آلهة قوية كما المعجون من الثقافات العالية

لم تظهر الديانات الأخلاقية إلا بعد ظهور مجتمعات معقدة

عززت الأديان ذات المعايير الأخلاقية الصارمة والآلهة التماسك في الحضارات المتعددة الأعراق المعقدة. (الصورة: imagineGolf / iStock)
قراءة بصوت عال

لماذا ومتى تطورت الأديان مع آلهة قوية وقواعد أخلاقية صارمة؟ لقد وجد الباحثون الآن إجابة مفاجئة. على عكس الاعتقاد السائد ، لم تكن هذه الأديان القوة الدافعة لتنمية المجتمعات المعقدة ، بل المعجون: لم تظهر إلا بعد الإمبراطوريات المعقدة ، ولكنها ضمنت بعد ذلك أن هذه الهياكل الاجتماعية ظلت مستقرة على المدى الطويل ، كما قال الباحثون في مجلة "Nature" التقرير.

سواء المسيحية أو الإسلام أو اليهودية أو البوذية: في العديد من أديان العالم الكبرى ، هناك وصايا أخلاقية صارمة وآلهة قوية ، والتي تفرض قواعد معينة على المؤمنين في التفاعل الاجتماعي مع بعضهم البعض. الشيء المذهل في الأمر: تطورت الأديان ذات الآلهة الأخلاقية القوية خاصة في الثقافات العالية ، ولكن نادراً ما كانت بين الشعوب البدائية. لطالما اشتبه العلماء في وجود صلة وثيقة بين البيئة والتعقيد الاجتماعي للثقافة وطبيعة دينها.

القوة الدافعة للثقافات المعقدة؟

وفقًا للفرضية الشائعة ، كان الإيمان بألهة صارمة مسيطرة يمكن أن يكون بمثابة معجون اجتماعي في عدد متزايد من الحضارات المتقدمة: لقد قلل من عدم الثقة بين الغرباء فعليًا و "الطفيليات الاجتماعية" غير المشجعة. هذا فقط يمكن أن يكون قد مكّن من تشكيل مجتمعات كبيرة ومعقدة. ولكن ما إذا كان الدين هو حقا القوة الدافعة للثقافات العالية ، أمر مثير للجدل - لأن الدراسات حققت نتائج متناقضة حتى الآن.

لهذا السبب أكمل هارفي وايتهاوس من جامعة أكسفورد وفريقه واحدة من أكثر الدراسات شمولاً حول هذا الموضوع. قاموا بتقييم البيانات التاريخية الموحدة لـ 414 ثقافة في 30 منطقة مختلفة من العالم - من العصر الحجري الحديث وحتى بداية الثورة الصناعية. من 51 معلمة ثقافية واجتماعية قاموا بتجميع مؤشر للتعقيد الاجتماعي لكل منهم ثم قارنوا ما إذا كانت هذه الثقافات قد طورت ديانة أخلاقية ومتى.

أول إمبراطورية عظيمة ، ثم آلهة قوية

كانت النتيجة المفاجئة هي أن الثقافات الإثني عشر التي ظهرت فيها الأديان الأخلاقية كان لها تسلسل واضح ولكنه غير متوقع: "نجد أن الآلهة الأخلاقية لا تسبق ظهور مجتمعات معقدة ، ولكنها تحدث بعد ذلك" ، "هذا يتناقض مع الفرضيات المعتادة." حدث النمو الرئيسي للثقافات في المتوسط ​​قبل أكثر من مائة عام من ظهور الآلهة الأخلاقية. عرض

كان الإله المصري ماعت يزن القلوب بعد الموت ويفرض قواعد أخلاقية صارمة. التاريخية

وكقاعدة عامة ، لم تتطور الأديان ذات الآلهة القوية إلا عندما تجاوزت الثقافة بالفعل عتبة المجتمع الضخم بأكثر من مليون شخص. وقال وايتهاوس وزملاؤه "أول ظهور لإضفاء طابع الأخلاق على الآلهة في عيّنتنا كان في مصر ، حيث تم توثيق مفهوم التطبيق الخارق للنظام (ماعت) حوالي 2800 قبل الميلاد". تبع ذلك ديانات أخلاقية محلية أخرى في بلاد ما بين النهرين والأناضول والصين.

الترابط في إمبراطوريات متعددة الأعراق

يقول وايتهاوس وزملاؤه: "السجن القوي والعقوبة الخارقة للطبيعة ليسا شرطين مسبقين لتطوير التعقيد الاجتماعي". وبدلاً من ذلك ، فإن هذه الأديان هي نوع من الغراء ، الذي كان يجمع مجتمعات معقدة متعددة الأعراق بشكل دائم. يقول الباحثون: "ربما كان من الضروري ربط الأجزاء المختلفة غالبًا من سكان هذه القوى العظمى تحت سلطة أعلى".

وهكذا ، فإن المجتمعات المعقدة والديانات القوية مرتبطة فعليًا - تختلف قليلاً فقط عما كان يعتقد سابقًا. بدلاً من القوة الدافعة والمتطلب الأساسي لتشكيل إمبراطوريات كبيرة ، كانوا بدلاً من ذلك ضامنين لاستقرارهم. ومع ذلك ، كان هناك بالفعل عامل مشترك في العديد من الثقافات قبل القفزة إلى الثقافة العالية: وجود طقوس دينية محددة سلفا. وفقًا للباحثين ، يمكن أن يكونوا مقدمة هامة للأديان الأخلاقية. (Nature، 2019؛ doi: 10.1038 / s41586-019-1043-4)

المصدر: الطبيعة

- ناديا بودبريجار

Strong gods as putty of the high cultures

Moralizing religions emerged only after the emergence of complex societies

Religions with strict moral standards and deities strengthened cohesion in complex, multiethnic civilizations. (Image: imagineGolf / iStock)
Read out

Why and when have religions evolved with strong gods and strict moral rules? Researchers have now found a surprising answer. Contrary to popular belief, such religions were not the driving force for the development of complex societies, but rather their putty: they emerged only after the complex empires, but then ensured that these social structures remained stable in the long term, as the researchers in the journal "Nature" to report.

Whether Christianity, Islam, Judaism or Buddhism: In many major world religions there are strict moral commandments and strong deities, which impose certain rules on their believers in social interaction with each other. The striking thing about it: religions with strong moralizing deities have developed especially in high cultures, but only rarely among primitive peoples. Scientists have long suspected a close connection between the environment, the social complexity of a culture and the nature of its religion.

Driving force of complex cultures?

According to popular hypothesis, the belief in strict, controlling deities could have served as a social putty in the growing populations of advanced civilizations: it diminished the mistrust between actually strangers and discouraged "social parasites". Only this could have enabled the formation of large, complex societies. But whether religion was really the driving force for high cultures, is controversial - also because studies have delivered so far contradictory results.

That's why Harvey Whitehouse of the University of Oxford and his team have completed one of the most comprehensive studies to date on this topic. They evaluated standardized historical data for 414 cultures in 30 different regions of the world - from the Neolithic to the beginning of the Industrial Revolution. From 51 cultural and social parameters they compiled an index of the respective social complexity and then compared whether and when these cultures developed a moralizing religion.

First great empire, then strong gods

The surprising result was that the twelve cultures in which moralizing religions appeared had a clear but unexpected sequence: "We find that moralizing gods do not precede the emergence of complex societies, but occur afterward, " Whitehouse and his team report, "This contradicts the usual hypotheses." The main growth of the cultures took place on average more than a hundred years before the appearance of moralizing gods. display

The Egyptian deity Maat weighed the hearts after death and imposed strict moral rules. historical

As a rule, religions with strong deities only developed when a culture had already crossed the threshold of mega-society with more than a million people. "The first appearance of moralizing gods in our sample was in Egypt, where the concept of a supernatural enforcement of order (maat) around 2800 BC is documented, " Whitehouse and his colleagues report. This was followed by other local moral religions in Mesopotamia, Anatolia and China.

Bonding in multiethnic empires

"Powerful jail and supernatural punishment are therefore not prerequisites for the development of social complexity, " say Whitehouse and his colleagues. Instead, such religions are more of a kind of glue, which held together complex, multi-ethnic societies permanently. "They could have been necessary to bind together the often very different parts of the population of such great powers under a higher power, " the researchers say.

Thus, complex societies and strong religions are actually linked only slightly different than previously thought. Instead of driving force and the prerequisite for the formation of large empires, they were rather the guarantor of their stability. However, a common factor in many cultures actually existed before the leap to high culture: the existence of predetermined religious rituals. According to the researchers, they could have been an important precursor to the moralizing religions. (Nature, 2019; doi: 10.1038 / s41586-019-1043-4)

Source: Nature

- Nadja Podbregar