lake in Mount Michael is one of only eight known lava lakes worldwide. The other lava lakes are located in Antarctic Mount Erebus, in Kilauea in Hawaii, in Nyiragongo in the Congo, in the Ethiopian Erta Ale volcano, in the Masaya volcano in Nicaragua and in two volcanoes on the South Sea island of Vanuatu. (Journal of Volcanology and Geothermal Research, 2019; doi: 10.1016 / j.jvolgeores.2019.05.002)

Source: British Antarctic Survey (BAS)

- Nadja Podbregar