اكتشف أقدم غابة أحفورية في آسيا

غابة عمرها 370 مليون سنة من شجرة تشبه شجرة تغطي 25 هكتارا

على سبيل المثال ، ربما كانت غابة النباتات الملتحية التي اكتشفت الآن في الصين قد بدت قبل 360 مليون سنة. © Zhenzhen Deng
قراءة بصوت عال

اكتشاف مذهل: في الصين ، اكتشف علماء الحفريات أقدم غابة أحفورية في آسيا - وأكبر غابة في العالم من العصر الديفوني. لأن البقايا المتحجرة من Bärlappgewächse الشبيهة بالأشجار تمتد لأكثر من 25 هكتارًا ، كما ذكر الباحثون في مجلة "علم الأحياء الحالي". خلقت هذه النباتات أولى غابات الأرض وشكلت لاحقًا في عصر الكربون أساسًا لأصل الفحم الحجري.

في الفترة من ديفون من 410 إلى 359 مليون سنة ، غزت الحياة لأول مرة مساحات الأرض من الأرض إلى حد أكبر لأول مرة. بعد اللافقاريات الآن أيضا شهدت الفقاريات الأولى إجازة الشاطئ. تطورت النباتات الأرضية في الديفونيه من السابق فقط في المستنقعات ، النباتات الصغيرة إلى ما يصل إلى 15 مترا تشبه الأشجار. قبل كل شيء ، تشكل الأقارب الأوائل من Bärlappgewächse اليوم في هذا الوقت الغابات الأولى من الأرض.

ثلاثة جذوع متحجرة في جدار هدم المحجر. © Deming Wang و Le Liu

بقايا الأشجار المتحجرة في المحجر

اكتشف ديمنج وانج من جامعة بكين وزملاؤه في جنوب شرق الصين أكبر غابة في ديفون. في محورين بالقرب من مدينة شينهانغ ، صادفوا العشرات من البقايا المتحجرة لنباتات الفص الدببة الشبيهة بالأشجار - بقايا غابة أحفورية. وقال الباحثون "لقد وجدنا العديد من المبيدات الحلقية المستقيمة الموجودة على جدران المحاجر الرأسية أو في الكتل الساقطة".

بالإضافة إلى الآثار الشبيهة بالقبيلة ، تم الحفاظ على جذور وأوراق ومخاريط مع الشركات الكبرى. أظهر التحليل التالي أن هذه المحاصيل كانت من الأنواع غير المعروفة سابقًا لمحاصيل الاغتصاب المبكرة. قام علماء الحفريات بتعمدهم بعد قضاء منطقة قوانغدندرون. وأظهرت المواعدة أن هذه الحفريات تعود إلى الفترة من 372 إلى 359 مليون سنة مضت ، ومن أواخر ديفون.

ارتفاع يصل إلى 7.70 متر

كان للسكاكين جذع غير مملوك إلى حد كبير مغطى بأوراق ضيقة ونفاذة. عينات أقدم وأكبر افترقنا الجزء العلوي في العديد من الأنابيب المخروطية. وتراوح حجمها من متر واحد جيد يصل إلى 7.70 متر عينات عالية. ومع ذلك ، كان معظم هذه النباتات حوالي ثلاثة أقدام فقط ، كما ذكر الباحثون. عرض

شكلت هذه الأحافير التي تشبه الأشجار غابة كثيفة نسبيًا ، تتكون فقط من هذا النوع. "إن الكثافة الكبيرة والصغيرة للأشجار تجعل غابة شينهانغ تبدو مشابهة لحقل قصب السكر اليوم" ، يوضح وانغ. "ومع ذلك ، تم توزيع النباتات بشكل غير منتظم في هذه الغابة."

بقايا غابة كبيرة من ديفون

ومع ذلك ، فإن الميزة الخاصة: هذه الغابة ما قبل التاريخ امتدت على مساحة كبيرة بشكل غير عادي. من توزيع الاكتشافات على محجرتي حجرية ، خلص الباحثون إلى أن هذه الغابة كانت تغطي ما لا يقل عن 25 هكتارًا على الأقل ، أي ما يعادل 250،000 متر مربع. هذا يجعلها أكبر غابة في العالم من العصر الديفوني. غابات ديفون الأخرى المعروفة هما الصنوبرية الصخرية التي تبلغ مساحتها 1200 متر مربع في نيويورك و 14 مترًا مربعًا من غابات رامشورن في سبيتسبيرجين.

جذور متحجرة من B rlappgew chse. ديمينغ وانغ وليو

ميزة خاصة أخرى هي جذور هذه الحفريات ، لأنها تمثل أقدم مثال معروف لنموذج الجذر ، والذي كان فيما بعد يهيمن على حقول الفحم الكبيرة في الكربوني. يقول وانج وفريقه: "تساهم هذه الغابة في فهم أفضل للتكاثر ، وهيكل النمو ، وتطوير نظام جذر بونساي المبكر".

نمت الغابات في منطقة ساحلية مستنقعية

مثل مناجم الفحم في Carboniferous ، نمت غابة ديفون المكتشفة حديثًا في منطقة استوائية دافئة بالقرب من خط الاستواء السابق. تشهد رواسب الحجر الرملي وتموجات الموجة المتحجرة على حقيقة أن غابة شينهانغ المراحة قد غمرت المياه مرارًا وتكرارًا ، وفقًا لتقرير علماء الحفريات.

يقول وانغ: "كان من الممكن أن تكون غابة شينهانغ في بيرلاب مناسبة جيدة لغابات المنغروف اليوم على طول الساحل ، لأنها تنمو في بيئة مماثلة وتلعب دورًا إيكولوجيًا مشابهًا". (علم الأحياء الحالي ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1016 / j.cub.2019.06.053)

المصدر: خلية الصحافة

- ناديا بودبريجار

Asia's oldest fossil forest discovered

370 million years old forest of tree-like rambelly covers 25 hectares

For example, the forest of bearded plants now discovered in China may have looked 360 million years ago. © Zhenzhen Deng
Read out

Spectacular find: In China, paleontologists have discovered the oldest fossil forest in Asia - and the world's largest forest from the Devonian era. Because the fossilized remains of tree-like Bärlappgewächse extend over more than 25 hectares, as the researchers report in the journal "Current Biology". These plants created the first forests of the earth and formed later in the Carbon Age the basis for the hard coal origin.

In the Devonian period of 410 to 359 million years ago, life first conquered the land areas of the earth to a greater extent for the first time. After the invertebrates now also the first vertebrates experienced their shore leave. The terrestrial flora evolved in the Devonian from the previously only in marshes spread, small plants to up to 15 meters tall tree-like plants. Above all, the early relatives of the today's Bärlappgewächse formed in this time the first forests of the earth.

Three fossilized trunks in a demolition wall of the quarry. © Deming Wang and Le Liu

Petrified tree relics in the quarry

Deming Wang from the University of Beijing and his colleagues in southeast China have now discovered the largest forest in the Devon. In two quarries near the city of Xinhang, they came across dozens of fossilized remains of tree-like bear's lobe plants - the remains of a fossil forest. "We found numerous upright lycop- tides found on the vertical quarry walls or in fallen-down blocks, " the researchers report.

In addition to the tribe-like relics numerous roots, leaves and cones with megaspores were preserved. The next analysis showed that these crops were a previously unknown species of early rape crops. The palaeontologists baptized them after the district of the locality of Guangdedendron. The dating showed that these fossils date from the time 372 to 359 million years ago and thus from the late Devon.

Up to 7.70 meters high

The rambelts had a largely unbranched stem covered with narrow, permeable leaves. Older, larger specimens parted at the top into several conical spouts. Their size ranged from a good one meter up to 7.70 meters high specimens. However, most of these plants were only about three feet high, as the researchers report. display

These tree-like fossils formed a partially relatively dense forest, which consisted only of this one species. "The large density and small size of the trees make the Xinhang forest look similar to a sugar cane field today, " Wang explains. "However, the plants were distributed more irregularly in this forest."

Big forest relic from the Devonian

However, the special feature: This prehistoric forest extended over an unusually large area. From the distribution of finds across two stone quarries, researchers conclude that this forest once covered at least 25 hectares 250, 000 square meters. This makes it the world's largest forest from the Devonian era. The other two known Devon forests are a 1, 200 square meter coniferous conifer in New York and a mere 14 square meters of ramshorn forest on Spitsbergen.

Petrified roots of the B rlappgew chse. Deming Wang and Le Liu

Another special feature is the roots of these fossils, as they represent the oldest known example of the root form, which was later to dominate the large coal fields in the Carboniferous. "This forest contributes to a better understanding of the reproduction, growth structure, and development of the root system of the early Bonsai, " Wang and his team say.

Forest grew in a marshy coastal area

Like the coal mines of the Carboniferous, the newly discovered Devon Forest grew in a swampy, tropical-warm area near the former equator. Sandstone deposits and fossilized wave ripples bear witness to the fact that Xinhang's fallow forest has been repeatedly flooded, as the paleontologists report.

"Xinhang's B rlapp forest could have been a good match for today's mangrove forests along the coast, because they grow in a similar environment and play a similar ecological role, " Wang says. (Current Biology, 2019; doi: 10.1016 / j.cub.2019.06.053)

Source: Cell Press

- Nadja Podbregar