النيكوتينويد يؤذي الطيور المهاجرة

أظهر الباحثون لأول مرة التأثير السلبي لإيميداكلوبريد على الطيور البرية

أظهر الباحثون لأول مرة آثارًا سلبية للنيونوتينات على سلوك الطيور المهاجرة باستخدام البادجر البري كمثال. © Wolfgang Wander / CC-by-sa 3.0
قراءة بصوت عال

التغذية القاتلة: عندما تأكل الطيور المغردة البذور التي تعالج بالمبيدات الحشرية ، فإن هذا يؤثر على الجر - وفي أسوأ الأحوال ، حتى بقائها على قيد الحياة ، كشفت دراسة. تبعا لذلك ، يمنع imidacloprid neonicotinoid شهية الطيور ويمدد وقت الراحة لعدة أيام. ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن الطيور المغردة أكثر عرضة للحيوانات المفترسة ، كما أنها تصل متأخرة إلى وجهتها - وبعد ذلك قد لا تجد شريكًا ، كما يقول الباحثون في مجلة "العلوم".

تعتبر مبيدات الآفات أحد أسباب التدهور الحاد في الحشرات ، ولكن أيضًا بسبب طيور الحقل والطيور. قبل كل شيء يشتبه هي النيكوتينوتينات المستخدمة على نطاق واسع ، والتي ترتبط مستقبلات في الجهاز العصبي للحشرات. ومع ذلك ، فقد ظلت هذه العلاجات غير مؤذية للنحل منذ فترة طويلة - والتي دحضتها العديد من الدراسات الآن. ثلاثة من هذه المكونات ، بما في ذلك إيميداكلوبريد ، محظورة الآن في الاتحاد الأوروبي للاستخدام في الهواء الطلق.

مكّن مستشعر صغير مزود بجهاز إرسال الباحثين من متابعة سلوك الطيور بعد إعادة التعرض. © مارجريت م

ما مدى خطورة neonicotinoids للطيور؟

أما بالنسبة للفقاريات ، فقد اعتبرت النيوكنوتينات أقل سمية. ولكن بالفعل في يونيو 2019 ، أدى الانقراض الجماعي لطيور الغناء في كاليفورنيا إلى إثارة شكوك كبيرة. لأنه كان هناك العشرات من الحناجر الذهبية بعد علاج أشجار الطرق مع إيميداكلوبريد. تشير الدراسات التي أُجريت على الطيور التي يرأسها الأسير أيضًا إلى أنه حتى الجرعات الصغيرة من هذا النيونيو تينويد يمكن أن تؤثر بشكل كبير على شهية وتوجه الطيور.

ولكن هل ينطبق هذا أيضًا على الطيور المهاجرة البرية ، على سبيل المثال ، عندما ترتاح في حقل رش؟ عادة ما يستخدم Zugv gel هذه الاستراحات لتناول الطعام وبالتالي لزيادة احتياطيات الدهون والطاقة. "خلال هجرة الربيع بشكل خاص ، تتعرض الطيور لمستويات عالية بشكل خاص من التلوث بالنيونوتيني ، لأنه في هذا الوقت يتم زرع العديد من البذور المعالجة بالمبيدات" ، توضح مارجريت إنج من جامعة ساسكاتشوان وزملاؤها.

جرعة المبيدات في منطقة الراحة

تم الآن اختبار عواقب تناول البذور الملوثة للطيور المهاجرة لأول مرة من قبل المهندس وفريقها على الصراصير البرية (Zonotrichia leucophrys). لدراستهم ، اكتشفوا 36 من هذه الطيور خلال هجرتهم الربيعية في كندا لفترة قصيرة. تلقت مجموعتان من هذه الطيور 1.2 أو 3.9 ملليغرام من إيميداكلوبريد لكل كيلوغرام من وزن الجسم. ويؤكد الباحثون أن "هذه العلب تقع في النطاق الذي يلتقطه الطائر بشكل واقعي إذا أكل القليل من البذور المعالجة فقط". عرض

تم وزن جميع الطيور قبل ساعات من تناول مبيدات الآفات وبعدها ، ثم استقبلت مستشعرًا صغيراً وتم إطلاقها في "مكان الراحة". ثم استخدم الباحثون المستشعر لتتبع كيفية تصرف الطيور ومتى استأنفت هجرتها.

تقلص احتياطيات الدهون والاستراحة الممتدة

النتيجة: حتى جرعة واحدة من إيميداكلوبريد كان لها تأثير على طيور القطار. الغرير من كلا المجموعتين جرعة فقدت الوزن والدهون في الجسم أكثر من المجموعة الضابطة في الساعات القليلة بين تطبيق المبيدات والإفراج. ويعزو الباحثون هذا إلى حقيقة أن الطيور المعالجة خلال هذه الساعات الست كانت أقل ضحالة بكثير من خصوصياتها.

لكن الأمر الأكثر إثارة للدهشة هو أن الطيور المهاجرة المعرضة للنيونوتينات ظلت لفترة أطول بكثير في بقية المنطقة من مجموعة التحكم غير المعالجة. بينما طار الأخير بعد نصف يوم من الراحة ، استغرقت الراحة الباقية في غرف السقف المعالجة ثلاثة إلى أربعة أيام ، اعتمادًا على الجرعة. ويشير الباحثون إلى أن تمديد فترة الاستراحة هذه مرتبط بعجز التغذية: "من المحتمل أن يكونوا قد أخروا رحلتهم إلى الأمام لأنهم يحتاجون إلى مزيد من الوقت للتجديد وإمدادات الطاقة لديهم زيادة "، يقول المهندس.

عواقب التكاثر والبقاء

للوهلة الأولى ، لا يبدو هذا التأخير القصير في الهجرة سيئًا ، لكن بالنسبة للطيور يمكن أن يكون لذلك عواقب وخيمة. أولاً ، يتعرضون لخطر أكبر من الحيوانات المفترسة على الأرض. من ناحية أخرى ، يؤدي الاستراحة الأطول إلى وصول الطيور المغردة لاحقًا في أراضي تكاثرها. يقول زميل المهندس "كريستي موريسي": "قد يؤثر هذا التأخير بشكل خطير على نجاحهم في اختيار رفيقه وبناء العش".

وفقًا للباحثين ، فإن نتائجهم يمكن أن تفسر جزئيًا على الأقل سبب وكيفية تأثير النيكوتينينويدات على بقاء الطيور المغردة. "إن هذه الآثار غير الفتاكة لإيميداكلوبريد على سلوك التغذية والحالة البدنية ووقت الراحة ترتبط بوضوح ببقاء وتكاثر الطيور" ، يختتم المهندس وفريقها. "وبالتالي قد تؤثر على مجموعات من الطيور المهاجرة التي تستخدم عادة الموائل الزراعية لتجديدها." (Science ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1126 / science.aaw9419)

المصدر: جامعة ساسكاتشوان

- ناديا بودبريجار

Neonicotinoid harms migratory birds

Researchers show for the first time negative effect of Imidacloprid on wild birds

Researchers have for the first time shown negative effects of neonicotinoids on the behavior of migratory birds using wild badgers as an example. © Wolfgang Wander / CC-by-sa 3.0
Read out

Fatal feed: When songbirds eat seeds treated with pesticides, this affects their traction - and, at worst, even their survival, a study reveals. Accordingly, the neonicotinoid imidacloprid inhibits the appetite of the birds and extends their resting time by several days. As a result, the songbirds are more vulnerable to predators, they also arrive late at their destination - and then may no longer find a partner, as researchers report in the journal "Science".

Pesticides are considered to be one of the causes of the dramatic decline in insects, but also of field and songbirds. Above all suspected are the widely used neonicotinoids, which bind to receptors in the nervous system of insects. Nevertheless, these remedies have long been considered harmless to bees - which numerous studies have now refuted. Three of these ingredients, including imidacloprid, are now banned in the EU for outdoor use.

A tiny sensor with transmitter enabled researchers to follow bird behavior after re-exposure. © Margaret Eng

How dangerous are neonicotinoids for birds?

For vertebrates, however, the neonicotinoids were considered to be less toxic. But already in June 2019 a mass extinction of singing birds in California aroused massive doubts. Because there were dozens of gold-throats after the treatment of road trees with imidacloprid. Studies on captive-headed birds also indicate that even small doses of this neonicotinoid can massively affect the appetite and orientation of the birds.

But does this also apply to wild migrant birds, for example, when they rest on a sprayed field? Usually Zugv gel use such breaks for eating and thus to increase their fat and energy reserves. "Especially during the spring migration, birds are exposed to particularly high levels of neonicotinoid pollution, because at this time many of the pesticide-treated seeds are being planted, " explain Margaret Eng from the University of Saskatchewan and her colleagues.

Pesticide dose at the rest area

The consequences of eating contaminated seed for migratory birds have now been tested for the first time by Eng and her team on wild roach (Zonotrichia leucophrys). For their study, they caught 36 of these birds during their spring migration in Canada for a short time. Two groups of these birds received 1.2 or 3.9 milligrams of imidacloprid per kilogram of body weight. "These cans are in the range that a bird realistically picks up if it eats only a few treated seeds, " the researchers emphasize. display

All birds were weighed several hours before and after the pesticide administration, then received a tiny sensor and were released back at their "resting place". The researchers then used the sensor to track how the birds behaved and when they resumed their migration.

Shrunken fat reserves and extended break

The result: Even a single dose of imidacloprid had an effect on the train birds. The badgers of both dose groups lost more body weight and fat than the control group in the few hours between pesticide application and release. The researchers attribute this to the fact that the treated birds during these six hours significantly less fraught than their conspecifics.

Even more striking, however: the migratory birds exposed to the neonicotinoid remained much longer at the rest area than the untreated control group. While the latter flew on after half a day break, the rest break in the treated roof chambers took three to four days, depending on the dose. The researchers suggest that this extension of the break is related to the feeding deficit: "It is likely that they delayed their onward flight because they needed more time to regenerate and their energy supplies increase, "says Eng.

Consequences for reproduction and survival

At first glance, such a short delay in migration does not seem to be bad, but for birds this can have serious consequences. First, they are exposed to greater danger from predators on the ground. On the other hand, the longer break leads to the songbirds arriving later in their breeding grounds. "Such a delay can seriously affect their success in mate choice and nest building, " says Eng's colleague Christy Morrissey.

According to the researchers, their findings could at least partially explain why and how neonicotinoids affect the survival of songbirds. "These non-lethal effects of imidacloprid on feeding behavior, physical condition and resting time are clearly related to the survival and reproduction of the birds, " conclude Eng and her team. "They may therefore affect populations of migratory birds that typically use agro-habitats for their regeneration." (Science, 2019; doi: 10.1126 / science.aaw9419)

Source: University of Saskatchewan

- Nadja Podbregar