الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية: اكتشاف رواسب ضخمة من النفط والغاز

على حدود ولاية تكساس ونيو مكسيكو هي واحدة من أكبر flfelder اكتشف على الإطلاق

مصنع تكسير في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. بفضل هذه التكنولوجيا ، يمكن لحقل النفط والغاز المكتشف حديثًا توفير كميات هائلة من المواد الخام في المستقبل. © grandriver / iStock
قراءة بصوت عال

كميات هائلة من النفط الخام والغاز الطبيعي: في الولايات المتحدة ، اكتشف الجيولوجيون إمدادات جديدة ضخمة من النفط والغاز. يقع الحقل على حدود ولايتي تكساس ونيو مكسيكو الأمريكية ، ويحتوي على حوالي 6.5 مليار طن من النفط الخام وحوالي ثمانية تريليونات متر مكعب من الغاز الطبيعي - أي أكثر من عشرة أضعاف الإنتاج السنوي الحالي للنفط في الولايات المتحدة. الموارد مؤهلة للحصول على تقنيات الحفر والتكسير الجديدة ، وفقًا للمسح الجيولوجي الأمريكي.

في السنوات الأخيرة ، أتاحت ما يسمى تقنيات الإنتاج غير التقليدية العديد من موارد النفط والغاز التي لم تكن قابلة للتحلل أو على الأقل غير جديرة بالاهتمام. قبل كل شيء ، أدى التكسير المثير للجدل إلى طفرة حقيقية في إنتاج النفط والغاز في الولايات المتحدة. في هذه العملية ، يتم ضغط مائع التكسير المكون من الماء والرمل ومضافات كيميائية مختلفة في الصخر عند ضغط عالٍ. هذا يخلق الشقوق التي من خلالها النفط والغاز يمكن الهروب ويضخ.

اكتشاف في حوض بيرم

الآن ، اكتشف باحثو المسح الجيولوجي الأمريكي (USGS) رواسب نفط وغاز جديدة لم يتم اكتشافها من قبل في جنوب الولايات المتحدة. وهي تقع في ما يسمى بحوض بيرم ، وهو حوض يصل إلى 250 مليون عام من الصخور الرسوبية ، التي نشأت خلالها على مدار تاريخ الأرض ، خاصة العديد من رواسب النفط. ومع ذلك ، فإن معظم المواقع المعروفة والمستغلة سابقا كانت في طبقات ضحلة من هذه المنطقة في المنطقة الحدودية بين تكساس ونيو مكسيكو.

يقول جيمس رايلي ، مدير مصلحة المسح الجيولوجي الأمريكي: "في الثمانينيات ، اعتبر حوض بيرم والمصارف القديمة بالمثل غير مناسب لزيادة حجم الموارد". "اليوم ، بفضل التقدم التكنولوجي ، يتمتع حوض بيرم بإمكانيات هائلة بالنسبة لنا." من خلال عمليات الحفر والتكسير الأفقي ، يمكن استرداد المواد الخام الموجودة في الصخر الزيتي الحامل للنفط والغاز وكربونات.

أكبر سلعة تجد من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

يقول علماء الجيولوجيا أن وديعة Wolfcamp Slate و Over Spring Bone Formation هي أكثر الموارد وفرة بشكل غير متوقع ، حيث يوجد ما لا يقل عن 46.3 مليار برميل من النفط و 7.9 تريليون متر مكعب من الغاز الطبيعي تحت تصرفهم العثور عليها. يقول رايلي: "هذه أكبر رواسب النفط والغاز التي قمنا باستكشافها ونشرها". عرض

موقع رواسب النفط والغاز المكتشفة حديثًا في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. G USGS

أبدى وزير الداخلية الأمريكي ريان زينك حماسه لهذا الاكتشاف: "لقد جاء عيد الميلاد في وقت مبكر من هذا العام بالنسبة لنا" ، كما قال السياسي. على الرغم من أن الودائع الجديدة هي من بين أكثر الموارد غير التقليدية ، فإن التمويل سيكون مفيدًا ، وفقًا للخبراء. يقول والتر غيدروز من USSGS: "النتائج التي نشرناها اليوم تُظهر قيمة التقنيات المحسنة مثل التكسير الهيدروليكي والحفر الموجه لتقدير الموارد غير المستخدمة والقابلة للاسترداد تقنيًا".

الجانب المظلم من ثروة الموارد

ومع ذلك ، فهي فعالة ومربحة مثل الطرق الجديدة للتسليم ، فهي قد تكون ضارة بالبيئة. وقد أظهرت الدراسات بالفعل زيادة الملوثات في الهواء والتربة والمياه الجوفية بالقرب من مواقع التكسير. هناك أيضًا دلائل تشير إلى أن المواد الكيميائية التي تتسرب إلى الخارج تجرح الجنين وتضعف خصوبة الذكور وتزعزع التوازن الهرموني.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك: يؤدي ازدياد استخراج الغاز والنفط واستخدام أنواع الوقود الأحفوري هذه إلى زيادة انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة ـ مما يساهم في تغير المناخ. إذا كان من الممكن الحد من ارتفاع درجات الحرارة ، فلابد وأن البشرية لم تعد تستغل جميع احتياطيات الوقود الأحفوري المكتشفة. وبدلاً من ذلك ، يجب أن يبقى جزء كبير من النفط الجوفي والغاز الطبيعي والفحم في التربة ، كما اكتشف الباحثون قبل بضع سنوات.

المصدر: هيئة المسح الجيولوجي الأمريكية

- ناديا بودبريجار

USA: Huge oil and gas deposits discovered

On the border of Texas and New Mexico is one of the largest lfelder ever discovered

Fracking plant in the USA. Thanks to this technology, a newly discovered oil and gas field could supply enormous quantities of raw materials in the future. © grandriver / iStock
Read out

Huge amounts of crude oil and natural gas: In the US, geologists have discovered a huge new supply of oil and gas. The field is located on the border of the US states of Texas and New Mexico and contains about 6.5 billion tons of crude oil and nearly eight trillion cubic meters of natural gas - that is more than ten times the current annual oil production of the United States. Resources are eligible for fracking and new drilling techniques, according to the US Geological Survey.

In recent years, so-called unconventional production techniques have made many oil and gas resources available that would not have been degradable or at least not worthwhile. Above all, the controversial fracking has led to a real boom in oil and gas production in the US. In the process, a fracking fluid consisting of water, sand and various chemical additives is pressed into the rock at high pressure. This creates cracks through which oil and gas can escape and be pumped.

Discovery in the Perm basin

Now, US Geological Survey (USGS) researchers have discovered new, previously undetected oil and gas deposits in the southern United States. They are located in the so-called Perm Basin, a sink of up to 250 million years old sedimentary rock, in which in the course of the earth's history particularly many oil deposits have arisen. However, most of the previously known and exploited sites were in shallower strata of this region in the border area between Texas and New Mexico.

"In the 1980s, the Perm Basin and similarly old sinks were considered unsuitable for increasing the amount of resources, " says USGS Director James Reilly. "Today, thanks to advances in technology, the Perm basin has tremendous potential for us." Through horizontal drilling and fracking, the raw materials in the oil and gas-bearing shale and carbonate rocks are recoverable.

Largest commodity find of the USA

The geologists say that the Wolfcamp Slate Deposit and the overlying Bone Spring Formation are the most unexpectedly abundant resources, with at least 46.3 billion barrels of crude oil and 7.9 trillion cubic meters of natural gas at their disposal, according to new estimates Find. "These are the largest oil and gas deposits that we have ever explored and published, " says Reilly. display

Location of the newly discovered oil and gas deposits in the USA. USGS

US Interior Minister Ryan Zinke was enthusiastic about this find: "Christmas came earlier this year for us, " said the politician. Although the new deposits are among the most unconventional resources, funding would be worthwhile, according to the experts. "The results we are releasing today demonstrate the value of improved technologies such as hydraulic fracturing and directional drilling for estimating unused, technically recoverable resources, " says Walter Guidroz of the USSGS.

The dark side of resource wealth

However, as effective and lucrative as the new methods of delivery are, they are potentially environmentally harmful. Studies have already shown increased pollutants in air, soil and groundwater near fracking sites. There are also indications that the chemicals that leak out injure the unborn, impair male fertility and disturb the hormone balance.

In addition: The increased and gas extraction and the use of these fossil fuels push greenhouse gas emissions skyrocket - thus contributing to climate change. If it is to be possible to limit the warming, humanity must therefore no longer exploit all discovered fossil fuel reserves. Instead, a large part of the still dormant underground oil, natural gas and coal must remain in the soil, as researchers discovered a few years ago.

Source: US Geological Survey

- Nadja Podbregar