اكتشاف أكبر الديناصور ريكس في العالم

وجدت في كندا الأحفوري يثبت أن أثقل وأكبر ديناصور المفترس

الهيكل العظمي للديوان الديناصور "سكوتي": إنه أكبر وأثقل الديناصورات المفترسة المكتشفة على الإطلاق من هذا النوع. © أماندا كيلي
قراءة بصوت عال

Primeval Giant: حفرية Tyrannosaurus المكتشفة في كندا هي أكبر ممثل معروف لهذا النوع - وأكبر الديناصورات المفترسة التي اكتشفت على الإطلاق. يبلغ عمر هذا الحيوان 13 قدمًا ويزن حوالي تسعة أطنان ، وفقًا لما أورده علماء الحفريات. خاصةً أيضًا: كان الديناصورات قديمًا جدًا بعد الدينامستابس عندما توفي وكان في حياته على ما يبدو إصابات عديدة.

كان الديناصور ريكس - "ملك الوهم" - أحد أكبر الحيوانات المفترسة في تاريخ الأرض. عثر علماء الحفريات في هذا الديناصور ذي الساقين على ما يصل إلى 12 مترا من الهياكل العظمية الطويلة. بفضل جمجمته الفريدة وقوة العض الهائلة والأسنان الحادة مثل سكاكين اللحم ، تمكن T. rex من التغلب حتى على الفريسة الكبيرة وكسر عظامهم. على الرغم من كتلته ، كان هذا أكلة اللحوم رشيقة بشكل مثير للدهشة.

عملاق طوله 13 متر

لكن إلى أي مدى يمكن أن يصبح T. rex؟ هذا غير واضح حتى الآن ، لأن العديد من الحفريات المعروفة لهذا الديناصور المفترس لا تأتي من عينات كاملة للبالغين. لكن الهيكل العظمي الذي اكتشف في عام 1991 في ساسكاتشوان ، كندا ، يوفر الآن معلومات جديدة. نظرًا لأن العظام كانت محاطة بحجر رملي شديد الصلابة ، فقد استغرق الباحثون أكثر من عشر سنوات لفضح الحفرية. عندها فقط يمكنهم دراسة تشريح T. rex المعتمد على "Scotty".

النتيجة المدهشة: يجب أن يكون طول الديناصور البالغ من العمر 66 مليونًا أكثر من 13 مترًا. إنه بذلك أكبر من جميع الممثلين المعروفين سابقًا لهذا النوع. يقول الكاتب الأول سكوت بيرسونس من جامعة ألبرتا: "هذا حقًا ريكس بين تي. ريكسن". "بعد قياس ساقيك وفخذيك وأكتافك ، أصبح سكوتي أثقل بكثير من أي عينة أخرى من عينات T. rex."

التقليل من أحجام الديناصور الحقيقي؟

لم يتجاوز وزن جسم الديناصور "سكوتي" ، ليس فقط ما هو واضح ، بل وأيضًا جميع الديناصورات الأخرى المفترسة المعروفة ، كما يقول علماء الحفريات. وفقًا لتقديراتهم ، يجب أن يكون الديناصور يصل وزنه إلى أكثر من ٨٨٠٠ كيلوغرام خلال حياته - حوالي تسعة أطنان. وقال الباحثون "هذا أكثر من أي ذوات الأقدام الأرضية الأرضية العملاقة". عرض

وفقًا للأفراد وفريقه ، قد يشير هذا إلى أن الحجم الحقيقي للعديد من الديناصورات وربما الديناصورات الأخرى قد تم الاستهانة به. يقول علماء الحفريات: "هذه العينة تدعم فرضيات سابقة مفادها أنه قد يكون هناك تشوه لعينة نظرتنا إلى الديناصورات". لأنه بالكاد تم العثور على أي عينات ناضجة حتى الآن ، فإن الحجم الأقصى للعديد من الأنواع ببساطة غير معروف.

القديم والكامل من علامات المعركة

وهناك ميزة خاصة أخرى هي "سكوتي": لقد كان كبير السن عندما توفي. وفقًا لحلقات نمو طبخه ، بلغ عمر الديناصور 30 ​​عامًا تقريبًا. يقول الأفراد: "سكوتي هو أقدم الديناصور المعروف باسم الديناصور." "بعد الديناصورات Ma st ben عاش حياة طويلة بشكل غير عادي." لأنه كما يشرح Pal ontologen ، نشأت هذه الديناصورات المفترسة بسرعة نسبيا ، ولكن معظمهم ماتوا في وقت مبكر.

مدى صعوبة وعنف حياة الديناصورات في ذلك الوقت ، أثبت عظام "سكوتي". "في كل مكان في الهيكل العظمي نجد تغيرات مرضية - أماكن تركت فيها الإصابات آثارًا في العظم" ، وفقًا لتقارير الأشخاص. عانى سكوتي ، من بين أشياء أخرى ، من كسر في الضلع وإصابة شديدة في الفك وعض من أنواع أخرى من الذيل. (The Anatomical Record، 2019: doi: 10.1002 / ar.24118)

سكوتي ، أكبر T. rex T. rex المعروفة. Pro7

المصدر: جامعة ألبرتا

- ناديا بودبريجار

World's largest Tyrannosaurus rex discovered

Found in Canada fossil proves to be the heaviest and largest predator dinosaur

The skeleton of the tyrannosaur "Scotty": It is the largest and heaviest of all ever-discovered predatory dinosaurs of this species. © Amanda Kelley
Read out

Primeval Giant: A Tyrannosaurus fossil discovered in Canada is the largest known representative of this species - and the most massive predator dinosaur ever discovered. The animal was 13 feet long in life and weighed nearly nine tons, as the paleontologists report. Especially also: The tyrannosaurs was already quite old after dinamassstabs when he died and was in his lifetime apparently numerous injuries.

The Tyrannosaurus rex - the "king of the chimeras" - was one of the largest predators in the history of the earth. Up to twelve meters long skeletons have been found by paleontologists of this two-legged dinosaur. Thanks to its unique skull, enormous bite power and sharp teeth like steak knives, the T. rex was able to overwhelm even large prey and crack their bones. Despite its mass, this carnivore was also amazingly agile.

A 13 meter long colossus

But how big could a T. rex become? So far, this is unclear because many of the known fossils of this predator dinosaur come from not fully adult specimens. But a skeleton discovered in 1991 in Saskatchewan, Canada, now provides new information. Because the bones were surrounded by extremely hard sandstone, it took more than ten years for researchers to expose the fossil. Only then could they study the anatomy of this "Scotty" baptized T. rex.

The surprising result: The 66-million-year-old tyrannosaur must have been more than 13 meters long. He is thus larger than all previously known representatives of this species. "This is really the Rex among the T. Rexen, " says first author Scott Persons of the University of Alberta. "After measuring your legs, hips, and shoulders, Scotty is much heavier than any other T. rex specimen."

Underestimated True Dinosaur Sizes?

The body weight of the tyrannosaur "Scotty" surpassed not only his conspecifics, but also all other known predator dinosaurs, as the paleontologists report. According to their estimates, the tyrannosaur must have weighed more than 8, 800 kilograms during his lifetime almost nine tons. "That's more than any other gigantic terrestrial theropod, " said the researchers. display

According to Persons and his team, this may indicate that the true size of many tyrannosaurs and possibly other dinosaurs has been underestimated. "This specimen supports earlier hypotheses that there may be a sample distortion of our view of the dinosaurs, " say the palaeontologists. Because hardly any mature specimens have been found so far, the maximum size of many species is simply not known.

Old and full of battle marks

And another special feature is "Scotty": He was quite old when he died. According to the growth rings of his cooking, this tyrannosaur reached an age of about 30 years. "Scotty is the oldest known Tyrannosaurus rex, " says Persons. "After tyrannosaurs Ma st ben he lived an unusually long life." For as the Pal ontologen explain, these predator dinosaurs grew up relatively quickly, but mostly died early.

How hard and violent the life of the tyrannosaurs was at that time, prove the bones of "Scotty". "Everywhere in the skeleton we find pathological changes - places where injuries have left traces in the bone, " reports Persons. Scotty suffered, among other things rib fracture, a severe jaw infection and several bites of other species on the tail. (The Anatomical Record, 2019: doi: 10.1002 / ar.24118)

Scotty the largest known T. rex T. rex . Pro7

Source: University of Alberta

- Nadja Podbregar