المريخ: حل لغز السحب على الجليد

الغبار من الشهب يمكن أن يوفر نوى تكاثف لتكوين السحب الجليدية

كيف تنشأ غيوم الجليد في الغلاف الجوي العلوي للمريخ؟ ربما تكون جزيئات النيزك الصغيرة بمثابة نواة تكثيف لهذه الغيوم ، كما تشير النماذج الآن. © ناسا
قراءة بصوت عال

جراثيم السحب من الفضاء: حتى الآن ، لم يكن معروفًا من أين جاءت السحب الجليدية في جو المريخ. الآن ، يمكن للباحثين حل هذا اللغز. وبالتالي ، فإن نوى التكثيف لهذه السحب ليست من سطح المريخ ، ولكن من الفضاء. يبدو أن غبار النيازك المتحللة يوفر الجزيئات التي تتشكل عليها هذه الغيوم الجليدية ، كما يقول العلماء في مجلة "Nature Geoscience".

على الرغم من غلافه الجوي الرقيق ، فإن لدى مارس أيضًا بعض الظواهر الجوية الشبيهة بالأرض ، بما في ذلك العواصف الترابية والثلوج والسحب الرقيقة العالية من بلورات الجليد. ولكن هذه الغيوم الجليدية على ارتفاع 30 إلى 60 كيلومترا تثير لغز علماء الكواكب. تقول فيكتوريا هارتويك من جامعة كولورادو في بولدر: "لا تشكل الغيوم نفسها فقط". "إنهم بحاجة إلى شيء لتكثيف".

نيزك الغبار كما الجراثيم التكثيف؟

لكن في حالة السحب الجليدية ، يبدو أنه لا توجد جراثيم تكثيف مناسبة: الغبار من سطح المريخ ليس أعلى بكثير من حوالي 25 كيلومترًا ، لأن الغلاف الجوي رقيق جدًا بحيث لا يحمل الجسيمات. وحتى الآن في غلاف الغاز ، يبدو أيضًا أنه يفتقد جزيئات أخرى مناسبة. ولكن هذا خادع ، كما أثبتت هارتويك وفريقها الآن. لأن المريخ يحصل على الجزيئات اللازمة من الخارج - من الفضاء.

كانت نقطة الانطلاق لهذا الاكتشاف هي بيانات مأخوذة من مسبار ناسا مارس. كانت قد حددت بالفعل أن هناك طبقة من غبار الشهب الناعم على بعد 80 إلى 90 كيلومتراً فوق سطح المريخ. تتشكل هذه الجزيئات الصغيرة عندما يتم سحق الشهب وتدميرها في الغلاف الجوي. "يمثل دخان النيازك هذا مصدرًا وفيرًا ومحتملًا للنواة لتشكيل السحب على ارتفاعات عالية" ، يلاحظ هارتويك وزملاؤها.

غيوم الليل الساطعة في فنلندا. Mika Yrj l / CC-by-sa 2.0

على غرار غيوم الليل المتوهجة للأرض

لكن هل هذه النيزك هي أيضًا المنشئ لمارسولكين؟ استخدم العلماء محاكاة نموذجية لجو المريخ للتحقق من ذلك. النتيجة: "لم يستطع نموذجنا تشكيل غيوم في تلك المرتفعات من قبل" ، كما يقول هارتويك. "لكن الآن ، ومع غبار الشهب ، كلهم ​​هناك وفي المناطق الصحيحة." العرض

مثيرة للاهتمام: من الأفضل أن تتشكل السحب الجليدية المريخية في الجو العلوي للمناطق القطبية ، كما أظهرت عمليات المحاكاة. وفقًا لذلك ، يتجمع جزء كبير من غبار النيزك في القطبين ، لأن التيارات في الغلاف الجوي للمريخ تنقلها هناك. تتشابه الغيوم الجليدية المرتفعة للمريخ مع الظاهرة الأرضية: غيوم الليل المتوهجة. وقال الباحثون إنه حتى هذه السحب الثلجية المتلألئة بالجليد تعتمد جزئياً على جزيئات النيازك كجراثيم تكثيف.

"التدفئة" للمريخ الشاب؟

يقول هارتويك: "لقد اعتدنا على رؤية الأرض ، المريخ ، وغيرها من الأجرام السماوية كواكب مكتفية ذاتيا تتحكم في مناخها". "لكن المناخ ليس مستقلاً عن النظام الشمسي المحيط". وهذا ينطبق أيضًا على المريخ: غيوم الجليد التي تسببها النيازك لها تأثير على مناخ المريخ. الغيوم تسخين الغلاف الجوي بنسبة تصل إلى عشر درجات ، وتقليل الفرق في درجة الحرارة ليلا ونهارا ، وكذلك تؤثر على دوران الغلاف الجوي للمريخ ، كما ذكر الباحثون.

ومع ذلك ، كان من الممكن أن يكون تأثير هذه السحب أكثر وضوحًا في الماضي المريخ: "يجد المزيد من النماذج المناخية أن المناخ السابق للكوكب في الوقت الذي لا تزال فيه أنهار على سطحه يقول برايان تون ، زميل هارتويك: "لقد دفقته هذه السحب العالية". تبعا لذلك ، من المهم النظر في غيوم المريخ الجليدية وظروف تعليمهم في مثل هذه النماذج. (علوم الطبيعة ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1038 / s41561-019-0379-6)

المصدر: جامعة كولورادو في بولدر

- ناديا بودبريجار

Mars: solved puzzle of ice clouds

Dust from meteors could provide condensation nuclei for the formation of ice clouds

How do the ice clouds of the upper Martian atmosphere originate? Perhaps tiny meteor particles serve as condensation nuclei for these clouds, as models now suggest. © NASA
Read out

Cloud germs from space: Until now, it was unknown where the ice clouds came from in the Martian atmosphere. Now, researchers could have solved this puzzle. Thus, the condensation nuclei for these clouds are not from the surface of Mars, but from space. The dust of decaying meteors apparently provides the particles on which these ice clouds form, as the scientists report in the journal "Nature Geoscience".

Despite its thin atmosphere, Mars also has some earth-like weather phenomena, including dust storms, snow and thin, high clouds of ice crystals. But these ice clouds at a height of 30 to 60 kilometers give riddle to planetary scientists. The reason: "Clouds do not just form themselves, " says lead author Victoria Hartwick of the University of Colorado at Boulder. "They need something to condense."

Meteor dust as condensation germs?

But in the case of the ice clouds, there seemed to be no suitable condensation germs: dust from the Martian surface is not much higher than about 25 kilometers, because the atmosphere is too thin to carry the particles. And so far up in the gas envelope it also seems to be missing other suitable particles. But that's deceptive, as Hartwick and her team now demonstrate. Because Mars gets the necessary particles from outside - from space.

The starting point for this discovery was data from the NASA Mars probe MAVEN. She had already determined that there is a layer of fine meteor dust 80 to 90 kilometers above the Martian surface. These tiny particles are formed when meteors are crushed and destroyed in the atmosphere. "This meteor smoke represents an abundant and likely source of nuclei for cloud formation at high altitudes, " Hartwick and her colleagues note.

Bright night clouds in Finland. Mika Yrj l / CC-by-sa 2.0

Similar to the glowing night clouds of the earth

But is this meteorite also the originator of the Marswolken? The scientists have used a model simulation of the Martian atmosphere to verify this. The result: "Our model could not form clouds in those heights before, " says Hartwick. "But now, with the meteor dust, they are all there and in the right areas." Display

Interesting: The Martian ice clouds are preferably formed in the upper atmosphere of the polar regions, as the simulations showed. Accordingly, a large part of the meteoric dust collects at the poles, because the currents of the Martian atmosphere transport it there. The high ice clouds of Mars are strikingly similar to an earthly phenomenon: the glowing night clouds. Because even these silvery shimmering ice clouds are partly based on meteor particles as condensation germs, the researchers said.

"Heating" for the young Mars?

"We are used to seeing Earth, Mars, and other celestial bodies as self-sufficient planets that control their climate, " says Hartwick. "But the climate is not independent of the surrounding solar system." This also applies to Mars: The clouds of ice caused by the meteorites have an influence on the Martian climate. The clouds heat the atmosphere by up to ten degrees, reduce the day-night temperature difference and also influence the atmospheric circulation of Mars, as the researchers report.

However, the influence of these clouds could have been even more pronounced in the past of Mars: "More and more climate models are finding that the past climate of the planet in the time when there are still rivers on its surface It was streamed by such high clouds, "says Hartwick colleague Brian Toon. Accordingly, it is important to consider the Martian ice clouds and their conditions of education in such models. (Nature Geoscience, 2019; doi: 10.1038 / s41561-019-0379-6)

Source: University of Colorado at Boulder

- Nadja Podbregar