اكتشف المحيط الحالي كحارة سريعة للمحيطات

تنقل الكهرباء في أعماق البحار كميات هائلة من المياه من القطب الجنوبي إلى الشمال

يمتد التيار العميق المكتشف حديثًا شرق هضبة كيرغولين © NOAA
قراءة بصوت عال

يتم نقل ثمانية ملايين متر مكعب من المياه في الثانية بواسطة تيار محيطي تم اكتشافه حديثًا في المحيط الجنوبي. كما أفاد باحثون يابانيون في مجلة "Nature Geoscience" ، فإن التيار المتدفق شرق هضبة كيرغولين يجلب المياه العميقة شديدة البرودة من المياه العميقة في القطب الجنوبي إلى الشمال ، حيث يصل حجم الإنتاج إلى مستوى قياسي.

تقع هضبة كيرغولين على بعد حوالي 3000 كيلومتر غرب أستراليا في جنوب المحيط الهندي. منذ 110 ملايين عام ، غرقت القارة التي تشكلت بسبب الانفجارات البركانية منذ فترة طويلة ، وتشكل هضبة في أعماق البحار يبلغ عمقها حوالي كيلومتر إلى كيلومترين. الآن ، اكتشف علماء المحيطات في جامعة هوكايدو باليابان تيارًا لم يكن معروفًا من قبل على الحافة الشرقية لهذه الهضبة.

المياه العميقة من "المياه الجوفية" في القطب الجنوبي

من أجل دراستهم ، أودع ياسوشي فوكاماتشي وزملاؤه عدادات التدفق في المياه العميقة على الحافة الشرقية للهضبة لمدة عامين. اتضح أن 50 كيلومترا فقط ، ولكن التيار القوي نقل المياه العميقة الباردة إلى الشمال. يعود أصل الماء إلى ما يسمى بالمياه الجوفية في أنتاركتيكا ، وهي أكثر كثافة وأعمق مسطحات مائية ، والتي تشارك في الدورة الدموية العالمية للمحيطات. هذا فقط حوالي 0.2 درجة مئوية خزان المياه تلعب دورا هاما في عمليات تبادل الحرارة البحرية.

ثمانية ملايين متر مكعب في الثانية

كشفت قياسات التدفق أن التيار المكتشف الجديد لهذه المياه العميقة إلى الشمال يتدفق بسرعة غير عادية: سجلت أجهزة القياس في المتوسط ​​ثمانية ملايين متر مكعب في الثانية - أي أربعة أضعاف ما تم تحديده مسبقًا لفرع آخر من التدفق الخارجي للقارة القطبية الجنوبية. وبالتالي ، تعد Kerguelen-Nordstrom الجديدة الأسرع والأقوى ، والتي ثبت عمقها أقل من 3000 متر.

التيار الجديد ليس مثيرا للاهتمام فقط لعلماء المحيطات ، ولكن أيضا بالنسبة لبحوث المناخ ، وهذا "حزام ناقل" قوي من الماء البارد يلعب دورا هاما ، لأنه يوفر تعويض درجة الحرارة في البحار العالمية. عرض

(الطبيعة ، 26.04.2010 - NPO)

Newly discovered ocean current as an oceanic fast lane

Deep-sea electricity transports enormous amounts of water from the Antarctic to the north

The newly discovered deep current runs east of the Kergulen plateau © NOAA
Read out

Eight million cubic meters of water per second are transported by a newly discovered ocean current in the Southern Ocean. As Japanese researchers report in "Nature Geoscience", the current flowing east of the Kerguelen Plateau brings very cold deep water from deep Antarctic waters to the north and achieves a record-breaking production volume.

The Kerguelen Plateau is located about 3, 000 kilometers west of Australia in the south of the Indian Ocean. 110 million years ago, a continent formed by volcanic eruptions has long since sunk, forming a vast deep-sea plateau about one to two kilometers deep. Now, oceanographers at Hokkaido University in Japan have discovered a previously unknown ocean current on the eastern edge of this plateau.

Deep water from the Antarctic "groundwater"

For their study, Yasushi Fukamachi and his colleagues had deposited flow meters in deep water at the eastern edge of the plateau for two years. It turned out that only 50 kilometers wide, but strong current transported cold deep water to the north. The water has its origin in the so-called Antarctic groundwater, the densest and deepest body of water, which is involved in the global ocean circulation. This only about 0.2 ° C water reservoir plays an important role in the marine heat exchange processes.

Eight million cubic meters per second

The flow measurements revealed that the new discovered current of this deep water to the north flows unusually fast: the measuring devices recorded an average of eight million cubic meters per second - which is four times that of previously determined for another branch of the Antarctic outflow. Thus, this new Kerguelen-Nordstrom is the fastest and strongest, which has been proven at depths below 3, 000 meters.

The new current is not only interesting for oceanographers, but also for climate research, this powerful "conveyor belt" of cold water plays an important role, as it provides temperature compensation in the global seas. display

(Nature, 26.04.2010 - NPO)