الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية: تحولت النظم الإيكولوجية

تجولت Egkoregimes the Great Plains على بعد 590 كيلومتراً إلى الشمال

تشكل السهول الكبرى شريطًا من الشمال إلى الجنوب في وسط الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. هنا ، تحولت النظم الإيكولوجية بقوة شمالًا على مدار الخمسين عامًا الماضية. © ناسا
قراءة بصوت عال

النزوح الزاحف: تحولت النظم الإيكولوجية للسهول الكبرى إلى الشمال بشكل كبير على مدى السنوات الخمسين الماضية ، كما تكشف دراسة عن أعداد الطيور. عند الحافة الجنوبية ، حدد الباحثون تحولا نحو الشمال من حوالي 260 كيلومترا ، وفي الشمال حتى أكثر من 590 كيلومترا إلى الشمال. الأسباب هي تغير المناخ ، ولكن أيضا تدخل الإنسان في الطبيعة ، وفقا للعلماء في مجلة Nature Climate Change.

لقد توقع العلماء لبعض الوقت أن تغير المناخ سيؤدي إلى تحول في المناطق المناخية - وفي بعض المناطق يمكن اكتشاف ذلك بالفعل. وهكذا ، فإن الحزام الاستوائي قد نما بالفعل بمقدار 0.5 درجة من خطوط العرض وتصل آثار الأعاصير إلى الشمال. في الولايات المتحدة ، تنتقل المنطقة المناخية الجافة إلى حد ما في غرب البلاد إلى الشرق وإلى أبعد من ذلك وقد تجاوزت خط الطول المائة.

هجرة نحو الشمال من ثلاثة أنظمة بيئية في السهول الكبرى. © جامعة نبراسكا لينكولن

التحول نحو القطب

اكتشف كاليب روبرتس من جامعة نبراسكا لنكولن وفريقه في الولايات المتحدة مثالًا آخر على تغير المناخ والمناطق البيئية. لقد قاموا ، من أجل دراستهم ، بتقييم 50 عامًا من البيانات حول توزيع وتوزيع مجتمعات الطيور المختلفة في السهول الكبرى - الشريط الذي يبلغ عرضه 500 كيلومتر تقريبًا من أشجار الخشب الرديئة والحقول الجافة والأراضي العشبية في وسط غرب الولايات المتحدة.

النتيجة: تحولت النظم الإيكولوجية للسهول الكبرى التي تميزت بها مجتمعات الطيور المختلفة بشكل ملحوظ إلى الشمال منذ عام 1970. وقال الباحثون "كشفت التحليلات عن تغيرات متعددة الحدود في كل من الحدود الجنوبية والشمالية". "هذا يدعم فرضيتنا الخاصة بالهجرة الاتجاهية والمنظمة نسبيًا."

تأثير أقوى في الشمال

تحركت الحدود الشمالية للنظم الإيكولوجية للأراضي العشبية بسرعة خاصة: على مدار الخمسين عامًا الماضية ، انجرفت مسافة تزيد عن 50 كيلومترًا - وهذا يتوافق مع متوسط ​​يبلغ حوالي 13 كيلومترًا في العام ، كما فعل روبرتس وفريقه تحديدها. على النقيض من ذلك ، تحركت الحدود الجنوبية لهذا النظام الأكثر بطئًا ، فقد انتقلت "فقط" على بعد 260 كيلومترًا إلى الشمال. عرض

"هذه الاختلافات تتناسب مع الظاهرة المتوقعة لتضخيم القطب الشمالي" ، يشرح العلماء. يلخص هذا المصطلح آثار استقطاب تغير المناخ. لأن ، على سبيل المثال ، القطب الشمالي والمناطق العليا ترتفع درجة حرارتها بقوة أكبر مقارنة بالمتوسط ​​العالمي ، تتفاعل مناطق المناخ والنظم الإيكولوجية الشمالية بقوة أكبر.

السبب هو تغير المناخ - ولكن ليس فقط

لكن السبب في هذه التحولات في النظام البيئي ليس تغير المناخ وحده ، كما يؤكد الباحثون: "مثل كثيرين في علم البيئة ، فإن هذه التحولات لها عدة أسباب" ، كما يقول زميل روبرتس كريج ألين ، "يكاد يكون من المستحيل ، على سبيل المثال ، فصل انتشار الغابة عن تغير المناخ ، لأن كلاهما مرتبطان ارتباطًا وثيقًا."

بالإضافة إلى التغير المناخي ، يرى العلماء ، من بين أشياء أخرى ، تغيّروا ، ومناطق أخطار الغابات والحرائق المتغيرة شمالًا ، واستخدام الأرض من قبل البشر وأيضًا زيادة الغابات في أجزاء من المناظر الطبيعية التي تشبه السهوب مرة أخرى. بالنسبة للأراضي العشبية ، واحدة من أكثر المناطق تهديدا في العالم ، فإن هذا التطور قاتل ، وفقا للباحثين.

يحتاج الحفظ إلى التكيف

يحذر روبرتس: "نحن نصل إلى الحد الأقصى من المرونة في المراعي". "إنها على وشك الانهيار ، لا سيما في منطقتنا". وقد تساعد النتائج الجديدة الآن في حماية النظم الإيكولوجية للسهول الكبرى بشكل أفضل. إذا استمر هذا التحول ، فيمكن للعديد من مجتمعات الأنواع النادرة والقيمة أن تهاجر من المناطق المحمية السابقة. إذا لم يتم ضبطها ، تظل الحماية غير فعالة. (Nature Climate Change، 2019؛ doi: 10.1038 / s41558-019-0517-6)

المصدر: جامعة نبراسكا لينكولن

- ناديا بودبريجار

USA: Ecosystems have shifted

Egkoregimes the Great Plains have wandered up to 590 kilometers to the north

The Great Plains form a north-south stripe in the center of the USA. Here, the ecosystems have shifted strongly northwards over the past 50 years. © NASA
Read out

Creeping displacement: The Great Plains ecosystems have shifted significantly north over the past 50 years, as a study of bird populations reveals. At the southern edge, researchers identified a northward shift of about 260 kilometers, and in the north even more than 590 kilometers north. Causes are climate change, but also other human interference with nature, according to the scientists in the journal Nature Climate Change.

Scientists have been predicting for some time that climate change will lead to a shift in climate zones - and in some areas this is already detectable. Thus, the tropical belt has already grown by 0.5 degrees of latitude and the tracks of hurricanes reach further north. In the US, the rather dry climatic zone in the west of the country moves further and further to the east and has already passed the 100th longitude.

Northward migration of three Great Plains ecosystems. © University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Shift towards pole

Another example of shifting climate and eco-zones has now been discovered by Caleb Roberts of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and his team in the United States. For their study, they had evaluated 50 years of data on the distribution and distribution of various bird communities in the Great Plains the approximately 500-kilometer-wide strip of poor-wood, rather dry field and grasslands in the Midwestern United States.

The result: The Great Plains ecosystems characterized by the various bird communities have shifted measurably to the north since 1970. "The analyzes revealed polynomial shifts in both the southern and northern koregime borders, " the researchers report. "This supports our hypothesis of a directional and relatively orderly migration."

Effect stronger in the north

The northern border of the grassland ecosystems has moved particularly quickly: over the past 50 years, it has drifted more than 50 kilometers farther this corresponds to an average of around 13 kilometers per year, as did Roberts and his team determined. By contrast, the southern borders of this koregimes moved much slower they have moved "only" 260 kilometers to the north. display

"These differences fit the expected phenomenon of arctic amplification, " explain the scientists. This term summarizes the effects of the polarization of climate change. Because, for example, the Arctic and the higher latitudes heat up more strongly in relation to the global average, the northern climate zones and ecosystems are also reacting more strongly.

The cause is climate change - but not only

But the cause for these ecosystem shifts is not climate change alone, as the researchers emphasize: "Like so many in ecology, these shifts have several causes, " says Roberts colleague Craig Allen, "It is almost impossible, for example, to separate the spread of the forest from climate change, because both are closely linked."

In addition to the climate change, the scientists see, among other things, changed, further north shifted bush and forest fire risk zones, land use by humans and also the increasing foresting of parts of the once more steppe-like landscape. For the grasslands, one of the most threatened zones in the world, this development is fatal, according to the researchers.

Conservation needs to adapt

"We are reaching the limit of grassland resilience, " warns Roberts. "It is on the verge of collapsing, especially in our region." The new findings may now help to better protect the Great Plains ecosystems. If the shift continues, many valuable and rare species communities could migrate out of the previous protected areas. If these are not adjusted, the protection remains ineffective. (Nature Climate Change, 2019; doi: 10.1038 / s41558-019-0517-6)

Source: University of Nebraska-Lincoln

- Nadja Podbregar