غابات جديدة مثل توفير المناخ؟

تشجير 900 مليون هكتار من الغابات يمكن أن يبتلع ثلثي انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون

تعتبر الغابات قاتلة مهمة لثاني أكسيد الكربون - وهناك مساحة كافية على الأرض لإعادة تشجير 900 مليون هكتار من الغابات. © Xurzon / iStock
قراءة بصوت عال

مساحة كافية: في جميع أنحاء العالم ، يمكن إعادة تشجير حوالي 0.9 مليار هكتار من الأراضي إلى غابات جديدة - دون الحاجة إلى التخلي عن الحقول أو المستوطنات ، كما تكشف دراسة. ومع ذلك ، فإن العامل الحاسم هو أنه وفقًا للباحثين ، فإن مساحة الغابات الإضافية هذه كافية لابتلاع ثلثي انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون التي من صنع الإنسان. ووفقًا للباحثين في مجلة "العلوم" ، فإن الحفاظ على الغابات وتشجيرها يمكن أن يكون أحد أفضل الحلول لحماية المناخ.

الغابات ليست فقط "الرئة الخضراء" لكوكبنا - إنها تعمل أيضًا كحواجز مؤقتة في نظام المناخ. تمتص ثاني أكسيد الكربون تقريبًا ثلاثة تريليونات من الأشجار في جميع أنحاء العالم ، وبالتالي تسهم في تقليل محتوى ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي. ومع ذلك ، فإن حرائق الغابات وإزالة الغابات وتفتيت مجموعات الأشجار تزيد من الغابات وتقلل من استهلاك ثاني أكسيد الكربون. لذلك تعتبر حماية الغابات وتشجيرها منذ فترة طويلة جزءًا مهمًا من جهود حماية المناخ.

لكن ما حجم تأثير إعادة زراعة الغابات المستهدفة؟ وكم من مساحة سيكون لهذا على الأرض الدنيوية؟ وقدرت الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ في تقريرها الأخير عن المناخ العالمي أنه مع وجود حوالي مليار هكتار من الغابات الإضافية ، يمكن تخفيض الاحتباس الحراري إلى 1.5 درجة بحلول عام 2050. لكن إعادة التحريج ليست ممكنة في كل مكان: فالكثير من المناطق باردة جدًا أو جافة جدًا ، وهناك مناطق أخرى لازمة للأراضي الزراعية والمستوطنات والأنشطة البشرية الأخرى.

كم غابة هناك - وأين لا يزال هناك هواء؟

يقدم الآن جان فرانسوا باستين من ETH زيورخ شخصيات ملموسة. وللمرة الأولى ، حددوا مكان وجود الأرض الحرجية الإضافية المحتملة على الأرض. للقيام بذلك ، قاموا بتقييم البيانات حول ما يقرب من 80،000 غابة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ورسمت في البداية مخزون الغابات الحالي. ثم استخدموا البيانات المناخية لتحديد أي مناطق من الغابات الإضافية يمكن أن تنمو.

النتيجة: "من حيث المبدأ ، يمكن أن تنتج مساحة الأرض الأرضية غابات تبلغ مساحتها 4.4 مليار هكتار من مساحة التاج في ظل الظروف المناخية الحالية" ، حسبما ذكر باستن وفريقه. "هذا يمثل 1.6 مليار هكتار أكثر مما هو موجود اليوم". ومع ذلك ، فإن المناطق اللازمة للزراعة والمستوطنات في جميع أنحاء العالم يجب أن تؤخذ منه.
"نظرًا لأن هذه المناطق ضرورية للحفاظ على عدد سكان العالم المتزايد" ، أكد الباحثون. عرض

مساحة حرة كبيرة مثل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

ومع ذلك ، فإن هذا يعني أن 0.9 مليار هكتار من الأراضي المتبقية للتشجير وتجديد الغابات ستبقى في العالم - وهذا يتوافق مع المنطقة تقريبًا الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. سيكون هناك مساحة كافية على كوكبنا لأحواض ثاني أكسيد الكربون الإضافية. تقع العديد من مناطق التشجير المحتملة هذه في مناطق سبق أن أزيلت منها الغابات والغابات أو غيرها من الأحداث ، بينما لا يزال في المناطق الأخرى سوى عدد ضئيل من الأشجار التي يمكن تكثيفها.

تُظهر الخريطة المناطق المتاحة لإعادة التحريج في جميع أنحاء العالم. باستن وآخرون. / ETH زيوريخ

ولكن أين هي هذه المناطق الحرجية المحتملة؟ يقول باستن وزملاؤه "أكثر من نصف هذه الإمكانية موزعة على ست ولايات فقط". يمكن تحريج 151 مليون هكتار في روسيا في هذا البلد تم تدمير مناطق غابات هائلة بسبب الحريق في السنوات الأخيرة. يوجد 103 ملايين هكتار أخرى في الولايات المتحدة و 78.4 مليون هكتار في كندا. يمكن أن تساهم أستراليا بـ 58 مليون هكتار والصين 40.2 مليون هكتار.

يكفي لثلثي انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون

ولكن ما فائدة هذا لحماية المناخ؟ لهذا ، قام الباحثون بحساب كمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون التي يمكن أن تمتصها مناطق الغابات الإضافية. والنتيجة: "نقدر أن الغطاء النباتي في مناطق إعادة التحريج هذه يمكن أن يوفر 205 مليارات طن إضافية من الكربون". حسب رأيهم ، فإن هذا يتوافق مع حوالي ثلثي حوالي 300 جيجا طن من الكربون التي تنبعثها البشرية في الغلاف الجوي كثاني أكسيد الكربون منذ الثورة الصناعية. ومع ذلك ، ووفقًا لحسابات أخرى ، فإن حمل الكربون الناتج عن الأنشطة البشرية أعلى بكثير.

يقول مؤلف مشارك توم كراوثر من ETH زيورخ: "تشير دراستنا بوضوح إلى أن التشجير هو أفضل حل متاح لتغير المناخ في الوقت الحالي". "إنه حل المناخ الذي يمكننا جميعًا المساهمة فيه: يمكن للجميع زراعة الأشجار ، والتبرع لتجديد الغابات أو استثمار الأموال في الشركات الصديقة للمناخ".

سباق مع الزمن

ومع ذلك ، فإن الوقت يضغط ، كما يؤكد كراوثر: "نحن بحاجة إلى العمل بسرعة ، لأن الأمر سيستغرق عقودا لتنضج الغابات وتستغل إمكاناتها كمخزن طبيعي لثاني أكسيد الكربون. "بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن فقدان الغابات الحالية مستمر في التقدم. لا سيما في غابات الأمازون المطيرة البرازيلية وفي جنوب شرق آسيا يتم تدمير المزيد من مناطق الغابات لإفساح المجال أمام المراعي أو المزارع.

"من منظور المناخ ، لذلك ، وكلاهما مهم. وعلق كارلهينز إيرب من جامعة الموارد الطبيعية وعلوم الحياة التطبيقية في فيينا على الدراسة قائلاً: "تجنب إزالة الغابات حتى لا تزيد من الانبعاثات والتحريج من أجل ربط الكربون بالانبعاثات". هذا مهم ، في رأيه ، لأن المؤلفين لم يأخذوا في الاعتبار جميع العوامل المحددة في تقديرهم لمناطق التحريج المتاحة. على سبيل المثال ، هناك نقص في الطلب المتزايد على الأراضي الصالحة للزراعة أو استخدام الحطب من قبل عدد سكان العالم المتزايد.

يقول إرب: "يترتب على ذلك أن التحريج ليس سلاحًا معجزة ، لكن يجب أن يكون جزءًا من الحل". يرى فيليكس كروتزيج من مركز أبحاث مركاتور الأشياء بطريقة مماثلة: "على الرغم من إمكاناتها ، فإن التحريج لا يمكن أن يكون سوى أحد التدابير الكثيرة لحماية المناخ. من الضروري الخروج السريع عن النموذج الاقتصادي الأحفوري. "(Science، 2019؛ doi: 10.1126 / science.aax0848)

المصدر: ETH Zurich ، AAAS

- ناديا بودبريجار

New forests as climate saver?

Afforestation of 900 million hectares of forest could swallow two thirds of CO2 emissions

Forests are important CO2 killers - and there is enough space on earth to reforest 900 million hectares of forest. © Xurzon / iStock
Read out

Space enough: Worldwide, about 0.9 billion hectares of land could be reforested to new forests - without having to give way to fields or settlements, as a study reveals. However, the deciding factor is that, according to the researchers, this additional forest area is sufficient to swallow two-thirds of man-made CO2 emissions. Forest conservation and afforestation could thus be one of the best solutions for climate protection, according to the researchers in the journal "Science".

Forests are not only the "green lung" of our planet - they also act as buffers in the climate system. The roughly three trillion trees worldwide absorb CO2 and thus contribute to reducing the CO2 content of the atmosphere. However, forest fires, deforestation and the fragmentation of tree populations increase the forests and also reduce their CO2 intake. Forest protection and afforestation have therefore long been considered an important part of climate protection efforts.

But how big would the climate effect of targeted reforestation be? And how much room would there be for this on the earthly land? The IPCC estimated in its latest World Climate Report that with around one billion hectares of additional forest, global warming could be reduced to 1.5 degrees by 2050. But reforestation is not everywhere possible: many regions are too cold or too dry, others are needed for agricultural land, settlements and other human activities.

How much forest is there - and where is there still air?

Concrete figures are now provided by Jean-Francois Bastin of the ETH Zurich and his colleagues. For the first time, they have identified where on earth the potential for additional forest land exists. To do so, they evaluated data on nearly 80, 000 forests worldwide and initially mapped the existing forest stock. Then they used climatic data to determine which areas of additional forest could grow.

The result: "In principle, the terrestrial land area could produce forests with 4.4 billion hectares of crown area under the existing climatic conditions, " report Bastin and his team. "That is 1.6 billion hectares more than exists today." However, the areas that are needed for agriculture and settlements worldwide have to be taken away from it.
"Because these areas are needed to sustain the growing world population, " emphasize the researchers. display

Free space as big as the USA

However, this means that 0.9 billion hectares of land remaining for afforestation and forest regeneration will remain in the world this corresponds approximately to the area the USA. There would be enough space on our planet for additional CO2 sinks. Many of these potential afforestation areas are also located in areas that have previously been deforested by forests, storms or other events, while other areas still have only a sparse tree population that could be densified

The map shows the areas available for reforestation worldwide. Bastin et al. / ETH Zurich

But where are these potential forest areas? "More than half of this potential is spread over only six states, " report Bastin and his colleagues. 151 million hectares could be afforested in Russia in this country enormous forest areas have been destroyed by fire in recent years. Another 103 million hectares are in the US and 78.4 million hectares in Canada. Australia could contribute 58 million hectares and China 40.2 million hectares.

Enough for two thirds of CO2 emissions

But what good is that for climate protection? For this, the researchers calculated how much CO2 the additional forest areas could absorb. The result: "We estimate that the vegetation in these reforestation areas could save an additional 205 billion tons of carbon, " they report. According to them, this corresponds to about two-thirds of the roughly 300 gigatonnes of carbon that humanity has emitted into the atmosphere as CO2 since the Industrial Revolution. However, according to other calculations, this anthropogenic carbon load is significantly higher.

"Our study clearly shows that afforestation is currently the best available solution to climate change, " says co-author Tom Crowther of ETH Zurich. "And it is a climate solution that we can all contribute to: everyone can plant trees, donate for forest regeneration or invest money in climate-friendly companies."

Race against time

However, time is pressing, as Crowther emphasizes: "We need to act quickly, because it will take decades for forests to mature and exploit their potential as natural CO2 storage. "In addition, the loss of existing forests continues to progress. Especially in the Brazilian Amazon Rainforest and in Southeast Asia more and more forest areas are being destroyed to make room for pastures or plantations.

"From a climate perspective, therefore, both are important. Avoiding deforestation so as not to increase emissions and afforestation in order to bind carbon from emissions, "Karlheinz Erb from the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences in Vienna commented on the study. This is important, in his view, because the authors did not take into account all limiting factors in their estimate of available afforestation areas. For example, there is a lack of increasing demand for arable land or the use of wood by the growing world population.

"It follows that afforestation is probably not a miracle weapon, but must be part of a solution, " says Erb. Felix Creutzig from the Mercator Research Center also sees things in a similar way: "In spite of its potential, afforestation can only be one of many measures for climate protection. A rapid departure from the fossil economic model is necessary. "(Science, 2019; doi: 10.1126 / science.aax0848)

Source: ETH Zurich, AAAS

- Nadja Podbregar