المريخ: هل البركانية لا تزال نشطة؟

الصهارة الساخنة يمكن أن تفسر الماء السائل تحت رقاقات الثلج القطبية

جليد طبقي في القطب الشمالي للمريخ. يمكن أن يكون هناك غرف الصهارة الحارة في المريخ تحت الأرض؟ © ESA / DLR / FU برلين ، فريق العلوم التابع لناسا MGS MOLA
قراءة بصوت عال

الحرارة البركانية المخفية: إذا كان هناك بالفعل ماء سائل تحت الغطاء الجليدي القطبي للمريخ ، فقد يكون هناك أيضًا غرفة صهارة ساخنة تحت الأرض. لأنه فقط مع مصدر حرارة إضافي مثل هذا ، يمكن أن يبقى الماء سائلاً هناك ، كما قرر الباحثون. وفقًا لحساباتهم ، لا يكفي محتوى الملح المرتفع ولا ضغط الجليد وحده لشرح قاعدة الجليد المذاب.

ما إذا كان لا يزال هناك مياه سائلة على الكوكب الأحمر اليوم ، أمر مثير للجدل إلى حد كبير. لأن البرد وضغط الغاز المنخفض في الجو يسمح لأي رطب بالتجميد أو التبخر على الفور. ومع ذلك ، هناك أدلة على أن الماء السائل يمكن أن يوجد ، على الأقل مؤقتًا ، في الحفر أو الترسبات المالحة في باطن الأرض. في صيف عام 2018 ، تسببت بيانات الرادار أيضًا في إثارة ضجة ، مما يشير إلى وجود كميات أكبر من المياه تحت غطاء جليد المريخ.

كيف تظل المياه الجوفية سائلة؟

المشكلة فقط: ما الذي يبقي الماء سائلاً تحت أغطية المريخ الجليدية ، فإن الدراسة في ذلك الوقت لم تجب. مايكل سوري وعلي برامسون من جامعة أريزونا في توكسون ينتقلان الآن إلى هذه النقطة. يقول سوري: "سألنا أنفسنا: ما نوع البيئة التي يتطلبها ذوبان الجليد هناك وما هي درجات الحرارة والعمليات الجيولوجية التي ستكون ضرورية؟" "لأنه في ظل الظروف العادية ، سيكون الجو باردًا جدًا هناك."

من أجل دراستهم ، ابتكر الباحثون نموذجًا جيوفيزيائيًا لأغطية الجليد المريخية. ثم أضافوا ترسبات مالحة مختلفة إلى قاع الجليد وفحصوا العوامل والعتبات التي يبقى فوقها فوق نقطة التجمد. وقال الباحثون "هدفنا هو خلق تدرج حراري يكفي لإذابة الجانب السفلي من الغطاء الجليدي S dpol".

الظروف المريخية العادية ليست كافية

النتيجة: في ظل الظروف المعتادة اليوم على المريخ ، لا يكفي الدفء الداخلي للكوكب لإذابة جليد القطبين. "حتى مع التركيب الأكثر ملاءمة من الملوحة العالية والغبار بنسبة 20 في المائة ، ستكون هناك حاجة لتدفق حراري قدره 72 واط لكل متر مربع لإنتاج مياه سائلة" ، وفقًا لتقرير صوري وبرامسون. ومع ذلك ، في أفضل الحالات ، يصل تدفق الحرارة من داخل المريخ إلى 30 واطًا بحد أقصى لكل متر مربع. عرض

حقيقة أن قاع الغطاء الجليدي القطبي يذوب فقط بضغط الجليد والملح وحرارة المريخ تحت الأرض ، لذلك يكاد يكون مستحيلاً. ولكن ما الذي يمكن أن ينتج هذا الماء السائل؟ بحثًا عن حل ، تحول الباحثون إلى العملية الجيولوجية ، التي أثرت بالفعل بشكل حاسم على المريخ في الماضي: البركانية.

سيناريو لغرفة الصهارة تحت القطب الجنوبي للمريخ كمصدر للحرارة. AGU / GRL ، صوري وبرامسون

غرفة الصهارة كمورد للحرارة؟

حقيقة أن الكوكب الأحمر كان في يوم من الأيام نشطًا في البركان ، كما يتضح من جبال النار العظيمة مثل أوليمبوس مونس ، ولكنه كان مخفيًا أيضًا في البراكين الفائقة تحت التربة. يمكن أيضًا تشكيل بعض الأودية الكبيرة بواسطة تيارات الحمم البركانية. ومع ذلك ، افترض علماء الكواكب حتى الآن أن النشاط البركاني على سطح المريخ قد مات منذ أكثر من مائة مليون عام. ولكن هناك أيضًا بعض الدلائل التي تشير إلى وجود براكين خامدة وربما حتى ثابتة.

يقول برامسون: "قد يعني هذا أنه لا تزال هناك غرف صهارة نشطة في باطن المريخ ، وأن المريخ ليس مجرد برد ويموت داخله". وفقًا للعلماء ، يمكن أن تفسر الحرارة المتبقية لهذه العمليات الصخورية وجود الماء السائل تحت القمم القطبية للمريخ.

إذا الماء ، ثم البركانية

وفقًا لحساباتها ، كان من الممكن أن تكون كافية لو أن الصهارة قد ارتفعت إلى قشرة المريخ قبل حوالي 300000 عام. دفء هذه الصهارة البطيئة يمكن أن يرتفع خلال الوقت ويذوب في قاع الجليد. وفقًا للباحثين عن 72 واطًا لكل متر مربع من تدفق الحرارة ، ستكون غرفة الصهارة التي يبلغ قطرها خمسة كيلومترات كافية على عمق حوالي ثمانية كيلومترات.

ولكن هذا يعني: إذا كان هناك بالفعل ماء سائل تحت أغطية المريخ الجليدية القطبية ، فيجب أن يكون هناك أيضًا مصدر للحرارة. ويرى سوري وبرامسون أنه لا يمكن أن يعتمد إلا على الحرارة البركانية. يقول الباحثون: "إذا ثبت أن تفسير بيانات الرادار صحيح ، فربما يكون هناك سحرًا نشطًا في هذه المناطق مؤخرًا". يمكن توفير المزيد من المعلومات حول هذا الأمر من خلال بيانات مسبار Mars InSight ، الذي يبحث حاليًا في تدفق الحرارة وتحت سطح المريخ. (رسائل الأبحاث الجيوفيزيائية ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1029 / 2018GL080985)

المصدر: الاتحاد الجيوفيزيائي الأمريكي

- ناديا بودبريجار

Mars: Is volcanism still active?

Hot magma could explain the liquid water under the polar icecaps

Stratified ice at the north pole of Mars. Could there be warm magma chambers in the Martian underground? © ESA / DLR / FU Berlin, NASA MGS MOLA Science Team
Read out

Hidden volcanic heat: If there really is liquid water under the polar ice caps of Mars, then there could also be a hot magma chamber underground. Because only with an additional heat source like this, the water could remain liquid there, as researchers have determined. According to their calculations, neither a high salt content nor the pressure of the ice alone is sufficient to explain the melted ice base.

Whether there is still liquid water on the Red Planet today, is highly controversial. Because the cold and the low gas pressure of the atmosphere let any wet immediately freeze or evaporate. However, there is evidence that liquid water could exist, at least temporarily, in craters or salty leaches in the subsurface. In the summer of 2018, radar data also caused a stir, indicating greater amounts of water under the Martian Pole ice cap.

How does the subglacial water remain liquid?

The problem only: What keeps the water liquid under the Martian ice caps, the then study did not answer. Michael Sori and Ali Bramson from the University of Arizona at Tucson now turn to this point. "We asked ourselves: what kind of environment would it take to melt the ice there and what temperatures and geological processes would be necessary?" Says Sori. "Because under normal circumstances it would be much too cold there."

For their study, the researchers created a geophysical model of Martian ice caps. They then added different salty leaches to the bottom of the ice and examined the factors and thresholds above which this leach remains above its freezing point. "Our goal is to create a heat gradient sufficient to melt the underside of the S dpol ice cap, " the researchers said.

Normal Martian conditions are not enough

The result: under today's typical conditions on Mars, the inner warmth of the planet is not even enough to melt the ice of the poles. "Even with the most favorable composition of high salinity and 20 percent dust, a heat flux of 72 watts per square meter would be needed to produce liquid water, " report Sori and Bramson. However, in the best case, the heat flux from the interior of Mars reaches a maximum of 30 watts per square meter. display

The fact that the bottom of the polar ice caps melted only by the pressure of the ice, the salt and the heat of the Mars underground, is therefore almost impossible. But what could have produced this liquid water? In search of a solution, the researchers turned to the geological process, which has already decisively influenced Mars in the past: volcanism.

Scenario for a magma chamber under the south pole of Mars as a source of heat. AGU / GRL, Sori and Bramson

Magma chamber as a heat supplier?

The fact that the red planet was once volcanically active, as evidenced by mighty mountains of fire like the Olympus Mons, but also hidden in the subsoil super volcanoes. Some of the large canyons could also have been formed by lava streams. So far, however, planetary scientists have assumed that volcanic activity on Mars has died out more than a hundred million years ago. But there are also some indications that suggest dormant but possibly even persistent volcanism.

"That could mean that there are still active magma chambers in the subsurface of Mars, and that Mars is not just cold and dead inside, " says Bramson. According to the scientists, the residual heat of these magmatic processes could explain the presence of liquid water under the polar caps of Mars.

If water, then volcanism

According to her calculations, it would have been sufficient if magma had risen up to the Martian crust about 300, 000 years ago. The warmth of this slowly slowing magma could then rise in the course of time and melt on the bottom of the ice. For the required 72 watts per square meter of heat flow, a magma chamber of five kilometers in diameter would be sufficient at a depth of around eight kilometers, according to the researchers.

But that means: If there really is liquid water under the polar ice caps of Mars, then there must also exist a heat source for it. And in the opinion of Sori and Bramson, it can only be based on volcanic heat. "If the interpretation of the radar data proves correct, then there may have been an active magmatism in these areas recently, " the researchers say. More information about this could be provided by the data from the Mars InSight probe, which is currently investigating the heat flow and subsurface of Mars. (Geophysical Research Letters, 2019; doi: 10.1029 / 2018GL080985)

Source: American Geophysical Union

- Nadja Podbregar