هل كان البشر البدائيون "حيوانات آكلة اللحوم" بعد كل شيء؟

البيانات الجديدة تتحدث عن اتباع نظام غذائي بدون سمكة ، ولكن مع الكثير من اللحوم من المصاصون الكبيرة

البحث عن الماموث والرنة والمشتركة: كان بالإمكان إطعام البشر البدائيون أساسًا بلحوم الثدييات الكبيرة. © جويل لينا / آي ستوك
قراءة بصوت عال

اللحم المفضل: كان من الممكن أن يكون غذاء النياندرتال أحادي الجانب أكثر مما كان يعتقد سابقًا ، كما تشير تحليلات النظائر الجديدة. تبعا لذلك ، على الأقل بعض من هؤلاء العصر الجليدي يأكلون على وجه الحصر تقريبا اللحوم من الحيوانات العاشبة الكبيرة مثل الرنة ، الماموث ، الحصان وشركاه. ولكن من الواضح أن السمك لم يكن في القائمة - على عكس الافتراضات السابقة.

النظام الغذائي لل Neanderthals لا يزال محيرا. وفقًا للفرضية الشائعة ، فإن البشر البدائيون يصطادون بشكل رئيسي الثدييات العاشبة الكبيرة مثل الغزلان والرنة والخيول والماموث ، وبالتالي كان لديهم ضيق نسبيًا ومتخصص في نظام حيواني العصر الجليدي. ولكن هناك أيضًا أدلة على أن البشر البدائيون كانوا أكثر تنوعًا ويستهلكون بانتظام الخضروات والمكسرات وغيرها من الأطعمة النباتية.

غريب ، أيضًا: لدى بعض البشر البدائيون والبشر الحديثون مستويات أعلى من نظائر النيتروجين في أسنانهم وعظامهم عن الحياة البرية من حولهم. من هذا ، خلص بعض الباحثين إلى أن البشر البدائيون يجب أن يكونوا قد استهلكوا أيضًا الكثير من الأسماك والمأكولات البحرية - لأن هذه القيم تحتوي عادة على نظائر أعلى من الحيوانات البرية.

سن لامرأة نياندرتال من ليه كوتيس في فرنسا. MPI و. الأنثروبولوجيا التطورية / أ. لو كابيك

طريقة النظائر الجديدة تنتقص من النظام الغذائي

ما تم إدراجه بالفعل في قائمة إنسان نياندرتال ، تم فحصه الآن بواسطة كليرفيا جاون من معهد ماكس بلانك للأنثروبولوجيا التطورية في لايبزغ وزملاؤها باستخدام طريقة جديدة. مع ما يسمى "تحليل نظير مركب محدد" (CSIA) ، يمكن تحليل نظائر الكربون والنيتروجين للأحماض الأمينية الفردية الموجودة في الكولاجين.

هذا يجعل من الممكن تحديد أصل الغذاء cosumed سواء من الأرض أو من البحر -
لتحديد أفضل من ذي قبل. يمكن أيضًا تحديد موضع الغذاء وطعامه في السلسلة الغذائية من خلال قيم النظائر. يستخدم الباحثون الآن هذه الطريقة لدراسة بقايا شخصين نياندرتاليين يبلغان من العمر 45000 عام تقريبًا من لي كوتس وغروت دو رين في فرنسا. عرض

الرنة والحصان والمشاركة ولكن لا الأسماك

النتيجة: "لقد تمكنا من إثبات أن سيدة ليه كوت نياندرتال كانت آكلة اللحوم التي كانت تتغذى بشكل حصري تقريبًا على الثدييات البرية" ، وفقًا لجوان. كانت عشيرة هذه المرأة البدائية تصطاد الرنة والخيول بشكل رئيسي ، وهو ما تؤكده عظام الحيوانات في الكهف. هذه أظهرت أن الحيوانات آكلة اللحوم مثل القيوط والضباع والذئاب والقرون يمكن أن تكون جزءا من النظام الغذائي لهذه المجموعة.

"تمكنا أيضًا من التأكيد على أن الإنسان البدائي من جروت دو رين هو رضيع غير ماهر ، وكانت والدته أيضًا من آكلة اللحوم" ، يضيف خاوين. لم يتم العثور على مؤشرات الأسماك في قيم النظائر ولا في اكتشافات الكهف. وبالتالي ، فإن هذه النتائج تدعم الصورة "الكلاسيكية" للإنسان البدائي كصياد للحيوانات العصر الجليدي الكبير. حتى إذا كان البشر البدائيون قد أثروا نظامهم الغذائي بالنباتات ، فإن مصدره الرئيسي للغذاء ظل لحم الرنة والماموث وشركاه.

بالكاد أي تغييرات في النظام الغذائي؟

مثير للاهتمام أيضًا: على ما يبدو ، قام البشر البدائيون بتغيير عاداتهم الغذائية على مدى آلاف السنين بصعوبة. حتى وقت متأخر ، كان النظام الغذائي لبعض المجموعات على الأقل يعتمد أساسًا على صيد وتغذية الحيوانات الضخمة الجليدية ، كما تشير الدراسة الحالية. لم يتغير ذلك أيضًا ، حيث أصبحت هذه الفريسة أكثر ندرة وتزايدت المنافسة من الإنسان العاقل.

"هذه الدراسة تؤكد أن هومو العاقل ، عندما جاء إلى أوروبا والتقى مع البشر البدائيون ، كان في منافسة مباشرة معه على الثدييات العظيمة كمصدر للغذاء" ، كما يقول زميله جان جان جان هوبلين ، سواء أكان كلا النوعين قد اتبعا بالفعل نفس الاستراتيجيات الغذائية والبقاء على قيد الحياة في ذلك الوقت ، فإن العلماء يريدون الآن البحث عن اكتشافات أخرى باستخدام طريقة النظائر الجديدة. (وقائع الأكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1073 / pnas.1814087116)

المصدر: PNAS ، معهد ماكس بلانك للأنثروبولوجيا التطورية

- ناديا بودبريجار

Were Neanderthals "carnivores" after all?

New data speak in favor of a diet without fish, but with a lot of meat from large suckers

Hunt for mammoth, reindeer and co: The Neanderthals could have been mainly fed by the meat of large mammals. © Joel Lena / iStock
Read out

Meat preferred: The diet of Neanderthals could have been more one-sided than previously thought, as suggested by new isotope analyzes. Accordingly, at least some of these Ice Age people ate almost exclusively the meat of large herbivores such as reindeer, mammoth, horse and Co. However fish was obviously not on the menu - contrary to previous assumptions.

The diet of Neanderthals is still puzzling. According to popular hypothesis, the Neanderthals mainly hunted large herbivorous mammals such as deer, reindeer, horses and mammoths and thus had a relatively narrow, specialized on the Ice Age fauna diet. But there is also evidence that Neanderthals were more versatile and regularly consumed vegetables, nuts and other plant foods.

Strange, too: some Neanderthals and early modern humans have higher levels of nitrogen isotopes in their teeth and bones than the wildlife around them. From this, some researchers conclude that Neanderthals must also have consumed a lot of fish and seafood - because these typically have higher isotope values ​​than terrestrial animals.

Tooth of an adult Neanderthal woman from Les Cottés in France. MPI f. evolutionary anthropology / A. Le Cabec

New isotope method detracts from diet

What was actually on the menu of Neanderthals has now been investigated by Klervia Jaouen from the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig and her colleagues using a new method. With this so-called "compound specific isotope analysis" (CSIA) it is possible to analyze the carbon and nitrogen isotopes of individual amino acids contained in the collagen.

This makes it possible to determine the origin of the cosumed food whether from the land or from the sea -
to determine better than before. The position of the food and its food in the food chain can also be determined from the isotope values. Researchers now use this method to study the remains of two approximately 45, 000-year-old Neanderthals from Les Cott s and the Grotte du Renne in France. display

Reindeer, horse and co but no fish

The result: "We were able to prove that Les Cott s' Neanderthal woman was a carnivore that had almost exclusively fed on land-based mammals, " says Jaouen. The clan of this Neanderthal woman hunted and therefore mainly reindeer and horses, which is confirmed by animal bones in the cave. These showed that carnivorous animals such as coyotes, hyenas, wolves and pods could have been part of the diet of this group.

"We were also able to confirm that the Neanderthal from the Grotte du Renne is an unskilled infant, whose mother was also a carnivore, " adds Jaouen. Indications of fish were found neither in the isotope values ​​nor in the finds from the cave. Thus, these results support the "classic" image of the Neanderthal as a hunter of the big ice age animals. Even if the Neanderthals enriched his diet with plants, his main food source remained the meat of reindeer, mammoth and Co.

Hardly any changes in the diet?

Interesting too: Apparently, the Neanderthals have changed their dietary habits over the millennia hardly changed. Until late, the diet of at least some groups was based primarily on the hunting and feeding of the glacial megafauna, as the current study suggests. That did not change either, as these prey became scarcer and competition from Homo sapiens grew.

"This study confirms that Homo sapiens, when he came to Europe and met the Neanderthals, was in direct competition with him for the great mammals as a source of food, " says Jaouens colleague Jean-Jacques Hublin, Whether both species actually followed the same survival and nutritional strategies at that time, the scientists now want to investigate by other finds using the new isotope method. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 2019; doi: 10.1073 / pnas.1814087116)

Source: PNAS, Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology

- Nadja Podbregar