الانفجارات البركانية تؤثر على الأعاصير

سيتغير عدد وشدة الأعاصير والأعاصير لمدة تصل إلى أربع سنوات

تؤثر الانفجارات البركانية الكبيرة في المناطق المدارية على عدد وشدة الأعاصير المدارية. لأنهم يغيرون الظروف في ولادة الأعاصير والأعاصير. © NOAA
قراءة بصوت عال

الآثار الجانبية المخفية: إن ثوران البركان العنيف في المناطق المدارية يغير بشكل كبير من نشاط الإعصار في جميع أنحاء العالم. قد تصبح الأعاصير والأعاصير نادرة أو أكثر تكرارا لمدة تصل إلى أربع سنوات ، وهذا يتوقف على نصف الكرة الأرضية الذي حدث فيه الثوران. يكمن سبب هذا التأثير في تأثير المناخ البارد لغيوم الثوران وما يترتب عليه من تحولات في التيارات الجوية ، كما ذكر الباحثون.

الانفجارات البركانية ليس لها عواقب على بيئتها المباشرة فحسب ، بل يمكن أن يكون لها أيضًا تأثير حاسم على المناخ العالمي. ينتشر رماد الكبريت والهباء الجوي لسحابة الاندفاع في الغلاف الجوي العلوي ويكون بمثابة مرشح للشمس. على مر التاريخ ، تسببت الانفجارات البركانية في نوبات البرد ، مما أدى إلى فشل المحاصيل ، والمجاعة ، والأوبئة ، وحتى انهيار إمبراطوريات بأكملها.

كيف تؤثر الانفجارات على العاصفة؟

لكن هل يمكن أن تؤثر الانفجارات البركانية المدارية أيضًا على أحداث جوية معينة مثل الأعاصير والأعاصير المدارية؟ بعد كل شيء ، أظهرت الدراسات السابقة أن الانفجارات الكبيرة يمكن أن تؤثر أيضًا على أنماط هطول الأمطار وحتى الظواهر المناخية مثل ظاهرة النينيو. ولكن بالنسبة للأعاصير ، ظل التأثير غير واضح: "حتى الآن ، لم تدرس سوى حفنة من الدراسات آثار الانفجارات البركانية على الأعاصير المدارية - وقد أسفرت هذه النتائج عن نتائج متضاربة" ، وفقًا لما أورده فرانشيسكو باوساتا من جامعة كيبيك في مونتريال وفريقه.

لتوضيح السؤال ، قام الباحثون بمحاكاة تأثيرات ثوران بركاني استوائي كبير في نصف الكرة الجنوبي أو الشمالي للأرض باستخدام نموذج مناخ-أرض حالي. كان النموذج المستخدم هو ثوران تامبورا عام 1815. بالإضافة إلى التحكم في عمليات المحاكاة دون تفشي المرض ، قام العلماء أيضًا بتشغيل مقاطع إضافية قاموا خلالها بدراسة التفاعل مع ظاهرة النينو.

يتغير عدد وشدة التيارات الدوامة

النتيجة: ثوران بركاني استوائي له آثار قابلة للقياس على تكرار الإعصار لمدة تصل إلى أربع سنوات. في جنوب شرق آسيا وأستراليا ، يتناقص عدد الأعاصير وكثافتها ، بغض النظر عن نصف الكرة الأرضية الذي حدث فيه الانفجار. في الوقت نفسه ، تستمر المناطق التعليمية التيارات الدوامية في التحرك جنوبًا ، كما يقول الباحثون. عرض

"في مناطق أخرى ، ومع ذلك ، فإن الانفجارات في الجنوب أو الشمال لها آثار معاكسة" ، كما يشرح Pausataa وزملاؤه. وهكذا ، عندما يندلع بركان استوائي جنوب خط الاستواء ، يزداد عدد وشدة الأعاصير في شمال المحيط الأطلسي. على النقيض من ذلك ، إذا كان الانفجار يكمن في الحزام الاستوائي في نصف الكرة الشمالي ، فإن الأعاصير الأطلسية ستنخفض.

التحول من الفرقة الطقس المدارية

ولكن ما هو سبب هذا التأثير؟ ويوضح الباحثون: "حتى الآن قيل أن تأثير التبريد على درجات حرارة البحر يمكن أن يكون مسؤولاً عن ذلك". "افترض البعض الآخر نتيجة غير مباشرة لتغيير أنماط النينو". ومع ذلك ، فإن عمليات المحاكاة الحالية تظهر أن تأثير البراكين على التيارات الدوامة أقوى بكثير مما يوضحه النينو وحده. rbar.

بدلاً من ذلك ، تؤثر الانفجارات البركانية على منطقة التقارب المدارية (ITCZ). إن حوض الضغط المنخفض هذا ، الذي يمتد على مستوى الكرة الأرضية في خط الاستواء ، عرضة لهطول الأمطار ودرجات الحرارة والرياح في خطوط العرض المنخفضة. "تسبب الانفجارات في تبريد غير متماثل لنصفي الكرة الأرضية ، وهو ما يغير منطقة التقارب داخل المناطق المدارية" ، وفقًا لما أورده باوساتا وزملاؤه.

ثوران استوائي شمال خط الاستواء يحول ITCZ ​​إلى الجنوب ، ثوران جنوب خط الاستواء يحول منطقة التقارب إلى الشمال. لأن هذا يغير أيضا هطول الأمطار والرياح ودرجات الحرارة في مناطق ولادة العواصف المدارية ، وهذا يؤثر على عدد وتواتر هذه العواصف ، وفقا للباحثين.

مهم لتوقعات المخاطر

في رأي العلماء ، هذا الاكتشاف ليس مهمًا فقط لعلماء الأرصاد الجوية وعلماء المناخ ، بل قد يساعد أيضًا في تقدير خطر الإعصار والإعصار الحالي. "هذه النتائج ستكون ذات قيمة كبيرة للمجتمع" ، يؤكد Pausataa وزملاؤه. "لأنها تتيح للمرء الاستعداد بشكل أفضل للتغييرات في نشاط الإعصار عقب الانفجارات البركانية الكبيرة." (وقائع الأكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم ، 2019 ؛ 10.1073 / pnas.1900777116)

المصدر: PNAS

- ناديا بودبريجار

Volcanic eruptions affect cyclones

The number and intensity of hurricanes and typhoons will change for up to four years

Large volcanic eruptions in the tropics affect the number and intensity of tropical cyclones. Because they change the conditions in the birth of hurricanes and typhoons. © NOAA
Read out

Hidden side effect: A violent volcanic eruption in the tropics significantly changes the cyclone activity worldwide. Hurricanes and typhoons can become rarer or more frequent for up to four years, depending on the earth hemisphere in which the eruption took place. The reason for this effect lies in the cooling climate effect of the eruption clouds and in a consequent shift of atmospheric currents, as the researchers report.

Volcanic eruptions not only have consequences for their immediate environment, they can also have a decisive influence on the global climate. Ash and sulfur aerosols of the eruption cloud spread in the upper atmosphere and act as a sun filter. Throughout history, volcanic eruptions have often caused cold spells, resulting in crop failures, starvation, epidemics and even the collapse of entire empires.

How do eruptions affect the storm?

But can tropical volcanic eruptions also influence specific weather events such as hurricanes and typhoons? After all, previous studies have shown that large eruptions can also affect precipitation patterns and even climatic phenomena like the El Nino. For hurricanes, however, the effect has remained unclear: "So far, only a handful of studies have studied the effects of volcanic eruptions on tropical cyclones - and these have yielded conflicting results, " report Francesco Pausataa from the University of Quebec in Montreal and his team.

To clarify the question, the researchers simulated the effects of a large tropical volcanic eruption in the southern or northern hemisphere of the earth using a current Earth-climate model. The model used was the eruption of the Tambora in 1815. In addition to control simulations without outbreak, the scientists also ran additional passages in which they examined the interaction with the El Nino phenomenon.

The number and intensity of the eddy currents is changing

The result: A tropical volcanic eruption has measurable effects on cyclone frequency for up to four years. Especially in Southeast Asia and Australia, the number of typhoons and their intensity decreases, regardless of which hemisphere the eruption occurred in. At the same time, the eddy currents' educational regions continue to move south, as the researchers report. display

"In other regions, however, eruptions in the south or north have opposite effects, " explain Pausataa and his colleagues. Thus, when a tropical volcano erupts south of the equator, the number and intensity of hurricanes in the North Atlantic increases. By contrast, if the eruption lies in the tropical belt of the northern hemisphere, the Atlantic cyclones will decrease.

Shifting of the tropical weather band

But what is the cause of this effect? "So far it has been suggested that the cooling effect on sea temperatures could be responsible for this, " the researchers explain. "Others assumed an indirect consequence of changing El Nino patterns." However, the current simulations show that the effect of volcanoes on eddy currents is much stronger than El Nino alone explains rbar.

Instead, the volcanic eruptions affect the Intertropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ). This low pressure trough, which spans the globe in the equator, is prone to precipitation, temperatures and winds in the low latitudes. "The eruptions cause an asymmetric cooling of the hemispheres, which shifts the intra-tropical convergence zone, " report Pausataa and his colleagues.

A tropical eruption just north of the equator shifts the ITCZ ​​to the south, an eruption south of the equator shifts the convergence zone to the north. Because this also changes precipitation, winds and temperatures in the birth regions of tropical storms, this influences the number and frequency of such storms, according to the researchers.

Important for risk forecasts

In the opinion of the scientists, this finding is not only important for meteorologists and climatologists, it could also help in estimating the current hurricane and typhoon risk. "These results will be of great value to society, " emphasize Pausataa and his colleagues. "Because they allow one to better prepare for the changes in hurricane activity following large volcanic eruptions." (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 2019; 10.1073 / pnas.1900777116)

Source: PNAS

- Nadja Podbregar