المجال المغناطيسي يهتز مثل الطبل

تكتشف أقمار ناسا أول موجات دائمة عند الهيكل الخارجي للحقل المغناطيسي للأرض

عندما تضرب عاصفة شمسية قصيرة وسريعة المجال المغناطيسي للأرض ، فإنها تتسبب في موجات دائمة في المنطقة المغناطيسية (الأزرق) وداخل الغلاف المغناطيسي (الأخضر). © E. Masongsong / UCLA، M. Archer / QMUL، H. Hietala / UTU
قراءة بصوت عال

الاهتزاز الوقائي: عندما تضرب عاصفة شمسية عنيفة المجال المغناطيسي للأرض ، تتأرجح حدودها الخارجية مثل طبلة الأذن - فهي تشكل موجات دائمة. من الناحية النظرية ، تم التنبؤ بنماذج الموجات هذه في المادة المغناطيسية قبل 45 عامًا. لكن الآن فقط تمكنوا من التوضيح باستخدام أقمار THEMIS التابعة لناسا بوضوح ، كما أفاد باحثون في مجلة "Nature Communications".

بفضل الطبقات المعقدة للغلاف المغناطيسي الأرضي ، نحن محميون من الأشعة الكونية والرياح الشمسية. فقط جزء صغير من جزيئات الطاقة العالية يمكنه اختراق الغلاف الجوي العلوي في العواصف الشمسية القوية - ويخلق شفقًا رائعًا. لكن تأثير برج البلازما هذا لا يخلو من بصماته على المنطقة المغناطيسية ، المنطقة الحدودية الخارجية للحقل المغناطيسي: الاتصالات المتفجرة بين خطوط المجال المغناطيسي تسبب نوافير الإلكترون في التحليق بعيدًا إلى الفضاء ، كما اكتشف الباحثون مؤخرًا.

توقع نظريا: موجة دائمة في انقطاع الظهر المغناطيسي. © مارتن آرتشر

سر الأمواج الدائمة

يتسبب التصادم مع الرياح الشمسية في تأرجح الطبقة الحدودية الكاملة للحقل المغناطيسي. كما هو الحال في الغشاء ، تنتشر الموجات السطحية عليه. وفقًا لنظرية افترضت قبل خمسة وأربعين عامًا ، يمكن لهذه الموجات أن تتخذ شكلًا معينًا في ظل ظروف معينة: "تشير الدراسات السابقة لديناميات انقطاع التيار المغنطيسي إلى أن ما يسمى بالأمواج الدائمة يمكن أن تنتشر على الجانب الشمسي" ، كورت مؤلف مشارك فرديناند بلاشك من معهد أبحاث الفضاء في غراتس.

تحدث مثل هذه الموجات الدائمة عندما تنتشر الاهتزازات من جانب النهار إلى القطبين ثم تنعكس عندها بواسطة الغلاف الجوي المتأين. إذا تطابقت ترددات هذه الحركة ذهابًا وإيابًا ، فيبدو أن القمم وحدائق الأمواج تبقى في نفس المكان. أيضا ، يمكن لسلسلة الغيتار أو غشاء البرميل أن تشكل مثل هذه الموجات الدائمة.

الكونية "Schlegel" تجتمع المجال المغناطيسي

المشكلة ، مع ذلك: حتى الآن ، لم يتمكن أي عالم من اكتشاف مثل هذه الموجات الدائمة في فترة انقطاع المغناطيسية. يقول مؤلف الكتاب الأول مارتين آرتشر من جامعة كوين ماري في لندن "في مواجهة 45 عامًا من البحث غير الناجح ، كانت هناك تكهنات بأن هذه الاهتزازات التي تشبه طبلة الأذن قد لا تكون موجودة". قام هو وفريقه الآن بإعادة تقييم بيانات المجال المغناطيسي من أقمار THEMIS التابعة لناسا. عرض

في الواقع ، لقد أتوا إلى ثمارها بفضل التوقيت الكوني المثالي. لأنه في أغسطس 2007 ، سجلت أقمار THEMIS تأثير العاصفة الشمسية السريعة العنيفة بشكل خاص على المجال المغناطيسي للأرض. ألقت هذه الطائرة النفاثة عالية السرعة كميات كبيرة من جزيئات الطاقة العالية على الجزء الداخلي المغنطيسي الداخلي خلال 100 مللي ثانية فقط ، وتتصرف مثل مطرقة تضرب غشاء طبلي متوتر.

ثبت أخيرا

العامل الحاسم هو أن البيانات المسجلة تظهر أن الحالة المغناطيسية لم تشكل فقط موجات فوضوية خلال هذا التأثير. وبدلاً من ذلك ، تطورت التذبذبات منخفضة التردد للغاية ، والتي أشار سلوكها إلى تشكيل موجات دائمة ، كما ذكر الباحثون. بمعنى آخر ، كما كان متوقعًا قبل 45 عامًا من الناحية النظرية ، تأرجحت الحدود الخارجية للحقل المغناطيسي مثل طبلة الأذن.

المجال المغناطيسي للأرض كطبلة. مارتن آرتشر

"هذه هي الملاحظة المباشرة الأولى التي تظهر أن هذه الآلية موجودة" ، يقول آرتشر وفريقه. "هذا يثبت أن حدود البلازما يمكنها التقاط طاقة الموجات السطحية في شكل مثل هذه الأضداد الذاتية." ومع ذلك ، لا يزال غير معروف عدد المرات التي تنشأ فيها هذه الموجات الدائمة في الإيقاف المغناطيسي وما هي الظروف الضرورية. (Nature Communications، 2019؛ doi: 10.1038 / s41467-018-08134-5)

المصدر: جامعة كوين ماري بلندن ، الأكاديمية النمساوية للعلوم

- ناديا بودبريجار

Magnetic field vibrates like a drum

NASA satellites detect the first standing waves at the outer hull of the earth's magnetic field

When a particularly fast, short solar storm strikes the earth's magnetic field, it causes standing waves in the magnetopause (blue) and inside the magnetosphere (green). © E. Masongsong / UCLA, M. Archer / QMUL, H. Hietala / UTU
Read out

Protective vibration: When a violent solar storm strikes the Earth's magnetic field, its outer boundary swings like an eardrum - it forms standing waves. Such wave patterns in the magnetopause were theoretically predicted 45 years ago. But only now they have been able to demonstrate using NASA's THEMIS satellites clearly, as researchers report in the journal "Nature Communications".

Thanks to the complex layers of the terrestrial magnetosphere, we are protected from the cosmic rays and the solar wind. Only a small fraction of the high-energy particles can penetrate into the upper atmosphere in strong solar storms - and creates magnificent auroras. But the impact of such a plasma tower is not without its mark on the magnetopause, the outer boundary zone of the magnetic field: explosive contacts between magnetic field lines cause electron fountains to fly far into space, as researchers recently discovered.

Theoretically predicted: standing wave in the magnetopause. © Martin Archer

The secret of the standing waves

The collision with the solar wind causes the entire boundary layer of the magnetic field to oscillate. Like on a membrane, surface waves spread on it. According to a theory postulated forty-five years ago, these waves can take on a particular form under certain conditions: "Earlier studies of magnetopause dynamics suggested that so-called standing waves could spread on the solar side, " explains Kort co-author Ferdinand Plaschke from the Institute for Space Research in Graz.

Such standing waves come about when the vibrations propagate from the day-side to the poles and are then reflected there by the ionosphere. If the frequencies of this back-and-forth movement match, peaks and troughs of the waves seem to remain in the same place. Also, the string of a guitar or the membrane of a drum can form such standing waves.

Cosmic "Schlegel" meets magnetic field

The problem, however: So far, no scientist has been able to detect such standing waves in the magnetopause. "Faced with 45 years of unsuccessful search, there have been speculations that these eardrum-like vibrations may not exist, " says first author Martin Archer of Queen Mary University in London. He and his team have now re-evaluated the magnetic field data from NASA's THEMIS satellites. display

In fact, they came to fruition thanks to perfect cosmic timing. Because in August 2007, the THEMIS satellites recorded the impact of a particularly violent, rapid solar storm on the Earth's magnetic field. This high-speed jet hurled large amounts of high-energy particles onto the magnetopause innerhalb within just 100 milliseconds, acting like a mallet hitting a tense tympanic membrane.

Finally proven

The deciding factor is that the recorded data show that the magnetopause did not just form chaotic waves during this impact. Instead, very low-frequency oscillations developed, whose behavior indicated the formation of standing waves, as the researchers report. In other words, as predicted 45 years ago in theory, the outer boundary of the magnetic field swung like an eardrum.

The Earth's magnetic field as a drum. Martin Archer

"This is the first direct observation that shows that this mechanism does exist, " Archer and his team state. "This proves that the plasma boundary can capture the energy of surface waves in the form of such eigenmodes." However, how often such standing waves arise in the magnetic pause and what conditions are necessary is still unknown. (Nature Communications, 2019; doi: 10.1038 / s41467-018-08134-5)

Source: Queen Mary University of London, Austrian Academy of Sciences

- Nadja Podbregar