الاكتشافات المكتشفة للحملة الصليبية الأولى

الاكتشافات الأثرية تؤكد تقليد فتح القدس من قبل الصليبيين

الصليبيون على أبواب القدس (التمثيل الفرنسي لعام 1270) © gemeinfrei
قراءة بصوت عال

بسم الله: خلال الحملة الصليبية الأولى ، تم غزو القدس بقسوة من قبل جيش صليبي. اكتشف علماء الآثار الآن آثارًا مثيرة لهذا الحصار منذ ما يقرب من ألف عام. لقد وصلوا إلى خندق استخدمه سكان المدينة للدفاع دفاعًا عن سور المدينة - وهي تفاصيل لم تكن معروفة من قبل إلا من خلال النصوص التاريخية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قام الفريق بإيواء رؤوس الأسهم والمجوهرات الثمينة التي ربما تكون فريسة للصليبيين.

كانت الحروب الصليبية مرحلة تكوينية لتاريخ أوروبا والشرق الأوسط. منذ عام 1095 ، توجه مئات الآلاف من الصليبيين والجنود المشاة من مناطق مختلفة من قارتنا إلى "الأرض المقدسة" لتحرير هذا وقبل كل شيء مدينة القدس ، التي تعد مهمة للمسيحية ، من أيدي المسلمين.

منظر للموقع الأثري في Zionsberg © UNC Charlotte

"أنهار الدم"

بالفعل خلال الحملة الصليبية الأولى ، التي بدأت كحج مسلح من العلمانيين ، كانت هناك عاصفة على القدس. وفقًا للتقاليد التاريخية ، وصل الصليبيون إلى المدينة المقدسة في يونيو عام 1099 ، والتي كانت في ذلك الوقت تحت حكم الفاطميين المصريين. لمدة خمسة أسابيع ، زعم أنهم حاصروا القدس قبل احتلالها أخيرًا للمدينة بعد معركة خاسرة وتسببوا في ذبح قاسي.

ويوضح شمعون جيبسون من جامعة نورث كارولينا في شارلوت أن "المؤرخين يتحدثون عن أنهار دماء تتدفق عبر شوارع القدس - وهذا قد لا يكون مبالغًا فيه". لذلك ، لا يُقال إن الصليبيين قتلوا فقط الفاطميين المسلمين واليهود ، ولكن أيضًا المسيحيين الباقين في المدينة. يقول المؤرخ: "كان المسيحيون المحليون هرطقين مثل المسلمين واليهود".

خندق للدفاع

يؤكد الاكتشاف الأثري على تفاصيل مثيرة للاهتمام حول مسار الحصار المفروض على القدس منذ ما يقرب من ألف عام: صادف جيبسون وزملاؤه آثار خندق على جبل صهيون ، دافع عنه الفاطميون على طول الطريق جدار مدينة منقط. منع هذا الخندق المهاجمين من إنشاء برج الحصار الخاص بهم على الحائط ووفر وقتًا ثمينًا لسكان المدينة - على الأقل هذا هو الأسطورة. عرض

ومع ذلك ، كانت الأدلة الملموسة لوجود هذا الخندق مفقودة حتى الآن: "يمكننا الآن أن نؤكد لأول مرة ما ورد ذكره في النصوص التاريخية المهمة مرارًا وتكرارًا" ، يقول جيبسون. كما قال هو وفريقه ، فإن تاريخ طبقات التربة كشف أنه في موقع من القرن الحادي عشر ، تم حفر هيكل يبلغ عرضه حوالي 17 مترًا وعمقه أربعة أمتار ، وتم ملؤه لاحقًا بالمواد.

ربما كان هذا القرط من اللؤلؤ المطرز بالذهب جزءًا من الغنيمة الصليبية. دبليو فرجينيا ويذرز

السهام وقطع المجوهرات

ولكن هذا ليس كل شيء: على مقربة من الخندق ، صادف فريق البحث أيضًا عددًا من القطع الأثرية من تلك الفترة - بما في ذلك رؤوس الأسهم والمعلقات البرونزية المتقاطعة ، وزخرفة فريدة مزينة باللؤلؤ والحصى متعددة الألوان مصنوعة من الذهب. يقول جيبسون: "كان من الممكن أن تكون المجوهرات من أصل مصري وكانت بمثابة حلق أو حجاب". من المؤكد أن الاكتشاف هو فريسة الصليبيين.

المثير للاهتمام ، ومع ذلك ، ليس فقط يجد أنفسهم ، ولكن أيضا مكان الاكتشاف. بالنسبة للعلماء أخفوا المصنوعات اليدوية من أنقاض مبنى دمره الزلزال. إنهم يشكون في أن الهيكل دمر بفعل زلزال 1033 ، وبالتالي فقد كان خرابًا حتى قبل هجوم الصليبيين. "يمكن للمرء أن يتخيل أن الصليبيين الذين هاجموا المدينة من الجنوب استخدموا هذا الخراب كغطاء ،" يتكهن جيبسون.

ناجحة فقط من الشمال

النتائج الجديدة في الحملة الصليبية الأولى ، حسب الباحثين ، لها قيمة خاصة ، لأن المعركة تمثل لحظة حاسمة في تاريخ القدس. "إن الفتح الصليبي هو واحد من العديد من الأحداث الكارثية في تاريخ المدينة الدرامي والعنيف" ، يفسرون في مذكرة.

بالمناسبة ، وفقًا للتقاليد ، كان للخندق الذي حفره الفاطميون تأثير بالفعل. على الرغم من أن المهاجمين حاولوا ملء الاكتئاب والتغلب على الحاجز - في النهاية ، لم يتمكنوا من احتلال القدس من الجنوب. فقط من الشمال كانوا ناجحين. يأمل علماء الآثار في أن يوفر المزيد من عمليات التنقيب والتحليل للاكتشافات مزيدًا من التفاصيل حول فتح المدينة المقدسة في أعقاب الحملة الصليبية الأولى للتاريخ.

المصدر: جامعة كارولينا الشمالية شارلوت

- دانيال ألبات

Discovered relics of the First Crusade

Archaeological finds confirm the tradition of the conquest of Jerusalem by the crusaders

Crusaders at the gates of Jerusalem (French representation of 1270) © gemeinfrei
Read out

In the name of God: During the First Crusade, Jerusalem was cruelly conquered by a Crusader army. Archaeologists have now discovered exciting relics of this siege nearly a thousand years ago. They came upon a ditch that the inhabitants of the city used to defend in defense of the city wall - a detail previously only known from historical texts. In addition, the team harbored arrowheads and precious jewelery that are probably prey to the crusaders.

The Crusades were a formative phase for the history of Europe and the Middle East. From the year 1095, hundreds of thousands of Crusaders and foot soldiers from various regions of our continent made their way to the "Holy Land" to liberate this and above all the city of Jerusalem, important for Christianity, from the hands of the Muslims.

View of the archaeological site on Zionsberg © UNC Charlotte

"Rivers of blood"

Already during the First Crusade, which began as an armed pilgrimage of laymen, there was a storm on Jerusalem. According to historical tradition, the Crusaders reached the holy city in June 1099, which at the time was under the rule of the Egyptian Fatimids. For five weeks, they allegedly besieged Jerusalem before finally conquering the city after a losing battle and causing a cruel slaughter.

"The historians speak of rivers of blood flowing through the streets of Jerusalem - and that may not be an exaggeration, " explains Shimon Gibson of the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. So the Crusaders are said not only to have killed Muslim Fatimids and Jews, but also Christians remaining in the city. "The local Christians were as heretical as the Muslims and the Jews, " says the historian.

A ditch for defense

An archaeological find confirms interesting details on the course of this siege of Jerusalem almost a thousand years ago: Gibson and his colleagues have come across traces of a moat on Mount Zion, which the Fatimids defended along the s dotted city wall. This ditch prevented the attackers from setting up their siege tower on the wall and provided valuable time for the city's residents - at least that's the legend. display

However, tangible evidence for the existence of this trench was missing so far: "We can now confirm for the first time what is mentioned in important historical texts again and again, " states Gibson. As he and his team report, dating of soil layers revealed that at the site of the eleventh century, a structure about 17 meters wide and four meters deep was dug, later filled with material.

This gold beaded pearl earring was probably part of the crusader booty. W Virginia Withers

Arrowheads and jewelry pieces

But that's not all: Nearby the trench, the research team also came across a number of artifacts from that period - including arrowheads, bronze cross pendant and a unique decorated with pearls and colorful pebbles Schmuckst made of gold. "The jewelry could have been of Egyptian origin and acted as an earring or veil holder, " says Gibson. He is certain that the find is prey of the crusaders.

Interesting, however, are not only the finds themselves, but also the place of discovery. For the scientists hid the artefacts from the ruins of an earthquake-damaged building. They suspect that the structure was destroyed by the earthquake of 1033 and thus was a ruin even before the crusaders attack. "One can imagine that the Crusaders who attacked the city from the south used this ruin as cover, " Gibson speculates.

Only successful from the north

The new findings on the First Crusade are, according to the researchers, of particular value, as the battle marks a defining moment in the history of Jerusalem. "The Crusader conquest is one of several catastrophic events in the city's dramatic and violent history, " they explain in a memo.

By the way, according to tradition, the trench excavated by the Fatimids has actually had an effect. Although the attackers tried to fill the depression and overcome the barrier - in the end, they could not conquer Jerusalem from the south. Only from the north were they successful. The archaeologists hope that further excavation and analysis of the finds will soon provide more details on the conquest of the holy city in the wake of the first crusade of history.

Source: University of North Carolina Charlotte

- Daniel Albat