المفصلية البدائية غير العادية المكتشفة

أحفورة عمرها أكثر من 500 مليون سنة مبهرة برؤوس ضخمة للرأس والغربال

شكل درعًا هائلًا للوجه ، وفمًا على شكل حلقة ، وأرجلًا أمامية تشبه الغربال - وهذا ما قد يبدو عليه المفصل العظمي Cambroraster falcatus خلال حياته. © لارس فيلدز / متحف أونتاريو الملكي
قراءة بصوت عال

مختلفة بشكل مدهش: اكتشف علماء الحفريات ممثلًا غير عادي للمفصليات البدائية الكبرى للكامبريين. يمتلك خزان Cambroraster falcatus الذي يبلغ عمره 506 مليون عام خزانًا قويًا ، فمًا تحيط به صفائح قرن وأرجل أمامية ، والتي كانت على شكل أشعة النار. ربما كان الحيوان يمشط قاع البحر من أجل الفريسة. وهذا دليل آخر على التنوع البيئي المذهل لهذه المجموعة من الحيوانات في الكمبري ، وفقًا للباحثين.

كانت أول الحيوانات المفترسة الكبيرة للمحيطات: منذ أكثر من 500 مليون سنة ، سيطر اللثة المشعة ، الأسلاف الأوائل للمفصليات ، على محيطات الكمبري. وشملت هذه ما يصل إلى مترين من الشذوذات الطويلة ، والحيوانات الشبيهة بالكاركين مع جذع مجزأ ، واثنين من الأسلحة التي تجتاح كبيرة وعيون معقدة قوية. قام معظمهم بصيد فرائسهم أثناء السباحة ، ولكن كان هناك أيضًا أنواع قد ترشح العوالق من الماء.

ومع ذلك ، فإن حفريات هذه الكائنات التي تعود إلى عصور ما قبل التاريخ نادرة للغاية. يوضح جان برنارد كارون من متحف أونتاريو الملكي في تورنتو: "هناك عدد قليل جدًا من الحفريات من هذه المجموعة من الحيوانات ، وعادة ما نجد قطعًا وشظاياًا مبعثرة فقط".

حفرية كامبرورستر فالكتوس. © جان برنارد كارون / متحف أونتاريو الملكي

المفصلية البدائية برأس ضخم

ومما زاد من دهشته كارون وزميله جو Moysiuk عندما اكتشفوا أكثر من مائة عينة من نوع جديد من سجل الراديو في تشكيل بورغيس شيل الشهير في جبال روكي الكندية. يقول كارون: "العثور على الكثير من القطع والحفريات الكاملة غير المألوفة في مكان واحد هو في الحقيقة انقلاب". "لأن هذا يساعدنا على فهم أفضل كيف تبدو هذه الحيوانات وكيف عاشت".

عاشت فصيلة Cambroraster falcatus المعمدة منذ حوالي 506 مليون سنة وأصبحت بطول حوالي 30 بوصة. مع ذلك ، كانت واحدة من أعظم وقتها في البحر البدائي. يقول موزيوك: "كان طوله أكثر إثارة للإعجاب خلال حياته ، لأنه في ذلك الوقت كانت جميع الحيوانات تقريبًا أصغر من إصبعي الصغير". على نفس المنوال المثير للإعجاب ، كانت نسب هذه المفصلية البدائية: رأسه يمثل أكثر من نصف طول الجسم بأكمله. عرض

حفارات مثل السرطانات حدوة حصان

غير أن الأمر الأكثر غرابة هو وجود قذيفة عريضة تشبه الدرع تغطي الحيوان الأحفوري من الرأس إلى أقصى الظهر. في المقدمة ، تم تقريب درع الرأس هذا وتقاطعه بواسطة شقتين وفرتا مساحة للعينين المعقدين المطاردين. في الجزء الخلفي ، نفد الدبابة إلى قسمين جانبيين وواحد وسط. يدين Cambroraster بـ "Nachnahme" لهذا النوع من الدروع: لقد ذكّر الباحثون بمركبة "صقر الألفية" الفضائية من سلسلة Star Wars ، لذا أعطوها أسلوب falcatus.

لكن الأهم من ذلك: "مع هذه القبعات الواسعة والشقوق العميقة للعيون المتصاعدة ، تشبه Cambroraster بعض السلطعون على شكل حدوة الحصان التي تعيش في قاع المحيط اليوم" ، يشرح Moysiuk. "إنه يمثل حالة رائعة للتطور المتقارب". ويشتبه الباحثون في أن كامبرورستر ، مثله مثل اليوم ، كان يعيش سرطان البحر على شكل حدوة حصان في قاع البحر.

أشعل النار مصنوعة من العمود الفقري بدلا من تجتاح الساقين

ولكن ما هو هذا المفصلي الأصلي؟ تشير الدلائل على ذلك إلى خصوصية Cambroraster الأخرى: لا يشكّل ملحقا جسمه الأماميان أذرعًا ممسكة كما في Anomalocaris ، لكنهما يشبهان أشعل النار. لأن الملحقات تلبس أشواكًا منحنية طويلة ، متباعدة عن كثب على مسافة ملليمتر واحد فقط.

يقول كارون: "نشك في أن Cambroraster استخدم هذه المخالب لفرز الرواسب". ربما Cambroraster اختار أولا الطين مع فصوص ساقه ثم انتشرت "Siebrechen". "بعد ذلك ، تم سحب هذه الملاحق. يشرح الباحثون أن هذا يتم ترشيحه من الرواسب الموحلة ونقله باتجاه الفم ". ثم ، عندما جمّع Cambroraster مرفقاته الأمامية معًا ، شكلوا سلة مغلقة في جميع الحيوانات المحبوسة وسهلت استيعابها.

التنوع البيئي المفاجئ

"Cambroraster كان ابن عم بعيد من Anomalocaris ، المفترس العلوي للمحيطات في ذلك الوقت. لكن من الواضح أنه كان يتغذى بطريقة مختلفة تمامًا عن ذلك ، "يقول Moysiuk. بينما بينما كان Anomalocaris يصطاد في المقام الأول فريسة أكبر وتابعها للسباحة ، من الواضح أن Cambroraster كان لديه طيف واسع من الفرائس: لقد قام بفرز الحيوانات الصغيرة من الرواسب ، لكنه كان يستطيع التهام وسحق الفريسة الكبيرة تشير أسنانه القوية وألواح الدقاق.

"Carbroraster تساهم بالتالي في مجموعة متزايدة من الأدلة الأحفورية التي تشير إلى أن اللثة الإشعاعية والسلائف المفصلية بشكل عام لم تكن" بدائية "بأي حال من الأحوال" ، أكد كارون ومويزيوك. "أظهرت هذه الكائنات مستوى عاليًا من التنوع البيئي ولعبت عددًا من الأدوار المهمة في أول مجتمعات حيوانية معقدة في العالم." (وقائع الجمعية الملكية ب ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1098 / rspb.2019.1079)

المصدر: متحف أونتاريو الملكي ، الجمعية الملكية

- ناديا بودبريجار

Unusual primal arthropod discovered

More than 500 million years old fossil dazzled with huge head and sieve legs

An enormous head-armor, a ring-shaped, shinguled mouth and two sieve-like forelegs - that's what the great arthropod Cambroraster falcatus might have looked like during his lifetime. © Lars Fields / Royal Ontario Museum
Read out

Surprisingly different: paleontologists have discovered an unusual representative of the great primal arthropods of the Cambrian. For the 506 million year old Cambroraster falcatus possessed a mighty tank, a mouth surrounded by horn plates and front legs, which were shaped like rakes. The animal was probably combing the bottom of the sea for prey. This is further evidence of the amazing ecological diversity of this group of animals in the Cambrian, according to the researchers.

They were the first large predators of the oceans: more than 500 million years ago, the radiodonten, early ancestors of the arthropods, dominated the oceans of the Cambrian. These included the up to two-meter-long anomalocarids, carcino-like animals with segmented trunk, two large gripping arms and powerful complex eyes. Most of them hunted their prey while swimming, but there were also species that might filter plankton out of the water.

However, fossils of these prehistoric creatures are so far very rare. "There are very few fossils from this group of animals, typically we find only scattered pieces and fragments, " explains Jean-Bernard Caron of the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto.

Fossil of Cambroraster falcatus. © Jean-Bernard Caron / Royal Ontario Museum

Primal arthropod with a huge head

All the more surprised Caron and his colleague Joe Moysiuk were when they discovered more than a hundred specimens of a new type of radio record in the famed Burgess Shale formation in the Canadian Rocky Mountains. "Finding so many pieces and uncommonly complete fossils in one place is really a coup, " says Caron. "Because that helps us to better understand how these animals looked and how they lived."

The Cambroraster falcatus baptized species lived about 506 million years ago and became about 30 inches long. With that, she was one of the greatest of her time in the primeval sea. "His height was certainly even more impressive during his lifetime, because at that time almost all animals were smaller than my little finger, " says Moysiuk. Equally impressive, however, were the proportions of this primal arthropod: his head accounted for more than half of the entire body length. display

Backhoes like horseshoe crabs

Even more unusual, however, is a broad, shield-like shell that covered the fossil animal from the head to far above the back. At the front, this head shield was rounded and punctuated by two notches that provided space for the stalked complex eyes. At the back the tank ran out into two lateral and one middle spur. Cambroraster owes his "Nachnahme" to this form of armor: it reminded the researchers of the "Millennium Falcon" spacecraft from the Star Wars series, so they gave it the falcatus style.

More important, however: "With this broad headgear and the deep incisions for the upward-facing eyes, Cambroraster resembles a little the horseshoe crabs living on the ocean floor today, " explains Moysiuk. "It represents a remarkable case of convergent evolution." The researchers suspect that Cambroraster, like today, lived the horseshoe crabs at the bottom of the sea.

Rake made of spines instead of gripping legs

But what is this original arthropod? Indications of this are another peculiarity of Cambroraster: its two front body appendages do not form gripping arms like in Anomalocaris, but rather resemble two broad rakes. Because the appendages wear long, curved spines, which are closely spaced at a distance of only one millimeter.

"We suspect that Cambroraster used these claws to sift the sediment, " says Caron. Probably Cambroraster first chose the mud with his leg lobes and then spread out the "Siebrechen". "Next, these appendices were withdrawn. This filtered feed from the muddy sediment and moved it towards the mouth, "explain the researchers. Then, when Cambroraster brought his front attachments together, they formed a basket that locked in all the trapped animals and facilitated their absorption.

Surprising ecological diversity

"Cambroraster was a distant cousin of Anomalocaris, the top predator of the oceans of the time. But he evidently fed on a completely different way than this, "says Moysiuk. For while Anomalocaris primarily hunted larger prey and pursued it swimming, Cambroraster apparently had a wide prey spectrum: He sifted small animals from the sediment, but could devour and crush large prey his robust teeth and chiming plates indicate.

"Cambroraster is thus contributing to a growing body of fossil evidence that the radiodontents and, in general, arctropod precursors were by no means 'primitive', " emphasize Caron and Moysiuk. "These organisms displayed a high level of ecological diversity and played a number of important roles in the world's first complex animal communities." (Proceedings of the Royal Society B, 2019; doi: 10.1098 / rspb.2019.1079)

Source: Royal Ontario Museum, Royal Society

- Nadja Podbregar