المريخ: الأنهار الشابة تفاجئ الباحثين

كانت بعض أنهار المريخ غنية بالمياه وكبيرة بشكل مدهش قبل مليار سنة

صورة بألوان زائفة لمجرى النهر على سطح المريخ - تبدو بعض هذه الأودية شابة بشكل مدهش ، كما تشير دراسة. © NASA / JPL ، جامعة أريزونا / uchicago
قراءة بصوت عال

المياه على كوكب الصحراء: يبدو أن أنهار المريخ ظلت أطول بكثير مما كان يعتقد سابقًا. بعد ملياري سنة من نهاية الفترة المناخية المعتدلة والرطبة ، تدفقت كمية مذهلة من المياه عبر بعض شبكات الأنهار. وفقًا للباحثين في مجلة ساينس أدفانسز ، فإن بعض أنهار المريخ كانت أكبر مرتين من نظيراتها الأرضية. ومع ذلك ، فإن المكان الذي حصلوا فيه على المياه أمر محير للغاية.

اعتاد المريخ أن يكون لديه بحيرات وأنهار وربما حتى محيط - هذا ما تتحدث عنه رواسب الصلصال ، ووديان الأنهار ذات الشقوق الواسعة وحتى الحصى النهرية التي يتم غسلها بالماء على الكوكب الأحمر. لكن بعد حوالي 500 مليون سنة من تكوين المريخ ، تغير المناخ المعتدل والرطب في البداية. كان الجو المريخ رقيقًا وكان الجو أكثر جفافًا وبرودة. عندما انتهى عصر الهسبرين قبل حوالي ثلاثة مليارات عام ، كان المريخ باردًا وماتًا - هذا هو السيناريو الشائع.

وديان الأنهار "آلات الزمن"

لكن إلى متى استمرت أنهار المريخ؟ هل غلي الماء بالفعل في منطقة هيسبيريان المبكرة أم كان لا يزال هناك ملاجئ متأخرة؟ لمعرفة ذلك ، قام إدوين كايت من جامعة شيكاغو وفريقه بتقييم الصور المدارية لما يزيد عن 200 وديان نهرية من المريخ من الفترة المتأخرة من الفترة الرطبة واستخدموها لإنشاء نماذج تضاريس رقمية.

المعنى الكامن وراءه: من عمق وعمق مجاري الأنهار وحجم منطقة مستجمعات المياه الخاصة بهم ، يمكن للمرء أن يقدر كمية المياه التي كانت تتدفق ذات مرة في هذه الشبكات النهرية - حتى لو كانت المياه قد جفت منذ فترة طويلة. أيضا ، عرض حلقات M ander في الأنهار في التضاريس الضحلة يعطي تلميحات. إلى أي مدى كان التدفق العنيف في أجزاء مختلفة من النهر يمكن استنتاجه من كمية وحجم الحصى النهرية.

مرتين على نطاق واسع مثل الأنهار الأرضية

النتيجة المفاجئة: على عكس التوقعات ، حتى قبل مليار عام وحتى بعد ذلك ، كان الماء لا يزال يتدفق عبر بعض شبكات الأنهار العظيمة للمريخ. يقول الباحثون: "توفر أبعاد أنهار المريخ دليلًا على وجود تدفق مكثف لفترة طويلة بعد الانتقال من المناخ الرطب إلى المناخ الجاف". عرض

من طول الأهوار وتخفيف مجرى النهر ، استنتج العلماء أن أنهار المريخ المتأخرة يجب أن تكون واسعة بشكل غير عادي. وقال كايت وزملاؤه "مع وجود منطقة مستجمعات كبيرة بنفس القدر ، كانت هذه الأنهار أكبر بنحو ضعف مساحة الأنهار الأرضية". تقع أصغر أنهار المريخ في المنطقة الواقعة بين خطي العرض 40 جنوبًا وخط العرض 52 شمالًا وتتركز بشكل أساسي في المناطق المنخفضة المنخفضة.

التوزيع الجغرافي لشبكات الأنهار ومواسم الأمطار المحتملة في

كميات كبيرة من المياه بشكل مدهش

غير متوقع أيضًا: يبدو أن كمية المياه في الأنهار المتأخرة للمريخ وصلت إلى مستويات متماثلة في بعض الأحيان كما في الأيام الأولى الرطبة من الكوكب. يقول كايت: "يتوقع المرء أن كمية المياه تتناقص تدريجياً مع زيادة الجفاف". "لكن هذا ليس ما نراه هنا". بدلاً من ذلك ، فإن شبكات النهر أصبحت أقصر خلال أواخر الموسم ، فقد كان طولها بضع مئات من الكيلومترات بدلاً من بضعة آلاف ، لكنهم ما زالوا يفعلون ذلك تقريبا قدر الماء.

وفقا للباحثين ، كان الجريان السطحي في ذلك الوقت يتراوح بين 3 و 20 كيلوغراما من المياه لكل متر مربع في اليوم. "هذه الملاحظات تجعل مشكلة صعبة بالفعل أكثر صعوبة ،" يقول Kite. لأنه حتى بالنسبة للوقت الذي يقارب ثلاثة مليارات سنة ، من الصعب شرح وجود الماء السائل على سطح المريخ على الإطلاق مع الطرز السابقة. معدلات التصريف المحددة الآن ، حتى بالنسبة للأنهار المريخية الأصغر سناً ، تبدو مستحيلة تقريبًا.

آفات الدفيئة من خلال تبخر الجليد القطبي؟

وفقًا للنظرية الشائعة ، كان المريخ بالفعل كوكبًا صحراويًا باردًا منذ حوالي ثلاثة مليارات عام. كان المطر غير موجود تقريبًا ، لأن الجو كان طويلًا جدًا بالنسبة لغيوم المطر الكثيفة. لكن قوارب النهر من هذا الوقت ترسم صورة مختلفة تماما. تبعا لذلك ، كانت لا تزال هناك فترات تسقط فيها أمطار قوية وقصيرة ، على الرغم من W stenklimas الفاترة. وقد افترض باحثون آخرون هذه الأمطار الغزيرة بالفعل.

وفقًا للباحثين ، يجب أن يكون هناك عمليات مناخية على المريخ أنتجت على الأقل هطولًا قصير الأجل. وقال كايت وزملاؤه "تشير مجموعة البيانات إلى ردود فعل إيجابية قوية في نظام مناخ المريخ المبكر". يمكن أن يكون الزناد المحتمل هو ذوبان وتبخر التدريجي لرواسب الجليد القطبي. تم إطلاق ثاني أكسيد الكربون وبخار الماء ، مما تسبب في نوع من تأثير الدفيئة لفترة قصيرة.

يقول كايت: "تثير دراستنا بعض الأسئلة المثيرة - وتزيد من التحديات التي تواجه مصممي المناخ". لأنهم يجب أن ينظروا الآن ، حيث يمكن أن تحصل الأنهار المتأخرة للمريخ على مياهها. (العلوم المتقدمة ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1126 / sciadv.aav7710)

المصدر: جامعة شيكاغو

- ناديا بودبريجار

Mars: Young rivers surprise researchers

Some Martian rivers were water rich and surprisingly large just a billion years ago

False-color image of riverbeds on Mars - some of these valleys seem surprisingly young, as a survey suggests. © NASA / JPL, Univ. Arizona / uchicago
Read out

Water on the desert planet: The rivers of Mars apparently remained much longer than previously thought. Two billion years after the end of the mild, humid early climatic period, a surprising amount of water flowed through some river systems. Some of these Mars rivers were even twice as wide as their earthly counterparts, according to researchers in the journal Science Advances. Where they got their water, however, is highly puzzling.

Mars used to have lakes, rivers, and maybe even an ocean - that's what argued for clay deposits, wide-rutted and notched river valleys, and even river pebbles swept along by the water on the Red Planet. But already around 500 million years after the formation of Mars, the initially mild and humid climate changed. The Martian atmosphere was thinning and it was getting drier and colder. When the Hesperian Age ended about three billion years ago, Mars was cold and dead - that's the common scenario.

River valleys as "time machines"

But how long did the rivers of Mars last? Did your water already boil in the early Hesperian or were there still late refuges? To find out, Edwin Kite of the University of Chicago and his team have evaluated orbital images of well over 200 Martian river valleys from the Late Period of the wet period and used them to create digital terrain models.

The sense behind it: From the breadth and depth of riverbeds and the size of their catchment area, one can estimate how much water once flowed in these river nets even if the waters are long since dried up. Also, the width of the M ander loops in rivers in shallower terrain gives hints. Just how violent the flow once was in different parts of the river can be deduced from the amount and size of river pebbles.

Twice as wide as earthly rivers

The surprising result: Contrary to expectations, even until a billion years ago and even after that, water was still pouring through some of the great river networks of Mars. "The dimensions of the Martian rivers provide evidence of an intense flow long after the transition from wet to dry climate, " the researchers report. display

From the length of the marshes and the relief of the riverbeds, the scientists conclude that the late Martian rivers must have been unusually wide. "With an equally large catchment area, these rivers were about twice as wide as terrestrial rivers, " Kite and his colleagues report. The youngest rivers of Mars were located in the region between the 40 southern and the 52nd northern latitude and concentrated mainly in low-lying, flat regions.

Geographical distribution of river networks and possible rainy seasons in the

Surprisingly large amounts of water

Also unexpected: The amount of water in the late rivers of Mars apparently reached similar levels at times as in the damp early days of the planet. "One would expect that the amount of water gradually decreases with increasing dryness, " says Kite. "But that's not what we see here." Instead, the river nets did get shorter during the late season they were only a few hundred kilometers long instead of a few thousand, but they still did almost as much water.

According to the researchers, the surface runoff at that time was between three and 20 kilograms of water per square meter per day. "These observations make an already difficult problem even more difficult, " says Kite. Because even for the time around three billion years ago, it is difficult to explain the presence of liquid water on Mars at all with previous models. The now determined discharge rates, even for much younger Martian rivers, seem virtually impossible.

Hothouse pests through evaporating polar ice?

According to popular theory, Mars was already a cold desert planet about three billion years ago. Rain was almost non-existent, because the atmosphere was too long for thick rain clouds. But the riverboats from this time paint a completely different picture. Accordingly, there were still periods with strong, short rainfalls in between, despite the frosty W stenklimas. Such torrential rain had already been postulated by other researchers.

According to the researchers, there must have been climate processes on Mars that produced at least short-term precipitation. "The combination of data indicates strong positive feedbacks in the early Mars climate system, " said Kite and colleagues. A possible trigger could be a gradual melting and evaporation of the polar ice deposits. Carbon dioxide and water vapor were released, causing a kind of greenhouse effect for a short time.

"Our study raises some exciting questions - and increases the challenges for the climate modelers, " says Kite. Because they have to look now, where the late rivers of Mars could have got their water. (Science Advances, 2019; doi: 10.1126 / sciadv.aav7710)

Source: University of Chicago

- Nadja Podbregar