ما حدث حقا في تونغوسكا؟

علماء الفلك نشمر الانفجار والمنشئين المحتملين

لا يزال سبب حدث تونغوسكا في عام 1908 مثيراً للجدل - ولكن على الأرجح انفجار بوليد كوني في الغلاف الجوي للأرض. © Marharyta Marko / iStock
قراءة بصوت عال

مبهم حتى يومنا هذا: اكتسب علماء الفلك رؤى جديدة حول سبب الانفجار الغامض في سيبيريا تونجوسكا في 30 يونيو 1908. وبالتالي ، فإن المنشئ الأكثر ترجيحًا ليس مذنبًا ، ولكن كويكب صخري يتراوح طوله بين 50 و 80 مترًا انفجر ارتفاعه من خمسة إلى خمسة عشر كيلومترًا. تثبت عمليات المحاكاة أنه حتى جزء كبير سيكون ممزّقًا تمامًا في مثل هذا الانفجار - وهو ما يفسر الحفرة المفقودة.

لا يزال حدث تونغوسكا محيرًا لأن سببه لا يزال غير واضح. يبدو من الواضح أنه في 30 يونيو 1908 ، وقع انفجار هائل فوق التايغا السيبيرية ، مما أدى إلى تدمير وتدمير الأشجار التي تغطي أكثر من 2000 كيلومتر مربع. فقط في وسط المنطقة بقي جذوع الأشجار ، محرومين من فروعهم ، مثل أعمدة التلغراف تقف عموديا. في بعض الأماكن ، أظهرت الصناديق آثارًا للحرارة المشعة الشديدة ، بالإضافة إلى وجود حطام صخري زجاجي صغير وقيم نظيرية متغيرة في المنطقة المجاورة للانفجار.

شلالات Tunguska انقلبت الأشجار ، التي اتخذت في عام 1929. © Leonid Kulik / Historic

السبب لا يزال قابل للنقاش اليوم

لكن ما سبب الانفجار؟ استندت الفرضيات الأولية إلى ثوران بركاني أو تأثير نيزك. في كلتا الحالتين ، ومع ذلك ، كان الحدث قد ترك حفرة - واحدة لم يتم العثور على هذا. لا يوجد أيضًا أي حطام من نيزك قد ينفجر في الهواء. يوضح داريل روبرتسون ودونوفان ماثياس من مركز أبحاث ناسا أميس: "أدت هذه الملاحظات إلى فرضية أن المؤلف كان مذنبًا لأن مثل هذا الجسم الغني بالجليد من المرجح أن ينفجر في الغلاف الجوي أكثر من كويكب صخري".

وفقًا للنظرية الشائعة ، تم إطلاق حدث تونجوسكا بواسطة مذنب انفجر فوق الأرض على بعد بضعة كيلومترات. ولكن سواء كان الأمر بالفعل مذنبًا أم لا ، فما هو حجم الجسم وما نوع الطاقة التي أطلقها الانفجار ، فلا يزال مثار جدل. ومع ذلك ، فتحت فرصة جديدة لاكتشاف المزيد ، للباحثين في فبراير 2013 - عندما انفجر كويكب فوق مدينة تشيليابينسك الروسية.

نموذج جديد يحاكي الزيارات الكونية

بناءً على انفجار تشيليابينسك ، طور روبرتسون وماثياس الآن نموذجًا جيوفيزيائيًا يمكنه محاكاة تأثيرات الانفجار الجوي للعديد من الأجرام السماوية بشكل أكثر دقة من أي وقت مضى. كما أعادوا بناء انفجار تونجوسكا ومنشئيه المحتملين. لقد بحثوا على وجه التحديد عن الأشياء والأحداث التي يمكن أن تعيد إنتاج النمط المرصود لسقوط الأشجار وعدم وجود فوهة البركان وغيرها من علامات التأثير الكلاسيكية. عرض

النتيجة: يجب أن يكون طول الجسم الذي انفجر فوق تونجوسكا حوالي 50 إلى 80 متر. وقع الانفجار على ارتفاع يتراوح بين 5 و 15 كم وأصدر حوالي 10 إلى 30 ميقات من الطاقة ، حسب ما أفاد الباحثون. وكانت النتيجة موجة ضغط اجتاحت التايغا السيبيرية في 40 إلى 50 مترا في الثانية ، كما ذكر الباحثون.

بدلا صخرة من المذنب

ولكن ماذا كان عن كائن؟ على عكس الاعتقاد السائد ، لا يجب أن يكون البوليد الكوني مذنبًا غنيًا بالجليد - حتى أن نيزك صخري يأتي كسبب لحدوث انفجار تونجوسكا المذكور ، كما أظهرت الحسابات النموذجية. وقال الباحثون: "تظهر محاكاةنا أن العديد من النيازك ربما تكون قد ولدت نمط التخريب للأشجار - بما في ذلك كل من الكويكبات الصخرية التقليدية والمذنبات القصيرة الأجل". "في العديد من هذه الانفجارات الجوية ، لم تصل أي شظايا إلى الأرض - والتي تتلاءم مع عدم وجود فوهة البركان الواضحة في تونجوسكا."

وفقًا للباحثين ، فإن المذنّب أقل احتمالًا من الكويكب الصخري: "في زاوية دخول ضحلة ، يجب أن يكون المذنّب مستقرًا بشكل غير واقعي ، لكن زاوية الدخول الحادة لن تتطابق مع الزوايا المعتادة لعشرة مذنب 50 درجة ، "شرح روبرتسون وماثياس. إنهم يستبعدون تقريبًا المذنب لفترة طويلة ، لأن سرعته العالية قد مزقتها بالفعل إلى ارتفاع أكبر بكثير.

وبالتالي ، فإن النتائج الجديدة تدعم دراسة سابقة ، والتي تنص على أنه حتى الكويكبات الصخرية يمكن أن تنفجر في الجو تقريبًا دون أي إعاقة. تنفجر الأجزاء المسامية ، إذا جاز التعبير ، من الداخل وتمزق إلى أجزاء صغيرة. وقد حدث نفس الشيء مع تونجوسكا ، كما يعتقد الباحثون.

فقط كل بضعة آلاف من السنين

مطمئنة ، مع ذلك: في دراسة أخرى ، أعاد فريق بحثي الآن دراسة احتمال حدوث تونغوسكا ويعطي كل الوضوح. لأنه على الرغم من نفاد التقديرات السابقة لمثل هذا الحدث كل بضع مئات من السنين ، فإن العلماء الآن يقومون بتقدير الفواصل الزمنية بناءً على تقديرات الحجم الجديدة من سنة إلى سنتين ونصف السنة. احتمال التعرض لمثل هذا الانفجار خلال حياتنا ليس صفراً ، بل منخفض.

ومع ذلك ، يحث العلماء اليقظة ويؤكدون أهمية برامج مراقبة الكويكب وأنظمة الإنذار المبكر. يقول ديفيد موريسون من مركز أبحاث أميس: "تونغوسكا هو أكبر حدث كوني شهدته البشرية الحديثة". "ومن خصائص نوع التأثير الذي من المرجح أن نحمي أنفسنا به في المستقبل." (إيكاروس ، 2019 ؛ دوي: 10.1016 / j.icarus.2018.10.017 ؛ دوي: 10.1016 / j.icarus.2019.04 0،006)

المصدر: ناسا

- ناديا بودبريجار

What really happened in Tunguska?

Astronomers roll up explosion and possible originators

The cause of the Tunguska event in 1908 is still controversial - but the most likely is the explosion of a cosmic bolide in the Earth's atmosphere. © Marharyta Marko / iStock
Read out

Enigmatic to this day: Astronomers have gained new insights into what caused the enigmatic explosion in the Siberian Tunguska on June 30, 1908. Thus, the most likely originator is not a comet, but a 50 to 80 meter rock asteroid that exploded five to fifteen kilometers in height. Simulations prove that even a massive chunk would be almost completely torn in such an explosion - which explains the missing crater.

The Tunguska event is still puzzling because its cause is still unclear. It seems clear that on June 30, 1908, a massive explosion over the Siberian taiga occurred, resulting in the destruction and destruction of trees covering more than 2, 000 square kilometers. Only in the center of the area remained tree trunks, deprived of their branches, like telegraph poles standing vertically. In places, the trunks showed traces of extreme radiant heat, in addition, tiny glazed rock debris and altered isotope values ​​were found in the vicinity of the explosion.

Tunguska Falls overturned trees, taken in 1929. © Leonid Kulik / Historic

Cause still debatable today

But what was the cause of the explosion? Initial hypotheses were based on a volcanic eruption or the impact of a meteorite. In both cases, however, the event would have left a crater - and one such was never found. There is also no debris from a meteorite that may have burst in the air. "These observations led to the hypothesis that the author was a comet because such an ice-rich object is more likely to burst in the atmosphere than a rock asteroid, " explain Darrel Robertson and Donovan Mathias of the NASA Ames Research Center.

According to popular theory, the Tunguska event was triggered by a comet that exploded above ground in a few kilometers. But whether it really was a comet, how big the object was and what kind of energy the explosion released is still a matter of controversy. A new opportunity to find out more, however, opened to researchers in February 2013 when an asteroid exploded over the Russian city of Chelyabinsk.

New model simulates cosmic hits

Based on the Chelyabinsk explosion, Robertson and Mathias have now developed a geophysical model that can more accurately simulate the effects of an atmospheric explosion of various celestial bodies than ever before. They have also reconstructed the Tunguska explosion and its possible originators. They specifically searched for objects and events that could reproduce the observed pattern of fall of the trees and the absence of a crater and other classical impact marks. display

The result: The object that exploded over Tunguska must have been around 50 to 80 meters tall. The explosion occurred at five to 15 kilometers altitude and released about ten to 30 megatons of energy, as the researchers report. The result was a pressure wave that swept through the Siberian taiga at 40 to 50 meters per second, as the researchers report.

Rather a rock than a comet

But what was that for an object? Contrary to popular belief, the cosmic bolide must not have been an ice-rich comet even a rock meteorite comes as a trigger of the Tunguska explosion in question, as the model calculations showed. "Our simulation shows that many meteors may have generated the subversion pattern of the trees - including both typical rock asteroids and typical short-period comets, " the researchers report. "In many of these atmospheric explosions, no fragments reached the ground that fits in with the absence of an obvious crater in Tunguska."

According to the researchers, a comet is even less likely than a rock asteroid: "At a shallow entry angle, the comet would have to be unrealistically stable, but a steep entry angle would not match the comet-typical angles of ten to 50 degrees, "explain Robertson and Mathias. They almost completely exclude a long-period comet, because its higher velocity had already torn it to a much greater height.

Thus, the new results support an earlier study, according to which even stony asteroids can burst into the atmosphere almost without any suppres- sion. Porous chunks explode, so to speak, from within and are torn into tiny pieces. The same could have happened with Tunguska, the researchers suspect.

Only every few thousand years

Reassuring, however: In another study, a research team has now re-examined the probability of a Tunguska event and gives the all-clear. For while previous estimates of such an event ran out every few hundred years, the scientists now estimate the intervals based on the new size estimates on one to two and a half millennia. The likelihood of experiencing such an explosion during our lifetime is not zero, but rather low.

Nevertheless, the scientists urge vigilance and emphasize the importance of asteroid surveillance programs and early warning systems. "Tunguska is the greatest cosmic event modern humanity has experienced, " says David Morrison of the Ames Research Center. "And it is characteristic of the kind of impact against which we are most likely to protect ourselves in the future." (Icarus, 2019; doi: 10.1016 / j.icarus.2018.10.017; doi: 10.1016 / j.icarus.2019.04 .006)

Source: NASA

- Nadja Podbregar