التعرف على بركان الغموض في العصور القديمة المتأخرة

توقف الثوران في السلفادور عن انتهاكات المايا وفضل الطاعون في أوروبا

تمتلئ الآن بركان Ilopango بركان بحيرة الحفرة الكبيرة. منذ حوالي 1.500 عام ، كان من الممكن أن يساهم تفشي المرض في الانهيار المناخي في العصور القديمة المتأخرة. © NASA / GSFC / METI / ERSDAC / JAROS ، فريق ASTER العلمي الأمريكي / الياباني
قراءة بصوت عال

عواقب وخيمة: منذ حوالي 1500 عام ، حدثت واحدة من أقوى الانفجارات البركانية في التاريخ في السلفادور. غطى ثوران Ilopango caldera أجزاء كبيرة من إمبراطورية المايا بالرماد وتوقف الزراعة والمباني. لكن في الوقت نفسه ، ألقى البركان الكثير من الغازات في طبقة الستراتوسفير لدرجة أنه أدى إلى تبريد المناخ في أوروبا وفضل الطاعون القديم ، حسبما ذكر الباحثون.

لقد اشتبه الباحثون لبعض الوقت أن ثوران بركاني كبير قد تورط بشكل حاسم في وباء الطاعون القديم المتأخر. منذ 536 ، كان المناخ باردًا بشكل غير معتاد لعدة سنوات ، وابتلع ضباب أجزاء من ضوء الشمس. لقد كان الأمر يتعلق بالمحاصيل والمجاعات السيئة ، التي كانت تفضل الأوبئة. من قلوب الجليد ، خلص الباحثون إلى أن أول ثوران وقع في 536 في نصف الكرة الشمالي ، والثاني حوالي 540/41 في المناطق الاستوائية.

فوهة بركان بالقرب من سان سلفادور

الذي تسبب البركان في تفشي المرض الثاني ، اكتشف الآن روبرت دول من جامعة تكساس في أوستن وفريقه. لقد قاموا بالتحقيق في ثوران بركان Ilopango caldera بالقرب من العاصمة السلفادورية سان سلفادور. لقد كان معروفًا لبعض الوقت أن هذا البركان قد اندلع خلال الفترة الكلاسيكية لحضارة المايا.

ويوضح الباحثون "ومع ذلك ، لم تتم دراسة التأثير الإقليمي أو العالمي لثوران تييرا بلانكا في أمريكا الوسطى حتى الآن". ومن أجل دراستهم ، قاموا بتأريخ وتفحص أكثر من 80 من النتوءات ، حيث تظهر ثوران الرماد والتيفرا وحمم البركان.

أربع مرات أقوى من اندلاع بيناتوبو

النتيجة: اندلعت Ilopango في ثماني مراحل ، كانت آخرها وأقوىها في 539 أو 540 ، بالضبط في الوقت الذي أنشأ فيه الباحثون ثاني ثوران عالمي كبير للقلق العالمي. يقول دل وفريقه: "يشير هذا إلى ثوران تييرا بلانكا كحدث تغير المناخ الذي تم تحديده في قلوب الجليد ويقع في المناطق المدارية". عرض

لكن ما مدى شدة ثوران إيلوبانجو؟ وجد الباحثون أن ثوران البركان ألقى بالرماد لمسافة 100 كيلومتر وترك طبقة من الرواسب البركانية يصل سمكها إلى 70 متر في بعض الأماكن. ويقدر دول وفريقه أن الانفجار اندلع ما مجموعه 43.6 كيلومترًا مكعبًا من الحمم والرماد ، أي أكثر بأربع مرات من ثوران بيناتوبو عام 1991.

تقع مدينة Tazumal المايا الهامة على بعد حوالي 80 كم فقط من بركان Ilopango. ماريو روبرتو دوران أورتيز / سي سي باي 3.0

كارثة للمايا

يقول العلماء: "كان هذا الثوران البركاني أحد أقوى عشر ثوران خلال الـ 7000 عام الماضية". كان من الممكن أن تكون سلسلة الانفجارات التي استمرت من يوم إلى أسبوع قد أودت بحياة أكثر من 100000 ضحية داخل دائرة نصف قطرها 50 إلى 60 كيلومتراً حول البركان. جعلت الطبقات السميكة من الرماد مساحات كاملة من الأراضي غير صالحة للسكن لعدة سنوات وأدت إلى توقف الزراعة في هذا الجزء من إمبراطورية المايا إلى حد كبير.

يقول دول: "كانت هذه كارثة طبيعية كبرى كان لها عواقب وخيمة على التطور الثقافي للمايا". لأن غواتيمالا القريبة كانت واحدة من مراكز حضارة المايا. تشير الدراسات الأثرية إلى أن بعض مدن المايا قد تم التخلي عنها مؤقتًا ، وتوقف البناء ، وتعطلت العديد من طرق المايا التجارية.

تأثير التبريد في جميع أنحاء العالم

ولكن لم تكن عواقب هذا الاندفاع محسوسة فقط في أمريكا الوسطى ، فكما اكتشف الباحثون ، فإن ثوران إيلوبانجو ألقى أيضًا ما بين 9 و 90 ميجا طن من غازات الكبريت التي تصل إلى 50 كيلومترًا في الجو. على هذا الارتفاع ، يمكن توزيع الهباء الجوي الناتج عن الكبريت في جميع أنحاء العالم تقريبًا وتشكيل ضباب يخفف من الإشعاع الشمسي.

وفقًا للباحثين ، من المحتمل جدًا أن يكون تفشي Ilopango هو الثوران الذي ساهم في نهاية Sp؟ Tantike في أوروبا حوالي 540. النتائج حسب العمر ، وحجم الثوران وانبعاث الكبريت ، وكذلك الموقع البركاني في المناطق الاستوائية ، هي أدلة قوية ، وفقا ل Dull وفريقه. يقولون: "إنها قطعة أخرى من الأحجية التي تساعدنا على فهم التاريخ الأوراسي لهذه الفترة". (مراجعات العلوم الرباعية ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1016 / j.quascirev.2019.07.037)

المصدر: EOS ، العلوم

- ناديا بودبريجار

Identified mystery volcano of late antiquity

Eruption in El Salvador stopped Mayan abuses and favored the plague in Europe

The caldera of Ilopango volcano is now filled by a large crater lake. About 1.500 years ago, his outbreak could have contributed to the climatic collapse in late antiquity. © NASA / GSFC / METI / ERSDAC / JAROS, US / Japan ASTER Science Team
Read out

Dramatic consequences: About 1, 500 years ago, one of the strongest volcanic eruptions in history occurred in El Salvador. The eruption of the Ilopango caldera covered large parts of the Mayan empire with ashes and halted agriculture and buildings. At the same time, however, the volcano threw so many gases into the stratosphere that it cooled the climate in Europe and favored the ancient plague, the researchers report.

Researchers have suspected for some time that two major volcanic eruptions were decisively involved in the epidemic of the late antique plague. For from 536 the climate was unusually cold for several years, a haze swallowed parts of the sunlight. It came to bad harvests and famine, which favored epidemics. From ice cores, researchers conclude that the first eruption occurred in 536 in the northern hemisphere, the second around 540/41 in the tropics.

Volcano crater near San Salvador

Which volcano caused the second outbreak, now Robert Dull from the University of Texas in Austin and his team have found out. They investigated the eruption left by the Ilopango caldera in the immediate vicinity of the Salvadoran capital San Salvador. It has been known for some time that this volcano erupted during the classical period of Mayan civilization.

"However, neither the regional nor the global impact of this Tierra Blanca eruption in Central America has been studied so far, " the researchers explain. For their study, they have therefore dated and examined more than 80 outcrops, where ashes, tephra and lava flakes of the eruption then emerge.

Four times stronger than the Pinatubo outbreak

The result: Ilopango erupted in eight phases, the last and strongest of which took place in 539 or 540, exactly at the time when researchers set up the second major global eruption of global concern. "This points to the Tierra Blanca eruption as the climate-changing event identified in ice cores and located in the tropics, " Dull and his team say. display

But how intense was the Ilopango eruption? The researchers found that the volcanic eruption threw ash up to a distance of 100 kilometers and left a layer of volcanic deposits up to 70 meters thick in places. Dull and his team estimate that the eruption ejected a total of 43.6 cubic kilometers of lava and ash four times more than the 1991 Pinatubo eruption.

The important Mayan city of Tazumal was only about 80 kilometers from the Ilopango volcano. Mario Roberto Dur n Ortiz / CC-by-sa 3.0

Disaster for the Maya

"This volcanic eruption was one of the ten strongest of the last 7, 000 years, " say the scientists. The day- to week-long eruption series could have claimed more than 100, 000 casualties within a radius of 50 to 60 kilometers around the volcano. The thick layers of ash made entire tracts of land uninhabitable for years and brought the agriculture in this part of the Mayan empire largely to a standstill.

"This was a major natural disaster that had major consequences for the cultural development of the Maya, " says Dull. Because the nearby Guatemala was one of the centers of the Mayan civilization. Archaeological studies show that some Mayan cities were temporarily abandoned, construction stopped, and many Mayan trade routes were disrupted.

Worldwide cooling effect

But it was not only in Central America that the consequences of this eruption were perceptible. As the researchers discovered, the Ilopango eruption also threw between 9 and 90 megatonnes of sulfur gases up to 50 kilometers into the atmosphere. At this altitude, the resulting sulfur aerosols could be distributed almost all over the world and formed a haze that dampened solar radiation.

According to the researchers, it is very likely that the Ilopango outbreak was the eruption that contributed to the end of Sp? Tantike in Europe around 540. The results on age, eruption size and sulfur emission, as well as the volcanic location in the tropics, are strong evidence, according to Dull and his team. "It's another piece of the puzzle that helps us to understand the Eurasian history of this period, " they say. (Quaternary Science Reviews, 2019; doi: 10.1016 / j.quascirev.2019.07.037)

Source: EOS, Science

- Nadja Podbregar