لغز حول العقيق التروس

هل استطاعت الميكروبات حفر الأنفاق الصغيرة في الأحجار الكريمة؟

الكريستال العقيق مع مقاطع صغيرة لا تعد ولا تحصى. كيف أتوا؟ © Ivarsson et al ، 2018
قراءة بصوت عال

ظاهرة غامضة: الممرات الصغيرة والثقوب المحفورة في معادن العقيق تجعل التخمين. لأن كيفية وصول هذه الأنفاق الصغيرة إلى الأحجار الكريمة لم يعرف بعد. وقد حلل الباحثون الآن بعض قنابل الأنفاق هذه بمزيد من التفصيل. اكتشفوا أدلة على أن الميكروبات قد تحفر هذه الممرات. بالنظر إلى صلابة القنبلة الكبيرة ، سيكون هذا غير عادي للغاية.

كانت الأصداف الحمراء المتلألئة غالبًا مرغوبة كأحجار كريمة في العصور القديمة ، وكانت تسمى في القرون الوسطى كارفونكلستين. وراء هذه العناوين الجماعية يخفي مجموعة كاملة من المعادن السيليكية ، والتي تحصل على ظلالها الملونة من خلال ذرات أجنبية مختلفة. لكن القنابل اليدوية وحدها ولكن شفافية ، شعرية الكريستال مكعب لهم وصلابة خاصة.

الحواجز والشبكات المتفرعة

ولكن هذه القساوة في القنابل اليدوية هي التي تجعل هذه الظاهرة محيرة بشكل خاص: بعض هذه الجواهر متقاطعة عبر شبكة من التروس الصغيرة. على الرغم من أن هذه المعادن صعبة للغاية ومقاومة للكيماويات ، يجب أن يكون هناك شيء حفر من خلال هذه البلورات. ولكن ماذا؟ قام ماغنوس إيفارسون من جامعة جنوب الدنمارك في أودنسي وزملاؤه بالتحقيق في هذا السؤال وبحثوا في أنفاق الغرانيت الغامضة باستخدام أحدث طرق التحليل المجهري والتحليلي.

اكتشفوا أن هذه القنوات الصغيرة تغادر دائمًا سطح العقيق ولها مقطع دائري إلى المقطع العرضي السداسي. نحو الداخل ، تصبح الأنفاق التي يتراوح سمكها بين 5 و 100 ميكرومتر أضيق وتنتهي بطرف رفيع. ومع ذلك ، فإن بنية أنظمة المشية هذه متنوعة بشكل مدهش: "يمتد النطاق من الحواجز المنتظمة بشكل صارم من الأنفاق المتوازية إلى الشبكات المتفرعة والمنضبطة بشكل غير منتظم" ، وفقًا لما ذكره الباحثون.

صورة مجهرية لشبكة نفق معقدة في العقيق © Ivarsson et al، 2018

من كان المؤلف؟

لكن السؤال الرئيسي كان: هل هناك أي أدلة على أصلها داخل أنفاق العقيق هذه؟ حتى الآن ، تعتبر هذه العيوب وما شابهها في المعادن غير حيوية في الغالب - كتركيبات جيوكيميائية. ولكن هناك أيضًا كائنات حية يمكن أن تنقذ نفسها إلى الصخور الصلبة ، كما أوضح إيفارسون وزملاؤه. عرض

وقال الباحثون: "من المعروف أن عددًا من الكائنات الحية الدقيقة ، بما في ذلك البكتيريا والفطريات والطحالب ، ينتج أحماض عضوية أو مخلّب يمكن أن يتآكل كيميائيًا ويحمي المعادن". ومع ذلك ، فإن معادن السليكات الصلبة على وجه الخصوص لا تكاد تستجيب لمثل هذه الهجمات الكيميائية ، وبالتالي نادراً ما يتم استعمارها بواسطة هذه الكائنات المتجانسة. أيضا ، كان العقيق يعتبر سابقا أكثر حصانة لمثل هذه الهجمات العض.

خيوط العضوية

لكن هذا يمكن أن يكون خطأ ، كما كشفت التحليلات. لأنه داخل القناة الدقيقة ، اكتشف الباحثون هياكل مبخرة تحتوي على كل من أحماض الكربون والنيتروجين والدهون - وهي مكونات نموذجية للكائنات الحية. وقال ايفارسون وزملاؤه "المحتوى العضوي والطبيعة المعقدة لهذه الجزيئات العضوية تشير إلى وجود ميكروبي في نظام الانفاق هذا من العقيق".

وبالتالي يمكن أن تكون التركيبات الليفية من بقايا البكتيريا أو الفطريات التي كانت تسكن هذه الأنفاق ذات يوم. يقول الباحثون: "هذا هو أول دليل على وجود قنابل يدوية كموطن للكائنات الحية الدقيقة الداخلية".

"العمل الجماعي" في الكيمياء والبيولوجيا؟

ومع ذلك ، ما إذا كانت هذه الميكروبات قد مللت الأنفاق نفسها أو استفادت فقط من تلك الموجودة ، لا يزال غير واضح. على سبيل المثال ، سيكون من الممكن إنشاء الوصلات النفقية الأكبر حجماً ، وغالبًا ما تكون سداسية ، بواسطة العمليات الجيوكيميائية. في وقت لاحق ، تم استعمار الدورات عن طريق البكتيريا أو الفطريات التي وسعت وتوسيع هذه القناة.

يقول الباحثون: "هناك هياكل مورفولوجية تتحدث عن مجموعة من العمليات اللاأحيائية والبيولوجية". من ناحية أخرى ، فإن مفاغرة في العديد من شبكات الأنفاق هذه هي أكثر لصالح الأصل البيولوجي: "العمليات الطبيعية الوحيدة التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى هذا الانصهار من الجينات هي البيولوجية في الطبيعة" ، ويوضح العلماء. يبدو واضحا: سر أنفاق العقيق لم يحل بالكامل. (PLOS ONE ، 2018 ؛ دوي: 10.1371 / journal.pone.0200351)

(PLOS ، 09.08.2018 - NPO)

Riddle about Garnet Gears

Could microbes have dug the tiny tunnels into the gems?

Garnet crystal with countless small passages. How did they come about? © Ivarsson et al, 2018
Read out

Enigmatic Phenomenon: Tiny passages and drilled holes in garnet minerals make for guesswork. Because how these micro-tunnels have come into the gems is not yet known. Now researchers have analyzed some of these tunnel grenades in more detail. They discovered evidence that microbes could have drilled these corridors. Given the great hardness of the grenade this would be very unusual.

The often shimmering red shells were coveted as gemstones in ancient times, in the Middle Ages they were called Karfunkelstein. Behind these collective headings hides a whole group of silicate minerals, which get their color shades through different foreign atoms. But grenades alone but their transparency, their cubic crystal lattice and their particular hardness.

Palisades and branched networks

But it is precisely this hardness of the grenade that makes a phenomenon particularly puzzling: some of these gems are criss-crossed by a network of tiny gears. Although these minerals are so tough and chemical resistant, something must have drilled through these crystals. But what? Magnus Ivarsson from the University of Southern Denmark in Odense and his colleagues have investigated this question and have examined the mysterious granate tunnels using state-of-the-art microscopy and analysis methods.

They discovered that these microtunnels always leave the garnet surface and have a round to hexagonal cross-section. Towards the inside, the tunnels, which are between five and 100 micrometers thick, become narrower and end in a thin tip. The structure of these gait systems, however, is surprisingly diverse: "The range extends from strictly regular palisades from parallel tunnels to irregularly branched and rejoining networks, " the researchers report.

Microscope image of a complex tunnel network in a garnet © Ivarsson et al, 2018

Who was the author?

But the key question was: are there any clues to their origin inside these garnet tunnels? So far, these and similar defects in minerals have mostly been considered abiotic - as geochemically generated structures. But there are also living things that can drill themselves into hard rock, as Ivarsson and his colleagues explain. display

"A number of microorganisms, including bacteria, fungi and algae, are known to produce organic acids or chelates that can chemically corrode and protect minerals, " the researchers said. However, hard silicate minerals in particular hardly respond to such chemical attacks and are therefore rarely colonized by such endolithic organisms. Also, the garnet was previously considered more immune to such biting attacks.

Organic filaments

But that could be a mistake, as the analyzes revealed. Because inside the microtunnel, the researchers discovered fumigated structures that contain both carbon and nitrogen and fat acids - components that are typical of living things. "The organic content and the complex nature of these organic molecules indicate a microbial presence in this tunneling system of the garnet, " Ivarsson and his colleagues report.

The fibrous structures could therefore be remnants of the bacteria or fungi that once inhabited these tunnels. "This is the first evidence of grenades as a habitat for endolitic microorganisms, " say the researchers.

"Teamwork" of chemistry and biology?

However, whether these microbes have bored the tunnels themselves or have only benefited from existing ones is still unclear. For example, it would be possible for the mostly larger, often hexagonal, tunnel junctions to be created by geochemical processes. Later, the courses were colonized by bacteria or fungi that expanded and expanded these ductwork.

"There are morphological structures that speak for a combination of abiotic and biological processes, " say the researchers. On the other hand, the anastomoses in many of these tunnel networks are more in favor of a biological origin: "The only natural processes that can lead to such fusion of gene are biological in nature, " explains the scientists. It seems clear: the mystery of the garnet tunnels has not yet been completely solved. (PLOS ONE, 2018; doi: 10.1371 / journal.pone.0200351)

(PLOS, 09.08.2018 - NPO)