حطام سفينة اكتشف من زمن كولومبوس

حتى بعد 500 عام في قاع بحر البلطيق ، فإن الحطام لا يزال على حاله تمامًا

هذه السفينة الحطام على عصر الاستكشاف نجت 500 سنة في قاع بحر البلطيق سليمة تقريبا. © أعماق البحار للإنتاج / MMT
قراءة بصوت عال

اكتشاف مثير: اكتشف علماء الآثار حطام سفينة على حاله تقريبًا من وقت كريستوفر كولومبوس قبالة ساحل السويد - اكتشاف فريد من نوعه. تم الحفاظ على السفينة التي يبلغ عمرها 500 عام بشكل جيد لدرجة أن الصواري الخشبية لا تزال قائمة وأجزاء من تعليق الشراع يمكن التعرف عليها. ومن النادر أيضًا وجود زورق على السطح الرئيسي ، والذي يميل ضد الصاري الذي لم يمسه تقريبًا حتى بعد قرون.

لقد كان وقت البحارة والمستكشفين العظماء: منذ حوالي 500 عام ، بدأت العديد من دول الملاحة البحرية الأوروبية في الدفع أكثر فأكثر إلى المناطق البحرية غير المعروفة سابقًا. فاسكو دا جاما بحث ووجد طريق البحر إلى الهند ، أراد كريستوفر كولومبوس الوصول إلى الهند واكتشف أمريكا. أصبحت الرحلات البحرية مثل هذه ممكنة بفضل التقدم في بناء السفن ، ولكن قبل كل شيء عن طريق المساعدات الملاحية المحسنة.

يمكن أن توفر حطام السفن رؤى مثيرة حول الملاحة البحرية في تلك الأوقات ، ولكن الكثير منها قد تدهور بشكل كبير عبر القرون في قاع البحر. لا يجد معظم علماء الآثار المغمورة بالمياه سوى أجزاء قليلة من الحطام وأجزاء من البضائع والمعدات كما هو الحال في حطام سفينة كولومبوس سانتا ماريا أو إزميرالدا من أسطول فاسكو دا جاماس.

500 سنة في قاع البحر

والأكثر إثارة هو الاكتشاف الحالي: في قاع بحر البلطيق ، على بعد حوالي 150 كم جنوب شرق ستوكهولم ، اكتشف علماء الآثار حطام سفينة سليما بشكل مذهل من وقت كريستوفر كولومبوس. وفقًا للبيانات ، يجب أن تكون السفينة التي يبلغ طولها 16 مترًا قد تم بناؤها في الفترة ما بين 1490 و 1540 - على الأرجح في بداية القرن السادس عشر ، كما ذكر الباحثون.

يقول زعيم المشروع رودريغو باتشيكو رويز من شركة إم إم تي المتخصصة في التنقيب تحت الماء: "تعود هذه السفينة إلى زمن كريستوفر كولومبوس وليوناردو دا فينشي". "بفضل مياه بحر البلطيق الباردة والمليئة بالمياه ، يتم الحفاظ عليها بشكل جيد حتى بعد مرور 500 عام في قاع البحر." حجم السفينة وشكلها وصواريها تشبه إلى حد بعيد تلك الموجودة في بينتا ولا نينا ، وسفينتين أصغر من كولومبوس ، كما يفسر علماء الآثار. عرض

"كما لو كانت قد غرقت أمس"

تقف حطام السفينة في وضع مستقيم على عمق حوالي 120 مترًا وهي سالمة تمامًا باستثناء سطح السفينة الخلفي التالف. يقول باتشيكو رويز: "يبدو الأمر كما لو أنه قد انخفض يوم أمس". حتى الصواري لا تزال قائمة وأجزاء من التزوير يمكن التعرف عليها. يتم الحفاظ على ذراع الانحناء والذيل المستقيم والمنحوت بالإضافة إلى الزجاج المنحني ومضخة الآسن. تثبت البنادق الدوارة أيضًا أن السفينة كانت مسلحة.

يقول باتشيكو رويز: "على السطح الرئيسي ، هناك اكتشاف نادر للغاية: زورق". مرة واحدة استخدم الطاقم هذا القارب للصف من مرسى السفينة إلى الشاطئ والعودة. اليوم ، بعد حوالي 500 عام ، يميل ضد الصاري الرئيسي كما لو كان قد تم استخدامه مؤخراً. يقول عالم الآثار تحت الماء: "هذا مشهد رائع حقًا".

وفقًا لعلماء الآثار ، فإن هذا الاكتشاف قد يكون أفضل حطام تم الحفاظ عليه منذ ذلك الوقت.

لقطات فيديو لحطام السفينة الذي يبلغ من العمر 500 عام. رودريغو باتشيكو رويز

سبب الغرق لا يزال غير واضح

ولكن لماذا غرقت هذه السفينة؟ نظرًا لأن اسم الحطام غير معروف ، فإن أصل السفينة غير واضح حتى الآن. بسبب بنائه ، ومع ذلك ، فإن الباحثين يشكون في أنها سفينة تجارية سويدية أو دنماركية. يشير تدمير السفينة المدفعية وكذلك المدافع ، إلى أن سفينة الشحن هذه لم تكن تسافر في أوقات سلمية.

وفقًا لعلماء الآثار ، كان من الممكن غرق السفينة كجزء من حرب الاستقلال السويدية - الحرب الدائرة بين 1521 و 1523 بين الحكام الدنماركيين والشعب السويدي. ومع ذلك ، سيكون من الممكن أيضًا للسفينة أن تغرق في الحرب بين روسيا والسويد بين عامي 1554 و 1557.

يأمل علماء الآثار المغمورة بالمياه أن يوفر لهم مزيد من الاستكشاف لحطام السفينة المزيد من الأدلة حول أصل ومصير هذه الآثار التاريخية في المستقبل القريب.

المصدر: جامعة ساوثهامبتون

- ناديا بودبريجار

Shipwreck discovered from the time of Columbus

Even after 500 years at the bottom of the Baltic Sea, the wreck is almost completely intact

This ship wreck on the Age of Discovery survived 500 years at the bottom of the Baltic Sea almost intact. © Deep Sea Productions / MMT
Read out

Sensational find: Archaeologists have discovered a nearly intact shipwreck from the time of Christopher Columbus off the coast of Sweden - a unique find. The 500 year old ship is so well preserved that even the wooden masts are still standing and parts of the sail suspension are recognizable. Also particularly rare is a dinghy on the main deck, which leans against the mast almost untouched even after centuries.

It was the time of the great sailors and explorers: About 500 years ago, several European seafaring nations began to push further and further into previously unknown marine areas. Vasco da Gama searched and found the sea route to India, Christopher Columbus wanted to reach India and discovered America. Sea voyages such as these were made possible by advances in shipbuilding, but above all by improved navigational aids.

Shipwrecks can provide exciting insights into the seafaring of those times, but many of them have decayed dramatically through the centuries on the seabed. Most underwater archaeologists find only a few wreckage parts and parts of the cargo and equipment as in the wrecks of Columbus' ship Santa Maria or the Esmeralda from the fleet Vasco da Gamas.

500 years on the seabed

All the more spectacular is the current find: At the bottom of the Baltic Sea, about 150 kilometers southeast of Stockholm, archaeologists have discovered a stunningly intact shipwreck from the time of Christopher Columbus. According to data, the 16-meter-long ship must have been built in the period between 1490 and 1540 - most likely at the beginning of the 16th century, as the researchers report.

"This ship dates back to the time of Christopher Columbus and Leonardo da Vinci, " says project leader Rodrigo Pacheco-Ruiz from MMT, which specializes in underwater exploration. "Thanks to the cold, brackish waters of the Baltic Sea, however, it is remarkably well preserved even after 500 years at the bottom of the sea." The ship's size, shape and masts are very similar to those of Pinta and La Nina, the two smaller ships of Columbus, as the archaeologists explain. display

"As if it had just sunk yesterday"

The shipwreck stands upright at a depth of about 120 meters and is completely unscathed except for the damaged aft deck. "It's almost as if it had just fallen yesterday, " says Pacheco-Ruiz. Even the masts are still standing and parts of the rigging are recognizable. The bowsprit and the straight, carved tail are preserved as well as the wooden windlass and the bilge pump. Swiveling guns also prove that the ship was armed.

"On the main deck is a particularly rare discovery: a dinghy, " says Pacheco-Ruiz. Once the crew used this boat to row from the anchorage of the ship ashore and back. Today, about 500 years later, it leans against the main mast as if it had just been used recently. "This is a really amazing sight, " says the underwater archaeologist.

According to the archaeologists, this find could even be the best preserved wreck ever from that time.

Video footage of the 500 year old shipwreck. Rodrigo Pacheco-Ruiz

Reason of sinking still unclear

But why did this ship sink? Because the name of the wreck is not recognizable, the origin of the ship is so far unclear. Due to its construction, however, the researchers suspect that it is a Swedish or Danish merchant ship. The destruction of the quarterdeck as well as the cannons indicate, however, that this freighter was not traveling in peaceful times.

According to the archaeologists, the ship could have been sunk as part of the Swedish Independence War - a war raging between 1521 and 1523 between the Danish rulers and the Swedish people. However, it would also be possible for the ship to sink in the war between Russia and Sweden between 1554 and 1557.

The underwater archaeologists hope that further exploration of the shipwreck will provide them with more clues about the origin and fate of this historical relic in the near future.

Source: University of Southampton

- Nadja Podbregar