صدع في أحد أكبر الأنهار الجليدية في القطب الجنوبي

يمكن أن تفقد جبال الصنوبر الجليدية جبل جليدي بحجم دورتموند

Crack in the ice: صدع مشابه لهذا الكراك من أكتوبر 2011 مرة أخرى في فجوات الجرف في Pine Island Glacier. © ناسا آيس بريدج
قراءة بصوت عال

اقتحام الجليد: توشك جزيرة باين آيلاند الجليدية في غرب القطب الجنوبي على قطع جبل جليدي ضخم. تُظهر صور الأقمار الصناعية صدعًا كبيرًا يمتد بالفعل عبر ثلاثة أرباع اللسان الجليدي. إذا استمر انقطاع الكيلومتر 30 ، فإن جبل جليدي مساحته 300 كيلومتر مربع يمكن أن يكسر الأنهار الجليدية. وبهذا ، فإن الواجهة الجليدية للأنهار الجليدية الأسرع في أنتاركتيكا ستتراجع ستة كيلومترات أخرى.

يعد Pine Island Glacier الذي يبلغ طوله 250 كيلومترًا واحدًا من أكبر وأسرع مجاري الجليد في القطب الجنوبي. تضم منطقة مستجمعات المياه عشرة في المائة من الغطاء الجليدي في غرب القطب الجنوبي. ولكن هذا النهر الجليدي هو أحد مجاري الجليد التي ذوبان الجليد أكثر فأكثر - ربما يكون ذوبانها لا رجعة فيه ، كما أفاد الباحثون قبل بضع سنوات. على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية ، أرفقت أرفف الجليد الممتدة من النهر الجليدي إلى بحر أمندسن مرارًا وتكرارًا الجبال الجليدية الضخمة ، وكان آخرها في عام 2017.

30 كيلومترا طويلة الكراك

الآن ، على ما يبدو ، هناك عملية هدم جديدة للجبال الجليدية ، كما قال ستيف ليرميت ، الجيولوجي بجامعة دلفت ، على موقع تويتر (StefLhermitte). في صور الأقمار الصناعية لنهر باين آيلاند الجليدي ، اكتشف قبل أيام بالفعل حوالي 30 كيلومترًا صدعًا في لسان النهر الجليدي. يقول الباحث: "هذا يشير إلى الوشيك الوشيك لجبل جليدي مساحته 300 كيلومتر مربع تقريبًا". سيكون هذا الجبل الجليدي أكبر من العام الماضي.

الكراك الجديد (الأزرق) وحافة الهدم للجليد الجليدي لعام 2017 على Pine Island Glacier © Stef Lhermitte / Delft University of Technology استنادًا إلى صور لاندسات

حتى الفصل الكامل لهذه القطعة فقط عشرة كيلومترات مفقودة. يقول Lhermitte: "إذا استمر هذا الكسر ، فإن الجزء الجليدي من الجبل الجليدي يمكن أن يتحول مرة أخرى من خمسة إلى ستة كيلومترات أخرى". "قد يكون هدم الجبال الجليدية سادس سفين رئيسي لهذا الجبل الجليدي منذ عام 2001 بعد B-44 العام الماضي." عندما يحدث هذا ، لا يزال غير مؤكد ، لكن Lhermitte تقدر أنه سيكون في غضون بضعة أسابيع إلى أشهر.

إذابة من الأسفل

أصل الشقوق في النهر الجليدي في منتصف الجرف الجليدي ، حيث يتلامس اللسان الجليدي العائم مع المياه الدافئة في بحر Sûdolar. لقد سبق للباحثين عن الجليد في العام الماضي أن قرروا أن الخنادق العميقة في قاع بحيرة أموندسن توجه مياه البحر بعيدًا عن الغطاء الجليدي وتتحرك مثل ذوبان الجليد فيوبودنهايزونج. عرض

في الآونة الأخيرة ، قرر علماء الجليد أن تساقط الجليد في بحر أموندسن قد تضاعف ثلاث مرات تقريبًا منذ التسعينيات. تتأثر بشكل خاص نهر الصنوبر الجليدي وجليتها Thwaites المجاورة. على الرغم من أنه أمر طبيعي بالنسبة للأنهار الجليدية أن يسكن الجبال الجليدية. لكن هذه الجداول الجليدية تسببت في فقدان الصفائح الجليدية الكبيرة في السنوات الأخيرة.

(ستيف Lhermitte ، ناسا ، 10/10/2018 - NPO)

Crack in one of the largest Antarctic glacier

Pine Island Glacier could lose an iceberg of the size of Dortmund

Crack in the ice: A similar crack as this one from October 2011 gapes again in the shelf of the Pine Island Glacier. © NASA Ice Bridge
Read out

Break in the ice: The Pine Island Glacier in the West Antarctic is about to break off a huge iceberg. Satellite imagery shows a big crack, which already runs through three quarters of the glacier tongue. If the 30-kilometer break continues, an iceberg 300 square kilometers in size could break off the glacier. With that, the ice front of the fastest-flowing Antarctic glacier would retreat another six kilometers.

The 250-kilometer Pine Island Glacier is one of the largest and fastest ice streams in the Antarctic. Its catchment area comprises ten percent of the West Antarctic ice sheet. But just this glacier is one of the ice streams that thaw more and more - maybe its melt is even irreversible, as researchers reported a few years ago. Over the last few years, ice shelves stretching from the glacier into the Amundsen Sea have repeatedly calved huge icebergs, most recently in 2017.

30 kilometers long crack

Now, apparently, a new iceberg demolition is on, as Stef Lhermitte, a geologist at the University of Delft, reported on Twitter (@StefLhermitte). In satellite images of the Pine Island glacier, he has discovered a few days ago already about 30 kilometers long crack in the glacier tongue. "This indicates the imminent calving of an approximately 300 square kilometer iceberg, " says the researcher. This iceberg would be even bigger than last year.

The new crack (blue) and the demolition edge of the iceberg of 2017 on the Pine Island Glacier © Stef Lhermitte / Delft University of Technology based on Landsat images

Until the complete separation of this piece only ten kilometers are missing. "If this break continues, the ice front of the glacier could shift back another five to six kilometers, " says Lhermitte. "The iceberg demolition could be the sixth major calving of this glacier since 2001 after B-44 last year." When this happens, it is still uncertain, but Lhermitte estimates that it will be in a few weeks to months.

Thawed from below

The crack in the glacier has its origin in the middle of the ice shelf, there, as the floating glacier tongue comes into contact with the warmer waters of the Sûdolar Sea. Already in the last year ice researchers had determined that deep trenches at the bottom of the Amundsen lake direct the sea water far under the ice cover and drive like a Fu bodenheizung the glacier melt. display

Just recently, glaciologists have determined that ice loss in the Amundsen Sea has almost tripled since the 1990s. Particularly affected are the Pine Island Glacier and the neighboring Thwaites Glacier. Although it is normal for glaciers to calve icebergs. But these ice streams have been causing the loss of large ice sheets in recent years.

(Stef Lhermitte, NASA, 10/10/2018 - NPO)