النرويج: السفينة المخفية فايكنغ المكتشفة

الرادار الأرضي يكشف عن بقايا قارب طويل تحت تل الدفن السابق

إعادة بناء Viksletta في المنطقة النرويجية اكتشف Grave Hill مع Viking Ship © LBI ArchPro
قراءة بصوت عال

اكتشاف مذهل: في النرويج ، اكتشف علماء الآثار بقايا تل دفن الفايكنج مع سفينة فايكنغ مدفونة فيه. القارب الذي يبلغ طوله 20 مترًا محفوظ جيدًا على الأقل جزئيًا ، على النحو الذي تشير إليه التحقيقات في الرادار. هذه مجرد سفينة فايكنغ الثالثة التي تم العثور عليها في حالة جيدة في النرويج. مثيرة أيضًا: على مقربة من السفينة ، اكتشف الباحثون رفات ثمانية مقابر أخرى لدفن الفايكنج وخمس منازل طويلة.

سيطر الفايكنج على بحار أوروبا لعدة قرون وحتى تقدم إلى جرينلاند وأمريكا الشمالية. غطت مستوطناتهم ومراكزهم التجارية ، وكذلك الحصون العسكرية المناطق الساحلية في شمال أوروبا والجزر البريطانية. كانت صلاتهم الوثيقة بالبحر والشحن واضحة أيضًا في قبورهم: غالبًا ما دُفن الفايكنج رفيع المستوى تحت تل الدفن على متن سفينة.

سفينة الفايكينغ تحت الميدان

وقد اكتشف علماء الآثار في تل جنوب شرق النرويج الآن مثل تل الدفن مع سفينة فايكنغ. باستخدام رادار أرضي عالي الدقة ، حدد الباحثون في المعهد النرويجي لأبحاث التراث الثقافي (NIKU) الخطوط العريضة لسفينة يبلغ طولها 20 مترًا على بعد حوالي 50 سنتيمترًا من سطح الأرض. في حين أن تل الدفن المغطي قد تم تطهيره الآن من الحرث ، إلا أن السفينة لا تزال بحالة جيدة ، على الأقل في الجزء السفلي.

صورة رادار أرضي لسفينة Viking © LBI ArchPro

"نحن متأكدون من أن سفينة دفنت هنا. يقول مورتن هانيش ، كونسرفتور أوستفولد ، مورتن هانيش ، أوستفولد: "من الصعب فعلاً تحديد مقدار ما يتم الحفاظ عليه بالفعل". ولكن هناك أدلة واضحة على أن العارضة والجزء السفلي من السفينة لا تزال محفوظة بشكل جيد في هذا القبر. من المخطط إجراء مزيد من التحقيقات غير المدمرة لرسم الخرائط لهذا البحث الخاص والمناظر الطبيعية المحيطة رقمياً.

مزيد من تلال الدفن والبيوت الطويلة

"هذا الاكتشاف مثير للغاية ، حيث أننا نعرف فقط ثلاث سفن من الفايكينج المحفوظة جيدًا في النرويج ، وقد تم استخراجها جميعًا منذ أكثر من 100 عام" ، كما أوضح كنوت باسشي من NIKU. "هذه السفينة لها أهمية تاريخية كبيرة لأننا نستطيع دراستها بأحدث وسائل علم الآثار." العرض

كما تم الكشف عن مزيد من التحقيقات بواسطة رادار أرضي ، فإن سفينة الفايكينج ليست هي الإرث الوحيد من نوع الفايكينغ في هذا المجال: "هذه السفينة لا تعزل ، لكنها كانت جزءًا من حقل كبير يمثل القوة والتأثير من بعيد" يقول لارس غوستافسن ، مدير المشروع في NIKU. على مقربة من السفينة ، وجد علماء الآثار رفات ثمانية مقابر أخرى دمرها المحراث.

بالإضافة إلى تلال الدفن التي كانت ذات يوم ، اكتشف الرادار الأرضي رفات خمس منازل طويلة ، بعضها بحجم كبير ، حسبما ذكر الباحثون. وبالتالي ، يمكن أن يكون حقل العشب المكتشف حديثًا واسعًا مثل حقل رواسب بوري في فيستفولد على الجانب الآخر من مضيق أوسلو. تعتبر واحدة من أغنى التجمعات من Kinggrubs من الفايكنج في الدول الاسكندنافية.

اكتشاف سفينة الفايكينغ و Grabh gel LBI ArchPro

(جمعية لودفيغ بولتسمان ، 16.10.2018 - NPO)

Norway: Hidden Viking ship discovered

Ground radar reveals remnants of a longboat under a former burial mound

Reconstruction of the Viksletta in the norwegian area Discover Grave Hill with Viking Ship © LBI ArchPro
Read out

Spectacular find: In Norway, archaeologists have discovered remains of a Viking burial mound with a Viking ship buried in it. The 20-meter-long long boat is at least partially well preserved, as suggested by radar investigations. That's just the third Viking ship that was found in good condition in Norway. Exciting also: In the vicinity of the ship, the researchers have discovered the remains of eight other Viking burial mounds and five longhouses.

The Vikings dominated the seas of Europe for centuries and even advanced to Greenland and North America. Their settlements and trading centers, but also military fortresses covered the coastal areas of northern Europe and the British Isles. Their close ties to the sea and shipping were also evident in their graves: High-ranking Vikings were often buried under a burial mound with a ship.

Viking ship under the field

Such a burial mound together with a Viking ship has now been discovered by archaeologists in southeastern Norway. Using a high-resolution ground radar, the researchers at the Norwegian Institute for Cultural Heritage Research (NIKU) identified the outline of a 20-meter-long ship about 50 centimeters below the ground surface. While the overlying burial mound is now cleared of plowing, the ship still seems well preserved, at least in the lower part.

Ground radar image of the Viking ship © LBI ArchPro

"We are sure that a ship is buried here. How much is actually preserved, is difficult to say before further research, "says Morten Hanisch, State Conservator of Østfold. But there is clear evidence that the keel and the lower part of the ship are still well preserved in this grave. Further non-destructive investigations are planned to digitally map this particular find and the surrounding landscape.

More burial mounds and longhouses

"This find is extremely exciting, as we only know three well-preserved Viking ships in Norway, all dug out over 100 years ago, " explains Knut Paasche from the NIKU. "This ship is of great historical importance because we can study it with the most modern means of archeology." Display

As further investigations by means of ground radar revealed, the Viking ship is not the only Viking legacy in this area: "This ship finds not isolated, but was part of a large field, which represented power and influence from far away" says Lars Gustavsen, project manager at NIKU. Close to the ship, the archaeologists have located the remains of eight other tombs destroyed by the plow.

In addition to the once monumental burial mounds, the ground radar has unearthed the remains of five longhouses, some of them of considerable size, the researchers report. Thus, the newly discovered grass field could be as extensive as that of the Borre deposit in Vestfold on the opposite side of the Oslo fjord. It is considered one of the richest gatherings of Kinggrubs of the Vikings in Scandinavia.

Discovery of the Viking Ship and the Grabh gel LBI ArchPro

(Ludwig Boltzmann Society, 16.10.2018 - NPO)