فوهة القمر: جليد الماء أصغر من المتوقع؟

يمكن أن يؤدي تآكل الميكروميتوريت إلى انتشار وتجديد الجليد القمري

دائم في الظل: هناك جليد مائي في الحفر القطبية للقمر - ولكن هذا قد يكون أصغر سنا وأكثر تقلبًا مما كان يعتقد سابقًا. © ناسا / GSFC
قراءة بصوت عال

من القديم: ربما يكون الجليد المائي في الحفر القمرية القطبية أصغر من المتوقع. بدلاً من الملايين أو حتى بلايين السنين ، ربما تكون رواسب الجليد على بعد بضعة آلاف من السنين ، كما قرر الباحثون. نظرًا لتأثير جزيئات الماء الدقيقة ، يتم إخراج جزيئات الماء باستمرار من قاع الحفرة ، في نفس الوقت يتم إضافة الماء العذب. هذا يمكن أن يكون ميزة للبعثات القمرية في المستقبل.

كان قمر الأرض يعتبر جافًا جدًا. لكن في الوقت نفسه ، أثبتت قياسات مجسات القمر وتحليلات عينات الصخور من بعثات أبولو وجود مياه على سطح القمر. جزء منه محصور في صخرة القمر ، ولكن هناك أيضًا جليد مائي في فوهات المناطق القطبية القمرية. يكمن السبب في الظل العميق على مدار السنة ، وبالتالي يعمل كنوع من المصيدة الباردة لجزيئات الماء. هذا يمكن أن تتراكم في بعض طبقات طبقات الجليد بسمك متر.

صورة زائفة اللون لمنطقة القطب الجنوبي للقمر - هنا يمكن أن يكون هناك جليد مائي في الحفر. © ناسا / استوديو التصور العلمي

الأسهم القديمة؟

ولكن ما مدى استمرار هذه الإمداد بالثلج المائي؟ وفقًا للنظرية الشائعة ، يكون الجو باردًا جدًا في قاع الحفرة القمرية ، بحيث تظل قطرات الماء التي يتم ترسيبها هناك طويلة إلى ما لا نهاية. ويضمن الصقيع الشديد الذي يقل عن 200 درجة تحت الصفر أن جزيئات الماء لا يمكن أن تذوب أو تتبخر. وبالتالي فإن الجليد في حفر البولكا يمكن أن يتراوح عمره بين ملايين ومليارات سنة - على الأقل هذا ما اعتقدوه حتى الآن.

ومع ذلك ، فإن دراسة جديدة تثير الشكوك حول هذا الجليد القديم. لأن الحفر القمرية القطبية باردة ، لكنها ليست معزولة تمامًا. يوضح ويليام فاريل من Goddard أن "سطحها يتأثر بجزيئات الرياح الشمسية والنيازك - والتي يمكن أن تعزز التفاعلات التي تحدث عادة في درجات حرارة سطح أعلى فقط". مركز الرحلات الفضائية التابع لناسا في الحزام الأخضر.

قصفته الرياح الشمسية والنيازك

تمت دراسة عواقب هذا القصف على جليد الحفرة القمرية بالتفصيل بواسطة فاريل وزملائه في محاكاة نموذجية. اتضح أن الرياح الشمسية وحدها تضمن أن جزيئات الماء قد انفجرت مرارًا وتكرارًا من قشور الماء. يمكن تحريك المزيد من الماء الممزوج بغبار القمر بسبب تأثير النيازك الصغيرة. عرض

يقول الباحثون إنه بمجرد إطلاقها من الجليد ، يمكن أن تطير كتل الجليد الصغيرة هذه إلى مسافة تصل إلى 30 كيلومترًا. نتيجةً لذلك ، يتم توزيع المياه على أرضية الحفرة ، لكنها تُنقل أيضًا إلى حافة الحفرة وإلى مناطق أخرى أكثر دفئًا. تقول المؤلفة المشاركة دانا هيرلي من: "كل هذه التأثيرات تنشر طبقة شجاعة من الآيس كريم على هذه الأسطح ، مما يعرضها للحرارة الشمسية والبيئة الفضائية". جامعة جونز هوبكنز.

الحجاب المياه هازدنر فوق الحفر

يتبخر جزء من ثلج الماء الذي تم إخراجه ، وبالتالي يمكنه الهروب تمامًا من الحفرة. وفقًا للباحثين ، تُحدث فوهة قمرية طولها 40 كيلومترًا حوالي عشرة تريليونات من جزيئات الماء في الثانية. وقال فاريل وتقرير فريقه "لقد قررنا أنه يجب أن يكون هناك فضاء مائي فوق الحفر القطبية". يمكن اكتشاف ضباب بخار الجوسامر على الاورام الحميدة القمرية في تحقيقات الفضاء المستقبلية. لأن كل سنتيمتر مكعب يجب أن يكون هناك واحد إلى عشرة جزيئات الماء.

والأهم من ذلك أن سطح هذه الرواسب الجليدية يتغير باستمرار بسبب هذا التآكل المستمر. يقول الباحثون: "يستغرق تآكل نصف ميكرون من سطح الجليد أقل من ألفي عام." في حين أن المنحدرات والرياح الشمسية تزيلان باستمرار جزءًا من الجليد ، فإن النيازك المحتوية على الماء تضيف أيضًا جليدًا مائيًا جديدًا. يقول فاريل: "لم يعد بإمكاننا رؤية هذه الحفر كخزانات للمياه الميتة".

بضعة آلاف من السنين بدلاً من ملايين السنين

لكن هذا يعني أن الجليد في الحفر القمرية ربما لا يصل عمره إلى ملايين أو مليارات السنين ، ولكنه أصغر سناً. وقال فاريل وتقرير فريقه: "الجزء الأكبر من هذا النظام الفاتر يجب أن يكون أقل من 2000 عام". الأمل في العثور على رواسب جليدية من الأيام الأولى للنظام الشمسي في الحفر القمرية هباء.

ومع ذلك ، فإن النتائج الجديدة لها أيضًا شيء إيجابي: في بعثات القمر المستقبلية ، قد لا يكون رواد الفضاء قادرين على النزول إلى قاع البرد الشديد في الحفر القمرية بحثًا عن الماء. يقول هيرلي: "تخبرنا نتائجنا أن النيازك تقوم ببعض الأعمال وتنقل المواد من أبرد مناطق الحفريات إلى ضواحيها". "هناك ، يمكن لرواد الفضاء الوصول إلى الجليد المائي بواسطة روفر يعمل بالطاقة الشمسية".

"نحن بحاجة إلى بيانات مباشرة"

سواء تم العثور على جليد مائي بالفعل أم لا على حواف الحفرة ، فمن المحتمل أن يعرض فقط المهام القادمة إلى الحفر القطبية. عندها يمكن لروفرز أو رواد الفضاء استكشاف مدى عمر الجليد القمري بالفعل وما إذا كان هناك نوع من دورة بخار الماء على القمر الصناعي للأرض. يقول هيرلي: "نحتاج إلى بيانات مباشرة لفهم ما يحدث هناك". (رسائل الأبحاث الجيوفيزيائية ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1029 / 2019GL083158)

المصدر: ناسا / مركز غودارد لرحلات الفضاء

- ناديا بودبريجار

Moon crater: Water ice younger than expected?

Micrometeorite erosion could spread and renew lunar ice

Permanent in the shade: there are water ice in the polar craters of the moon - but this could be younger and more volatile than previously thought. © NASA / GSFC
Read out

From Ancient: The water ice in the polar lunar craters is probably much younger than expected. Instead of millions or even billions of years, the ice deposits are probably only a few thousand years old, as researchers have determined. Because by impacts of micrometeorites water molecules are constantly ejected from the crater floor, at the same time fresh water is added. This could be an advantage for future lunar missions.

The earth's moon was long considered extremely dry. But meanwhile, measurements of moon probes and analyzes of rock samples from the Apollo missions prove that there is water on the moon. Part of it is bound in the moon rock, but there are also water ice in the craters of the lunar polar regions. Its reason lies in deep shade all year round and therefore acts as a kind of cold trap for water molecules. This could have accumulated in some craters meter-thick layers of ice.

False-color image of the south pole region of the moon - here there could be water ice in craters. © NASA / Scientific Visualization Studio

Ancient stocks?

But how persistent are these water ice supplies? According to popular theory, it is so cold at the bottom of the lunar crater that water droplets once deposited there remain almost indefinitely long. The extreme frost of less than minus 200 degrees ensures that the water molecules can neither melt nor evaporate. The ice in these polka-craters could therefore be millions to billions of years old at least that's what they thought so far.

However, a new study raises doubts about this ancient ice. Because the polar lunar craters are cold, but not completely isolated. "Their surface is hit by particles of the solar wind and meteoroids and that can promote reactions that normally only occur at higher surface temperatures, " explains William Farrell of the Goddard Space Flight Center of NASA in Greenbelt.

Bombed by solar wind and meteorites

The consequences of this bombardment for the lunar crater ice have now been studied in detail by Farrell and his colleagues in a model simulation. It turned out that the solar wind alone ensures that water molecules are repeatedly blasted out of the moonshine. More water mixed with moon dust could be stirred up by the impact of small meteorites. display

Once released from the ice, these tiny ice lumps can fly up to 30 kilometers, the researchers report. As a result, water is distributed on the crater floor, but it is also carried to the crater rim and into other, warmer crater areas. "Each of these impacts spreads a gauzy layer of ice creamer on these surfaces, exposing them to solar heat and the space environment, " says co-author Dana Hurley of Johns Hopkins University.

Hazed nner water veil over the craters

Part of the ejected water ice evaporates and can thus escape completely from the crater. According to researchers, a 40-kilometer lunar crater releases about ten trillion water molecules per second. "We have determined that there must be a water exosphere over the polar craters, " Farrell and his team report. This gossamer vapor haze over the lunar polyps could be detectable in future space probes. Because per cubic centimeter there should be one to ten water molecules.

More importantly, the surface of these ice deposits changes constantly due to this constant erosion. "It takes less than 2, 000 years for a half-micron of the ice surface to erode, " say the researchers. While the inclines and the solar wind are constantly removing part of the ice, water-containing meteorites also add new water ice. "We can no longer see these craters as dead water reservoirs, " says Farrell.

A few thousand years instead of millions of years

But that means: the ice in the lunar craters is probably not millions or billions of years old, but much younger. "The largest part of this frosty regolith should be less than 2, 000 years old, " Farrell and his team report. The hope to find ice deposits from the early days of the solar system in the lunar craters is therefore in vain.

However, the new findings also have something positive: In future moon missions, astronauts may not have to drive down to the extremely cold bottom of the lunar craters in search of water. "Our results tell us that meteorites are doing us some work and transporting material from the coldest crater areas to its outskirts, " says Hurley. "There, astronauts could reach the water-ice with solar-powered rovers."

"We need first-hand data"

Whether or not water ice is actually to be found on the crater edges, will probably only show forthcoming missions to the polar craters. Rovers or astronauts could then explore how old the lunar ice actually is and whether there is a kind of water vapor ice cycle on the Earth satellite. "We need first-hand data to understand what's happening there, " says Hurley. (Geophysical Research Letters, 2019; doi: 10.1029 / 2019GL083158)

Source: NASA / Goddard Space Flight Center

- Nadja Podbregar