منحوتات نانو من الذهب

طريقة جديدة توضح هيكل جسيمات الذهب غير المشحونة

الجيزة في عالم النانو: وضعت جزيئات الذهب على الرمال الصحراوية الافتراضية. تشكل المجموعة المكونة من سبع ذرات مثلثًا متساوي الأضلاع ، تتدلى منه الذرة كركن إضافي. 20 ذرة تتراكم في هرم ذو قاعدة ثلاثية. مع ذرة واحدة أقل ، يفقد الهرم وجهة نظره. © معهد فريتز هابر لجمعية ماكس بلانك
قراءة بصوت عال

إذا تم تحميلك ، يمكنك تغيير لون وجهك ، لكنك لا ترغب في تمزيق ذراع واحد لتجميعه كالساق الثالثة. ومع ذلك ، هذا يختلف مع مجموعات من سبع ذرات ذهبية. هذه ترتيب أنفسهم في حالة تحميلها بشكل مختلف عن في unladen ، كما يقول العلماء الآن في "العلوم".

بطيئًا ومكلفًا كيميائيًا: قلصت هذه الخصائص الحماس الذي شعر به الكيميائيون للذهب - على الأقل منذ انقضاء أيام الكيمياء. لكن الاهتمام قد تم إحياؤه منذ عدة سنوات حتى الآن. للجزيئات النانوية من المعدن الثمين قد تكون مناسبة كعوامل محفزة لتفاعلات مهمة في الصناعة الكيميائية. جزيئات الذهب الصغيرة من الصعب إرضاءه في ردود الفعل التي تدعمها.

ما إذا كانت الجسيمات النانوية الذهبية يمكن أن تفضل ردود فعل معينة يعتمد بشدة على هيكلها. طور الباحثون بمعهد فريتز هابر التابع لجمعية ماكس بلانك ومعهد ستيسي للعلوم الجزيئية في كندا والليزر الإلكترون الحر الهولندي FELIX في معهد FOM Rijnhuizen ، طريقة تأخذ شكل الذهب المحايد لتحديد مجموعات. لقد عرف الكيميائيون لبعض الوقت كيف تبدو بعض هذه المجموعات عند تحميلها بعشرات الذرات. كما المحفزات ولكن خصوصا الجزيئات غير المشحونة سيكون من المثير للاهتمام. وأحيانًا تتخذ شكلًا مختلفًا تمامًا عن المجموعات المشحونة ذات العدد نفسه من الذرات.

من الهرم إلى مسدس

قام الباحثون في برلين برئاسة أندريه فيليكي بدراسة مجموعات من 7 و 19 و 20 ذرة. بالنسبة للجسيمات غير المشحونة من 19 و 20 ذرة ، لاحظوا نفس الهياكل المعروفة من نظرائهم سالبة الشحنة: 20 ذرة ذهبية تتكدس إلى رباعي السطوح ، وهو هرم ذو قاعدة ثلاثية. ذرة واحدة تكلف أقل الهرم الأعلى. "تشكل ذرات الذهب السبعة مثلثًا مع زاوية إضافية في الحالة غير المشحونة" ، كما أوضح فيليك.

في كتلة ذات شحنة موجبة ببساطة ، تشكل سبع ذرات مسدسًا مع ذرة في مركزها. في شكل غير مشحون ، توجد ثلاث ذرات ذهبية على كل حافة مثلث. عند حافة واحدة ، يتم سد ذرتين من جانب آخر ، مما يخلق زاوية إضافية. يقول فيليك: "من المحتمل أن هذا الهيكل يفضل ذرات الذهب في صورة غير مشحونة ، لأن الإلكترونات يمكنها الخروج منه على نحو أفضل". عرض

من أجل المسح الهيكلي للجسيمات النانوية غير المشحونة ، اضطر علماء برلين إلى معالجة عدد من المشكلات: "إن المجموعات غير مستقرة إلى حد ما ، لا يمكنك شراءها فقط كمساحيق ،" يوضح فيليب جروين ، الذي لديه عدد كبير جزء من العمل التجريبي تم. لذلك يتعين على العلماء إنتاج مجموعات الذهب في نفس الجهاز الذي يحددون فيه أيضًا شكل الجزيئات. لهذا الغرض ، فإنها تبخر كميات صغيرة من المعدن الثمين مع شعاع الليزر من قضيب الذهب. بهذه الطريقة ، يتم تشكيل مجموعات ذهبية من مختلف الأحجام والأشكال.

الجمع بين الأسلوب يجلب النجاح

عادة ، يفصل الكيميائيون مزيج الجسيمات هذا في مطياف الكتلة. يقوم هذا الجهاز في البداية بتأين الجزيئات ، لذلك يذوبها كهربائيًا. ثم يفصلها في مجال كهربائي وفقًا لكتلتها ، نظرًا لأن الحقل يسرع جزيئات الضوء بشكل أسرع من الثقيل - إذا كان كلاهما يحمل نفس الشحنة. في حالة توفر كمية أكبر من نوع الجسيمات ، يمكن أيضًا تحديد بنيتها في مطياف الأشعة تحت الحمراء.

نظرًا لأن علماء برلين يرغبون في النظر إلى هياكل الجسيمات غير المشحونة ولا يمكنهم إنتاج سوى عدد قليل جدًا من الجزيئات ، فهذا الإجراء مستبعد. ومع ذلك ، فإن علماء برلين يستخدمون الطريقتين ، فهم يجمعونهم فقط بطريقة معقدة. قبل أن يفصلوا فوضى الجسيمات ، يطلقون النار باستخدام ليزر الأشعة تحت الحمراء شديد الكثافة ذي طول موجي معين على المزيج ويفصلوا الكتل بطريقة غير مسعورة إلى حد ما. تهتز الجزيئات لدرجة أنها تنفجر.

بعد الاختيار باستخدام ليزر الأشعة تحت الحمراء ، يرسل الباحثون خليط الجسيمات المتبقية من خلال مطياف الكتلة. الجسيمات ، التي كانت متحمسة ودمرت من قبل طول موجة معينة من ضوء الأشعة تحت الحمراء ، بالكاد تترك أي آثار في الطيف الكتلي. حقيقة أن هناك شيئًا ما مفقودًا في مرحلة معينة من الطيف الكتلي ، يخلص الباحثون إلى تجربة مقارنة: فهم يفصلون أيضًا مزيجًا من مجموعات الذهب في مقياس الطيف الكتلي ، الذي لم يتعرضوا له في السابق للمعاملة الخاصة باستخدام ليزر الأشعة تحت الحمراء المكثف.

القصف بالليزر على العديد من الأطوال الموجية

إن إجراء مثل هذه التجربة باستخدام حزمة ليزر ذات طول موجي واحد لا يفعل الكثير. يكشف طيف التذبذب الكامل فقط عن شكل جسيم. "لذلك يتعين علينا تكرار التجربة عند حوالي 200 طول موجي مختلف من أشعة الليزر تحت الحمراء" ، يشرح Fielicke. وهذا يخلق المشكلة التالية للعلماء: لا يتم توفير ضوء الليزر ، الذي يكون مكثفًا بدرجة كافية على جزء كبير من الطيف لتسبب انفجار المجموعات ، إلا عن طريق ليزر حر الإلكترون.

لذلك ، أوضح الباحثون في برلين هيكل الكتلة الذهبية على ليزر الإلكترون الحر للتجارب بالأشعة تحت الحمراء ، فيليكس باختصار ، في الهولنديين نيويغين. من قياسات الطيف الكتلي بأطوال موجية مختلفة من ليزر الأشعة تحت الحمراء ، يقومون بعد ذلك بإعادة بناء طيف التذبذب لبعض المجموعات ويمكنهم بعد ذلك قراءة بنيتهم.

من بين أمور أخرى ، يستخدم علماء برلين تحقيقاتهم لمساعدتهم في العثور على محفز للإبوكسي - وهو رد فعل مهم تقنيًا يربط فيه الكيميائيون جزيئات الهيدروكربون بذروة الأكسجين. هذه غالباً ما تكون الخطوة الأولى لجزيئات أكثر تعقيدًا. سواء كان المنتج المطلوب في النهاية يعتمد على مكان توصيل ذرة الأكسجين بالهيدروكربون. وهذا هو بالضبط المكان الذي يمكن أن تعمل فيه مجموعات الذهب كطيارين.

(MPG ، 04.08.2008 - NPO)

Nano sculptures in gold

New method clarifies the structure of uncharged gold nanoparticles

Giza in the Nanoworld: The gold particles were placed on virtual desert sand. A cluster of seven atoms forms an equilateral triangle, to which an atom hangs as an additional corner. 20 atoms pile up into a pyramid with a triangular base. With one atom less, the pyramid loses its point. © Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society
Read out

If you are loaded, you may change the color of your face, but you do not want to tear off one arm to assemble it as the third leg. However, this is different with clusters of seven gold atoms. These arrange themselves in the loaded condition differently than in the unladen, as scientists report now in "Science".

Chemically sluggish and expensive: these properties dampened the enthusiasm that chemists felt for gold - at least since the days of alchemy have passed. But interest has been revived for some years now. For nanoparticles of the precious metal may be suitable as catalysts for important reactions in the chemical industry. The tiny gold particles are very picky in the reactions they support.

Whether the gold nanoparticles can favor certain reactions depends strongly on their structure. Researchers at the Fritz-Haber-Institut of the Max Planck Society, the Steacie Institute for Molecular Sciences in Canada and the Dutch free-electron laser FELIX at the FOM Institute Rijnhuizen have now developed a method that takes the form of neutral gold To determine clusters. Chemists have known for some time how some of these ensembles look like when loaded with up to a few dozen atoms. As catalysts but especially uncharged particles would be interesting. And sometimes they take on a very different shape than charged clusters with the same number of atoms.

From pyramid to hexagon

The Berlin researchers headed by André Fielicke have studied clusters of 7, 19 and 20 atoms. For the uncharged particles of 19 and 20 atoms, they observed the same structures that are known from their negatively charged counterparts: 20 gold atoms stack to a tetrahedron, a pyramid with a triangular base. One atom less costs the pyramid the top. "Seven gold atoms form a triangle with an additional corner in the uncharged state, " explains Fielicke.

In a simply positively charged cluster, however, seven atoms form a hexagon with an atom at its center. In the uncharged form, there are three gold atoms on each edge of a triangle. At one edge, two atoms are bridged by another, creating the additional corner. "This structure probably prefers the gold atoms in the uncharged form, because the electrons can better get out of it, " says Fielicke. display

In order to structurally scan the uncharged nanoparticles, the Berlin scientists had to tackle a number of problems: "The clusters are rather unstable, you can not just buy them as powders, " explains Philipp Gruene, who has a large Part of the experimental work was done. The scientists therefore have to produce the gold clusters in the same apparatus in which they also determine the shape of the particles. For this purpose, they vaporize small amounts of the precious metal with a laser beam from a gold rod. In this way, gold clusters of different sizes and shapes are formed.

Method combination brings the success

Usually, chemists separate such a particle mix in a mass spectrometer. This device initially ionizes the particles, so it dissolves them electrically. Then it separates them in an electric field according to their mass, since the field accelerates light particles faster than heavy - if both carry the same charge. If a larger quantity of a particle type is available, its structure can also be determined in an infrared spectrometer.

Since the Berlin scientists want to look at the structures of uncharged particles and can only produce very few particles, this procedure is ruled out. Nevertheless, the Berlin scientists use the two methods, they only combine them in a sophisticated way. Before they separate the particle clutter, they fire with a very intense infrared laser of certain wavelength on the mix and separate the clusters in a rather rabid way. The particles vibrate so much that they burst.

After selection with the infrared laser, the researchers send the mixture of the remaining particles through a mass spectrometer. The particles, which were excited and destroyed by a certain wavelength of infrared light, hardly leave any traces in the mass spectrum. The fact that there is something missing at a certain point in the mass spectrum, the researchers conclude with a comparison experiment: they also separate a mixture of gold clusters in the mass spectrometer, which they have not previously subjected to the special treatment with the intensive infrared laser.

Laser bombardment over many wavelengths

Making such an experiment with a laser beam of a single wavelength does not do much. Only a complete oscillation spectrum reveals the shape of a particle. "So we have to repeat the experiment at about 200 different wavelengths of the infrared laser, " explains Fielicke. This creates the next problem for the scientists: laser light, which is intense enough over a large part of the spectrum to cause the clusters to burst, is only supplied by a free-electron laser.

Therefore, the Berlin researchers have clarified the structure of the gold cluster on the Free Electron Laser for Infrared eXperiments, Felix in short, in the Dutch Nieuwegein. From the mass spectrometric measurements at different wavelengths of the infrared laser, they then reconstruct the oscillation spectrum for certain clusters and can then read their structure.

Among other things, the Berlin scientists are using their investigations to help them find a catalyst for epoxidation - a technically important reaction in which chemists attach hydrocarbon molecules to an oxygen atom. This is often the first step to more complicated molecules. Whether in the end the desired product comes out depends on where the oxygen atom is attached to the hydrocarbon. And that's exactly where gold clusters could serve as pilots.

(MPG, 04.08.2008 - NPO)